HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Awesome Architecture! Beautiful setting in the heart of Girdwood with hot tub!!

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
1 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday chalet in Girdwood - Compton's Chalet ~No Extra Cleaning Fees!~ Indoor Hot Tub

3 Bedroom with Den and Hot Tub

Beautiful big beam construction set amongst towering trees makes Compton's Chalet a relaxing retreat. Large windows surround the main living space with a forest of trees as your view, you are one with the trees in this beautiful private setting. Perched on the third floor is the amazing master bedroom suite with a custom built king size bed facing the peaceful views, surrounded by windows. Enjoy morning sunshine in the solarium just off the kitchen which is filled with all the necessities to make your trip carefree. The classic round cedar hot tub sits in a downstairs room with outdoor access. There is a full size washer & dryer plus Cable TV & DVD/VCR. DSL internet access in the solarium top off the amenities at this spacious mountain home.

Give us a call or send us an email to make a reservation or learn more about this great vacation rental!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Alyeska Accommodations
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 November, 2016
Call Manager

About Alyeska Accommodations

For over 25 years Alyeska Accommodations in Girdwood, Alaska has had the pleasure of serving guests from around the globe with short term rental of comfortable vacation homes, condominiums, and elegant mountain chalets, all fully furnished and competitively priced. Girdwood is located in the amazing Glacier Valley with its seven glaciers, surrounded by Chugach National Forest and State Park boasting an exceptional range of Summer activities like hiking, biking, fishing and glacier viewing. Recognized annually by Forbes and National Geographic as a world class ski resort town, and located just 35 miles south of Anchorage on the scenic Turnagain Arm, Girdwood is the place to base your Alaskan vacation anytime of year!

Alyeska Accommodations purchased this chalet in 1985

Why Alyeska Accommodations chose Alaska

Compton's Chalet has a classic rustic exterior, neat wood beam construction and a separated floor plan. The custom King Bed upstairs is a unique treat

What makes this chalet unique

Just a short stroll to the Girdwood new townsite or a short walk up the hill to the base of Mt. Alyeska, Jack Sprat, Sitzmark, The Bake Shop and the many lifts at Alyeska Resort.

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

Awesome Architecture! Beautiful setting in the heart of Girdwood with hot tub!!
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
Wenatchee, Washington
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5

This home is wonderfully welcoming and has an awesome space for gathering together in. I love looking out the windows and seeing the gorgeous, green trees, almost has a tree-house feel! There was plenty of space for our family to spread out and we all enjoyed the hot tub. I also appreciate that the home is located on a dead-end road - it is very peaceful and the kids had a great time playing outside. I will definitely be coming back to this incredible home.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi K! We are so happy you loved the home! We love it too and agree on the tree house feel! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Hatcher Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful week staying here. The house was tidy and clean, but the best part was how quiet and comfortable it was. The house was within walking distance from the town, and yet felt like we were staying far away in the woods for the week. We were also thrilled to find a home that welcomed our dog, and it was located on a quiet street so I didn't have to worry about either our dogs or kids.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Santa Barbara, CA
4

Cozy and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

I just read the only review here and don’t agree.

We really enjoyed our stay at this house, I think because it felt like just that – a house, not a modern sterile resort-esque place. In fact, some of our group opted to stay “home” instead of ski. It’s on a road with only a few houses with lots of woods to explore. This boded well for hot tub sessions and apre ski drinks in the living room with big windows that made us feel like we were in the hemlock trees. It’s got a lot of character and it’s quaint, which the orange carpets, I thought, actually added to.

My favorite was the master bedroom, which comprises the whole third floor with a private bathroom and windows in the tree tops. My mother has a bad back and the quality of the mattress in the downstairs bedroom is great. We’d definitely come back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Christina, Thanks for your kind words, we love Compton's too! Hope to see you in Girdwood again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Hoover, Al
1

What a disappointment

  • 1 of 5

My family stayed here for 1 night on July 25, 2015, with 5 adults and 4 kids. The rental company said we would have plenty of sleeping room. We ended up with 2 sleeping on the non-fold out sofa. This house has beds for 7 max, and that is including a small futon in the lower level. The house is old and dated--Orange, worn out carpet throughout the house, including the bathrooms. The house smells extremely musty, like mold or mildew, and did not look or feel clean. In the downstairs level there were gnats/flying bugs in the bathroom and in the bunk bed room. We could only find 4 bath towels for a house that boasts accommodations for 8.

When we checked out and complained to the rental company, they said they were aware of the problems and actually try to discourage customers from renting this house. Too bad they didn't try to discourage us.

I wouldn't recommend this house to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tricia, First I would like to apologize for this home falling short of your expectations. We have shared your concerns with the home owner and have taken your complaints to heart. We do advertise this as a home that sleep 7 and at the time of your reservation we explained this and you stated that the kids could all sleep together, again apologies if this caused confusion! We truly want our guest to love there stay and we hope you give us another chance.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 7

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Ted Stevens International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.3 Miles
Chair 5 Restaurant
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Alaska Railroad
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Alyeska Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
Jack Sprat
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Alyeska Resort
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Turnagain Arm
Car: recommended

Girdwood is located in the amazing Glacier Valley with its seven glaciers, surrounded by Chugach National Forest and State Park boasting an exceptional range of Summer activities like hiking, biking, fishing and glacier viewing. Recognized annually by Forbes and National Geographic as a world class ski resort town, and located just 35 miles south of Anchorage on the scenic Turnagain Arm, Girdwood is the place to base your Alaskan vacation anytime of year!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Girdwood, Alaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Break
23 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£1,061
for 2 nights
From
£531
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year's
29 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,802
for 3 nights
From
£601
 
 
March
1 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
1 night minimum stay
£391
for 1 night
From
£391
£2,333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
Slush Cup
7 Apr 2017 - 10 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£830
for 2 nights
From
£415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th
30 Jun 2017 - 4 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,245
for 3 nights
From
£415
 
 
July
5 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£830
for 2 nights
From
£415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2016
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£391
for 1 night
From
£391
From
£489
Fri,Sat
£2,333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£830
for 2 nights
From
£415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£391
for 1 night
From
£391
£2,333
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £38 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £159
Tax Rate 12.0%

Pricing will vary. Contact Alyeska Accommodations at 907-783-2000 for exact pricing for your dates, further details and reservations.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Girdwood, USA

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1964 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Guest Bathroom 2nd Floor - Toilet
    1st Floor Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Bunk Bed
    Extra Room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Laundry in closet. Full size Futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties