HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Winterplace Chalet - Slope Side Ski In & Out. Sleeps Groups Of 8, 18, Or 26

People26
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
26
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Convenient Ski Chalet, Excellent Slopeside Location. Sleeps Small & Large Groups

Highlander II Chalet will accommodate up to 20 people in beds and up to 26 using the pullout couches. It may be rented as 2 separate units, an upper 4 bedroom unit or a lower 2 bedroom unit. Flexibly sleeping groups of 8, 12, 20 or 28 people. See detailed layout at the bottom of this description.

For larger groups Highlander II can be rented along with our other home Highlander I located right next door.

This 3 level chalet offers over 3,000 square feet of well maintained, ski in ski out, lodging at Winterplace ski resort.

The upper unit sleeps up to 20 people with 4 bedrooms, 2 pull out couches, 2 full baths, washer, dryer and a full kitchen.

The lower unit sleeps up to 8 people with 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 2 pull out couches, washer, dryer and a full kitchen.

This is a great set up for large groups or multi family groups looking for open comfortable space with great access to the slopes and beautiful views.

This property is located right alongside one of the beginner ski runs close to a chairlift. Winterplace offers 27 trails, nine lifts (two quads) a snow tubing park and night skiing until 10:00 PM.

Winter Place Ski resort is Conveniently located off Interstates 64 & 77 at Flat Top (Ghent) West Virginia elevation 3252.

Detailed house layout- Highlander 2

1st floor (lower unit) 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, Kitchen, living room & dining area

1 Bedroorm with a Queen bed

1 Bedroom with a Queen & Twin beds

2nd floor Upper unit - 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, Kitchen, living room & dining area

1 Bedroorm with a Queen bed

1 Queen & Twin

3rd floor Upper unit- 2 bedrooms & 1 bathroom

1 Bedroom with 2 full beds

1 Bedroom with 2 queen, 1 full & 1 twin

Our houses are slope side ski rentals at Winterplace ski resort December through Mid March and affordable family adventure homes spring through fall. We are surrounded by outdoor adventure opportunities. Come enjoy a WV adventure while staying in our affordable homes.

Summer Vacation Rental available for groups and families seeking an affordable cabin near Whitewater Rafting, Kayaking, mountain biking or rock climbing.

Built in 2004 it is equipped with all of the modern amenities.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 February, 2017

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

Winterplace is central to so much great outdoor adventure. Specific to skiing…Winterplace provides the best the Southeast has to offer including night skiing and a tubing park.

The Chalet, makes it easy for guests to take full advantage of all the ski resort has to offer as well as the greater region. Providing you a comfortable, group friendly space to relax, share meals and memories with friends and family.

What makes this chalet unique

In our view the chalet’s greatest strength is its easy access. Located just of Interstate 64/77, the parking area is large and convenient, the skiing is a step off the deck, access to world-class outdoor fun is minutes away, rafting, kayaking, climbing, mountain biking in the Fayetteville & New River Gorge area. Shopping and amenities are nearby, and the ski resort lodge is a short walk right across from the Chalet.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Ghent, USA

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1- first floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Ground level in Lower Unit
    Bathroom 2- Second floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upper Unit
    Bathroom 3- 3rd floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upper Unit
  • 3 Bathrooms. 1 on each level
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Lower Unit Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Lower Unit Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Lower Unit is ground floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd Floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 5 - 2 Double Bed , 3rd Floor
    Upper Unit Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 2nd Floor
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Bedrooms sleep 20 in beds with 2 people in queens & full beds and 1 in each twin. Living rooms have pullout couches to sleep 6 additional people. Pullout couches are not recommended for adults looking for a comfortable bed.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Winterplace Chalet - Slope Side Ski In & Out. Sleeps Groups Of 8, 18, Or 26
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
5

Love Highlander II! Always a great place to stay each year!

  • 5 of 5

It is the perfect house, in the perfect location, for the perfect vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Highlander is a great place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

We love staying at Highlander! The house is spacious and well kept. We always have a great time here!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location - easy access!

  • 5 of 5

Great location for extended family get together over the holidays. Had 18 of us and we all fit into the house well. Amenities were great and access to the slope/resort was excellent. Would stay here again - Debra was super responsive and accommodating to all our needs.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Winterplace Chalet was Awesome!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. Everyone loved the house. Plenty of space. (14) of us.. Would definitely stay here again. The deer ran right up practically to our door every morning... The only thing that went wrong was that the Wi-Fi would stop working once in awhile. But it would come back on. Overall we had a great time!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad your family enjoyed their time together and that the house was a good space for all of you. Hope you visit again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

nice enough | reasonable value

  • 3 of 5

The place was fine. It's a ski house and has been beat up a little bit despite the owner's attempts to keep it nice ("No Ski Boots On Stairs" signs, crazy high security deposit...). The handrail on the stairs from the ground floor to the second floor was broken which was an issue for some of the older members of our group. There were some (punched?) holes in walls and doors, broken floor tiles, torn upholstery on the furniture, slow drains in the showers... but everything was basically clean and working.

Owner wasn't available when we had an issue (which turned out to be a city-wide power outage). One of her two assigned backups was very helpful (the other, not so much). Owner kindly refunded our full security deposit despite some damage we did to a very old mini-blind.

This part of WV is gorgeous and full of activities and history. We recommend the nearby National Parks and rafting the New River Gorge.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry the house had wear and tear you were not happy about. We do try to keep the houses nice but you are correct that it is a challenge to address damages consistently happening from large groups. We upgrade beds, appliances and furniture each year as well as paint and do repairs constantly throughout the year. We do our best to keep the homes in good shape for our guests. Our normal damage deposit is only $100 plus the $59 insurance policy but if a guest chooses to not do the insurance I believe the system then changes the damage deposit to the same amount as the insurance coverage. This may be why you had a high deposit. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed WV.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect home for family reunion!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at Highlander 2 with our entire family from 5 different states there together! The home was perfect for our needs! We made good memories together as we celebrated our parents' 60th anniversary and reconnected with one another. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Beckley
Nearest Barpub
Winterplace
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Glade Springs
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Prince
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
I-77
Nearest Restaurant
Skyline Resort & Winterplace

For those visiting our region for the first time…you are in for a wonderful mountain state experience. For winter fun you need only take a step off of your chalet deck as we are slope side at the Winterplace Ski Resort.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Ghent, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2016-2017
16 Dec 2016 - 6 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,144
for 2 nights
From
£988
From
£1,438
Fri,Sat
£4,660
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
17 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,381
for 3 nights
From
£404
£1,605
 
 
Winter 2018-7-2018
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£2,144
for 2 nights
From
£988
From
£1,438
Fri,Sat
£4,660
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£886
for 2 nights
From
£359
From
£404
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,515
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £47
Refundable Damage Deposit £80
Cleaning £120
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates posted are based on renting the whole chalet. Contact owner for quote to rent just the upper or lower unit or to rent both highlander houses.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot