HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Historic Renovated Rosedale Ghost Town House In Magdalena, Nm, Horse Friendly

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Magdalena - Casa Javelina

2 Br, 1 Bath In The Old West

The Casa Javelina is located in Magdalena NM, 6500 ft, gateway to the Cibola and Gila National Forests. It was originally located in Rosedale, a silver mining town in the San Mateo Mountains about 20 miles away from its current location. The house has been fully renovated. This is a perfect base to explore the Socorro Valley to the east and the high plains to the west.

2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, fully functional kitchen w/ gas stove and oven, microwave, coffee maker, full size fridge, washer/dryer. Native plant landscaped yard, outdoor table. gas grill. The master bedroom has a queen, the small second bedroom has a full size pull out, and another futon can be pulled out in the living room. Linens, blankets, and pillows for the pull outs are available.

A horse pen big enough for 3 horses adjoins the backyard. Bring your horse! Many fabulous rides are possible in the Magdalena area. A day on horseback in the high plains is sure to make you feel like you are in an old western movie!

An aspen wood swing in the backyard aspen grove is a great place to watch the sunset paint the nearby 10000 ft Magdalena Mountains.

Walk 100 yards to the Golden Spur bar to mingle with local Spanish folks, Navajos from the nearby Alamo Reservation, or ranchers from the country all around.

Day trip to the Bosque Del Apache Wildlife refuge (35 miles) or to the Very Large Array Radio Telescope (15 miles).

Or explore three ghost towns (Kelly, Riley and Rosedale) all located within 30 miles of Magdalena.

Hiking and Mountain Biking opportunities abound around Magdalena. Pick up/ drop off services for day trips can be arranged with the owner.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Omar Qureshi
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
4 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Omar Qureshi

Magdalena Resident for 20 + years, I love the country and the people here.

Taught 15 years at Mid and High school on the nearby Alamo Navajo Reservation. Now owner of Nanise Native Plants, a landscaping company.

Omar Qureshi purchased this house in 1993

Why Omar Qureshi chose New Mexico

Got an amazing deal on it back in the 90's. Historic charm.

What makes this house unique

The renovation work was a lot of fun. The old historic place is now comfortable and funky.


based on 5 holidaymaker reviews

Historic Renovated Rosedale Ghost Town House In Magdalena, Nm, Horse Friendly
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

simple but quiet .

  • 3 of 5

We had good time in this wooden house.

The location near the mountains is pleasant and the owner is very nice.

I recommend this house for travellers.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely stay at Casa Javelina

  • 5 of 5

I rented Casa Javelina for four days around New Years - and was very happy with my stay. I moved away from the area several years ago and needed a place to rent on my trip that was spacious enough to entertain guests. Casa Javelina worked out very well, and wasn't much more costly than the hotels in Magdalena. Casa Javelina is cozy and charming - with a comfy bed, frig,microwave, coffee maker (and new mexico coffee!) - all the comforts of home - as well as the little kitchen extras I needed for mixing drinks and preparing food. The house is small - but has a great layout and feels spacious - at one point I had ten guests in the house and there was plenty of space and seating for everyone.

The heaters kept the house toasty, the decor is charming and Omar accommodated my request for an additional night with no issues. I'm definitely planning on renting Casa Javelina for my next trip to Magdalena!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wecoming home in Magdalena New Mexico

  • 5 of 5

If you favor high end decor and surroundings, this place is not for you. However, we enjoyed our visit very much and were well pleased with the simple home and old time town. We planned to come to the VLA and to the Kelly mine (little of it remains). This worked out just fine from this location, and in addition the owner Omar lives next door and was very gracious. Our two dogs had fenced yard and loved the place. Our family consisted of two grandparents, daughter and 8 year old granddaughter. Bring grocery supplies if you come because it would not be convenient to find anything close by.

The description of the home in the listing is accurate, and the property was very clean.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

Arriving at this rental the evening of our appointed stay, we saw that the house and it's furnishings were simple in design. The online pictures were deceiving as were many other features we would soon discover. The furniture was more like what one would expect from yard sales or your local Goodwill. Old, worn and no apparent décor theme. There were leak spots on the ceiling; electrical wiring was mounted on interior walls through piping to outlets that were not recessed; the bathroom was old and grommet was dirty; shower and sink/shelf needed deep cleaning; a towel on the towel rack looked very much like it had been used and placed upon the stack of towels where it dried rumpled and stiff; the entire house had a musty odor; expect no TV stations, but several outdated DVD movies were available for use; the 2nd bedroom linoleum was peeling from the floor (we shut the door to it);windowsills were dirty; rather than a built-in closet, a free standing 'partition' stood in one corner of the main bedroom with a makeshift homemade curtain for use as a 'door'; all shelves and table or floor lamps were dust covered; the bed sheets/covers did not appear to be clean but was hard to tell as the bed was made poorly. We arrived at 8:30 PM and by approximately 12:30 AM we repacked everything to vacate despite being exhausted from travel. WHY? you may further ask? The final straw came while attempting to fall asleep, my husband and I heard a quite audible HUGE scurrying noise preceded by a LOUD SQUEAK. A RAT - mice do not make this magnitude of noise - ran across the wooden bedroom floor! (I cannot make this up!) We bolted straight up in bed, discussed our options and packed up the vehicle. With the owner living next door, we summoned him to his front door. He arrived in a tank t-shirt and boxers. He left to put on jeans and we explained why we could not stay. We stated that we did not live this way...in filth and with rat(s). Furthermore, we shared that we had seen an adult cockroach in the house upon leaving. It does not take a rocket scientist to know that where there is ONE COCKROACH there are more to follow. We demanded to be reimbursed. The owner did so in a timely manner, but apparently he did not understand that we expected a FULL refund of $80, not $40. I guess he felt that a charge of $40 was okay for the mere 3 hours spent there. VRBO requires a reason for refunding. He wrote,"Renter was not happy with the house." REALLY?!? A definite CON.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This sounds like a ghost story from the old ghost town house! Seriously both $40 payments were refunded on 9/11/2015.by Home Away Payments. There are no rats or mice in the house. I have never seen a cockroach in the house. Once we had a bird get trapped in the attic and there were some scraping noises for a few days. Spooky! All towels and linens are washed and line dried outside after each client leaves. The house is cleaned after checkout, and again within a week before a new client checks in. The DVD player is described in the listing. The DVD collection may not please everyone, but its cool! Electric, plumbing, windows have all been redone to code. Pull out fouton couches in the living room and second bedroom allow the house to sleep 6. The linoleum in the 2nd bedroom is vintage stuff with an amazing plant pattern A bit worn but we could not tear it out! The Casa Javelina is a renovated 100 year old ghost town house. It is historic, comfortable, and funky, but not fancy.. We never painted the inside of the master bedroom door, because my kids see a ghost face in the wood grain. Don't be spooked!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

First Trip to Magdalena N.M.

  • 5 of 5

We traveled to Magdalena N.M. to visit relatives and were recommended this two bedroom home as being a better option over local hotels. We were very pleased with the home as it was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. In addition, it has a fully working kitchen and utensils and a washer and dryer. Our party of six (four adults and two children) turned out a perfect fit as the property owner informed us prior to making our reservation that the home had a fold down sofa bed in the living room. Our children also enjoyed the wireless internet available for their gaming while we enjoyed our stay. The owner was very pleasant and eager to meet our needs during our stay and that was an unexpected bonus for us. The town is rather small and a perfect location for someone wanting to get away from the busy city environment. The home also has a bbq grill and a patio table with chairs, which made it easy for our barbecue. The town of Magdalena is small and we found the people to be very friendly. There are plenty of historic sites to visit and the owner facilitated horseback riding and hiking for all of us, which everyone enjoyed and indicated it was a very memorable experience. Needless to say, we highly recommend this home for anyone wanting to visit Magdalena and we would definitely choose this home when we return to Magdalena in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Golden Spur
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
New Mexico Tech Socorro
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Hwy 60
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Magdalena Cafe
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Magdalena, New Mexico

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £12 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are subject to change until a booking is confirmed.
The basic rates are for 2 adults. Additional guests (over 12) will be charged $10 per night.
Children (12 and under) stay free.
Horses in the pen will cost $15 per night per horse.
Pets require a $50 refundable deposit per pet.
Please keep pets off the furniture.

Monthly rentals require a $300 refundable damage deposit and $100 refundable per pet
Weekly rate $375 for 2 adults, Monthly rate $1075 for 2 adults.

Contact the owner for weekly or longer rentals, or if you are bringing pets or horses.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Magdalena, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , tiled floor and shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • a second couch/pull out futon is in the living room
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
Magdalena is a gateway to Outdoor Recreation. Beautiful, wild country, far from the maddening crowd surrounds us . The owner of the Javelina House, has been exploring the country around Magdalena for 25 years. We can help you set up your own adventure! Pick up/drop off services for hikers and mountain bikers are available to allow cool one way trips! We'll be happy to share information about our favorite trails and areas. Local National Forest and topographic maps are in stock and for sale at the Javelina House, as well as on display on the walls of the small bedroom in the house. Snowshoeing and cross country skiing are possible in big snow winters. The Casa Javelina makes a great hunting base. Hunting opportunities near Magdalena include Mule Deer, Coues Deer, Elk, Antelope, three species of Quail, and more. Birdwatching and Wildlife Viewing opportunities are plentiful, both in the Magdalena High Country and in the Rio Grande Valley below. Ask the owner for ideas!

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties