Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beachfront. POOL! 7 Bedrooms, 7.5 bathrooms Beautifully Decorated

Bedrooms 7
Separate WCs1
Space 5,417 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms + Loft, 7.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14-16)

Welcome to our home Solitude. We are one of the most desirable homes on St George Island with many repeat guests each year. Luxury property which is over 5200 square feet and is decorated to perfection. Kitchen has double oven, two dishwashers, two refrigerators, separate ice maker, two sinks with open space and pantry with additional refrigerator to accommodate large groups. Extensive kitchen equipment. There is everything you need to cook all meals.

Overlooking the wide, sandy beach the house has first level kitchen and living area with an elevator to all floors. Eating area will accommodate 10 at table with other seating available at kitchen bar and decks. The decks have long views down the beach and there is a bay view from the back bedrooms. There is a private boardwalk to the beach.

Home has multiple sliding glass doors on first level, one which opens out to the beautiful screened in porch allowing the gulf breezes to blow in .

Home has 2 beautiful screened porches overlooking private pool and hot tub. Pool has a 4' sunning shelf to keep cool during hot summer days. There is a hot tub overlooking the beach. Outdoor screened kitchen has large gas grill.

Each bedroom has a private deck with water views. 4 bedrooms are beachfront with adjoining bath. Baths each have double sinks, walk in showers and a water closet. Two queen bedrooms and children's suite each have adjoining bath with single sink vanity, tub/shower combination. Top floor contains master bedroom with its own see thru fireplace between luxury bath and master bedroom. Master bath contains an extra large walk in shower, garden tub looking out to gulf and large double vanities with a water closet.

The first floor living area has a overlook from the 2nd floor with double plantation fan and painted ceiling mural. There is a stereo with intercom system throughout and a bar and fireplace in the main living area. Multiple flat screen TV's (one in each bedroom) and video system throughout home. Home is decorated beyond your expectations.

4 kings, 2 queens, 2 twins, 2 twin sleeper sofas

We have an outside shower, fishing station with sink, a gas grill (with line run to main propane tank) that is screened next to the pool area and outdoor closet with beach chairs, beach toys and umbrellas. We also provide two kayaks for your usage.

All of our decking is by Trek with a boardwalk from the house down to the beach. We have a water line that runs the length of the boardwalk with a spout at each end so that you always have access to water, wash your feet, or whatever you need.

Keywords: beach front

More Details

Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 September, 2018

About Lori

We have been going to St. George Island since 1994. It is the second home we designed and built on the island. We have traveled to beaches all over the world and find this one to be the the widest, greatest sand with absolutely no crowds. We hate staying in junky rental homes and it is my commitment to you that we have the absolute best in the house. You will never be short of anything in the kitchen and when it gets 'used' we throw and buy new. We like the east end because it has far less bugs, no vegetation on the beach and is within a mile of the state park.

Lori purchased this house in 2007

Why Lori chose East End

Beaches are the very best! We are on the east end where the beaches are beautiful and easy access to the state park and the bay. We are 15 minutes from Apalachicola with unique shops and great restaurants. The island has terrific restaurants, biking and a state park that looks like it has never been touched.

What makes this house unique

Our house has it all! 7 bedrooms. Each bedroom with its own bath and each with TV for the night owls or when you just must get away. Beachside pool and a hot tub We have the fish cleaning station and each bedroom has their own private deck, own private bath and each has a TV.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time with 15 people at Solitude. We didn'ave have the best weather but we made the best out of it! We evern named a new drink after the house "It was like being at the Ritz" We loved the pool ad hottb and caughter several nice sized flish. The kitchen allowed us to cook many means. We have never experience such small crowds on the bgeach. We felt like the beach was ours. We would all come back in the future. Thank you.
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 13


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the East End around the St. George Island

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 5417 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Lift ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 - Toilet
  • Each bathroom for the king rooms has a double sink, walk in shower and a water closet. Each queen bedroom has a single sink, and shower/tub combination. Single bedroom and loft has a single sink and shower/tub combination
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Single Bed
    Loft - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Single sleeper sofas
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
2 fireplaces, 2 screened porches, outdoor sound system, satellite radio throughout house, whole house intercom system, two dishwashers, 2 refrigerators, large pantry with additional refrigerator, beach chairs provided, fish cleaning sink, outdoor shower with hot/cold water, expansive decks from every bedroom, private boardwalk to beach


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront. POOL! 7 Bedrooms, 7.5 bathrooms Beautifully Decorated
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 42 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Solitude is by far, without a doubt, the finest, best positioned home in St George Island. My first visit was when it was first available for rent in 2006. My family has never wanted to stay anywhere else. Our perfect beach house. I am blessed to be able to afford to stay in any house on the island. Suffice it to say I've chosen Solitude every year for the last eleven, and will continue to do so!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We love to have you every year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Could not have asked for a much nicer home to stay in. It had plenty of room, clean, and almost everything you could want. It is a perfect distance to a beautiful beach. Decorated very well and comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Would recommend it. There were a few minor things that needed attention, but I don’t think there was much of anything missing in this beautiful home. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One of our best vacations of all time!

  • 5 of 5

We shared this gorgeous home among three families with 9 kids ages 8-15 for one week. It was perfect! The two refrigerators, two ovens, two dishwashers, and the separate ice maker were amazing and perfect for feeding all of us all week! The large pantry shelves were also a key item along with all of the kitchen furnishings of multiple coffee makers, dishes, glasses etc. Each bedroom has its own bathroom and there is an additional 1/2 bath on the main floor. The elevator made unloading and unpacking much easier.

The beach was amazing, clean and no crowds! We also got great use out of the pool and hot tub. We enjoyed visiting the State park and the lighthouse museum.

Our only wish for improvement is that the windows and doors get an upgrade. The main slider door could not be left open to the screen only as the screens were off the track. the slider to the screened porch did not lock other than a board in the track. Some of the windows have notes not to open as they are broken. It is hard with the wind and water but some new windows and doors would make this house exceptional.

Thank you for sharing this home with us. We had a vacation to remember!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and helping others understand the features of our home. In regards to the windows we do our those messages on the windows. Guests have frequently left the windows open and when gusts of wind come off the beach it can cause a window to break. We put the message on the windows, not because they are broken, but because the selected windows are prone to wind gusts from the beachfront. The screen slider has the same issue. Wind blows it off the track. We just reinsert in track and it is good “until the next wind”. We hope this is helpful. There are perils of owning a beachfront home and salt water and wind are two of those. Lori.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Army Navy Football Game Weekend on the Beach 2017

  • 5 of 5

The perfect size for 7 couples over the extended Army Navy Football game weekend. We had plenty of room and did not get in each others' way over a 7 day stay. Couples were from up and down the eastern seaboard to include Pittsburgh and Indiana. The weather started out rainy but improved over the stay. We walked on the beach daily, flew kites, and grilled every night. The pool and hot tub was fantastic and warm enough even for December. Although an Apalachicola resident, it was a great get-away for us and our 40 year friends. Clean, very well decorated and would give it 6 stars if the rating was available. Lori thank you for being flexible on the last day, we had 5 different itineraries to meet so that all could leave comfortably. We will definitely do it again. Only bad thing NAVY lost the game. BEAT ARMY in 2018.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We loved having you. As long time Va Beach residents we can only agree with Beat Army! (Sorry future Army guests!).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville, GA

Everything we needed and more!

  • 5 of 5

We have rented numerous beach homes over the years and this one was as close to perfect as we could have asked. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and even included liquid and dishwasher soaps, and there was lots of space for 4 families (14 people) in every way. We did have to make a few calls to the local representatives about the pool not heating properly, a glitch with the elevator upon arrival, and a few other minor things, but found them most responsive! We realized we left behind a few things that were found by the cleaning people and they were kind enough to promise to return them C.O.D. today.

The walk to the beach was easy and mostly level ( about 4 steps at the end of the walkway) and the views were spectacular. Loved the 4 Ocean Front King bedrooms. Lori, the owner was very accommodating and quick to respond. Although we usually like to explore different coast lines, it would be a house we would definitely consider re-booking.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful week at this house! There are 16 of us, including the 8 grandchildren, and we could not have enjoyed it more! The house is great, the beach is really nice and private, and with the small grandchildren (6 are age five or under), the pool was a very popular place to spend much of the day!! This house is the perfect layout for privacy as well as group times. The kitchen seemed to have everything and we really enjoyed meal times because we could all eat together. A special thanks to Lori and her family for sharing such a wonderful vacation place.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Car: necessary

Several Deep Sea Fishing operators are near by.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house around the East End,

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Early Fall
12 Aug 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
28 Oct 2018 - 17 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Nightly Rate
21 Nov 2018 - 21 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Nov 2018 - 1 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Winter
2 Dec 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
21 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
7 Jan 2019 - 2 Mar 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
3 Mar 2019 - 30 Mar 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Spring Break
31 Mar 2019 - 13 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Spring
14 Apr 2019 - 17 May 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
19 May 2019 - 10 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer
11 Aug 2019 - 1 Nov 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pool Heat (optional) £267.75 + Tax

Hurricane Insurance is 5% of gross rental amount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question