HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Sunny Historical West End 2BR

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 30 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in West End

Charming large first floor 2BR, 1bath is close to everything in Portland!

Our charming and bright apt in Portland's historic West End is walking distance to everything: fantastic restaurants, museums, music, the West Prom, Old Port, and more. Clean, renovated, cozy. Fireplace, wireless, cable, laundry.

DESCRIPTION

Our historical house (in the West End historical district) was built in 1899 and is an 'American Foursquare.' It still retains its original features (high ceilings, hardwood floors, original windows, layout, etc) but it's been updated sensitively to make it very cozy and pleasant.

The apt is about 900 sq ft with two lovely bay windows in the front facing our very quiet street. We have a fully stocked eat-in kitchen with a table that accommodates 6; a living room with cable TV; and a bedroom with a queen bed. We also have a larger second bedroom with two twin beds. We can also provide a portable crib for a little one with advance notice.

The entire place is very sunny and uncluttered with simple furnishings and artwork. We love it and stay there ourselves as often as we can. It can accommodate 4 people very comfortably.

The full-sized kitchen is well-stocked with everything you need to cook with -- spices, pots and pans, microwave, coffeemaker, etc. The stove is gas. There is wireless internet throughout the apt.

ACCESS

There is ample off-street free parking on our street and in the neighborhood. If you prefer, there are two reasonably priced parking garages about 9 blocks from the house.

We have a washer and drier in the basement that you are welcome to use. There is also a full-service laundromat just a block from the house.

INTERACTION WITH GUESTS

Since this is our Portland pied-a-terre, you are unlikely to see us during your visit. But we're just a text or email or phone call away and would still love to give you advice about where to go for great food (Portland is amazing!), hikes, music, etc. We also have an in-town Portland contact for any issues that arise that need immediate local attention (like locking yourself out of the house :-)

OUR NEIGHBORHOOD

Our neighborhood is the most sought after neighborhood in Portland -- the West End. We are 1.5 blocks from Aurora's (an amazing upscale deli/sandwich shop) and there are numerous excellent restaurants and coffee shops within 1-4 blocks. A drug store and a natural grocery store are just 2 blocks from the house. The Portland Art Museum, the Arts District, and plenty of shopping along the main street (Congress) is only a few blocks away as is the Western Promenade --- a beautiful walk along the bluffs overlooking the working bay. There is a public pool 1 block from the house. The more tourist-oriented (but fun!) Old Port is also an easy walk. There's really no need for a car unless it's raining. Portland is a very walkable town.

Our street is particularly quiet as it doesn't connect anything to anything. The area is very safe --- mostly families and young people.

GETTING AROUND

There are two city bus stops near the house. One is just on the corner nearby and the other a block away. You could easily do without a car altogether.

We are about 10 minutes from the Portland Jetport ($13 cab ride) and even closer to the bus and train station (easy access to Boston). We are also only a short walk to the major hospital (Maine Medical Center).

HOUSE RULES

We don't allow pets or smoking. And we ask guests to leave their shoes at the door. So please bring slippers! (Although we have some you can borrow during your visit, if you forget :-)

Since there are 2 apts in the house and nice neighbors nearby, we ask that you be considerate about noise levels. Quiet hours: 10PM - 7AM out of consideration, please!

Currently, the fireplace is out of commission, but we expect to resolve that by the summer: But we can't promise that at this time! When it is working again: We ask that you use only Duraflame logs (we will provide 1 log for short visits and 2 for longer ones). Why not 'real' wood? Duraflame logs are cleaner, safer (don't spark), eco-friendly, leave little ash, don't smoke, don't over-flame, and are easy to light. So our house stays cleaner and safer. Duraflame logs ARE a wood product, so this is not just a 'fake' fire. We live in the backwoods of Maine with 2 wood-burning stoves and know how much dirt, smoke, and ash can be produced, especially with inexperienced wood burners :-) Even we use the Duraflames when in Portland.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Sarah Sloane-Barton
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 November, 2016

About Sarah Sloane-Barton

We are two college professors and recent empty nesters. Drew is a Forest Ecologist and Sarah is an Animal Behaviorist. We bought this adorable historic house because we wanted an income property/pied-a-terre. Our college is in a very small town closer to the mountains and we needed some big city time! And we love Portland! We have been very successful hosts on another vacation rental site for 3 years (with a different property, of course!) and decided to give VRBO a try for this one. We love travel, music , and fine food. Portland fits most of those criteria :-)

Sarah Sloane-Barton purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Sarah Sloane-Barton chose Portland

If you know Portland, you would know why we chose the West End. It's not touristy, but still has everything nearby. It still has an arty feel, but is undergoing tremendous renovations. It's safe and historic. Just walking the neighborhood is a pleasure. The West End is well known for fabulous restaurants, coffee shops, and museums. Everything you could need is within walking distance.

The house itself is adorable and solid. Lovely wood floors, high ceilings, but a modern kitchen and bathroom. And it has a classic fireplace that actually works! A nice mix of old and new.

What makes this apartment unique

The absolute best part of this apartment is the location. You are literally walking distance to everything. That's what we wanted in our pied-a-terre for ourselves and so that's what we got. Fine restaurants, musical venues, shops, museums, the Old Port, Arts District, Western Promenade, etc are all walking distance. You don't need a car except for, perhaps, access to a big grocery store. But there are Mom and Pop stores nearby, so that's good enough for us. There's a good bus system too, so you can get farther afield if you wish (mall, etc).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

Sunny Historical West End 2BR
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 24 reviews
5

Clean and comfortable home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Owners are fast to respond. Had a welcome basket when arrived. Very clean and charming hom. walkable distance to lots of stores and restaurants. Would love to stay here again on our next trip to Portland. Thank you again for sharing your home with our family.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location and neat older home

  • 3 of 5

What a cool place and great location. The home is a clean, nicely updated older home with tall ceilings and cool wood floors. Just four blocks over the edge of downtown Portland starts, easy walking distance. The location is convenient for driving out of town also as there are bridges or main roads nearby. It was nice that things like WIFI, coffee and a good coffee maker, soap, bottle of wine, etc. were provided. As it turns out my wife needed to wash a couple clothing items, so the convenient washer and dryer was allowed us to relax a little easier. We were in and out a lot and found nearby on street parking all the time except once. Like any older home there were a few nuisance items like; most of the room doors didn’t shut easily/ got stuck (like the bathroom), in the front bedroom you are supposed to open the window(s) in the evening for the cool air but they were stuck or broken, the bathroom sink drained really slow - just FYI. The reason for only three stars was getting sleep. The mattresses are basic foam that have caved in at the center. Also, the instructions say that after 10 pm is quiet time, but the tenants upstairs apparently don’t know that. The couple that slept in the front bedroom said one night the people upstairs were moving furniture or something well past midnight.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am am so sorry you had trouble with the bedroom windows! The only non-opening window I'm aware of is the single side window in the front bedroom, which needs repair (and has a sign on it). But the other three should have worked well. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. If you had contacted us during your stay, we would have looked into it right away. The bathroom sink drain has been repaired as it was brought to our attention by our current guests. Our plumber took care of that immediately. The mattresses are not foam. They are organic cotton futons with memory foam toppers. So I'm not certain what the problem was and I haven't had any issues with other guests to my knowledge. But I will check to be sure the foam hasn't slipped in some way. They are less than a year old. I do remember you having an issue with the upstairs tenants the first night, but no issues after I spoke with them the next day! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you plan to come back soon :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The apartment was clean and had a nice home feel.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay the only negative was the parking. Easy walk to the Portland waterfront and shopping. The apartment fit our needs perfectly. I would recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Adorable, welcoming, clean!

  • 4 of 5

This West End apartment was perfect for our girl's weekend in Portland. The home was clean and stocked with plenty of towels! There was coffee in the kitchen and all the amenities to feel perfectly at home. $6-$10 Uber ride to downtown area, or if you prefer a walk - it's an enjoyable mile.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming Maine home.

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed in the Lewis House with my husband and 3 kids (8,5, and 7 months). The first thing we noticed when we walked in was the beautiful high ceilings, and the sunny rooms. The house is absolutely beautiful. Sarah had left some food in the pantry which was great that first night we were there. She also left us a bottle of wine which we enjoyed the second night we were there. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house is near a few really cute markets, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the edge of downtown. We were easily able to get around and really enjoyed our stay. Parking was a bit tricky, but I believe that was due to us being there over the fourth of July weekend.

We had one minor noise issue while we were there (the upstairs neighbors) but Sarah texted them immediately and took care of it, again I think this was just because it was the fourth of July weekend. There were great suggestions of food (Abelines had amazing brunch), and entertainment (Sasquatch museum) in the guest book. It was an amazing stay and if we return to Portland we will stay here again. I recommend this house to anyone staying in the Portland area.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, nice place, a few glitches

  • 4 of 5

This is, as described, a nice sunny apartment in a great location in Portland. It was clean and comfortable. There were a couple of glitches. Dispite receiving a lengthy message prior to our stay detailing how to keep the apartment cool with the air conditioner, etc., we found that it had not yet been installed. Sarah was quick to respond to our inquiry and offered to have the cleaning person come put it in. Fortunately, my husband is pretty handy and was able to install it himself. Sarah also mentioned prior to our stay that we may not be able to park on the street if this was whichever Tuesday of the month when it is prohibited due to trash pickup. We had to figure it out by checking the sign outside and she seemed confused about whether it was due to trash or street cleaning, when the sign made it clear. The lock on the front door is a bit touchy and should be replaced so renters don't have to fumble around in the dark to get it to work. I would also suggest having a folder or binder or something in the house with instructions so that if you happen to have a dead battery on your cell phone and can't locate the wifi password, you can find contact information more easily. Also, I feel a bit silly even mentioning this, but while our pre-stay message mentioned a welcome gift...and others left notes of thanks for their welcome gifts in the guestbook...we did not receive a welcome gift. I understand Sarah had a new cleaner and was having problems, so I wouldn't rule out staying there just because of our issues. I looked around and found this to be more reasonably priced than others in the area and I think it is still a better deal.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do apologize for the air conditioner and for the missing welcome basket! Yes, we do have a new cleaner and I need to work out some of these details with her. Replacing our previous cleaner was a necessity and was last-minute. There is (or should be) both a card in the basket on the bureau in the hall with the WiFi password as well as a notebook with instructions, including all contact info. As far as the "confusion" about trash day vs street cleaning and which Tuesday that is: please understand that Portland has been messing about with that for awhile now and the far safer alternative, rather than trust me since I am not currently in town, was to look for yourselves. The sign is right outside the door! I hope that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless and we would welcome you back at any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Portland Museum of Art
"The biggest and best art museum in Portland. Just a 15 min walk from the apartment. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Longfellow Square
"Both the square at the corner of Pine and Congress as well as the name of a music venue ther..."
Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine
"A wonderful museum for kids (and we think it's fun too). Easy walk and right next to the Po..."
Local 188
"Great food and a relaxed (but a bit loud) atmosphere. Right near Longfellow Square."
Petite Jacqueline
"Fantastic French restaurant. Right on Longfellow Square. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Aurora Provisions
"Love this place. It's a treat to step out, walk just 2 blocks and get a cup of coffee in th..."
Car: not necessary

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in West End, Portland - Casco Bay Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Early Winter
26 Oct 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£254
for 2 nights
From
£107
£684
 
 
New Year
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£332
for 2 nights
From
£146
 
 
Late Winter/Spring
3 Jan 2017 - 31 May 2017
30 night minimum stay
£1,930
for 30 nights
£1,930
 
 
Peak 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 25 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£323
for 2 nights
From
£142
£899
£2,789
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£289
for 2 nights
From
£125
£727
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £158
cleaning £39
Tax Rate 9.0%

We charge a $200 fully refundable damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in West End in Portland - Casco Bay Area

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with bathtub and shower. Recently renovated.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties