HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Serene Venice Home on Intracoastal Waterway

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 30 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
5 - 30 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Venice

Home on Intracoastal Waterway and Venetian Waterway Biking Trail

NEW POOL AND NEW SCREENED LANAI ARE COMPLETE AND BEAUTIFUL! This three bedroom, two bathroom home has undergone renovation in 2015. The renovation includes a new kitchen with hardwood maple cabinets and granite countertops. The master bathroom remodel includes new cabinetry and all new fixtures, modern shower tile with "wood plank" floor tile . The laundry room was enlarged to allow for ease of use along with extra room for beach gear, etc. This amazing home is located on a dead-end street with a wooded area to the south and green space across the street to the north-east. The back of the home faces west with glass-sliders opening out onto over-sized new paver lanai with gorgeous pool from master bedroom and entire expansive length of living room giving the feel of endless room. Although this property is populated with several beautiful trees, there is no shortage of sun!

The backyard is a peaceful sanctuary for Florida birds and a pass-through for the small timid bobcat. Walk forty steps off the backyard and you will be on the Venetian Waterway Bike/Walking Trail with miles of paved path that follow the Intracoastal Waterway and connect to the Legacy Trail which continues toward Sarasota. You can also bike to several businesses, restaurants, beaches, and parks on the island of Venice from the Venetian Waterway Trail.

Hop on your bike, take a walk, or relax on the bench (as pictured) and be mesmerized by the view because you are also on the Intracoastal Waterway. This is home to dolphins, manatees, and endless marine life. The Intracoastal Waterway runs parallel to the Gulf of Mexico and accommodates everything from kayaks to large yachts traveling locally or those traveling from northern parts of Florida toward the Keys.

This home is in a neighborhood with it's own private beach. Beach access is a mile south of the home and is accessed by ferry via the intracoastal waterway. This area also accommodates boat launching. Another bonus for this homes location is Shamrock Park. Shamrock Park is within walking distance of this amazing home and offers nature trails, tennis courts, basketball courts, large children's playground, picnic areas, and restrooms. It is also home to the Florida Scrub Jay (a blue robin-sized social bird) and several tortoises, not to mention large Florida birds.

This home is managed by Angie Lambrecht of JL Cochran Property Management. Angie has a long and trusted reputation as a PM dating back to Januaty 2010 with listings on VRBO including listing numbers 284113, 356210, 706152, 689621, 784720, and 776624.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Angie Lambrecht for JL Cochran Property Management LLC
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2016
Call Manager


based on 11 holidaymaker reviews

Serene Venice Home on Intracoastal Waterway
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
Austin, MN

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Quiet residential area, biking and hiking along the intercoastal waterway right at your back door and a lovely covered pool area all adding up to a most pleasant stay at this newly remodeled home. We were serenaded each evening by a Chuck-wills Widow and listened to an Eastern Screech owl in the distance. We were able to enjoy our meals under the covered pool area every day we were there in March. The pool was lovely to enjoy both during the day and early evening. Kitchen was well stocked with all utensils needed and washer, dryer convenient at back entrance. Be ready to relax and enjoy a stay at this clean, welcoming home.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Venice Gem

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely please with this home and its warm and relaxed feel. Regardless if you are a biker, hiker or a pool person and just wanted to hang out in the spacious caged in pool area, or venture straight out your back door to explore the miles of paved bike and hiking paths along the inter-coastal waterway, it was at your desire. If you are a beach goer you are centrally located to numerous world famous Gulf beaches within a short travel distance. This was one of the most private secluded properties we have had the pleasure to stay in and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. Right from the beginning of our booking the property manager Angie was more than helpful, in fact when my wife discovered she had forgot her hair dryer, one call and Angie immediately came to the rescue. As if she was not enough of a delight herself, we were introduced to Angie's husband Gary whom handles all of the maintenance issues and was equally friendly and helpful when he responded to our request to have the pool heater turned on, for a small cost, which I recommend. The home and property where clean and neat, just as described, with everything we needed during our stay. We have been vacationing in the Venice Area for approximately 20 years and have truly found a Venice Gem.

  • Review Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

If you ever dreamed of being on Gilligan's Island, without the expense of the boat trip, this is the spot for you. Three minutes from the main highway is an oasis of peace and serenity. We watched ospreys fishing for their meals and eagles grabbing if from the ospreys. Some birds hunted the geckos with deadeye precision while other ones seemed to just enjoy the beauty surrounding them. A mother and baby manatee were spotted ,as well as some dolphins, in the intracoastal waterway which is about 100 steps from the house. The house had all the conveniences and more than you would have at home. The lovely kitchen is very well stocked for any cooking you might want to do. A gas fired grill and crock pot added to the convenience. We used the new pool most days but took a few trips to the private beach which was fun. The only bad part of the whole experience was leaving. We are looking forward to a return trip in this great spot.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York


  • 5 of 5

This was our first time in this part of Florida, what a wonderful surprise to have walked into this welcoming home! We came down to attend my daughters wedding and found this private hideaway a great place to gather with family both before and after the wedding. My husband and I loved the walks along the water, the private pool and the comfortable surroundings. We found the place immaculate upon arrival and loved the kitchen!

We decided we will be booking again here for next year, we also want to thank Gary and Angie for coming over in under five minutes when we decided we wanted the pool heater turned on, what a great couple . Thank you again, See you next year!

From, Virginia and Glenn

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A private retreat

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with the home. It was nice and private and very convenient for biking. We had 3 children with us and very much enjoyed the use of the private pool. The home is well stocked as we enjoyed our Christmas dinner and had everything available to cook our meal. The only downside would have to be the beds. They are cheaper foam matresses and we're very uncomfortable to sleep on. If the beds are upgraded in the future we will definately rent this home again as we loved staying there. Thanks.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. This is the first I have heard mentioned in regard to this home. After investigation into your review about the mattress it was found that the mattress in the master bedroom was defective and replaced promptly by the manufacturer (through the store of purchase). Had this been brought to my attention during your stay it likely would have been resolved quickly and you would have slept in comfort during your two week vacation. My contact information is always posted and I am reachable 24/7. It is nice to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay at this "private retreat." -- Angie L.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice area but bad agent!

  • 1 of 5

Be sure to take pictures of the house upon arrival and before departure. They will try to keep your deposit. We were falsely accused (and charged) for stealing a bed skirt! They also accused us of stealing or breaking a decorative dish. After we complained, they "found" the bed skirt. Wow, it was even on the bed! They charged us for "laundry" and "ants" ("The ants showed up to the extent of an infestation before the house was completely cleaned within two days of your departure").! They even charged for "lint/fuzz collected under furniture and around base boards". We are a military family and left every clean but they are charging extra anyway.

The house is in a quiet area and the neighbor was very nice.

All in all, we enjoyed the stay. But if we had known about the trouble getting our deposit back, we would not rent it. It's too much expense to try to sue to get the deposit back from out of state. I will be happy to forward email proof if needed. This is a horrible way to treat a military family!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have total respect and appreciation for our military troops and it is a shame that this guest is making that a part of this issue. Just because someone is in the military doesn’t mean they are respectful and clean when in someone’s home. I have been over-seeing rental homes in our area for six years and as many as ten at a time. I have only had three occasions in all this time where a guest has left the home in such poor condition that it has required withholding a fraction of the deposit to cover cleaning charges. This is the third and only partial deposit was withheld. Expectations are spelled out clearly in the rental agreement which include: No pets allowed, Food spills, food, and obvious dirt is cleaned from floors, cabinets, and all other surfaces. Soiled dishes are placed in the dishwasher and cleaned. Laundry upon departure to include no more than one sheet set per guest, one load of white towels and one load of colored towels. In excess will incur charge. There were “two” guests staying at this house yet every bed was used and bed sheet was left soiled, every pool, kitchen, bath, hand towel and wash cloth was left dirty requiring additional laundering in towels alone not to mention sheets. The kitchen counter tops and floor had excessive crumbs and food debris. Dishes and utensils were returned to cabinets as if they weren’t washed. The kitchen was so soiled that ants moved in prior to cleaning being complete (home pest control is professionally maintained on a scheduled basis). Balls of fuzz, lint, and something resembling pet fur was accumulated under dining set and around floor boards and legs of furniture. A decorative dish containing seashells that was on the table in living room is missing. Initially it was thought a bed skirt was missing but was found pushed far between the mattress and box spring when I removed the mattress to put a new bed skirt on. I have no idea what went on at this house. All I know is that it seems this guest thinks they are exempt from cleaning up after themselves and the homeowner should cover the additional cost of cleaning beyond normal wear and tear. Also, I was surprised to find a used “Quickscreen At home Drug Test” kit for Marijuana at the home. I can only hope this is limited to off-duty recreation and not while “at work.”
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Sarasota International Airport
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Beach Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Several Golf Courses
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Tamiami Trail/ US 41
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several convenient choices
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Neighborhood private beach
Car: necessary

This home is just minutes from several beaches (1-5 miles) with our neighborhood private beach being one mile away. The location of this home also offers convenience to Historic Downtown Venice for shopping, unique dining, and entertainment as well as several more beaches. Groceries, daily shopping needs, and several chain restaurants are also within three miles. Convenient to independent fishing or fishing excursions, boat/wave runner/canoe/kayak rentals. Venice has several miles of paved biking and walking paths literally steps off the backyard as well as bike rental shops. Venice also has several beautiful golf courses nearby. Nearby Sarasota, 25 minutes drive north, offers a nice Mainstreet shopping district along with unique dining. Where Mainstreet meets the Gulf you will find a delightful marina and park worth the walk. St Armand's Circle is not far from here and is a very unique and fun shopping/dining experience. If you are looking for amusement parks Busch Gardens is located in Tampa; a one hour’s drive. Lowery Park Zoo and Florida Aquarium are also located in Tampa. Orlando, which is a two hour’s drive, offers four Walt Disney Parks, Sea World, Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. For the shoppers visiting our area there are two Outlet Malls less than an hour away; one in Ellenton and one in Ft. Myers.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Venice, Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 May 2016 - 12 Nov 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
13 Nov 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
1 Jan 2017 - 15 Apr 2017
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights
Spring 2017
16 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £410
cleaning fee £98 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

If paying by credit card, add 2.9% for U S funds and 4.9% for international funds (or current rate as charged by VRBO) to the total rental amount due. Renter responsible for any charges incurred for the conversion of currency to US dollars.,
No additional fees associated with payment by e-check through a US bank.


Pool heat available for $75/week, optional
Cancellation policy varies depending upon length of reservation; as stated on rental agreement. Generally 45-90 days.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Venice in the Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot