HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful Craftsman home on the Bayou wonderful rental or location for movie

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooom, 2 bathroom house with private pool. Block from bayou.

Beautiful 2,100 square foot craftsman home located minutes from the Whitcomb Bayou - home of the manatee. Fully furnished with a private, lush backyard and pool, this comfortable home has 3 bedrooms, family room with 52' HDTV, fully-stocked eat-in kitchen, formal dining room, and living room. The screened lanai, overlooking the backward, is perfect for cocktails or bbq dinners. You'll be in walking distance to quaint downtown Tarpon for shopping and dining, the Sponge Docks to experience Tarpon's authentic Greek heritage and the Pinellas Trail for walking, jogging, biking and peaceful strolls. In addition, beautiful beaches are within 2 miles, fishing and boating of all types are nearby, tennis courts and golf courses are a few miles away.


Owner
Margo Barnard
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

About Margo Barnard

We enjoy our time in Tarpon Springs playing tennis, running on the bayou, kayaking and exploring the variety of restaurants. Because of the nature of our work we travel between Tarpon Springs and Southern California.

We wanted to share the loveliness of the area with other visitors.

Margo Barnard purchased this house in 2012

Why Margo Barnard chose Tarpon Springs

The authenticity of the home is charming. It's has many original features from when the house was built 100 years ago, but updated to make it a comfortable place for vacationing.

What makes this house unique

We love the proximity to the bayou. It's a relaxing environment that is also perfect for recreational activities. The neighborhood is quiet.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Tarpon Springs in Pinellas County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Additional guests $25/night. Must be pre-approved.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , new full-size futon sofa
  • Bedroom 1 and 2 have new beds and very comfortable mattresses. Bedroom 3 is an office/bedroom. It is a comfortable futon full-size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Comfortable home close to Sunset Beach, Clearwater and St. Petersburg. Perfect for relaxing, swimming, boating, fishing, exploring history and shopping. Tarpon Springs is an historic town with a large Greek community and excellent restaurants.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
Beautiful Craftsman home on the Bayou wonderful rental or location for movie
average rating of 4.0625 based on 32 reviews
4

Clean & Quiet

  • 4 of 5

I spent a weekend here and it was great. The house was spacious, clean and up to my expectations. The pool was beautiful. The neighborhood is quiet and the neighbors were friendly. There's a park within walking distance from the house and it's in a good location. Also, you have easy access to grocery stores and restaurants. I really enjoyed my stay. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NW Ohio
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Tarpon Springs was a great destination for our family's spring break and this home was perfect for us. The pool was nice for those days when our grandsons had had enough wind and waves. There were beach toys, umbrella and towels as well as a well-supplied kitchen. Location was perfect...we walked uptown and by the bayou several times. House is located in a very quiet area and even though the yard is not big, it still felt private thanks to the fence and the landscaping. We enjoyed both the front and back porch...great for coffee and a book. We would certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

old house in need of caring owners

  • 1 of 5

The rental home is in a fabulous location – two blocks from Craig Park and Spring Bayou as well as four blocks from downtown Tarpon Springs. The home itself has potential despite the fact that it was built in 1910. However, the owners don't take adequate care of it. They live in California and the property is, of course, in Florida. Their son lives a few miles away and did come on several occasions to try to fix things. But it is left up to the renters to find the problems.

We stayed for two months and in that time we had three days where the plumbing wasn't working. It took the plumbing repair men that amount of time to finally decide that the line needed to be jetted. Before that, they dismantled the toilet and tried to suction any obstructions out. When that didn't work they dug several holes around the property to look for roots in the system. On the second day they declared it fixed. Unfortunately later that week the toilet failed to flush again. This was at midnight so we had to leave and stay in a hotel for a night which the owners did reimburse.

In addition, the microwave front door broke and the son had to bring a new microwave. The dishwasher flooded the kitchen because it doesn't drain properly. You have to manually push a button to drain it after the wash cycle. The pool vacuum works only sporadically. The door knob to the bathroom came off in our hands. The downstairs bathtub is disgusting. (see picture) The grout is covered with mold and the drain is completely rusted. We had to buy a bath mat and flip flops in order to take a shower in it.

That isn't all but it should give an indication of the problems.

Now the owner Margo will say that she did get someone quickly to fix these problems as they cropped up, which is true. But it shouldn't be up to the renters to discover all of the problems.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the Vacation Rental business, owners often do not live on or near the property. But we are set up to take care of any problems that arise. The problems these guests experience had not happened with previous guests. It is a lovely old home which means you need to be respectful of the older pipes. They guests put baby wipes and excessive amounts of paper down the toilet which caused the initial blockage. Once we were made aware of the problem we contacted a licensed plumber who did the necessary steps to determine and resolve the problem. We addressed every problem these folks had immediately. We replaced the microwave with a new one and repaired the plumbing problem professionally. The guests used the dishwasher incorrectly causing it to flood. No other guests have had this problem. We brought in a repairman to look at the dishwasher to be sure there was nothing wrong. The guests caused the flood which cost us a repair bill. The downstairs bathtub is an old cast iron tub. We have the house professionally cleaned after every guest. There is no mold, merely grout discoloration which we will take care of. The poolman takes care of the pool cleaning and sets the pump. I'm sorry these guests did not enjoy their visit to our lovely craftsman home. However, as owners, we take care of the property, respond to guests concern immediately and work hard to ensure our guests have a great experience. We are always available to communicate with our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Northampton, UK
4

Lovely home but feels unloved. Needs lots of TLC

  • 4 of 5

Extremely convenient for the bayou and downtown Tarpon Springs. Lovely location and very friendly neighbors.

Communication with owner was excellent.

The heating was set to 71 degrees which on chilly nights was great, on warmer nights too hot. We were asked whether temperature was ok and said no problems, but as the weather changed we discovered none of the bedroom windows would open, either broken catches or no screens.

Renters are instructed not to alter the heating settings, which we honoured.

Washing machine door is heavy and you need to lift this to open. On arrival the machine was half filled with dirty water and cloths inside. Not worth complaining about.

On arrival the swimming pool had not been cleaned for some time. It had lots of leaves on the surface and on the Pool bottom. Dead frogs in the pool too. Pool filter clogged with debris. This was mentioned during our stay. The pool guy attended on 10th day of our visit.

The only TV on the premises stopped working. We were 4 days without TV, music or news. The owner arranged for a smaller TV to be purchased for the remainder of our stay.

We do not think this property suitable for international renters. No cooler box supplied, no beach chairs, no bikes and no beach towels.

We enjoyed our stay at this property but it didn’t really live up to our expectations.

During our stay we viewed another property to return for the month of June, half the price with everything supplied that international renters would require.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our goal is to maintain our property with the highest standards. We have professional house cleaners and pool service. I appreciate the feedback and will be sure their schedules are set according to guest accommodations. It was unfortunate the TV stopped working. We had a new TV purchased so the guests wouldn't have to wait for a repair person. As far as coolers, beach chairs, etc., we have supplied them in the past. Unfortunately, guests have taken them home with them, so it becomes very costly to keep replacing without adding additional rate charges. There are beach towels in the house. We have reset the thermostats so guests can set their own temperatures. We want to make the visit enjoyable for our guests and will accommodate to do so. We offer a very reasonable rate for the size of the house, amenities and location. Prices in the area are always lower in June as this guest mentioned.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great Get Away

  • 5 of 5

The house was spacious and comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet. The property is close to downtown and the bayous which are quite pretty and sometimes have events going on. The parks nearby also have tennis and basketball courts available. There is a lot that is within walking distance and the sponge docks are only a five minute drive away. Lastly, the Fred Howard Park and other beaches are also only a few minutes away. Even though we live here in Florida, this was a great vacation spot close to lots of fun things.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Enfield NH
5

Girls weekend away!

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable home close to downtown and the sponge docks. We enjoyed spending time by the pool and walking around the bayou. We would definitely return when visiting the area again.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Tampa
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sunset Beach

The Sponge Docks are a fun, interesting place for a leisurely stroll. Great Greek food and pastries

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £129.96
Additional Guest Fee £37.13 per person per night
Damage Deposit £185.65

Check in is 4 pm. Check out is 10 am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals