HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Historic Downtown Stillwater Is Only A 15 Minute Walk - Permit No. 2018-008

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

South Hill home w/ Front porch and less than a mile walk to downtown. 10 minute walk to South Hill stairs with unforgettable scenic overlook of St. Croix River and historic Stillwater Lift Bridge. 15 minutes to historic downtown, or 0.8 miles, with great shopping and first class restaurants and bars.

Many outdoor activities in the area including boating, golfing, kayaking, bike trails, wineries, breweries and paddle boat excursions.

Our home has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and was originally built in 1890 and remodeled in 2004. Modern updates with character of an old house. It is conveniently located close to Highway 36 and easy to find.

We have a Golden Retriever that lives in the home while we are there. Please keep this in mind for those who have allergies. With that said, we will happily accept well-trained dogs in our home, the backyard is fenced in.

More Details

Owner
Heather and Mike
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 January, 2018

About Heather and Mike

We've been married for 20 years and have 2 grown children. We came to the river for a boating trip with some friends 15 years ago. We used to be lake boaters, but from that day forward we were all about the river and haven't looked back. We moved to Stillwater specifically for the boating, but have fallen in love with the town with its shopping, many restaurants and friendly people.

We live on our boat most of the summer and for that reason are able to make our home available most of the boating season.

Heather and Mike purchased this house in 2010

Why Heather and Mike chose Stillwater

We decided on this home after months of searching. As soon as we saw this house we knew it would be perfect for our family. The home was originally built in 1890, underwent a remodel in 2004 and we continue to make improvements. We love our home and hope you enjoy it too.

What makes this house unique

Our home is located close to downtown shopping and restaurants. It offers open views and is a great place to catch a baseball game from the front porch in the summer.

If you have any specific items you would like to request for your stay (grocery, liquor, etc.) please let us know and we will try to accommodate.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Stillwater in Washington County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Historic Downtown Stillwater Is Only A 15 Minute Walk - Permit No. 2018-008
average rating of 4.897959 based on 49 reviews
4

Charming house. Close to downtown and very quiet. Internet didn't work well.

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our home and it’s location, glad you appreciated it as well. As far as the internet, unfortunately we are at the mercy of Comcast/Xfinity. A call or text to us and we would’ve been happy to assist with a pretty simple and quick fix of resetting the router.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for Girls Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful 3 bedroom, 2 bath home was the perfect setting for a girls weekend in Stillwater! The home was easy to find and short driving distance to downtown Stillwater. The home had everything we needed!! Thank you, Heather!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very clean and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Our girls' weekend in Stillwater was wonderful. Mike met us promptly, allowed us to check in early which was great. The updated home was charming. Our glitches were figuring out the tv and the Keurig-type coffee maker, so some written instructions would've been helpful. We'd recommend a larger drip coffee maker, due to our group of 6 coffee drinkers.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a nice stay. I am sorry you had encountered these glitches, I think maybe due to all the excitement with friends and a fun weekend ahead maybe some items during our walk through were missed. In this walk through we show every guest the main basic Xfinity remote needed to use for the TV with its bright red button that says “all on”. We also show guests a white 3 ring binder that has all the information that may be needed during their stay including TV instructions. Our house already offers 2 coffee makers, one is a Mr. Coffee drip style and the other is a newer Keurig (not a “Keurig type”) with a diagram and illuminated LEDS on the front to show what steps are needed next to brew coffee when the power button is pushed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

House was very clean and appropriated

  • Review Submitted: 02-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great space for 5 friends to share their annual gathering

  • 5 of 5

Mike and Heather were both prompt and helpful with reservation and access to the rental. Nicely decorated. Very clean and comfortable. Easy access to lots of sights in Stillwater and Hudson. Restrictions of some participants kept us from walking to downtown area, however it certainly is possible especially if the temperatures were a bit warmer.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

September Girls Getaway

  • 5 of 5

I and four friends stayed here for four nights to celebrate a 60th birthday. The home was very clean and beautifully decorated. It was perfect for our girls weekend. Thank you for sharing your home with us. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone interested in staying in Stillwater!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

San Pedro Cafe
Phil's Tara Hideaway
Marx Wine Bar and Grill
Pier 500
The Green Room
Northern Vineyards Winery
Dock Cafe
"One of the best views of the river, while you dine."
Nelson Ice Cream
Nacho Mamas
The Oasis Cafe
Bricks Neapolitan Pizza
Stillwater Trolley
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Minneapolis/St. Paul International
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Meisters
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Highway 36
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Phils Tara Hideaway
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Afton Alps
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Stillwater, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
1 Feb 2018 - 5 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,853
for 3 nights
From
£578
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£590
for 2 nights
From
£235
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £72.19 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £108.29 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £360.95
Tax Rate 10.38%

VRBO now charges a service fee which you will see when you book.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals