HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stunning barn conversion.

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

A barn conversion that sleeps 10 guests in 5 bedrooms

A new home is being constructed on a site near to The Old Dairy at Tregavethan. The external works are almost complete but the internal works will be continuing until June 2018. We expect very little disturbance from this.

A quite superb conversion of an old agricultural building. The Old Dairy is conveniently located in a quiet hamlet just north of Truro, yet surrounded by heavenly countryside and within easy reach of the spectacular Atlantic coastline around St Agnes. Spacious and luxurious family accommodation incorporating cutting edge energy saving technology, plus a large, private garden with lawn and patio area with built-in BBQ. Dog friendly.

The Old Dairy has undergone a very sympathetic refurbishment by the same owners as The Linhay, and the accommodation has been completed to a very high standard. Many of the traditional features of the original barn have been retained, with oak beams in several rooms and natural stone tiles throughout. Much of the furniture has been made by local craftsmen. The Old Dairy is a particularly environmentally friendly place to stay as it is fitted with solar panels, ground and air source heat pumps and a rain water harvesting and recycling system. There is also a cosy wood burning stove to keep things warm on a cooler evening.

Accommodation

Ground Floor: Main entrance into hallway. Large living room with ample comfortable seating for 10 people, separate games room with pool table ideal for children. Spacious and bright fully fitted kitchen with large ‘farmhouse' pine dining table, utility room with separate WC and access to the large garden, patio and parking area. Double bedroom with king-size bed, with en-suite shower room, twin bedroom with en-suite bathroom (with over-bath shower).

First Floor: Double bedroom with king-size bed with en-suite shower room, twin bedroom, further double bedroom with king-size bed and separate family bathroom (with over-bath shower).

Exterior: There is a grassed front garden, and a very large back garden with lawn and patio area with a built-in BBQ and outdoor seating.

Facilities & Services

There is underfloor heating in all rooms, heated towel rails in all bathrooms and a wood burning stove in the living room (with an initial supply of wood provided). The kitchen has 2 large fridge / freezers, electric oven, induction hob, microwave, kettle, toaster and dishwasher. The utility room has a washing machine & tumble drier. In the living room there is a flatscreen, large TV & DVD player. The games room has a TV, DVD player and pool table. WiFi is available at the property. There is an iron and ironing board. A travel cot & two highchairs are available (please bring bedding for travel cot) and there is a stair gate on the landing.

Accessibility information: There are no internal steps throughout the ground floor accommodation, and small thresholds at both external doors. The ground floor bath is fitted with grab handles. The parking area and lower garden is flat and on the same level as the cottage entrance, with a paved path to the door. There are wide, shallow steps (approx. 4 inches high) to the upper garden, which has a large, enclosed, flat patio area and lawn.

Miscellaneous

Electricity, heating, bed linen (apart from cot bedding) & towels are all included but please provide your own beach towels. Hairdryer is not provided. Off road parking is available for up to 5 vehicles. Up to 2 well behaved dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per dog / per week. Additional dogs may be permitted on application. Please bring towels for the dogs and do not allow them on the furniture. Regrettably no smoking is allowed.

General Booking Information

Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.

Shortbreaks are available during quieter periods.

£250 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using the ground floor only.

The property can be booked with The Linhay (approx 200m away) to provide accommodation for 14 people.

More Details

Property Manager
CornwallsCottages Booking Team
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
83%
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Kenwyn in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
Theme:
  • Luxury
General:
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    - 2 Single Bed
    - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    - 2 Single Bed
    - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • 3 Double rooms, 2 twin rooms
Outside:
  • Garden

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning barn conversion.
average rating of 4.6086955 based on 23 reviews
Enfield, United Kingdom
5

Amazing amount of space and comfort

  • 5 of 5

Firstly we arrive to find enough space to park 4 car or more comfortably. The milk, tea, coffee, sugar and cakes was very much appreciated after a long journey. The Old Dairy is in a beautiful location and so easy to get around from. There is plenty of space for everyone not to get under each other's feet. The outside space is very big and secure for small children and pets. We noted the reviews about the towels and they were right they are small, but staying that it's not difficult to bring your own. If I'm being very picky I would have loved to have a individual draw units in the bedrooms and perhaps a clock in the kitchen. We would highly recommend The Old Dairy, but saying that perhaps it's better to keep it secret so it is easy to rebook. Wonderful place, wonderful holiday

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Burnham-on-crouch, United Kingdom
5

Great place for a family get together.

  • 5 of 5

Ideal place for family get together; children and adults alike. Kitchen well equipped for larger numbers. Good parking for up to 5 vehicles. Only criticism is that the towels were not of a quality you would expect for such a property.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Donnybrook, Australia
4

very happy

  • 4 of 5

A fabulous house when in a large group with absolutely everything we needed. Location wasn't excellent but was very quiet which made up for the extra few miles. I would recommend his place to anyone wanting a large modern house for a large group with hosts who had thought of everything!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Deganwy, United Kingdom
4

A beautifully renovated place

  • 4 of 5

I always feel that your holiday home should be no less quality than your own home. The Old Dairy surpasses this. Its a warm welcoming house with well appointed spacious rooms. Theres was welcoming cakes in the fridge and a lovely bunch of flowers on the table. Nice touch! To have 4 bathrooms and an extra toilet is so well planned and means no waiting for bathroom access as you have in a lot of holiday homes. The kitchen is well stocked with quality items and it was lovely to have so much fridge/freezer space. The outside space is safe for children and they have a lovely raised bbq area with gate access. Being a senior person who can no longer lie on a blanket it would have been nice to have a couple of sun loungers but as theres no shed I dont know where they would store them.

We wanted somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of towns/coasts We found its location although very rural, very central just perfect to be able to explore the north or south of Cornwall as A30 was so close.

During our stay I had a few queries which were answered by the owners very promptly.

  • Review Submitted: 21-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wedmore, United Kingdom
3

Good location, accommodation could be better

  • 3 of 5

Good location to explore Cornwall. The property is clean, spacious and suitable for 10 people. However there was only 7 people in my party and there was not enough hot water for all to shower. It was only like warm

We did have a problem with the heating. This was corrected in the first 24 hours and temporary heaters were made available. When we contacted the owner they took action to rectify

  • Review Submitted: 03-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
4

Lovely cottages with some minor drawbacks!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cottage in a lovely location with plenty of space for a holiday with grandparents.

Just a couple of minor niggles ... lack of hot water, missing microwave, not overly clean (we found broken glass on the floor upon arrival), the towels are two small and have seen better days and pillows could do with replacing.

It would also have been nice to have been told prior to our arrival that there was building works being carried out next door as being woken up by reversing lorries, the bleeping forklift and the darn angle grinder was far from ideal! But hopefully this is only a short term issue.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: CornwallsCottages Ltd
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on the whole, but are sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues. Unfortunately, the microwave was damaged by previous guests and so removed by the cleaners as it was unsafe to use, and we had not had a chance to replace it prior to your arrival. However, we apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, and for not letting you know it was missing (it has now been replaced). We will speak to our cleaners about the housekeeping issues. We were unaware of the issue with the hot water until we received your feedback, so thank you for raising this, and we are sorry it was not working properly. Had we known about this during your stay, we could have rectified it as it appears to be caused by an issue with the hot water timer, which we will now address. Finally, we are sorry to hear that the neighbouring building work disturbed you, and for not informing you about it. We have asked the builder to limit noise early in the morning, but unfortunately the timing of site deliveries cannot always be controlled. However, as you say, this is a short term issue and we are working with the builder to minimise the disruption in the meantime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

For those wishing to sample the enormous strength of the Atlantic Ocean will do well to bring their surf boards to the Atlantic Coast. From Chapel Porth above Porthtowan, passing Perranporth, along to Fistral Beach and Watergate Bay at Newquay, up to Trevose Head and Polzeath past Padstow you will find all the best surfing beaches in the South West, of not only Cornwall but also England. The cliffs surrounding these beaches are nothing short of dramatic. In contrast to the gently rolling shores of the south coast, the north have dark mysterious drops where land has been eaten by the atlantic ocean, hence why the waves are far better here. Inland you will find Wheal Coates Mine, now looked after by the National Trust, part of the Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape World Heritage Site. St Agnes is part of only 12 sites in Cornwall awarded Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Newquay is not only famous for Fistral Beach, but Newquay Airport connects the county to places such as the Isles of Scilly, Edinburgh and Alicante. The Saints Way Trail is a 30 mile path from Padstow on the Atlantic Coast to Fowey on the South Coast. Padstow is more commonly known as Rick Stein country following the success of his numerous businesses in the town. Lucky really that the National Lobster Hatchery is just a stones throw away. Wadebridge, once a Market Town is now more widely known as being part of The Camel Trail, that takes the cyclist out to Padstow from the depths of Bodmin Moor.

Occupying a dramatic valley location with one of the most spectacular and beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Coast, Porthtowan has been drawing visitors for years to take advantage of its natural sun trap. A superb location for a holiday to Cornwall with a fine beach and close to good main roads means that you can easily explore the surrounding area on days that are not conducive to sitting on the beach.

Porthtowan has one of Cornwall's finest surfing waves. Producing good waves at all states of the tide, the wave is particularly good in an easterly or south easterly when it really pumps with some lovely hollow barrels. It is not for the faint hearted and beginners should be careful. An excellent surf school operates from the beach. At low tide the beach stretches down to St Agnes Head and Chapel Porth Beach where you will find a lovely National Trust Cafe full of warming hot chocolate and fabulous views.

The city of Truro is 4 miles away and has a wide selection of good shopping including a Tescos, Sainsburys, Marks & Spencer and many other high street outlets. There is also a cinema and a great selection of restaurants, pubs & cafes. The resort of Newquay is about 12 miles to the north with its spectacular surf beaches at Fistral & Watergate Bay. Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen" restaurant is located here. Padstow, with its fine selection of restaurants influenced by Rick Stein is just over 20 miles. Harbourside towns & villages such as Fowey, Falmouth & St Mawes are all within easy reach. For those flying to Cornwall, the airport is within easy reach.

The Cathedral City of Truro is in the heart of Cornwall and offers a wealth of facilities for the visitor. Dominated by the stunning cathedral, it is one of the south west's most attractive cities. Lemon Quay plays host to many events throughout the year including the Cornwall Food & Drink Festival in the Autumn and the famous Truro Fatstock Show just before Christmas. Regular farmers markets occur every Wednesdays & Saturday and there are also arts & craft markets on Saturdays.

There is a wonderful range of shopping for the visitor including all the regular high street stores, but Truro also has a wide range of more specialist stores. It really is worth a wander through the back streets and alleys to find some fabulous little boutiques.

Truro has a superb range of restaurants from Bustopher Jones & Mannings on Lemon Street to the always popular Pizza Express. There are lively bars, pubs & nightclubs including the superb Old Ale House, a busy Wetherspoons and the infamous L2 if you are so inclined! The Hall for Cornwall hosts everything from Shakespeare to rock concerts and the cinema on Lemon Street has all the latest releases.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included. Please note that if you have booked with the benefit of the discount for 4 people or less, this applies if you are using the ground floor only. If you wish to use other parts of the house, please contact us.

    Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using the ground floor only.
  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals