Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stunning location, right next to the beach

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Springtide - a holiday home that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms

Springtide is wonderfully located right by the beach and sand dunes of Holywell Bay. It has a superb open plan lounge / dining room with two large sliding doors which open onto the sun deck to enhance some al fresco living, There is a master double bedroom and twin bedroom downstairs with a second twin bedroom up the steep spiral staircase which has some lovely views towards the sea.

Beach, beautiful views, surfing, golf, horse riding, sand dunes, rock pools and plenty of walks right on the doorstep - this property is ideal for a family summer holiday or a winter escape for a couple or small group of friends. Newquay, with its beaches and a huge array of restaurants, bars and clubs, is only 10 minutes away.

Accommodation

Ground Floor: Kitchen area with fully fitted units, breakfast bar and seating area with a large SMEG fridge, corridor leads through to the double aspect, lounge / dining room with comfortable sofas, wood burning stove, TV and dining table. Further doors to; Master bedroom with 4'6" double bed and storage. Twin bedroom, divan beds with integral drawers, chest of drawers, wardrobe and window that opens into the kitchen seating area. Family shower room with WC and wash hand basin. A steep spiral staircase leads from the living room up to;

First Floor: Second twin bedroom with storage, dormer window and sea views. This bedroom is not suitable for people with mobility problems, due to the steepness of the spiral staircase leading up to it.

Exterior: Enclosed sun deck and garden at the rear with kettle barbecue, sun loungers, picnic table, patio table & chairs. There is a gate that leads directly out to the sand dunes and the beach. To the front of the property is a private courtyard area with table and chairs.

Facilities & Services

Heating is via night storage heaters and also the wood burning stove. The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric oven & hob, kettle, toaster, there is also a boiling water tap, large SMEG fridge with spacious ice box, dishwasher, microwave, combined washing machine & tumble drier. The sitting room has a flatscreen, Freeview Smart TV & DVD player and PlayStations 4. There is an iron & ironing board available.

Miscellaneous

Electricity, heating, bed linen, towels are all included, you will need to bring your own beach towels. There are parking facilities for up to 2 - 3 vehicles. A maximum of 2 dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per week per dog. Dogs must not be left unattended at the property. We regret that no smoking is allowed. There is WiFi available at the property. There is a cot & high chair available.

General Booking Information

Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.

Short breaks are available during quieter periods.

£150 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.

More Details

Property Manager
CornwallsCottages Booking Team
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
20 September, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment around the Cubert around the Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • near the sea
General:
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 Double Bed
    - 2 Single Bed
    - 2 Single Bed
  • 1 x 4'6 double, 2 x twin
Outside:
  • Garden
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
34% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning location, right next to the beach
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 23 reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
4

Pleasant stay at this property the only item we found lacking was a pizza cutter so nothing drastic

  • 4 of 5

Unfortunately there was a power cut on the Sunday of our stay for about 5 hours. While I know that this is beyond your control, it did cause us problems especially as we had two young children in the house.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bolton, United Kingdom
4

Two weeks in August

  • 4 of 5

We have been staying Holywell each summer for a long time. The beach is fabulous and is dog friendly so it ticks all the boxes. We have previously stayed on Parkdean but with 4 kids of high school age and above we wanted to have more space. Springtime is superbly located - access to the sand dunes is through the back garden so getting to the beach or going for a walk is so easy. The backing is in the sun in the afternoon and evening so sitting out with a drink etching the sunset is a great way to round the day off. The property itself was nice and light with large windows looking out across the dunes and the beach. The rooms were all very clean and there was a well equipped kitchen. Netflix was a plus for our girls, especially of an evening. The garden is fully fenced / gated so we could let the dog wander freely with no worries of her escaping.

The only downside and this is a very minor issue is that the access for cars is quite tight at th top of the drive - it would be to tight for a van (T5 etc) I think - our Sharan was just about OK.

Overall we had a brilliant time at Springtide and were very sad to leave at the end of the 2 weeks. We would definitely come again.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gloucester, United Kingdom
5

A beautiful cottage in a perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

The location was perfect for our children and dog right on the sand dunes of our favourite beach. Beautiful cottage. Was lovely to receive a small carton of milk and tea and coffee on arrival just what we needed after our journey down. Thank you. Mr and Mrs Reeves and family

  • Review Submitted: 08-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
5

Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

Felt welcomed by the tea and biscuits there for us on arrival.( thank you) .. Comfortable, spacious light and airy, we loved it here. The sand dunes at the bottom of our garden lead to beautiful walks to the beach and stunning sunsets. The perfect holiday. We will be returning next year.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
3

A Big DIsappointment!

  • 3 of 5

The photos make this place look fab, but in our view, they are somewhat deceptive. The bungalow and garden are smaller than the photos make them appear, and the sand dunes are much larger than they look in the pictures. They are in fact HUGE, so people with mobility issues - beware. If you think it is easy access to the beach, you will be wrong. The back garden is elevated, with quite a few steps to negotiate down, which isn’t apparent from the photos and is not mentioned in the details. There is also a steep narrow drive down to the bungalow, which is not mentioned, and the road to the drive had a number of large potholes - apparently not the owner’s responsibility - but if it were my property and I was renting it out, I would want to get on to the people whose responsibility it is, and get it sorted. First impressions count!

After paying not far short of £1000 for a week, we did expect to find a welcome pack waiting for us - there wasn’t even a pint of milk in the fridge, and the local shop was closed the whole time we were there. There was no garden furniture, as displayed in the photos. This was provided upon request, but had been stored for the winter and in our view, needed a good clean. The grass was very long, and was not cut the whole time we were there, despite the weather being lovely. The property is dog friendly, and yet there was no outside light for night time trips to the garden. When I suggested this might be useful, the response was that it wasn’t needed because of the large patio doors - the inside lights were sufficient. Who wants to pull back all the blinds at two patio doors and put on very bright lights in the middle of night to check on their dogs outside??

There was an instruction book in the property, with details on how to use the appliances and a list of ‘do’s and donts’ - one of which was a ‘request’ to strip the beds at the end of our stay and put the dirty laundry in the shower, to assist the housekeeper. I felt a bit aggrieved about this as surely our £930 fee to stay should include the housekeeper’s charges for their time to do such jobs? However, I did do as asked, and was horrified to discover that when I removed the sheet on the mattress I had been sleeping on all week, the protector underneath it had a very large stain on it, which to me, looked like a urine stain! I was very upset by this, and left a note for the housekeeper to say that we would be complaining to the owner’s, which we did. We did not get a satisfactory response, and I can only assume that all knowledge of the stain was denied, as I was told I should have taken a photo, for proof! If they want guests to strip beds before leaving, then they should ensure that the mattress protector underneath is in a hygienic state!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Owner's Response: Whilst this review is disappointing we are not surprised it is so negative as we did not agree with Ms. Richards that she was entitled to a refund after her holiday at Springtide. We dealt with the issues she raised direct with her prior to her submitting this review, which she withheld subject to making it clear that she expected financial recompense. To address the main issues in her review I am not sure how the photos can be construed as deceptive by making things look smaller or larger than they actually are. If this were possible I would like to look taller and slimmer in all my photos !! Some of the sand dunes are big but you don't actually have to go over them to access the beach. You can follow the path of the stream to the left of the dunes which meanders down to the sea. There is also a large expanse of relatively flat sand where families with small children play safely in the shallow stream. Personally I like to watch the children slide down the dunes on their sand trays, it looks like great fun and I'm hoping it will eventually make the sea view from Springtide bigger. With regard to the stain on the mattress cover, the bed in question has been used twice both times by adults since all the protectors were replaced. The previous guest was contacted who confirmed that no stain was on the cover when she departed. This guest is a frequent visitor to Springtide and a senior ward sister at a large Devon hospital where hygiene is of the utmost importance. Housekeeping made the bed ready for the next guest as normal without noticing the mysterious stain both prior to and after Ms. Richards stay. These covers are normally checked and washed accordingly at change over. Many people who visit Holywell Bay return, it is a lovely location and the dunes are a designated area of special scientific interest. We are very proud of the standard of accommodation at Springtide and feel this is reflected in the reviews which other guests have posted. Despite being permitted to bring her 4 dogs to the premises and the lovely weather I find it very sad that this lady could find nothing positive about her stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Harrow, United Kingdom
4

Lovely stay. Beach right on doorstep. Dogs loved it.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely place. House had everything you needed. Relaxing time. Would definitely book again. Thankyou.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Holywell Bay is a little village on the North coast between Perranporth and Newquay. It has a beautiful beach with fantastic sand dunes and a little stream for paddling for those daunted by the waves. In the summer months the beach is patrolled by lifeguards and of course, surfing lessons are available for those keen on learning. There is a small grocery shop 50m from Springtide which is open during the summer months and the St Piran Inn is 200m away where they serve a superb range of locally sourced, home cooked foods and award winning local beers.

These days Newquay's excellent surfing waters are the towns main industry, where as it once used to be a major export port for the counties mining efforts as well as a north coast port for pilchard fisheries. Fistral Beach holds many surfing competitions throughout the year, and also hosts Run to the Sun over May Bank holiday, a VW and Custom Car Show. Both the Womens and Mens Gig Championships are held here, as well as a balloon festival and surf and lifesaving events. Newquay Zoo now houses 130 different species in sub tropical gardens in the centre of the town.

Neighbouring Watergate Bay and The Extreme Academy offers you a 'ski resort on a beach' and a plethora of activities to keep even the most active occupied. Fifteen Cornwall, founded by Jamie Oliver in 2002 sits on top of the two mile beach at Watergate offering inspirational views for the young chefs and professionals to create fantastic menus from local and seasonal produce. The Lappa Valley Steam Railway just outside Newquay offers both the old and young an interesting day out. Newquay Airport has made the north coast one of the easiest places in Cornwall to get to, with regular flights from various locations across the UK. The town also has an Aquarium, a Waterworld and numerous immensely pretty beaches for the less active. Trerice run by the National Trust is 3 miles outside of the town is an Elizabethan Manor House and Garden with restricted winter opening times.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included. You will need to bring your own beach towels.

    Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.
  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals