HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

L Bldg Ground Floor 1/2 blk from Charlie's beach, Kamaole Beach I

Bedrooms 1
Space 560 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom+ 1 Bathroom Sleeps 2-4 Kalama Terrace #665026

Luxurious condo in the heart of Maui for two. This unit comes complete with a full kitchen, towels and linen, and beach toys including beach chairs, and umbrella. A quiet place to relax, unwind and enjoy easy access to beaches, shopping, restaurants or take a dip in the pool, bbq or go for long strolls along the south maui coastline. Completely remodeled and refurnished condo awaiting vacationers to come and indulge themselves in the tropical rays of Maui. [Includes: free wi-fi, full bathroom, A/C in living room, 2 ceiling fans, hotel style amenities included, shareable laundry, cable TV, DVD/VCR Stereo: kitchen appliances include: dishwasher/microwave/toaster oven, coffee pot/gas stove/oven, free parking in covered spot off the street.]

Colleen Downing
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 February, 2018

Why Colleen Downing chose Kihei

Very calming environment; easy access to beaches, major roads, shops, restaurants--all within walking distance.

What makes this condo unique

Kamaole Beach I (Kam I)

Is a wide sand beach with great swimming that is the northernmost beach. It is often called “Charley Young Beach” named after a man during WWII who tried to build a home there.

Kam I is slightly more popular with locals and has a lifeguard present and better parking with beach access. It has the largest beach area and is not usually as crowded as the other two.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo on Kihei on Maui

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 560 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , vanity and storage cupboard
  • Full bathroom newly restored; no tub.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Beautiful new master bedroom completely newly furnished. Queen bedroom set; Sleeps Two; new pull out queen size couch in living room; sleeps two.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • Kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Beach is located 1/2 block away across Kihie Road.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
L Bldg Ground Floor 1/2 blk from Charlie's beach, Kamaole Beach I
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Kalama Terrace Filled Our Expectations.

  • 4 of 5

We were quite satisfied with this unit. The owner was great to work with and went out of her way to get our business. The unit itself was conveniently located, comfortable, and attractively furnished. While it doesn't have an ocean view it is very close to beach parks, a variety of restaurants, shopping and activities. On-site parking was close to the unit, as were the BBQ area and pool. Checking in and out were a breeze.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, quiet and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay in this condo as it had everything we needed and more than we expected. Thank you for keeping such a clean unit and providing quality towels, appliances and amenities. We were grateful to have you think of the extras we needed such as extra toilet paper, jar to make change for the laundry and laundry soap. The overall experience was great but the only negative we found was as this complex is situated just off the main road ( south Kihei Road) when coming back to condo later in the evening the street was dark due to lack of ample street light lighting. On the plus side of this location though, it was much quieter than some of the condos we stayed at right on South Kihei Road so it is a trade off! We would definitely rent this condo again!!! Thanks to Leanne for keeping such a nice, clean unit and her helpful attitude.

Brian & Donna

Red Deer, Alberta

  • Review Submitted: 12-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your Welcome! Please visit us again. We offer a free night stay to returning guests. Perhaps I will install a few flashlights for the unit so your walk back home will be lighted. Mahalo, Aloha, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect stay in Kihei/Maui

  • 5 of 5

The condo is very quiet and equipped with really everything you need. It is located in a very pleasant and clean facility. The bed is super soft. The pool area is very inviting. The housekeeper of the whole facility is very helpful and friendly. It is not far to the beach; quiet and secluded beaches can be reached very quickly with a rental car. Kihei is very central for all island tours and the weather is perfect. Contact to the owner is perfect by email and we found everything as described.

German Translation:

Das Condo ist recht ruhig und mit wirklich allem ausgestattet was man braucht. Es liegt in einer sehr angenehmen und sauberen Anlage. Das Bett ist superweich. Der Poolbereich ist sehr einladend. Der Hausmeister ist sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich. Es ist nicht weit zum Strand; auch recht EINSAME Strände sind mit einem Mietwagen sehr schnell zu erreichen. Kihei liegt überhaupt sehr zentral für sämtliche Inseltouren und das Wetter ist dort perfekt. Mit der Eigentümerin konnte man perfekt per eMail korrespondieren und fand alles so vor wie beschrieben.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2015
  • Date of Stay: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Condo - good location

  • 4 of 5

Having always stayed right across from Kam II beach, we were a bit skeptical of the distance from Kalama Terrace to Charlie Young beach. We found that it was a real easy walk and went every evening to watch the sunset. The condo itself was great. The bed was one of the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The kitchen was recently updated and the appliances looked new. We did a lot of cooking here because we were staying in Maui for 3 weeks and eating out gets expensive. My only complaint was there were not any spices (even barely any salt and pepper). Fortunately I had brought some of my favorites from home so I didn't have to spend a lot of money. The barbeque area was clean and well used. Linens were well stocked. Overall we had a very lovely time. I would recommend this lovely condo to anyone heading to Maui.


  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Karen, Thanks a lot for your review. I'll work on the spice rack; but glad to hear you had a great time. I do offer discounts for returning guests. We always enjoy ourselves at Charlie Youngs Beach too. Many Mahalos, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Kihei Gem!

  • 5 of 5

Instructions were clear

Home was very welcoming

The books were useful

It was much bigger than anticipated

Beautiful, clean, perfect condo

Coffee provided was delicious

Condo was fully stocked with everything you'd need

Incredible beach steps away

Very convenient location

Loved the patio

The ease of arrival was just amazing

We immediately felt like we had always lived there

Beach towels were really nice and all the beach equipment was so handy!

Nice quiet complex

Extremely impressed and satisfied with our stay!


  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Charlotte, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Kalama Terrace. We enjoy spoiling our guests. We do offer discounts for returning customers. Until next time, aloha Mahalo, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Condo - great location

  • 5 of 5

My stay at Kalama Terrace was great and I really enjoyed it. The condo has all the things necessary allowing for a great stay. If you want to make all your meals at home you will find pretty much everything you need.

As others have mentioned it's quiet and clean and there's access to many community amenities - pool, bbq etc.

The location of the condo is great and Charlie Young Beach is an easy walk. As well all the shops and restaurants are also within a reasonable walking distance.

Any of the interactions with the condo owners were great. If I had any questions they responded in a timely manner. Very professional and friendly throughout the entire process. It was very appreciated and allowed me to have peace of mind that I didn't have to worry about anything.

If you are lucky enough to be heading to Maui and this condo is available then I'd recommend you book it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jodess, thanks for the nice review. I hope you will come back and visit us again. I do offer discounts for returning guests. Mahalo and Aloha, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
13.2 Miles
Kahului, Maui
Nearest Ferry
24.4 Miles
Nearest Train
24.4 Miles
Car: not necessary

Its less than 15 minutes to walk to tourist booths to book all other Maui activities anywhere on the island.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £89.51
Pet Fee £107.41
Damage Deposit £179.02

Check in time is 3:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. Non-smoking.

In order to complete your booking, the signed rental agreement must be faxed to (866) 227-9595. US residents will be requested to purchase damage insurance. An invitation will be sent. The cost is $79. Non-US Residents will be requested to post a $250 security deposit, which is refundable assuming no damage or if you cancel the reservation. This option is also available to everyone. Note cancellation policy: 50% of the full amount will be returned if you cancel at least thirty (30) days prior to the start date; otherwise, the full amount is non-refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.