HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxurious Mountain Cabin in Monteagle Near Sewanee with Private Pond

19 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cabin in Monteagle - Mountain Thyme Cabin

2 Bedroom +Loft, 2 Bath sleeps 8 - minutes from I-40 - convenient to Sewanee

Welcome to the Mountain Thyme Cabin located in peaceful and serene Monteagle, Tennessee!

From the moment you approach the drive, let the rest and relaxation begin. Nestled in the middle of the woods adjacent to a private, stocked pond, the outdoors spaces will enchant you before even stepping inside. Once you break the spell, the inside will not disappoint. Mountain Thyme is tastefully furnished in well-coordinated and functional pieces, all professionally chosen to enhance your vacation experience.

Mountain Thyme comfortably sleeps up to 8 guests in 2 bedrooms plus a sleeping loft with bunks (no uncomfortable pull out sofa’s here). The oversized master bedroom is graced by a king-sized, Tempur-pedic mattress and premium linens. The bathroom has a shower, separate tub and makeup area. The guest bedroom downstairs features a queen bed, has dual closets and private access to the outdoors. Both bedrooms have flat screen TVs. There is an additional full bathroom on the main floor, which houses the laundry closet complete with a full-size washer and dryer.

The amazing loft has a total of 4 bunk beds and is the perfect retreat for kids (or those young at heart). It features a train table & various toys as well as an old school tabletop arcade game to keep everyone entertained for hours. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to prepare a wonderful family meal which can be enjoyed at the farmhouse style dining room table with room to seat everyone. As the evening winds down, the cozy and inviting living room is the perfect spot to relax. Enjoy the large flat screen TV with full cable and you can even access your Netflix, Hulu, or Pandora accounts on the Smart-Enabled BluRay DVD player. And yes, this cabin does have free WI-FI and your cell-phone should work just fine.

Mountain Thyme’s outdoors spaces truly are what make this cabin special. The screened-in porch, located just off the living room, seamlessly blends the indoors and out. Here you can enjoy swinging away those cool fall nights or morning coffee on a warm spring day. The upper porch is a breathtaking vantage point to enjoy the sights and sounds on the pond while lazily relaxing away the day. It’s the perfect spot to curl up with a good book in one of the uber-cozy chairs and let yourself be transported to a more relaxing pace of life.

The rear covered porch is as great spot to spy on the abundant wildlife in the woods such as deer, squirrels, raccoons, owls and a multitude of beautiful birds. Or just enjoy the peaceful sounds of rain on the metal roof. Even the side of the house has a covered space that you will appreciate when unloading the car should the weather be inclement.

The inviting fire pit features seating for everyone with adirondack chairs and bench seating is the perfect spot to share campfire stories or just become mesmerized by the dancing flames. Don’t worry about bringing wood, we’ve got that covered too. At some point, you’ll want to make a visit down to our dock on the pond, where a paddle boat awaits your voyage around the pond. Don’t forget to take a moment to feed the catfish (we have food, but they will eat most bread products). Once they have gained your trust, they may even let the adventurous pet them. There are plenty of woods to explore and special little spots to hide out and steal a moment of tranquility.

The best part of Mountain Thyme cabin is that we don’t want you to sweat the small stuff. We want your stay to be as relaxing, comfortable, and as convenient as possible. We include the the little things you typically don’t find in a cabin rental but are appreciated by our guests. Things like dish soap, laundry detergent, paper towels, toilet paper, salt & pepper, spices, batteries & more. This is our family cabin and we keep it ready to use, so enjoy the convenience of a truly ready-to-rent cabin. The kitchen is fully equipped with mixing bowls, pots, pans, utensils, griddle, blender, waffle maker and everything else you might need to prepare a perfect cabin meal. Also be sure to check the storage room off the back deck where you can find things like life preservers, fire starters (for cheaters), outdoor games like Bocce Ball and other stuff. And if the mood for gardening strikes you, there are tools for that, so have at it!

There are little surprises everywhere so feel free to enjoy everything available to you. Sometimes we will leave you stuff to make s’mores, a bottle of champagne or a 6-pack of beer. Who knows what you will find? We also have a variety of board games perfect for family nights around the table. The arcade game located in the loft features 50 of your favorite classics like Ms. Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, DigDug, Frogger & more—and of course it’s free play so no quarters necessary. Our goal is for you to have a wonderful stay and return for years to come. We have tried to think of any and everything you might want during your visit to Mountain Thyme Cabin.

The cabin is easily accessible on good, flat roads just a couple minutes off the Monteagle exits. It is conveniently located less that 1 ½ hours drive from Nashville or Knoxville, 2 Hours from Atlanta and only 45 minutes from Chattanooga. Our cabin is just a few short minutes from the University of the South at Sewanee, St Andrews School, The Assembly Grounds and more. The area is known for its natural beauty, with soaring bluffs, creeks, waterfalls, rock outcroppings and tons of hiking trails to discover these wonderful spots. And if you are looking for nightlife, there a surprising number local dining establishments that are sure to impress. The town of Monteagle has all of the stores you may need plus a variety of shops and artisan markets to peruse. Please note though, this is not like Pigeon Forge. Prepare to relax and enjoy time with your friends and family, the outdoors, nature and just a slower pace of life away from the hustle and bustle.

We look forward to sharing our wonderful vacation home with you in the near future!

ATTENTION: We only accept payments via the VRBO portal. We do not accept wire transfer nor personal checks by mail. All communication will be coordinated via the VRBO/Homeaway websites. Thank you!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Rachel Potter
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
28 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Rachel Potter

Bob and Rachel, married since 2003, are extensive world travelers who enjoy luxury hotels and exotic locations. Currently living outside Nashville, Tennessee - most of their vacations these days are family-oriented with their two school-aged children.

Rachel Potter purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Rachel Potter chose Tennessee

We purchased this cabin in the Fall of 2014 as a quick and convenient weekend getaway from Nashville. We fell in love with the pond. Our kids fell in love with the yard. We all love the laid back attitude of the mountain and reconnecting with nature while we're here.

What makes this cabin unique

In the fast paced world that we live in today, Mountain Thyme cabin is a convenient escape and welcome respite from the daily grind. From the moment we first visited the property - we knew that it was the one for us. This cabin offers so much and is so close to Nashville, we will probably never go back to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge.


based on 19 holidaymaker reviews

Luxurious Mountain Cabin in Monteagle Near Sewanee with Private Pond
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews

Wonderfully Appointed Mountain Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome stay at the Mountain Thyme Cabin! Wish we could have stayed longer. The cabin has everything you could imagine plus more. Every detail is covered; all you need to do is relax and enjoy. The cabin is also very convenient to Sewanee. We'll be back in the future to enjoy the outside firepit! Thank you for sharing your lovely home.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

Everything we needed was provided. Very clean and comfortable cabin. The kids loved the paddleboats and the arcade games. We had a blast staying there this Labor Day weekend. We hope we get to stay there again sometime. Thanks for the wonderful cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This cabin is lovely and we'll appointed!! It has everything to make a mountain get-away perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay in this cabin!! It has 3 comfortable porches and other outdoor seatimg, as well as a pond and recreational "toys"! The inside is clean, well-kept with great televisions, games, and a very nice kitchen! The scenery is breathtaking!! Plus, it's pet friendly!! A+++!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anne! So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice retreat

  • 4 of 5

This is a very nice cabin, located in a private, secluded cul-de-sac with plenty of room to roam outside, including the pond that comes with a paddleboat and life jackets! We did not use the fire pit area (too hot outside!), but it also looked very nice. We appreciated that this cabin is both pet-friendly and child-friendly. The 10-year-old and 5-year-old enjoyed the loft that came with games and a train set. Areas for improvement: the steps seemed steep and there is no handicap accessibility (and the side entrance is especially precarious because the screen door does not open on the same side as the door does, so this is difficult to maneuver if you are carrying luggage, etc. and there is railing only on one side); you have to go upstairs if you want the Master bedroom with a king-size bed, but the master bath is very small - not much room around the toilet or in the shower! We were never able to access the Netflix or play our DVDs - probably need better directions for the operation of the TV and DVD. Also, while I appreciate the fact that you can check out at 2pm, we had to leave early on our departure date and were not prepared to have to wash all the towels, wash cloths, and dishes (and put them away) before we left. Therefore, we were not able to shower or use the kitchen the morning we left. Most rentals will allow you to leave all of your linen/towels and just load the dishwasher and start it, making an early departure easy.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and for pointing out items that you feel need attention at Mountain Thyme. This is the first time we’ve received less than 5 stars and we take all of our guests comments very seriously. I did want to address some of the items you mentioned in your review: * Unfortunately our cabin is not handicap accessible and I think our photos accurately portray that. * The spring on the screen door does slip off - to allow you to prop it open while loading/unloading and many of our guests take advantage of this feature. * The master is located upstairs and while we agree that the bathroom is small - unfortunately, it was that way when we purchased the home. * Accessing the SmartDVD works the same as accessing av equipment in any home and we've never had a complaint before. I timely responded to your emails with directions - I'm sorry that you were not able to make it work. I assumed that when I didn’t hear back from you that everything was ok. I’ll be sure to add detailed photos into the welcome guide for our future guests. * Check out at 2 p.m. - if you had let me know that you were leaving early and this was going to be an issue - I would have been more than happy to work with you on alternate arrangements. We detail all of our checkout procedures in our rental agreement that you must agree to before booking so I'm sorry that it came as a surprise to you. Because this is different than many rentals with the late check out, we do have to ask for those things. Many rentals (like ones at the beach) - will have a check out for 10 a.m. and have another guest check in at 2 p.m. The cleaning occurs between the rentals during that 4 hour window. We do not do that. Our cleaning crew is AWESOME but because of our location - they may not get out there for a few days. We don't like appliances to be left running, in the event that the dishwasher leaks or the dryer catches on fire - we like for someone to be there to supervise their operation (or at least be returning when they’re finished). I hope that you were happy with your early check-in! Most places don’t allow guests to arrive until after 4 p.m. so we’ve always felt that 2 p.m. was a bonus. Thank you again for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! Hopefully I was able to explain why things are the way they are for our rental & I would encourage you to thoroughly review all procedures and rules on your future VRBO rentals in advance so there are no surprises.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just an amazing place to come for a quiet vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at this cabin and we had a fabulous time relaxing! The place is always neat and welcoming. We will continue to come back to this place. I truly enjoy the relaxing environment and the amazing nature around the place. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone. We also have stopped at most of the local restaurants and they offer great food and service. Definitely a worthwhile investment!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maarja - so glad that you chose to visit us again and that you had a wonderful stay! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the "Mountain"!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin. Everything was as advertised. Our kids loved the loft, fishing pond and paddle boat.

  • 5 of 5

We would definitely come back. Thanks

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We strive to keep our listing as accurate as possible. Glad that you had a good time and hope you'll choose to stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Monteagle, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Sewanee Homecoming
1 Nov 2016 - 7 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Sewanee Family Weekend
4 Oct 2017 - 10 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Sewanee Homecoming
1 Nov 2017 - 7 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Sewanne Graduation 2018
8 May 2018 - 16 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £78

*Rental Rate is $375 per night for all Special Events.
** Some Special Events are subject to additional charges.
***Holiday and Special Event Reservations are Non-Refundable.
****Discount available for monthly rentals.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Monteagle, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Tempur-Pedic
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 4 Bunk Bed , Loft w/bunk beds sleeps 2 adults on bottom bunks or 4 kids
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Rock Climbing
  • caving

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties