HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Less than a mile walk to Murphys; beautiful views from the balcony!

People10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

A Pleasant, Well Thought-out Home, On A Hill With Wrap-around Decks and View

The upstairs portion of the house is 2BR/2BA home will comfortably sleep 6 for the rate listed. But if you have a big group we can open up the downstairs to sleep up to 4 more people for an additional $100/night (plus $40 cleaning fee/stay). Great views from the master bedroom, living room, kitchen and large wrap around deck. Plenty of parking, plus an adjacent unbuilt lot with a walking garden. Town is walking distance ... It's about 3/4 of a mile to main street, with its 22 wine tasting rooms, gold-rush-era construction, and quality dining.

Notes on capacity: In addition to the king and queen size beds, there is a couch that pulls out to a queen size bed. There is over-flow space available downstairs for 2-4 more people. It is one big room that has 2 twin beds and full size futon that folds out to a bed. There is a third bathroom downstairs as well that has a bath, toilet and sink (no shower at this time). For larger parties (more than 6) ask owners for more details before booking. There is additional rate for opening the downstairs and an incremental fee for cleaning. The downstairs will remain locked unless special arrangements are made with the owners.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This is a quite neighborhood, and we like to keep it that way. This house is for groups that are going to respect the neighbors and keep the noise level down. If you are looking for a party house, this is not the house for you.

More Details

Owner
Alison Bonfantine
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish, Spanish by email only
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 October, 2017

About Alison Bonfantine

We are 4 good friends who have spent a lot of time traveling together. We've rented a lot of homes in those travels, and know what works and what does not. Two of us live in the Bay Area, and two of us live across the river in Columbia. One of us recently quit her corporate job to pursue a Chef Certificate and work in a winery. We know a few of the local wine makers, so if there's anything extra you need to make your visit to Murphys complete, just let us know.

Alison Bonfantine purchased this house in 2015

Why Alison Bonfantine chose Gold Country / High Sierra

We spent so much time in Murphys that we finally decided it was time to buy a house here. We've stayed in several vacation rentals in Muprhys, and when we saw this house, we knew it was for us, and we think you'll love it too. It would be a great home for a couple of couples to spend a weekend, although it will comfortably accommodate more.

What makes this house unique

This home was clearly built with love. Utilizing the best home-builder in the area, this is the home in the neighborhood that everyone asks about. Filled with wood-working details, it sits on a hill overlooking the rest of the neighborhood. From below, it looks like a plantation-style home, from within, it looks like an old-timey gold rush home. On chilly days, you can sit in front of the fire or head to the slopes; on nicer days, you can nap on the hammock on the wrap-around porch, or stroll into town for some wine tasting.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Murphys in Calaveras County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Guest Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Downstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , No shower at this time.
  • There are two large, full bathrooms, with showers and tubs, and multiple sinks in the master.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Attached bath to this room.
    Guest Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Bathroom located next door down the hall.
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Living room has queen size pull out couch.
    Downstairs Room - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , One large room-shared space for 4 people.
  • A master bedroom with a California King bed opens onto the deck. A junior bedroom with Queen bed has a large closet and shares the bathroom in the hall. There's a foldout couch in the living room. The downstairs can be rented out for an additional $100 per night, and sleeps 4 more people. There is a bathroom downstairs with a toilet, sink and bath (no shower). And a Wii is downstairs for entertainment.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Please ask about large groups; there would be an additional cost to open up the downstairs or two car garage, or to sleep more than 6 upstairs. Private chef services: currently one of the owners can offer up the services of filling the fridge with groceries of your choosing, or if you would like a prepared meal that you can reheat the night you arrive. Ask about these services at time of booking and Ali can provide you more information.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Less than a mile walk to Murphys; beautiful views from the balcony!
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
5

Great location & beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

We recently had a family wedding in the area and rented the Apple Blossom house. We could not have been happier with the location. The house had everything we needed. We were a group of 9 and the house was so spacious, we never felt like we were on top of each other. The check in and out process was very easy. Linens were fresh and clean. The weather was hot and humid, but the A/C worked great.

The location was great for us as we had wedding events in Murphy's all weekend. Very quiet neighborhood and beautiful views from the large balcony. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Torrance, CA
5

Wanted to stay there longer!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our 5 days at the Apple Blossom House. It's very spacious, comfortable and well stocked. What a great location as a hub for a Gold Rush Country vacation. We day tripped around the area and came home in the late afternoon to relax with a glass of wine on the deck. We spent most of our time out there on the deck. Even ate all of our meals outside. Easy walk to town for morning coffee (try Gold Country Roasters behind Alchemy). Dog friendly dining at Rob's Place and Alchemy was a plus. Will definitely look forward to coming back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madera, CA
5

Fabulous Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautiful, spacious, comfortable with all the comforts from home and more. The owner was very pleasant to work with and will definitely be renting again!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moraga, CA
4

Recommned this house, beautiful!

  • 4 of 5

We loved this house, it was beautifully appointed and the beds were comfortable!

The only reason why it's not 5 stars is b/c it was advertised as having 4 extra beds and Wii but that was all on another floor and locked up when we arrived. I asked for reduction on price, but didn't get a reply . If you have a lot of people in your party w/ many kids, this place is a great deal. But w/ just one couple and a child, it's a bit pricey. The house overall was excellent w/ a beautiful upstairs balcony that has a pleasant view of the neighborhood below. It had a large kitchen that was well stocked w/ basics from past guests. It's only 10 min walking to downtown and in a slower street so it was safe in case our dog rushed away from us. This was a huge benefit. Loved all the antiques and wood inside the house!

I didn't like the antibacterial soaps that are now banned by the FDA that were still in the house, but hopefully after it's all used up, the Manager will not re-stock w/ these toxic pesticide soaps that contain the carcinogen Dioxin, that selects for resistant bacteria, and that do not work better than regular soap according to the FDA. It took over a decade for FDA to act even though researchers had the evidence over 15 years ago.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. First off, I am happy to hear that your overall experience at the house was an enjoyable one. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have a comfortable stay. I do want to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your request for a rate reduction. I was trying to react quickly to all your questions and make sure you were accommodated. Apparently in my scurry to get the house ready so quickly, I missed a few details and overlooked addressing this question. It was not intentional, just honest human error. But to clarify, the rate we had offered you was our discounted midweek rate and it was just for the upstairs which has 2 bedrooms. To rent the whole house there is an additional rate. This is stated at the top of our VRBO description of the house. I wanted to accommodate you the best way I could, given your current situation. I was able to provide you a place to stay within 24 hours and offered your early checkin. Our rates are actually quite competitive in Murphys for the size of house you get. I am sorry, I was not more thoughtful with my response, to make this information more clear. I will be more clear in future correspondence with renters. I do greatly appreciate the feedback on the hand soap. I was unaware of this issue, and will remove this product from the house immediately and start providing an FDA approved hand soap product going forward. Thanks again. Sincerely, Ali Property Manager/Co-Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Beautiful home and very clean

  • 5 of 5

I made my reservation at the last minute, owner was very responsive and helpful. Everything went very well arriving and departing. Very clean and everything there you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. I would definitely go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pasadena, CA
5

Charming house in a lovely little town

  • 5 of 5

I was pretty sure I would love this house based on the description, photos and stellar reviews. And I was right. The handwritten welcome from Ali with the complimentary bottle of wine added a very nice touch. The house is comfy and has character and plenty of space -- at least for my family of 6 (couple plus 4 kids ages 12 to 18). Older teens slept comfortably in front of the cozy fire in the living room. Younger girls shared the spare bedroom. (We only used the top part of the home.) My husband and I enjoyed the master suite with antique bed and french doors to the wrap-around porch with views of the town and surrounding hills. The gardens in the front and back are charming. The house was very clean with nice linens and comfortable beds. The house truly felt like a home away from home. We loved the little town of Murphy's, with it's many wineries and historic buildings. The Sierra Hills Market was a surprise! What you think is just a country market in a foothill town actually has an amazing meat counter, wine selection, fresh olive bar. They sell products that would be hard to find in many cities, such as locally produced specialty Italian salumi and Italian amaro Fernet=Branca, as well as Campari. We also enjoyed nearby historic Columbia -- where we were treated to a colorful picture of the Gold Rush era on our free walking tour by a ranger. We wrapped up our trip with a jaunt up into the mountains for some gorgeous views, great sledding, and a hike in a snow storm in Calaveras Big Trees State Park, which was unbelievably beautiful blanketed in white. I can't wait for the next trip here.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Alchemy
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Several
Nearest Restaurant
0.75 Miles
Alchemy
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Bear Valley

One of the owners works at one of the better local wineries, and is a culinary student, and she can arrange a picnic, food pairing or afternoon of bocce on the winery grounds. We can also provide heat-n-serve in-home meals, although there are plenty of great places to eat in town, as well as a large, fully stocked kitchen. Inside the house, you'll find a binder of suggested local activities, wineries, restaurants, etc.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Murphys, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Day of the Dead
2 Nov 2017 - 6 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
New Years Eve
29 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
President's Day Wknd-Passport
16 Feb 2018 - 19 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
Murphys Irish Days
16 Mar 2018 - 19 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
Frog Jump
18 May 2018 - 21 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£723
for 3 nights
From
£201
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£402
for 2 nights
From
£141
From
£201
Fri,Sat
£1,045
£2,933
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.82
Pet Fee £37.91
Damage Protection £44.73
Tax Rate 6.0%

The cancellation fee for cancellations more than 30 days prior to the start of the rental period is 1/2 of the rental cost (does not include insurance/deposit, cleaning and pet fees, or taxes ... just 1/2 of the rental-only amount). The fee for cancellations within 30 days is full rental cost if a subsequent renter cannot be found for the same rental period.

Holiday and special event periods to be charged as weekends. 3 night minimum over these periods. Holidays and events weekends are:

* President's Day/Valentine's Day/Passport Weekend
* Memorial Day
* July 4th
* Labor Day
* Irish Day, Frog Jump, Grape Stomp, Day of the Dead
* Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Eve

Options for Property Damage Protection:
You can select the non-refundable $59 fee that will cover you up to $500 in damages. Or you can opt to put a refundable $500 deposit down instead of the $59. To do this just submit your request in email with your request for quote and the owner will modify you quote and send it back promptly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals