HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Old School House, sleeps 16. 7 bedrooms. 3 showers, 1 bath. 3 toilets.

7 Reviews
Bedrooms 7
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Photos and Description of this 7 bedroom holiday home in Cerisy-Belle-Étoile - Old School House

4 Dble bedrooms + 2 twins +1 with 4 singles. 16 people total. Baby cot also.

When you rent this house, you are not sharing the property with another group. Your group will be the only group there.

We can get you up to 10% discount on your ferry crossing vehicle cost, either one-way or return, on every vehicle in your group, any time of the year.

New mattresses and further restoration, Jan 2011.

It is ideal for multi-family holidays. Pool is hexagonal, approx 5mx5m, above-ground type, not heated.

We have Wi-fi internet.

Sunny walled pebbled courtyard with 2 solid teak tables for outdoor dining. Cider+Calvados orchards around village, a tasting and sales room 10 mins walk down the road.

Electric and firewood included in the rent.

Linen and cleaning is included in rent, you arrive to beds all made-up.

A free 'Welcome Pack' in both fridges: chilled wine+ cider, cheese, biscuits, milk and tea bags.

Accommodation is 4 Dbl bedrooms, 2 Twins, 1 children' room of 4 singles.

There are 2 dinning tables indoors, 2 kitchens; 2 dishwashers, 2 gas ovens+hobs (free gas), 2 fridges, 1 washing machine, 1 tumble dryer. 1 large screen multi-channel Free-Sat UK TV including DVD player (42'' screen by LG, new in 2011), plus another TV for DVDs and VHS videos (good for the kids), a Hi-fi, loads of DVDs and Videos on the shelf, most of them for children but some sports ones for Dad too.

The Village:

The house is within the village of Cerisy-Belle-Etoile, a traditional village. There is a bar/cafe up on top of Mont Cerisy, the hill behind the village, 5 mins drive or 25 mins walk to top. There is a traditional bakery in the village, it doubles as a Post Office too. Nearest supermarket is in town of Flers, 7km away. Walk/drive up to Mont Cerisy and the cafe, notable for its summer gardens and flower festival. Mont Cerisy's facilities include a childrens' adventure playground, the local boules pitch, tennis courts, ping-pong tables, castle ruins and viewing tower, plenty of space for bike riding (you have several bikes in the backyard of the house, they're free, you don't need to hire them), and forest walking/running tracks.

Across the road is a Cider/Calvados orchard with it's own Tasting and Sales room 10 mins walk down the same road.

Paris and day-trip sightseeing:

Paris is best reached by train from Flers, your closest town 7km away. 2.5 hr trip to inner city Paris station (Gare Montparnasse). Your local English-speaking taxi driver (see ph number on kitchen wall) will drop off/pick up in his people-carrier.

The Normandy beaches and coast line and D-Day museums/cemeteries and Monet's famous gardens are both within comfortable driving day-trips. The ciyt of Caen is approx 1 hour drive from the house.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Callum Hantler
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
2 August, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

''Fabulous week had by all. Visited Calvados (tasting) place twice. Enjoyed the pool, excellent wirlpool opportunities. Produce from bakery well sampled, and excellent.
May 2010
  • 1 of 2


based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

The Old School House, sleeps 16. 7 bedrooms. 3 showers, 1 bath. 3 toilets.
average rating of 4.285714 based on 9 reviews

Well appointed large house in Normandy, France

  • 5 of 5

Normandy is a great part of France in the summer. (go shoulder season if you want to visit a lot of historic places)

A nice and small village at the foot of Mt Cerisy (kids loved our walks up here, more hill than mountain) also a local cider / calvados distillery just down the lane from the house. There is a Cider Route too but we stuck to the local house.

We also went to a Normandy beach, about 1 hours drive for one afternoon and another day we went to Mont Saint-Michel and another full day did the old port in Honfleur (a must see) and Old Rouen. We missed the tapestry this trip.

The house was very clean and well appointed with everything we wanted. 2 sitting rooms and sep dining area, great for our extended family group to have adult, teenage / kids areas. Pool for the kids right next to the alfresco table - we had our own wine tasting afternoons. Excellent French wine at very reasonable prices from the supermarket.

Would recommend Normandy for a relaxing / historic holiday, and this house for comfort and size.

Recommended for medium to large groups.

A warm house, fire lit and food out was waiting for us on arrival. Nice touch!

Callum was very easy to deal with and was flexible with us as we organised or group.

The Hunter Family & friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We Loved This House

  • 5 of 5

We Loved this house

Chilled rose wine, Normandy cheese, tea & biscuits for the kids was a very pleasant surprise on our arrival and was very much appreciated.

Cerisy-Belle-Etoile is lovely little Norman village right next to Mt Cerisy (more of a hill really), which is perfect for the kids with adventure playgrounds, obstacle course, mini golf ,tennis, table tennis, restaurant and bar for a cold beer in the sun while the kids play.

The house has pretty much everything we needed. Two well equipped, spacious kitchens, two living rooms, one with English TV. Outdoor bbq area over looking the pool and huge outdoor dining table. The kids spent all day in the pool while we spent lazy afternoons sitting round wining & dinning.

Home cinema system & WiFi kept the teenagers busy and the fact that there is plenty of room for everyone to have their own space was definitely a bonus. Comfy beds all round and three bathrooms a must with a large party. The kids especially loved the hidden room.

Mont Saint-Michel well worth a day trip, try lunch at nearby Concale, sit back and watch the mussels and oysters being harvested.

All in all a truly French experience with all the mod cons, we will be back again. Thank you to Carol and David who where just down the Rd to help with anything & left the house spotlessly clean for us.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Far away from interesting places

  • 4 of 5

We have been to Cerisy summer 2010 with six adults and six teens. The old school house was big enough for us all. The house was well equipped. The chairs in the backyard should be replaced and some lounge chairs would have been fine. It was a little bit too far away from the places we wanted to visit. (e.g. Honfleur, Deauville) At all we had a good time in Cerisy.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Family holiday in Cerisy

  • 5 of 5

14 of my family holidayed here in early August. The house was exactly as described, it was very well equiped and when we had problems with the Wifi link someone was quickly on the scene to put the problem right. The bakery was wonderful, with very fresh bread and croissants available for us early each morning.

We had 4 small children (all under 5 years old) and 2 older ones and the garden and swimming pool were all completely safe.

I would certainly recommend this property for a relaxing holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

pathetic accomodation

  • 1 of 5

My heart sinks when I think about this appalling gîte. For that price you can get a great mansion, a house with a sea view with clé vacances or gites de France.

That house is squeezed between a busy road and a churchyard! The small backyard contains a pool with gravel all around. This shows a complete lack of respect for local customs, ie: people attending church, funerals....as they would hear the splashing and kids screaming.

Apart from kids beddings, there wasn't a single comfortable adult bed. The worst being a futon!!!

There were lots of window panes broken and flaky painting giving an altogether feeling of depression. Young kids are not safe in this house: lack of safeguard railings, wobbly hand railling....

There is absolutely nothing to do in that area, so the high price is not justifed at all. I felt conned and been taken on a ride really.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Naturally I am sorry a guest didn't enjoy his stay here, I can only say look at the other reviews, none of them are like this. We have addressed the issues: all mattresses, except the kids bedding, were replaced with new ones in Jan 2011, at the same time we also repainted, we also fixed the cracked glass window panes. High price? We've done our research and our price in fact compares very well to other Normandy large self-catering non-share houses taking groups of 10 or 16. For summertime rents all your electricity, gas and firewood is free. The house is cleaned by a team each saturday, for free. The Welcome Pack(s) in the fridge(s) are free. Many Gites charge extra for these things, we don't. Callum Hantler Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
3 4

Nice and comfortable stay for 12 friends

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 12 friends who stayed in the house over the New Year week. The house is set in a small village and despite it being the holiday period where France closes down, the bakery provided us with fresh bread each day. Flers was a short drive away and their Super Market provided us with all we needed. The house was clean and kitted out with all the mod cons. Linen was provided as detailed and we arrived to a lit fire and a welcome pack of cheese and cider. The house provided plenty of space. Only thing that was advertised and we could not find were the bikes and the table tennis table, but given the snow this was not a huge problem. We largely stuck to the house so I cant comment on the surrounding area but the park just a short walk up the hill in the village was great and I would imagine great for kids in the summer.

Would happily book again, the owner and caretaker were easy to contact and helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
200 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
80 Kilometres
Nearest Train
7 Kilometres
Flers; trains to Gare Montparnasse,Paris
Nearest Motorway
45 Kilometres
A13 or A84
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Cafe/bar up on top of Mont Cerisy above village
Nearest Beach
80 Kilometres
D-Day beaches, or Quistram beach near Caen
Car: necessary

You do not share this property, we rent it to one group at a time. Only your group will be there, you have the entire house and pool and property to yourselves. This large house (it has 2 kitchens, 7 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 lounges) is the middle of a classic French village, Cerisy-Belle-Etoile, sitting at the foot of Mont Cerisy, the highest point in this part of Normandy. The village has a bakery and a Post Office. The bakery is excellent for morning croissants and daily bread. There is a bar and cafe in the village & up on the hill on Mont Cerisy, where there is also a huge play area for children with table tennis, swings, boules sand pitch, mini golf.

The house is about 1.5 hrs drive south of Caen ferry port. The closest town is Flers. If driving from Calais ferry port it is about 4 hrs drive. If from Le Harve ferry port it is about 2 hrs drive. Good train service to Paris, 2 hrs+ from Gare Montpanasse to Flers on the Paris-Granville line

Other Activities: Walk/drive to Mt Cerisy; adventure playground, Boules pitch, tennis


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Cerisy-Belle-Étoile, Orne

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Autumn 2016
11 Sep 2016 - 10 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Christmas 2016
17 Dec 2016 - 7 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £269

The are no extra fees (except the refundable property damage deposit of £300.00, refundable after Saturday change-over day if no damage found, refund payment made by cheque posted or bank transfer). The rent covers: electric and firewood, all cleaning, full linen provided, inclu bath towels, a Welcome Pack in the fridge of wine, local cider, cheese, bread, biscuits, tea bags, milk.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cerisy-Belle-Étoile in Lower Normandy

Property Type:
  • house (semi-detached)
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 300 m²
Location Type:
  • village
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 bathrooms comprising 3 showers including 1 over a bath. A toilet in each bathroom.
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom - 4 Double Bed
    Bedroom - 4 Single Bed
    Bedroom - 4 Child Bed
  • 4 doubles, 2 twins, 1 room with 4 beds, 2 cots. All bedding linen and general linen (towels, bath mats, T-towels, cotton cooking aprons etc) is provided free, already paid for within your rent. All beds are made up before you arrive.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • 4 bicycles
  • 16 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Rent prices includes: all Power and Firewood, a Full Linen Service, plus cleaning. Arrive to a cleaned house, plus we clean it after you leave, all beds are made up, all towels/bath mats/flannels laid out, clean cooking aprons and tea-towels provided. Showers, baths and toilets: there are 3 toilets and 3 showers, but 1 bath only. 2 full kitchens in this big house, i.e. 2 dishwashers, 2 gas ovens/hobs, 2 fridges, 1 clothes dryer, 2 sets of cooking ware. There is a Log Burner fire in addition to the central heating. There is plenty of cut wood, and it is free. TV is satellite (not Sky Sports or Sky Movies), includes 10+ English channels, i.e. BBC1 and 2, ITV, Ch4, Ch5, BBC3 and Four, plus others. Radio: via the satellite TV, plus Radio 4 LWave radio

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties