HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private Studio Bungalow Set in a Tropical Garden Oasis

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Darling Studio Bungalow Walking Distance to all that Venice Has to Offer!

Step on to the property and you are whisked away to a tropical island!

Follow the path lined with Silver palms and colorful orchids reaching out to greet and welcome you to paradise.

Your private bungalow is located at the rear of the double-lot property and is the perfect get away spot for a romantic trip for two or if you are in town doing business in Silicon Beach.

Located in a safe, quiet neighborhood, walking distance to all that Venice has to offer, the studio has everything you need including a nice outdoor patio with a table, chairs, umbrella and a BBQ surrounded by a lush tropical garden and the blue California sky overhead.

Walk a couple blocks South toward Washington Boulevard and try out South End, a quaint pizzeria with a nice wine list, 26 Beach for burgers and brunch or C&O Trattoria for tasty Italian. Head North up Abbott Kinney Boulevard for restaurants such as Gjelina where you can enjoy the ultimate gourmet meal, The Tasting Kitchen, dive-bar dressed up, The Brigg or “First Fridays” (the first Friday of each month) to sample food trucks serving everything from grilled cheese sandwiches, Lobster, tacos and more!

On our sunny days – which is most of them -- the studio is bathed in wonderful natural light, an open floor plan, high ceilings and views of the colorful garden.

Sleep comfortably on the dark wood framed queen size bed with soft linens and fluffy pillows. Curl up and watch TV, read a book or surf the net with the high-speed wireless internet.

Easily prepare a simple meal in the kitchenette area with a 2-burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, tea kettle, coffee maker, toaster and all you need – plates, glasses and a few kitchen staples -- to enjoy your meal at the Oak dining table inside or outside on the sunny patio.

The bathroom has cool grey, polished cement floors and walls, a hand-held shower fixture, plenty of fluffy towels of all sizes, beach towels and a few toiletries to get you started.

Parking is street parking and there always seems to be a spot available day or night.

You are welcomed with light goodies and water upon arrival.

A couple things to note:

There is a dog in the neighbor’s yard that may bark. Just say his name, Django, and he should relax. He has NO access to the property.

At times, when the owner is absent, she parks her car at the back of the property. When this occurs, guests have permission to use the grassy area at the back of the yard/lot to dine at the table and/or enjoy the lounge chair.

More Details

Property Manager
Cynthia
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This place is simply amazing... airy tropical patio and easy get to the coolest street in CA - Abbott Kinney. I surfed in the morning and enjoyed a cooking work shop in the afternoon. If you are looking for lifestyle, chill place to stay in Venice, this has got to be at the top of your list!
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 9

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
LAX
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Downtown Los Angeles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
405 FWY
Nearest Restaurant
30 Metres
SouthEnd
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Venice Beach

Just around the corner from the property is a great wine/pizza bar called SouthEnd which is run my two Italian brothers.

Abbott Kinney Boulevard with all of its boutique shops and restaurants is a short walking distance from the property. Be sure and go on the first Friday of each month for a food truck variety second to none.

Grab a "Breeze" bike rental by Hulu at the nearest location and cruise from Venice to Santa Monica with ease.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Venice in Los Angeles

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Open floor plan studio.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

63% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Private Studio Bungalow Set in a Tropical Garden Oasis
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 20 reviews
5

Spacious tranquil place for relaxation

  • 5 of 5

The property is everything you advertised it to be: an oasis with lush vegetation, a retreat for relaxation. The studio was very clean, comfortable and the welcome basket with goodies was an unexpected and much appreciated amenity. Cynthia was very helpful, caring and made us feel welcome. It was the perfect resort after a long drive across the country, and gave us several days to enjoy our daughter’s company – she just began a new and exciting phase in her career and already knew enough of the local sites and restaurants to make it a wonderful week. The location is convenient to explore the Venice canals, shopping at Abbot Kinney Boulevard, dinning at S.A.L.T at Marina Del Ray and Brunch at Urth Caffe in Santa Monica. In a nutshell, we loved it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review Monika! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We would be delighted to have you back any time as you were lovely guests. Until then, take care! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is absolutely my go to return spot for Venice

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly what we were looking for. My fiancee and I spent 5 incredible nights in this quiet, clean, cozy and private bungalow that totally met it's description & exceeded our expectation. Being our California "engagement trip" this spot was perfect for me to introduce her to local Venice Beach & Santa Monica. She is already talking about going back! Communication, amenities, decor, location... It all was exactly what we needed to just relax and enjoy each other as if we already had a home there. I wish I could keep this all to myself but it's just too good to be selfish about. We will absolutely return to this spot year after year!

We highly recommend The Butcher's Daughter (a vegetarian / vegan spot) nearby for dinner.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
1

'DEFINITELY' Not As Advertised!!

  • 1 of 5

So very disappointing!!! Where to begin...car parked on our private patio, dirty outdoor furniture with no umbrella as pictured and debris from dead plantings, coffee maker that did not work, insufficient towels for 5-night stay, bathroom shower flooded entire bathroom (definitely a safety hazard with hair dryer useage), smoke detector which we know was not functioning since it had been painted over and no blinking light, no trash bags, large stain on sectional covered by a blanket, portable heater not working properly and lastly pathway lights on wrong timer..lights were on during the day, pitch dark at night! Agent did her best to alleviate some of our disappointments by providing patio umbrella, cleaning furniture, sweeping patio, providing flashlight and replacing coffeemaker..This was all done on day 3 of our stay so she refunded day 1 & 2 and offered $100 for the inconveniences...Ultimately, the responsibility lies with the property owners to ensure that their guests walk into a clean & safe environment. My advice to anyone considering renting this property..'LOOK ELSEWHERE', where guests come FIRST!!

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My apologies again for these inconveniences. I did my best, as soon as I could, as I got food poisoning and was in the hospital. Yes, when the owner goes out of town, she does park her car in the yard and most guests have been ok with it – it is bohemian, funky Venice beach after all. I did offer for guest to use the other part of the property which had a larger outside table and chairs. As noted in the description, one of the pluses of the studio is that it is located in a beautiful, mature tropical garden setting so naturally there can be debris, fallen leaves. The coffee maker did break and was replaced along with a pound of gourmet coffee, cookies… the umbrella was replaced, the patio table, chairs cleaned again. We provide up to 5 bath towels, a few hand and wash towels and 2 floor mats which our other guests have been fine with. We provide 2 trash bags in the kitchen and bath to get guests started along with all kitchen and bath supplies and a gift basket with waters and snacks. We have replaced the smoke detector and the heater and are replacing the couch very soon. The censored lights have been adjusted and a flashlight has been provided. As the guest noted, to make up for these inconveniences, we did refund for 2 nights and gave them $100 cash additionally. Guests DO come first and as you can see, this is a one-off compared to all of our other guests who have given us 4 and 5 star reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location! Cute place :-)

  • 3 of 5

The place is very cute and location is great. 3 min drive to the boardwalk :-)

Only negative was the cleaning, did'nt seem ready for our arrival.

I would go back, but I'd send a mail first, about that.

Best regards

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anethe, I was sorry to hear that you felt the property was not very clean. It is located in a "tropical oasis" with lots of plants, trees, etc., and our housekeeper does her best to keep things as clean as possible. I had left you a gift card for Erewhon Organic grocery store, which I assume you received, that I hoped would help make up for the inconvenience. You did say that you would come back and I hope you do. I will make sure that the property is squeaky clean. :) My sincerest apologies again. Cynthia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cynthia is the best!

  • 4 of 5

The location of the property is ideal, perfect walk to explore Abbot Kinney and easy walk to the beach! Parking was so easy!

Cynthia was a great host ensuring we were all set at check in and took the time to make sure we were ok during our stay. True hospitality is sometimes rare, Cynthia delivered for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So Happy With Our Bungalow!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I were so pleased with this property. We had a last minute change in travel plans so I was thankful that the property manager Cynthia was quick to respond and extremely accommodating & friendly. The studio was beautiful, very spacious and well equipped. Even included some special touches (a basket with gourmet chips and cookies upon arrival). Loved the casual stylish decor; light and bright. Awesome location - we jogged around the marina and to the beach daily. My daughter commented after the first night that she felt like it was her new home. I definitely give it a high recommendation!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in Venice, Los Angeles area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall Holiday
17 Nov 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£805
for 5 nights
From
£137
 
 
Winter Holiday
15 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£805
for 5 nights
From
£137
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£762
for 5 nights
From
£129
 

Additional pricing information

Exit Cleaning Fee £64.45 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £44.73
Tax Rate 14.0%

Credit card processing fees may apply.
Rates will vary with low and high seasons, holidays as well as with length of stay. Credit card fees may apply and vary.
For stays longer than a month, we ask for a mandatory mid-stay cleaning to be paid by guest.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals