HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Winterplace Chalet - Slope Side Ski In & Out. Sleeps Groups Of 8, 18, Or 26

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday chalet in Raleigh County - Highlander II

Convenient Ski Chalet, Excellent Slopeside Location. Sleeps Small & Large Groups

Highlander II Chalet will accommodate up to 20 people in beds and up to 26 using the pullout couches. It may be rented as 2 separate units, an upper 4 bedroom unit or a lower 2 bedroom unit. Flexibly sleeping groups of 8, 12, 20 or 28 people. See detailed layout at the bottom of this description.

For larger groups Highlander II can be rented along with our other home Highlander I located right next door.

This 3 level chalet offers over 3,000 square feet of well maintained, ski in ski out, lodging at Winterplace ski resort.

The upper unit sleeps up to 20 people with 4 bedrooms, 2 pull out couches, 2 full baths, washer, dryer and a full kitchen.

The lower unit sleeps up to 8 people with 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 2 pull out couches, washer, dryer and a full kitchen.

This is a great set up for large groups or multi family groups looking for open comfortable space with great access to the slopes and beautiful views.

This property is located right alongside one of the beginner ski runs close to a chairlift. Winterplace offers 27 trails, nine lifts (two quads) a snow tubing park and night skiing until 10:00 PM.

Winter Place Ski resort is Conveniently located off Interstates 64 & 77 at Flat Top (Ghent) West Virginia elevation 3252.

Detailed house layout- Highlander 2

1st floor (lower unit) 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, Kitchen, living room & dining area

1 Bedroorm with a Queen bed

1 Bedroom with a Queen & Twin beds

2nd floor Upper unit - 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, Kitchen, living room & dining area

1 Bedroorm with a Queen bed

1 Queen & Twin

3rd floor Upper unit- 2 bedrooms & 1 bathroom

1 Bedroom with 2 full beds

1 Bedroom with 2 queen, 1 full & 1 twin

Our houses are slope side ski rentals at Winterplace ski resort December through Mid March and affordable family adventure homes spring through fall. We are surrounded by outdoor adventure opportunities. Come enjoy a WV adventure while staying in our affordable homes.

Summer Vacation Rental available for groups and families seeking an affordable cabin near Whitewater Rafting, Kayaking, mountain biking or rock climbing.

Built in 2004 it is equipped with all of the modern amenities.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2016

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

Winterplace is central to so much great outdoor adventure. Specific to skiing…Winterplace provides the best the Southeast has to offer including night skiing and a tubing park.

The Chalet, makes it easy for guests to take full advantage of all the ski resort has to offer as well as the greater region. Providing you a comfortable, group friendly space to relax, share meals and memories with friends and family.

What makes this chalet unique

In our view the chalet’s greatest strength is its easy access. Located just of Interstate 64/77, the parking area is large and convenient, the skiing is a step off the deck, access to world-class outdoor fun is minutes away, rafting, kayaking, climbing, mountain biking in the Fayetteville & New River Gorge area. Shopping and amenities are nearby, and the ski resort lodge is a short walk right across from the Chalet.


based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Winterplace Chalet - Slope Side Ski In & Out. Sleeps Groups Of 8, 18, Or 26
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Winterplace Chalet was Awesome!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. Everyone loved the house. Plenty of space. (14) of us.. Would definitely stay here again. The deer ran right up practically to our door every morning... The only thing that went wrong was that the Wi-Fi would stop working once in awhile. But it would come back on. Overall we had a great time!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad your family enjoyed their time together and that the house was a good space for all of you. Hope you visit again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice enough | reasonable value

  • 3 of 5

The place was fine. It's a ski house and has been beat up a little bit despite the owner's attempts to keep it nice ("No Ski Boots On Stairs" signs, crazy high security deposit...). The handrail on the stairs from the ground floor to the second floor was broken which was an issue for some of the older members of our group. There were some (punched?) holes in walls and doors, broken floor tiles, torn upholstery on the furniture, slow drains in the showers... but everything was basically clean and working.

Owner wasn't available when we had an issue (which turned out to be a city-wide power outage). One of her two assigned backups was very helpful (the other, not so much). Owner kindly refunded our full security deposit despite some damage we did to a very old mini-blind.

This part of WV is gorgeous and full of activities and history. We recommend the nearby National Parks and rafting the New River Gorge.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry the house had wear and tear you were not happy about. We do try to keep the houses nice but you are correct that it is a challenge to address damages consistently happening from large groups. We upgrade beds, appliances and furniture each year as well as paint and do repairs constantly throughout the year. We do our best to keep the homes in good shape for our guests. Our normal damage deposit is only $100 plus the $59 insurance policy but if a guest chooses to not do the insurance I believe the system then changes the damage deposit to the same amount as the insurance coverage. This may be why you had a high deposit. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed WV.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect home for family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at Highlander 2 with our entire family from 5 different states there together! The home was perfect for our needs! We made good memories together as we celebrated our parents' 60th anniversary and reconnected with one another. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome house!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great experience with both the owner and the property. We rented the whole house and had a great stay. Would definitely rent this place again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Carol C.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time to Winterplace. The owners could not have been easier to work with. All information and questions were answered in a timely manner. We rented the whole house which had three levels so it was good since we had little ones. The ski in and ski out was just what we were looking for. The staff at Winterplace were over the top helpful. What a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Albertson, NC

Very Accommodating... for LARGE Church Group

  • 5 of 5

The High-Landed II is GREAT for a LARGE crowd. Room enough to accommodate 28 people easy.Very easy access to slope for Great skiing. Everyone in group enjoyed the rental and large space no complaints. Liked in inside stairs access to every level no one was isolated from group activities. The property was well cleaned and maintained. The owners were very accommodating and wonderful to work with. No rental issues or property issues arose during our stay. Very EASY access to Ski lodge for rentals. Kitchens and dinning rooms were very accommodating we cooked all meals in-house for group. I would definitely recommend this rental if you have a large group. Hope to rent again next year. Thank you owners for allowing us to rent.. EVERY ONE is already excited about returning next season.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Glade Springs
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Skyline Resort & Winterplace

For those visiting our region for the first time…you are in for a wonderful mountain state experience. For winter fun you need only take a step off of your chalet deck as we are slope side at the Winterplace Ski Resort.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Raleigh County, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
28 Mar 2016 - 17 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
18 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter 2016-2017
16 Dec 2016 - 6 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £123
Property Damage Protection £49
Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates posted are based on renting the whole chalet. Contact owner for quote to rent just the upper or lower unit or to rent both highlander houses.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Raleigh County, USA

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1- first floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Ground level in Lower Unit
    Bathroom 2- Second floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upper Unit
    Bathroom 3- 3rd floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upper Unit
  • 3 Bathrooms. 1 on each level
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Lower Unit Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Lower Unit Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Lower Unit is ground floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd Floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 5 - 2 Double Bed , 3rd Floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Bedrooms sleep 20 in beds with 2 people in queens & full beds and 1 in each twin. Living rooms have pullout couches to sleep 6 additional people. Pullout couches are not recommended for adults looking for a comfortable bed.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot