HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

LA's Best Downtown Rental House = 6BR + Pool + 3 Stories all 5 minutes from DTLA

People20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

This Huge Mansion Is A Modern Gem In Echo Park - This House Is Something Special

This massive property is truly one-of-a-kind.

Located off of historic Carroll Ave, LA' oldest neighborhood of Victorian Manors (homes) -- famous for being featured as the house at the end of Michael Jackson's thriller!

Location is everything - and here you are steps from newest creative strong-hold, Echo Park. With a massive property - you can be comfortable here with very large groups - we have hosted upwards of 12+ guests.

The house is roughly 4500 sq feet with 4 stories - (Pool / Outside Patio + Movie Room / Rec Room + Main Floor feating Living Room and Kitchen + Upstairs with

We have taken special care to curate each of the six bedrooms for comfort and practicability. The Master Bedroom is massive, with a his/her closet + bathroom setup with massive walk in shower + jacuzzi tub. The house's best view of downtown Los Angeles belongs to the double french doors swinging open to this bedroom's private patio.

Four other bedrooms feature memory foam queen size mattresses, large closets and comfortable furnishings.

The last bedroom features four twin beds, perfect for groups.

The Neighborhood:

Check out the extended Guidebook I've written - there is just so much within a short-drive of this amazing house. If you have something to do in either Downtown LA or Hollywood - this is a fantastic option for you!

Other Things to Note:

This house is the best luxury short-term rental properties on the market, bar none. You will have a great experience staying here.

More Details

Property Manager
Aaron
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
16 November, 2017

About Aaron

Hi,

I'm Aaron - and I'm from Maine.

Bienvenidos!

_A

Aaron purchased this house in 2005

Why Aaron chose Echo Park

This house is unlike any other rental house near Downtown Los Angeles. It honestly is one of the nicest and most spacious houses within five minutes of downtown that I know of.

Enjoy!

What makes this house unique

The private outdoor patio, large pool and hot tub. The entire backyard extends almost 100 feet from the building, start your day off with a swim or end it in the 100°+ hot tub! Need I say more?!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Echo Park in Northeast Los Angeles

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Includes huge His / Her Closets + Bathroom with Jacuzzi Tub
    Upstairs Suite #1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Great view of Downtown LA
    Upstairs Suite #2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Great view of Downtown LA
    Main Floor Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Wheelchair Accessible Bedroom + Bathroom
    Elevated Bed - 1 Large Double Bed , Really cool + Unique Elevated Bed
    Guest Bedroom / Kids Room - 4 Single Bed , 4 Twins - perfect for large groups
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • tennis
Notes:
No events on property unless given prior written consent.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
LA's Best Downtown Rental House = 6BR + Pool + 3 Stories all 5 minutes from DTLA
average rating of 4.1875 based on 16 reviews
5

Great Space, and location

  • 5 of 5

While the communication with the property manager was not always quick, I was able to get a response after a few inquiries. As far as the space itself, it was fantastic! The home was as beautiful as the photo's would indicate. Our group was a bride/groom and party. It was perfect for accommodating all of us. It was a little pricey, but worth it.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay and congratulations!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for bigger group

  • 5 of 5

Aaron was very welcoming host. He gave us good tips about the local placed that we needed. The house was very nice and clean. We had 12 guests and we did not have to use any extra beds. Rooms are also lot bigger than they seem to be in the pictures. Location is also good, you get uber pretty fast and dodger stadium, echo park, sunset boulevard (shops for groceries and few dive bars) all at walking distance. We used pool only few times bc we were out most of the time. I would rent again.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fond du Lac , WI
4

Perfect size for our family

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased when our family walked in the door to this property. We made a tour of the house and got ourselves organized. The 5 grandkids had plenty of room to roam around and especially liked the pool and patio area. We would definitely encourage other larger groups to rent this house. However, a few things need to be addressed. The cookwear needs updating as many pans were rusted, no baking pans, no dish towels or dish rags were found, we couldn't find a vacuum cleaner until we messaged the owner and he told us the combination to a locked closet in the basement where we also found more bath towels, the laundry room could be better organized as there was stuff laying around and we didn't know if it was dirty or clean. Lastly if I was the owner of this beautiful house, I would make sure all the air vents, windows, window blinds, door handle area and floors were cleaned on a regular basis. The railings outside the house needed a wipe down also. Otherwise, we were impressed and happy with the property. JC

  • Review Submitted: 08-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Poor Quality, No Communication

  • 1 of 5

This is the email we sent to Aaron, and we did not receive any response for our entire stay:

I am incredibly disappointed in the property, your communication and the lack of care put into our booking. I would never recommend this booking. When we spend several thousand dollars on a short booking we expect a basic level of communication and respect from the property manager.

First of all, your communication prior to our arrival was atrocious. As international travellers with no data we did not receive the check-in communication until only a few hours prior to our 4 pm check in THAT SAME DAY. That is not professional and is simply not good service.

This house was falsely advertised and does not sleep 20 (MAX 14) We were actually short one bed (there were only 11 of us) because of the falsely advertised downstairs basement bedroom where it was advertised there were 4 beds and in fact there were 3. Additionally it was advertised that there was a sound system and fire pit. There were not.

Secondly, we had several issues with the house itself. The BBQ is broken- it does not light, there wasn't a lighter anywhere in the house and trust me, we searched every nook. Once the BBQ was lit it did not get hot AT ALL. We had to put burgers in the oven and there were not the proper tools necessary to make a basic dinner consisting of burgers, salad and corn. The kitchen was also disgusting and is desperate need of a deep clean.

While we were staying we had several issues arise to which we received no response. The fridge did not work properly-and as a result we had spoiled meet and cheese. We emailed you about this issue on the first day of our 4 day stay and received no response. Secondly, there were not enough towels for 10 people. We also found that over HALF of the lights in the bedrooms were not equipped with light bulbs. By day 2 we were short of toilet paper, there was none available and you did not respond to us.

In addition to our MANY problems, there were two service repairmen that showed up unannounced at our front door. As international visitors in an unfamiliar neighbourhood we were not going to let anyone into the house without prior knowledge. Both the pool guy and the air conditioning guy showed up expecting to be let in for service repairs. Book your repairs when you don't have guests or inform us of them prior. We received no response or refund.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danielle, Sorry that you had a few issues with your booking. I received a bounce-back from your email when trying to send through your house manual 48 hours prior to your arrival, which is standard policy for us. Something we do not neglect. In regards to toilet paper - all you have to do is ask, we keep extra reserves in the house for just such occasions. Our house sleeps 20 People Max - there is plenty of space, but only 9 beds, as advertised. As you would find anywhere, trying to sleep 20 people in a house takes extra effort. Perhaps this is something you should have arranged in more detail with us so we could ensure your comfort. We'd welcome you to come visit us again, so we can try to make your stay more comfortable. The house is amazing, in in one of the best parts of Los Angeles. Safe Travels _Aaron
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Big House, Good Location -- But Needs Work

  • 3 of 5

The good news is that this is an enormous house. It has six real bedrooms (not futons in the rec room), wide hallways, high ceilings and plenty of room for a reception for 50+. And it’s very convenient – one-half block above the 110 (which you’ll be reminded of by the drone of traffic) with views of downtown from the master bedroom porch and kitchen window. The garage is locked, but there’s plenty of parking on the street in the gentrifying Angelino Heights neighborhood.

The bad news is that nothing much has been done to the house for the last 10 years. The exterior needs a steam cleaning and repainting. Water pressure is low and the A/C is noisy. Furnishings were once nice but now are worn and tired. There are not enough casual seating for the 12 that the house sleeps, nor are there 12 seats at the dining table. There were lots of burned-out light bulbs, clogged drains and threadbare towels. Some beds did not have pillow cases and upper sheets (we left the quilted pillow covers on the pillows). There was no soap in the showers and only half rolls of toilet paper -- it was annoying to have to go shopping on our first day in LA. There were soiled linens piled in the downstairs closet. There were lots of broken kitchen utensils, and not sufficient glassware, serving dishes or silverware. The owner only communicated through the VRBO website until the day of the rental, and was reluctant to share the address of the house, which we needed to inform family who were staying with us. He emailed instructions about care of the property, trash pickup, etc. on the morning of the rental.

The bottom line is that it’s a good house if you’re hosting a lot of people for graduation -- but at the price being charged, you deserve better care and support from the owner and manager.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Small problems to be be addressed

  • 1 of 5

The house is big and spacious. The only flaws were that the pool was slightly dirty, the grill would not function properly, the downstairs shower was clogged, and not enough mattresses for 20 people. Also, we were supposed to have the house by 4:00 pm, but when we arrived, the house had not yet been cleaned. The house cleaner arrived at 7pm and left at 10:00 with us already here, so the cleaning wasn't thorough as we would like. Other than these few problems, it's a big and well decorated house.

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ruzio, I'm very disappointed at your review here - as communicated when I emailed you. We had a very pleasant dialog on the phone - so I'm a little shocked and upset at your 1-star review. Please consider revising your review as it's very misleading - the property as your know is spacious and wonderful. thanks again _Aaron
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Car: recommended

Located 5 Minutes drive from Downtown Los Angeles and 15 Minutes from Hollywood - Echo Park is hands down one of LA's best residential neighborhoods.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Echo Park, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter 2017
2 Oct 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,583
for 3 nights
From
£427
£3,752
£12,377
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£2,359
for 3 nights
From
£686
From
£772
Fri,Sat
£5,046
£17,121
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £226.98
Property Damage Protection £74.9
Tax Rate 14.0%

Sorry no events allowed at the house!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable