HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Satilla River Front Getaway

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 BR 3 Bath Riverfront

Very secluded and private property in the rural area of the Burnt Fort Community in Camden County, Georgia. Nearest "town" 12 miles. Come enjoy the Big Satilla River in our spacious 4 Br 3 full bath home. Antique heart pine floors throughout. Enjoy an evening fire in the outdoor fireplace on the huge deck overlooking the river. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place to visit. Just one mile from the boat ramp where you can launch your boat or jet ski. Great place to fish, water ski and kayak. Enjoy the sounds of nature off your back porch while preparing dinner on the built in grill. Approximately 45 min to an hour to historic St. Mary's, Jekyll Island, Amelia Island, Cumberland Island and the Okefenokee Swamp. Wonderful place for families to gather.


Owner
James and Sarah Lewis
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
30 April, 2017

About James and Sarah Lewis

We built this home in 1984. We lived here until 2011. We raised our family here and have many fond memories. Our children have enjoyed fishing and hunting on the property. The land the house is built on has been in the family for many generations. We would love to open our home up for others to enjoy.

James and Sarah Lewis purchased this house in 1984

What makes this house unique

If you are looking for a peaceful vacation, this is the place for you. The home is in a very secluded yet within driving distance to all conveniences.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in White Oak in Camden County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This is the Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Satilla River Front Getaway
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
5

Very private and serene Satilla River house

  • 5 of 5

The house is very clean, and equipped with all the necessities (including kayaks). It has a great deck and dock in the Satilla River for chilling.

The owners are very accessible and ready to assist with any questions.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, Thank you for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back any time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville
5

Get away from everything...it's silent here!

  • 5 of 5

LOVED IT!!! The kayaks were a nice amenity, I only wish it had been warmer to take full advantage of the river! The home is large, beautiful, and QUIET! We will rent here again, and bring the kids for the next adventure!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nichole, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the kayaks. I'm sorry the weather was a little chilly, but at least that makes the firepit enjoyable in the evenings. It warms our heart when someone leaves and says they want to come back, because it means they had a good time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Clean, spacious house in a very quiet setting

  • Review Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our home. You are welcome back any time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for week and enjoyed the outdoors. The property sits on the river and the owners provide two Kayaks that are really easy to use. We enjoyed morning and evening trips on the river for hours,VERY relaxing and quite. We had a fire outside every night, with plenty of firewood. The house is just as pictured and the kitchen is fully stocked with anything you need. Sara is wonderful to work with and responds within minutes. After Hurricane Mathew a tree and fell on the porch and Sara refunded my money THAT day ..After looking for another place nothing sounded as relaxing as this home. I called and spoke with Sara and the house was ready for our arrival and they even had a fire ready for us to light up!!! The house was PERFECT... We will be coming back ,and I can not express our thanks for all the work that was done prior to our arrival, our vacation was VERY RELAXING. THANK YOU SARA

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy, It was a pleasure having you and your family as guests. I was thrilled the first time we spoke on the phone to find out you were excited about your plans to come to our home in the country in our secluded hideaway. It warmed our hearts that you were so eager to come, even after we told you of the storm damage. It gave us a renewed enthusiasm to get the repairs done quickly. You are all welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing riverfront home!

  • 5 of 5

As a family of six plus two grandparents I am pleased to say this home is wonderful for a myriad of reasons. We came in literally the day after a hurricane and found it to be immaculate inside and out. We enjoyed the new dock for coffee early in the mornings and fishing after the kids woke up. The home is complete with wifi, large TV and the kitchen had everything we needed. We constantly used the kayaks for exploring and fishing. Communication with the owners was easy and they were very pleased to assist when we needed directions finding our way off the beaten path. We took a quick side trip to a florida beach as our only trip away from the home. HIghly recommended for those who like to get away from city life. While fixing my morning coffee it was a nice sight to have a doe grazing 20 yards from my truck.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stephen, It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests in our home. We are glad that Hurricane Hermaine did not alter your vacation. I'm so pleased you were able to use the Kayaks and take in some fishing. You took great care of our home and you are welcome back anytime. Tell your children we said "thank you" for the kind notes they left. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The property was very well maintained everything worked. The house was immaculate and exactly as described. I will definitely stay there again.

The property owners made the stay seamless. Sitting on the back deck overlooking the river was a great experience. There is a boat ramp within a mile off the property and makes it easy for sporting.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Eric, It was a pleasure having you and the other guests. I'm glad you were able to appreciate the serenity of the environment. Thank you for taking such wonderful care of our home. We would welcome you back anytime. Sincerely, James and Sarah Lewis
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Lang's Marina Restaurant
Captain Stan's Smokehouse
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Jacksonville International Airport
Nearest Ferry
34 Miles
Cumberland Queen
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Osprey Cove
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Okefenokee Restaurant
Nearest Beach
42 Miles
Jekyll Island

Enjoy a peaceful time quietly enjoying the outdoors in this remote location. Or, you may choose to launch your boat or kayak to take advantage of the fabulous river. Drive to nearby St Mary's and take a ferry ride to Cumberland Island. Or you may want to tour the Okefenokee Swamp in Folkston.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in White Oak, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter/Spring Special
3 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£531
for 3 nights
From
£145
£920
£1,710
 
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 30 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£469
for 2 nights
From
£186
 
 
4th of July
3 Jul 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£469
for 2 nights
From
£186
 
 
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
£426
for 2 nights
From
£165
£1,131
£2,413
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £96.63
Refundable Damage Deposit £193.26
Tax Rate 7.0%

Must be at least 21 years of age to rent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals