HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Amazing, brand-new seafront luxury suite w/ shared pool, beach access

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Maya Beach - Lion Fish Retreat @ Swan Villas

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Swim, play, and relax when you stay at this unique, Gaudi-esque villa in Belize. With two bedrooms and two bathrooms, this unique vacation rental features fantastic architectural touches, access to a shared infinity-edge pool, beach views, and plenty of room for up to four guests. Please note that this suite is the bottom floor of a two-level villa.

Even though it may be difficult to leave this tropical retreat, the Placencia Peninsula has lots to offer. If you have never experienced underwater wildlife, now is your chance to rent scuba gear in the nearby town and book a guide to view the beauty under the sea. In addition, you can take a boat trip to view some manatees, visit the ancient Mayan ruins, take a hike through lush jungles, or simply lounge on the beach with your favorite straw hat!

This rental suite has two bedrooms, each with a round king-size bed and its own en-suite bathroom. You might especially enjoy the jetted tub, also round to compliment the overall decor, so you can relax in some bubbling hot water before heading to bed. To easily fit two more guests, this home also offers a self-inflating air mattress. You will also have complimentary WiFi and a laundry room for your convenience.

In the center of the house, the spacious living room and full kitchen make for a fabulous gathering space. Cook nightly meals - perhaps your day's catch - and enjoy fresh breakfasts each morning.

Perfect for couples traveling together, or a small family looking for a memorable vacation, look no further than the Lion Fish Retreat. Make Belize your destination, and this home will make it into a vacation!

Belize Tourism Board license # 1930/2016

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Vacasa, Belize - Stann Creek
Member since: 2001
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Vacasa, Belize - Stann Creek

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

<br>

<br>

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

<br>

<br>

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

Amazing, brand-new seafront luxury suite w/ shared pool, beach access
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 22 reviews
3

Rent both floors if you want to sleep here

  • 3 of 5

First off, the location is absolutely incredible. The lagoon is gorgeous, the pool is straight out of a magazine, and there are little chirping geckos and birds all around the grounds. Montse was fantastic and checked in with us often.

Out of all of the rentals we had in Belize and Guatemala, I looked forward to this one the most. I liked it the least. The concrete looks really cool in pictures, but in reality, it makes the home pretty non-functional. If you want to lounge on the couch and discuss the day or the next day's adventures, there's no comfortable spot. It's a concrete couch with little cushions. Ditto on the bed - it's concrete with a pad. If you or your spouse is over six feet tall, the house is really not designed with you in mind. The entry to the bathrooms is roughened concrete, and six feet high. My husband is 6'4". Our second night here, he got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, and forgot to duck. Because it's roughened concrete, he had a large welt as well as torn skin across his entire forehead. Bummer. I smacked my head twice (slow learner apparently) on the weird concrete shelf coming out from the sink while trying to do dishes.

Our biggest issue was with the neighbors. Neighbors really make or break a place like this. Again, because the house is made entirely of concrete, there's no noise dampening. Those beautiful spiraling stairs that connect the first and second floors funnel noise RIGHT INTO the first floor. Every sneeze, every argument, every conversation, every toilet flush, every kid pretending to be a howler monkey at 2 am, it all funnels right into the first floor like you're a foot apart. After our second night, we started looking for other hotels. Sleep was a nightmare, especially when we had early morning tours and the family of six above us had late nights. We ended up staying because paying for a second hotel with Placencia prices when we'd already paid for the first would have crippled our excursion budget, but that was the worst week of sleep I've ever had in my life. That gorgeous lagoon and peaceful setting mean nothing when you can hear each and every normal everyday noise from the family above you.

Privacy was also an issue with the upstairs neighbors. During the day, the window tint gives you privacy while giving an amazing unobstructed view of the surroundings. Once it's dark out (by 6 pm) the entire house is like a fishbowl. There are no curtains. Anyone outside can see inside the house once it's dark. There is a 3-6 inch gap around the entire shower door because of the cool-looking design. During the day, it's gorgeous. At night, the upstairs neighbors can view inside your shower if they happen to be exploring the grounds. We would have liked curtains for nighttime.

If you're thinking of this rental, I'd recommend buying out both floors. I really don't think it was designed to have separate families living here with the noise issue.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to see that this home did not work well with this guest's needs and preferences; we appreciate the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Swan Villa, Placentia: Belize

  • 4 of 5

Signed up for this on an impulse when I saw the photos. Looked very interesting. Met by the property manager on arrival. She was wonderful, pleasant, helpful and then gone until we needed her. Spectacular setting. If you're a self serve sort of person you'll love this place. If you're looking for an all inclusive go elsewhere. Architecture was wonderful, not a corner in sight. Every bit as good or better than the photos, which is often not the case. Clean, well looked after, everything you could want. Even a washer dryer, which after a day of diving was a real treat. A bit of a drive from Placentia Village, perhaps 20 minutes or so. Probably should have a car. People staying at resorts nearby seemed to rely on taxi's which might be an inconvenience.

Only issues that kept this place from being perfect:

1. HomeAway customer support was useless, 3 attempts to resolve a simple issue prior to leaving for Belize and they passed the buck. Try to avoid having anything to do with HomeAway, or at least have very low expectations of them.

2. No hot water on the day we left which was inconvenient and was being resolved as we left.

Diving nearby was good (but the reef is suffering), lots of operators to chose from. A good variety of local places to eat and shops to visit. Friendly locals.

Give Swan Villas a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Swan Villa: Belize

  • 4 of 5

A wonderful place to stay. Interesting 'organic' architecture in a great setting. They are making a sincere effort to do things right. Montse was wonderful! Attentive as required, unobtrusive otherwise.

Unfortunately the same could not be said about HomeAway Customer Service. They were either 'pass the buck' or totally non-responsive. Three attempts to to get a simple answer and no real response. I would be very careful in ever dealing with them again and it's a shame to have an organization such as this fronting for a place like Swan Villa. I suggest they find new agents.

I will be happy to provide further details should anyone at HomeAway Customer Service care to respond. I won't hold my breath waiting.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to see this guest was displeased with the service they received. If guests contact Vacasa directly we can get them in touch with local staff to assist them during their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing remote getaway in Placencia

  • 5 of 5

A few girlfriends and I traveled to Placencia for a relaxing off-season holiday. We picked the Swan Villas because of their unique architecture and their lagoon side location. With a golf cart, we could easily get everywhere we needed to go in town and in nearby Maya Beach. The weather (for the wet season) was amazing and we were able to have a perfectly relaxing vacation. The people of Belize were very welcoming and the food and drinks were to die for. It was a much needed break from the all-inclusive feel we are used to.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really nice!

  • 5 of 5

The accommodations were perfect. Host & hostess were very nice. The place had everything we needed. We bought some groceries, cooked many of our meals there, and ate out a couple times. The pool was great. It was a memorable experience.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely property, just gardens need to be maintained. Would visit again in the future, just love S...

  • 4 of 5

Lovely property, just gardens need to be maintained. Would visit again in the future, just love Swan Villa. We visited off season so a lot of the restaurants were closed in Placencia however we had a great weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Maya Beach in Central & South America

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties