HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cozy Cape Cod Cottage - 3BR, 1 Bath, Large Level Yard, W/D - Heat & Air Cond

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 829 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy Cape Cod Cottage - 3BR, 1 Bath, Large Level Yard, W/D - Heat & Air Cond

3 bedroom, 1 bath, bright & cheery cape code style cottage, views of lake from nearly every window and door. Sleeps 6

Want a 'throw back lake living vacation' then our cozy year around cottage is right for you! Eat-in kitchen, electric oven/range, and full size refrigerator. Sorry, no dishwasher or microwave (you could always bring a counter top micro) but we have a tv and cottage is cable ready. There is a washer/dryer in the 1st floor bathroom, plus we have a furnace for those cooler nights and an a/c available just in case.

Private, large level yard for outdoor enjoyment, grilling, yard games or pitch a tent! .

We made changes to best accommodate our guests, and to be flexible on sleeping arrangements. We have double bed in one up bedroom and the other up bedroom has a twin. We have (2) two twins on the first floor bedroom. Pushed together they form a KING sized bed, kept apart (2) twins.

Another new addition, lovely day bed for the family room. Great for relaxing and watching TV or another bedding option!

Walking distance to Resha beach for swimming and a state boat launch is just across the bay; bring your water crafts and enjoy summer fun and/or great trophy lake fishing all year long!

Winchester is located in the northwest corner of Connecticut, the gateway to the Berkshires. Close to antique district, restaurants, sight seeing, hiking, skiing (new Hartford - ski sundown), great shows 15 minutes away in Norfolk -infinity hall.

Great family fun or romantic get away. Our cottage is available year around for nightly, weekend, monthly or seasonal rentals. Built in the 40's it is clean and cozy, fully equipped kitchen (toaster, Farberware coffee pots, dishes, glassware, baking/serving dishes, flatware, etc.) for those who enjoy cooking in. Numerous restaurants just 2 minutes away in town if you prefer dining out or take out.

More Details

Owner
Kathryn Ekstrom
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 September, 2017

About Kathryn Ekstrom

My husband and I have two (2) grown sons, and spent many summers at the CT Shoreline, but growing up my best family vacations were going to my Uncle's lake house and I knew someday we would own a place where our children could make family memories and we knew it had to be a lakehouse. When we learned about Highland Lake in 2010 we feel in love with it and knew it was the lake for us and purchased 103 Shore Drive which we have slowly been renovating. Then in 2014 we purchased 127 Shore Drive which we rent to family and friends and now on VRBO for you to enjoy too!

Kathryn Ekstrom purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Kathryn Ekstrom chose Litchfield County

Our cozy cottage (127 Shore Drive) has just the right feel for us. It has some updates, and some original features too. We loved the charm of the cape cod style, large lawn for playing childhood favorites like croquet or badminton. Our little cottage has 'creature comforts' like heating and air conditioning yet some of the vintage touches like beadboard and a built-in ironing board like 'grandma use to have!' If you are like us and want a little bit of nostalgia, then this is the place for you. Watch the sun dance across the still water when the sun comes up and drenches the cottage with sunshine!

Or relax on the back deck or lawn and enjoy the late afternoon sun as it slowly meets the horizon only to welcome another day at the lake!

What makes this cottage unique

Lake views from nearly every window and door! Walking distance to resha beach and easy access to state boat launch. We have a garage! Know that sounds funny, but many lake properties do not. Because we spend a lot of time at the lake ourselves, we have a couple mountain bikes you can ride and a canoe, with life jackets you can use!

Location

Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several area restaurants with 5-10 minutes
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Ski Sundown 15 minute drive
Car: recommended

Saratoga Race Track and Tanglewood, Lenox Massachusetts both within driving distance. Local seasonal Farmers Markets. Outlet Mall in Lee, Massachusetts

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Winsted in Winchester

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 829 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Tub/SHower Combo
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
My husband and i love to cook and bake. Let us know what you like and if we are in town you may find your favorite bread or dessert waiting for you upon arrival ! We make our own breads, pizza dough, etc. Grow many of our own vegetables, etc. One day we may open a bed and breakfast! We enjoy feeding others...

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
Cozy Cape Cod Cottage - 3BR, 1 Bath, Large Level Yard, W/D - Heat & Air Cond
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
1

Has potential, but buyer beware

  • 1 of 5

I was disappointed by the cottage. It was dirty, there were no forks, light bulbs were out. It suited my needs as I was looking for a place to stay for a family gathering and spent most of my time there., but if it had been a vacation house I would have been miserable. I did notify the owner who offered to make some changes, but too little too late. Would not stay here again or recommend to anyone. I've stayed all over the world and this was the most disappointing place ever.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Whenever we have guests we always ask if there is anything PLEASE let us know so we can address any issues. Being we don't live in our rental, there are things that one might not notice upon inspection. Sad to say, some guests don't respect the next incoming guest. Who would take all the forks or not mention need to replace light bulbs? Who would take perfectly good towels and leave bleached out tattered ones? We have replenished the forks, bulbs, new towels, etc. Notifying us after the stay didn't provide us the opportunity to make things right for this guest. We always appreciate timely feedback and respond accordingly. We aim to please our guests not disappoint them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Initial impressions were very cute and cozy upon arrival. Close to the water and convienient.

  • 2 of 5

The cabin served its purpose for us. However, upon entering the home it was very unclean. We had to clean right as we gotten our things settled. The bathroom was not sanitary, floors were not vacuumed, spiders squished all over the walls and ceiling, the back door was broken and the reclining chair was broken as well. The home is certainly acceptable if it was kept up and cleaned appropriately.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have made changes to our post guest cleaning. The " honor system" whereby each guest is asked to perform basic house cleaning to ensure the best experience for the next guest has failed us, but more importantly has failed a couple of our guests thus season. Therefore, we will be securing professional cleaning services going forward. Thank you for the valuable feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Spartanburg
3

Better then a hotel room we would have had to share with 2 babies.

  • 3 of 5

The outside is beautiful so when we walked in we were a little surprised. It was very hot out so the cottage was sooooooo hot. The kitchen was cute & then we understood why they didn't have a microwave. Maybe an under the counter would work though. There was a lot of furniture!!! Might be better to scale down a bit. We all did love the leather recliner couch. Boy was that thing comfy! Pleasantly surprised there was a nice TV & we even had Wi-Fi we didnt know about ahead. Should be in the ad for sure prominently since its a nice perk. Ok now I will have to say the beds were not comfortable. They had the springs & the master bedroom one was very loud just to get up. Might want to just have a queen size to give it more space. We couldn't get the babies upstairs since they were so steep. There was a window AC up there but we longed for one downstairs. My daughter did go up there finally cause it was so loud at night if the babies cried. I wish we had more time to enjoy the outside. What a cute back private yard. Ok I know I'm including the bad & good but I think everyone needs to know it all to decide about the rental & what they need. The last thing that we were not happy with was the list. Yes the list of things that were expected to be done before we left. That should have been included in the price since I'm not the only who doesn't expect to have to pay extra or do it. It was very extensive & we certainly hadn't known we would be expected to clean the place before leaving. We just didn't have the energy or time to do it well. I actually was so exhausted from the trip to visit our mom with dementia that I ended up in the hospital before I even made it home. We had to leave early. We were only 2 hours from home when I collapsed & became shaky & confused. Was dehydrated & had extreme exhaustion. I'm expecting to lose my $100 deposit which I could have used to help pay for my huge hospital bill from my 2 night stay. :( My sister tried to do her best but we couldn't do everything. We left it cleaned of garbage as well as possible & my sister also washed the towels. It would have helped to know ahead that this was expected. There were some things in the freezer & fridge so we left them away from our things & ignored them. So overall we were happy but there were a few problems that may not be a problem for others. Thanks for giving us a nice clean place to stay close to our mom.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great Getaway Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great lake property. Close to beach, great water views and private back yard with picnic tables. Fully furnished with all kitchen utensils. Owners respond immediately to all questions. Close enough to the water and still quite. Hate to leave!

  • Review Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Was great having you as a guest these past few months. Hope your stay was enjoyable, if your travels ever bring you back this way, please feel free to contact us. Was our pleasure meeting you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Comfy cottage on the lake

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for a month this summer - 2 adults, 2 teens who were taking part in a summer program in Torrington. We found the cottage very comfortable, and the owner very responsive to any requests. The kitchen is small but well-equipped, and the front porch and new windows upstairs a great addition to enjoy the view of the lake across the street. I"d recommend this as an affordable option for those looking to stay near the lake - access is about 1/2 block away and a public beach a few blocks' walk. Fourth of July fireworks very memorable!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chattanooga, TN
5

Warm and Welcoming

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was a great place to spend my first 40 days in CT. The owners are very warm and welcoming and even invited me to a Memorial Day cook out with their family and friends! The home is cozy and well equipped, and the setting is beautiful. I would recommend the cottage for anyone looking for a longer stay or a getaway weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Winsted, Connecticut

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter Rental
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
30 night minimum stay
£833
for 30 nights
£833
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£303
for 2 nights
From
£114
£606
£2,160
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £75.06
Refundable Damage Deposit £75.82

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals