HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Our Gore Retreat-Minutes to Gore Mountain, 13th Lake, North Creek and rafting

People14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

If you love the outdoors you will love it here.

Our Gore Retreat is a beautiful 4 BR/3BA home located 10 minutes from Gore Mountain Ski Resort. It sleeps 14 in beds with lots of extra room. There is a large screen porch and a wrap around deck to enjoy the mountain views. There are 3 bedrooms with queen beds and a bunk room with 3 bunks and 2 singles. There are also 3 toddler beds. The home features a large LR with cathedral ceilings and a large expansive kitchen. We are 10 minutes from downtown North Creek. The nearby amenities include Gore Mtn, Garnet Mines, 13th Lake, hiking and cross country trails, rafting and tubing. If you love the outdoors you will love our home and this location.

**It is important to note that I have been in charge of planning large (20+ person) ski trips for well over 20 years. So I bring that experience, as a renter to the ownership of this house. I have dealt with just about every issue imaginable, from owners not providing the pass code/combination to get in the house, couple that with no cell service, it makes for an interesting problem to solve; as well as owner telling tall tales about how many their house will sleep. We also welcome your feedback because we want everyone's stay be terrific.

**VRBO site stinks when it comes to the rates section. For anyone interested in renting our home there is a 2 night minimum and the base rate is $300 per night for up to 6 people. There is an additional charge of $50 per person per night and children under the age of 5 are free. There must be at least one person in the party that is 25 years old.

More Details

Owner
Kevin Bean
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2017

About Kevin Bean

My wife, Carole and I have been married 30 years. We love our place in the woods.

Kevin Bean purchased this house in 2014

Guestbook comments from the owner

It is a fantastic home for vacation. The house is so comfy and convenient for a group of 14 to 16 people who want to visit Lake George as well as plan few outdoor activities. It is in the best condition and kept very well. WE liked the family room as the best out of entire home since it is at the back of the house which is great for a family of 16 folks all together for wine and dine. Pls do visit this home and get the pleasure of enjoying a luxury vacation!!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Johnsburg in Warren County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , off the bunk room
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , first floor with laundry room
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , 2nd floor
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 3 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There are numerous trail heads within a 15 minute drive from the house (many are much closer) for hiking and snowshoeing.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Our Gore Retreat-Minutes to Gore Mountain, 13th Lake, North Creek and rafting
average rating of 4.875 based on 10 reviews
5

Highly Recommended. Clean, Plenty of Room, Huge Furnished Kitchen

  • 5 of 5

We rented this location for a long weekend ski trip to Gore Mountain. We cooked several meals in the huge kitchen. The whole group was impressed by the cleanliness, comfort and general upkeep. It seemed more like a home than simply a vacation getaway. Kevin was extremely helpful in all phases of the renting process and quick to reply by text when we had questions regarding the home.

Bonus: great internet and all Dish channels included when relaxing at night.

We plan to rent it again next year!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wes - thank you for your kind words. Y ou and your friends are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
White Plains, NY
5

Back again !!

  • 5 of 5

Our 3rd time back, and we were just as impressed with the place as the first time we walked in. Kevin and Carole do such a great job at keeping the place comfortable and clean. We will certainly be back again. Our family loves this place !

  • Review Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anthony - I am glad everyone had a good time. You and your group do a terrific job of taking care of our house and we truly appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Ski House for Large Group

  • 5 of 5

We had 11 people -- three adults, five teens and three youngsters -- so we needed plenty of beds, a big kitchen and a comfortable seating arrangement. This house has it all! It has a great bunk room with cathedral ceiling for the kids, plus three nice bedrooms, each with large beds and nice bathrooms. But the centerpiece of the house is a huge, modern kitchen with lots of counter space and stools. The setting is lovely, up in the hills above the Hudson River. We were there during a heavy snow, and although the drive leading up to the house is long and at times steep, we had no trouble in our minivan. The drive was well plowed. When we arrived, the house was totally clean and tidy -- no complaints whatsoever. And the property is less than 10 minutes to Gore Mountain -- only about five minutes from charming village of North Creek. You'll love this house, and it's a great value to boot.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: TJ - thank you for the wonderful review. You and your family are welcome back any time. All the best for 2017. Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a wonderful stay at "My Gore Retreat". Our group consisted of 3 families. 6 adults and 7 children. We had more than enough space for all of us and the sleeping arrangements with the large room of bunk beds for the kids was perfect. Sheets were supplied for the beds. The kitchen was stocked with all necessary appliances, cookware, dishes, and cleaning supplies. Laundry was also available. Bathrooms were also stocked with toilet paper, towels, etc..

The wifi worked great, as well as the tv. The entire house was extremely clean and well decorated and the owners even left us a bottle of wine as a welcome gift.

As for location, we were only a 10 minute drive to Gore mountain.

The house was everything we wanted and even better in person than the online photos show.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jackie & Anthony: Thanks for a wonderful review. You are welcome back anytime. Carole & Kevin Bean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
White Plains, NY
5

PERFECT !!

  • 5 of 5

  The house is barely 10 minutes from Gore Mountain and was furnished nicely with objects that reflected the Christmas season. The kids loved the well lit tree in the living room. With a group of 6 adults and 6 kids, there was plenty of room for all of us. The three bunk beds is a great idea, allowing all the kids to stay in one room. A well stocked kitchen provided us with any and all the utensils needed to prepare meals for our crew. Lots of counter space for all the foodstuff that you'd need for everyone, Great big island that we found ourselves around during "Happy Hour". Linens and towels that were provided were clean and fresh. This whole place is clean and fresh, you can just tell when you walk in. It’s obvious that Kevin and Carole, (the owners), wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable and all our needs were met. There’s a “warmth” here that just makes you feel right at home. Everything you need for a weekend in the mountains is right here. Our whole group agreed that we would certainly look into this home again.

  All in all, a great rental experience that we look forward to going through another time. Thank You's to Kevin and Carole for sharing with us... your “Gore Retreat”... (which may also be "our" Gore Retreat, now too!).

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anthony & Adrienne - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, New York
5

Summer Rental for White Water and Tubing

  • 5 of 5

First off, I have to say thank you to the owner Kevin and his wife for being so accommodating to our arrival and departure times. - The owner is responsive and makes everything as smooth as possible. I had a few hiccups re: amount of people and he was willing to wait, etc. Great people for sure!

As for the house! - these pictures do not do the house justice because the house is way bigger than it is in the pictures! It's super clean, eye candy and makes the stay that much more enjoyable.

The welcome note was sweet, the bottle he left us was so considerate and gracious of them (although we may not have drank it, well, more for the next family/group). I never write reviews for houses when they are not up to par and this just pushed everyone's houses down a notch because of how great it is.

Did I say that there was a fire pit as well? yes.. there is a fire pit!

I highly recommend this house and to engage with the owner! - Great great guy!!

Btw - shout out to Kevin (owner) and his wife for the beautiful house and the beautiful interior design! - Felt like a home that I wanted for such a long time!!

Cheers! - definitely coming back in April!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matt - wow, thank you for such kind words. I look forward to seeing you and your friends next April. Kevin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Motorway
26 Miles
NYS 87
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Gore Mountain
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
13th Lake

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Johnsburg, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Year round
28 May 2017 - 31 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£522
for 2 nights
From
£232
£1,218
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£754
for 3 nights
From
£232
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £386.51
Change over fee £57.98

*We only rent to those who are 25 years of age and older. The $300 per night is for up to 6 people, the is an additional charge of $50 per person per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals