HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Cute Cabin just 5 minutes from Downtown Talkeetna

Bedrooms 1
Space 320 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

Dry cabin sleeps 2 Guests only

Our cozy cabin is located on a nice forested 5 acre parcel just 3 minute drive or a 15 minute bike ride from downtown Talkeetna.

Our Sockeye Cabin is available for single or double occupancy. The cabin offers two double beds and have a small fridge, & a nice covered porch to hang your waders. This cabin has a shared bathhouse just a few steps from your front door. We do also have a larger cabin with full kitchen and private bath that sleeps 4 under VRBO #651258.

Ask about our 'Stay & Play' discounts on extended stays with rafting or fishing packages. Our company specializes in fly fishing adventures for beautiful native Alaskan Trout and Salmon!

More Details

Dave and Heather Fish
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 April, 2017

About Dave and Heather Fish

We moved to Alaska in 1999 from Missoula,MT. Fell in love with Talkeetna and have spent every summer there since then. We operate our fishing/rafting business off of our property just a few miles from town. We now have two beautiful little girls that love both rafting, fishing, and being outdoors. Our family spends summer months in Talkeetna and winter in McCall, ID. We just love Talkeetna but after eight winters decided to winter somewhere a little warmer.

Dave and Heather Fish purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Dave and Heather Fish chose Alaska

Our property is a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of downtown Talkeetna during the summer months. Just a few minutes away by car or fifteen minutes by bike. Relax in a nice peaceful atmosphere just a short distance from town.

What makes this cabin unique

Local flavor away from the tour busses and lodges.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Talkeetna in Matanuska-Susitna

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 320 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Staff
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski
  • whitewater rafting


1/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

Cute Cabin just 5 minutes from Downtown Talkeetna
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews

Not anything like the pics!

  • 1 of 5

My niece booked these "cabins" large garden sheds.They have no grass.Are not the cabin in the pics.The ground area is rough, and tree limbs sticking out.Diffinetly Not handycapped accessable, not even the bathroom.They will not let you use the laundry room.The "garden sheds" are not finished, men working on them with saws and things during your stay.They only have one beat up bike to ride onto town, 5 miles.....Near no water, lake or river.The inside of the cabin is painted plywood with the seams all.showing.No curtains on door any windows.Can see right in.No light bulb in bedside lamp, no coffee maker or micro-wave.No breakfast table or chair to sit inside at.Had to ask for towells.Internet was turned off at 11:00pm.Owner was not helpful or friendly.If they posted that they were just putting this place together and cut the price and you knew what you were coming into you would not feel taken.I took pics but this has nowhere to post them.She did have a few cute nic-nacs.I will say she.did let us park our motorhome without charge.But my niece was still embarrassed for us to see what she rented.Other rents complained also.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am not sure how to respond to this post. We allowed our guest to check in 7 hours early and explained to her that there would be some construction work going on. We had been doing some finish work in the cabins and only work from 11am(check-out) until 4pm (check-in). We explained her cabin wasn't quite ready and she quickly replied that she did not mind, that it was cute and comfortable. When my husband offered her towels she turned them down and said she had brought her own. We had several communications with the guest as she called us everyday for a week prior to her visit to ask about the current road conditions. We taught her son to rig up his fishing pole, gave them life jackets and paddles and arranged a canoe for them. We also allowed her grandmother to park an RV and use our facility for free as well check-out 2 hours late. We also allowed her young dog on the property which left presents on several of the cabin decks and ran free helping itself to the trash and the insides of other renters cabins.We were finishing up some remolding and have removed some trees for fire danger so those are valid points. We do not post or offer laundry services anywhere on the listing. The laundry room is for our cleaning products and a place to wash all of the linens. It is clearly marked employees only and is the size of a closet. I am sorry she felt we were rude but I think you can see we were clearly accommodating and helpful. She even mentioned that she would be back each year.. We will use this post as a learning tool and move forward, but I think it is important when asked if everything is comfortable to respond honestly. These types of posts hurt our lively-hood and make it impossible to fix any issues immediately. Thanks for the response.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Latitude 62
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Alaska Railroad
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Parks Highway
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Latitude 62
Nearest Ski
150 Miles

Talkeetna is an outdoor Mecca. Fishing, rafting, & flight seeing are 3 of the biggest attractions in town during the summer months. With cross country skiing and snowmobiling being the norm during winter months


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Talkeetna, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
5 Oct 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £11.69
Pet Fee £7.79
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals