Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Georgian Townhouse in Louth

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

The self contained flat, originally the servant's quarters of the house, offers one bedroom and a modern en-suite shower room, a sitting/dining room and kitchenette area. All recently renovated, clean and comfortable. Free WiFi, Freeview TV and a DVD player and DVDs are provided for our guests.

The kitchenette is equipped with a refrigerator, toaster, kettle, microwave and all basic crockery and utensils. I provide a welcome pack for guests which will include milk, homemade bread and fresh fruit. Also provided are tea, coffee, sugar and light breakfast items (cereals, fresh fruit, homemade jams made with fruit from my garden).

The flat has it's own entrance, so you are free to come and go as you please. The entrance to the flat is through a communal area, but once in the flat it is completely private. Guests are welcome to enjoy the garden area, with an outdoor dining set and outdoor heater if needed. Free on street parking. Indoor storage for bicycles if required.

Louth was voted Britain’s favourite market town (BBC Countryfile) in 2012. From the flat you are just a short walk into Louth and access to all the amenities it offers. Many independent retailers, butchers, grocers and an excellent cheese shop are all nearby. And of course you can visit the market on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. A choice of several pubs and restaurants are within easy reach and some offer delivery if preferred.

A bit further afield are many choices of days out, walks and activities. The Lincolnshire coast is a short drive, offering beautiful sandy beaches and the Donna Nook Nature Reserve, where between October and December the huge grey seal colony comes ashore for breeding. The Lincolnshire Wolds are also within easy reach, with many routes to explore by foot or bicycle. This area is very popular with cyclists and there is ample space for your bicycle to be brought indoors while you stay with us, if required.

Our resident cat may be spotted at some point. She is friendly, but timid, so she won't hang around for long.

More Details

Property Manager
Carla Jones
Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 July, 2018

About Carla Jones

I have many years experience in the hospitality industry and love meeting people from all over the world and welcoming them to Louth. I worked in many different areas in the hotel and restaurant industry and also trained as a pastry chef. I still love to bake whenever I get the opportunity and will usually have a little something to share with our guests. I love to garden and you will often find me pottering in the garden or nipping off to my nearby allotment.

Having left the hospitality industry when my children were born, I retrained as a holistic therapist and I now run my own therapy business from home. For full details and if you would like to book a treatment while you visit, please do contact me.

What makes this apartment unique

The Georgian Townhouse was built by a wealthy wool merchant who possibly chose the location because of the easy access to the River Lud. Originally the sheep would have pastured to the rear of the property and the wool was easily shipped from the river banks which are also to the rear of the property.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Louth in Louth

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • town
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is all a newly fit modern suite with a walk in shower, heated towel rail, basin and toilet. All towels are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • The bedroom has a king size bed, dressing table, chest of drawers, warbdrobe and TV with freeview and DVD player.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
More information about the flat and the area is available in the flat, in our information book. Plenty of information about the local area, restaurants and days out

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Georgian Townhouse in Louth
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

Clean and comfortable, with friendly hosts

  • 5 of 5

Carla manages a lovely property, and is a consummate host. Her property is a short walk from the centre of town, and even shorter from the local theatre. She takes great care to ensure her property is well presented, clean and comfortable, even baking fresh bread and cake for visitors. While the property is a self-contained flat within their house, they greatly respect privacy, and ensure guests are not disturbed during their stay. The facilities are great and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I do hope to see you again in future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
boston
1

Nice place shame about the host.

  • 1 of 5

Nice if not very private apartment, a bit too part of the owners house. But we managed and were out a lot. BUT and its a big but they kept the deposit refuse to return it and obviously inspected the place whilst we were out, thats how it seems. The 8 paragraph diatribe of complaints were just made up, coffee spilt, neither of us drink coffee, and lots similar. Just amazing , accused us of inappropriate behaviour !! So do please take care if you think of booking.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paula, I’m sorry you feel this way, but your review is unfair and misleading. Quite simply, the damage deposit was not returned because of the excessive damage you caused during your stay. This is the only incidence following a rental of the flat, that it was left in such a poor condition that such action was necessary, as incurred expenses were greater than the damage deposit. The duvet cover alone, which was left excessively stained and unusable for future guests, cost £80 and the carpet is permanently damaged, not to mention the rest of the bedding and damage to the walls. Whatever caused the stains, coffee or otherwise, is irrelevant. I’m not sure what gives you the impression that we inspected while you were out, this is simply untrue. The bedroom door has a secure keyed lock on the door and we do not enter when we have guests. All of our other guest reviews confirm that we provide exceptional accommodation and they have appreciated the personal touches we offer. I am sincerely sorry that you feel let down, however the feeling is mutual.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Very Nice stay

  • 5 of 5

Carla very friendly, welcoming and very good cook, loverly bread, cake and jam. Ideal for short walk into Louth, shops and restaurants. Plenty of places to visit in the area, we used to live near Louth some 20 years ago, very nice to revisit. Had a lovely stay in a very nice clean, well equiped apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5

thankyou Carla for providing the perfect base to stay whilst visiting friends, spotlessly clean , decorated to a very high standard, lovely welcome pack, also homemade cake and bread, totally unexpected a real treat , will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, spacious and homely

  • 5 of 5

We visited Louth to meet up with some friends and they suggested this website to us, which is how we found this property. Carla, the host, met us and gave us a quick tour then left us to it for the weekend. We had our own entrance to our part of the property and everything had been thought of. There was different bedding if we were too hot or cold, plenty of towels in the bathroom, the kitchen area was well catered for including cereal, tea/coffee/milk, homemade bread and freshly baked cake (which was delicious) as well as homemade jam. A really pleasant and delightful stay with some really thoughtful touches (including some notes on the history of the property which I rather enjoyed reading).

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

warm welcome,comfortable flat

  • 5 of 5

Carla greeted us and showed us round the flat which was formerly the servants quarters. Now tastefully decorated and refurbished with high class fittings. A fresh fruit bowl including Lincolnshire plum bread and a rhubarb cake were provided followed shortly by a freshly baked large loaf of bread, still warm and smelling like only fresh bread can! Milk,numerous breakfast cereals, spread and various jars of home made jams, plus tea and coffee. What more could you ask? The house is 10 mins walk from Louth town centre with it's numerous independent shops and eateries and 3 market days. Louth is a fascinating town with many passages and alley ways and almost unchanged since we left almost 40 years ago!

Back to the flat, on street parking was always available, the double locked entrance led through the house utility room to the flat. On the right

the large bedroom with comfortable bed, ensuite and large freeview tv. To the left lounge and dining area and kitchenette overlooking the beautiful very full garden which could be accessed through the utility room.

  • Review Submitted: 22-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals