HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Satilla River Front Getaway

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 BR 3 Bath Riverfront

Very secluded and private property in the rural area of the Burnt Fort Community in Camden County, Georgia. Nearest "town" 12 miles. Come enjoy the Big Satilla River in our spacious 4 Br 3 full bath home. Antique heart pine floors throughout. Enjoy an evening fire in the outdoor fireplace on the huge deck overlooking the river. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place to visit. Just one mile from the boat ramp where you can launch your boat or jet ski. Great place to fish, water ski and kayak. Enjoy the sounds of nature off your back porch while preparing dinner on the built in grill. Approximately 45 min to an hour to historic St. Mary's, Jekyll Island, Amelia Island, Cumberland Island and the Okefenokee Swamp. Wonderful place for families to gather.


Owner
James and Sarah Lewis
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2017

About James and Sarah Lewis

We built this home in 1984. We lived here until 2011. We raised our family here and have many fond memories. Our children have enjoyed fishing and hunting on the property. The land the house is built on has been in the family for many generations. We would love to open our home up for others to enjoy.

James and Sarah Lewis purchased this house in 1984

What makes this house unique

If you are looking for a peaceful vacation, this is the place for you. The home is in a very secluded yet within driving distance to all conveniences.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in White Oak in Camden County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This is the Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

Satilla River Front Getaway
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
5

A Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We reserved this beautiful river retreat for a special family gathering. We had four generations from three different locations come together to celebrate a 65th wedding anniversary and a 90th birthday. Once we arrived, we were amazed by the spectacular view and all of the amenities. There were plenty of beds, linens, towels, and kitchen necessities for our needs. We didn't leave once during our weekend there! Everyone from the 9 year old twins to the 90 year old great-grandmother had a wonderful time. We spent our days fishing off the dock, swimming in the river, kayaking, using the rope swing, sitting on the big back porch drinking coffee, and playing cards at the large dining table. The house is decorated beautifully and nothing can beat the impressive antique heart pine floors. Sarah was very kind, helpful, and easy to work with. We could not have asked for a better location! We will definitely return for another relaxing retreat!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott and Jeri, It was a pleasure to have your family in our home. We are honored that you chose our location for your celebration. It pleases us when we here that our guests took advantage of all this location has to offer. You are welcome back anytime. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Statesboro
5

River lovin'!

  • 5 of 5

We spent Easter weekend here, the place is set beautifully on the banks of the Satilla river. We spent majority of the time on the dock and fishing the river. The kids enjoyed the rope swing and kayaks. We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you were able to spend some time in the river and get some fishing in. Thank you for your kind words. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very private and serene Satilla River house

  • 5 of 5

The house is very clean, and equipped with all the necessities (including kayaks). It has a great deck and dock in the Satilla River for chilling.

The owners are very accessible and ready to assist with any questions.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, Thank you for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back any time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville
5

Get away from everything...it's silent here!

  • 5 of 5

LOVED IT!!! The kayaks were a nice amenity, I only wish it had been warmer to take full advantage of the river! The home is large, beautiful, and QUIET! We will rent here again, and bring the kids for the next adventure!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nichole, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the kayaks. I'm sorry the weather was a little chilly, but at least that makes the firepit enjoyable in the evenings. It warms our heart when someone leaves and says they want to come back, because it means they had a good time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Clean, spacious house in a very quiet setting

  • Review Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our home. You are welcome back any time. James and Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for week and enjoyed the outdoors. The property sits on the river and the owners provide two Kayaks that are really easy to use. We enjoyed morning and evening trips on the river for hours,VERY relaxing and quite. We had a fire outside every night, with plenty of firewood. The house is just as pictured and the kitchen is fully stocked with anything you need. Sara is wonderful to work with and responds within minutes. After Hurricane Mathew a tree and fell on the porch and Sara refunded my money THAT day ..After looking for another place nothing sounded as relaxing as this home. I called and spoke with Sara and the house was ready for our arrival and they even had a fire ready for us to light up!!! The house was PERFECT... We will be coming back ,and I can not express our thanks for all the work that was done prior to our arrival, our vacation was VERY RELAXING. THANK YOU SARA

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy, It was a pleasure having you and your family as guests. I was thrilled the first time we spoke on the phone to find out you were excited about your plans to come to our home in the country in our secluded hideaway. It warmed our hearts that you were so eager to come, even after we told you of the storm damage. It gave us a renewed enthusiasm to get the repairs done quickly. You are all welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Lang's Marina Restaurant
Captain Stan's Smokehouse
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Jacksonville International Airport
Nearest Ferry
34 Miles
Cumberland Queen
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Osprey Cove
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Okefenokee Restaurant
Nearest Beach
42 Miles
Jekyll Island

Enjoy a peaceful time quietly enjoying the outdoors in this remote location. Or, you may choose to launch your boat or kayak to take advantage of the fabulous river. Drive to nearby St Mary's and take a ferry ride to Cumberland Island. Or you may want to tour the Okefenokee Swamp in Folkston.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in White Oak, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
4th of July
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£674
for 3 nights
From
£186
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£488
for 2 nights
From
£186
£1,150
£2,432
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £193.26
Cleaning Fee £115.95
Tax Rate 7.0%

Must be at least 21 years of age to rent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals