HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gorgeous, Quiet, Clean 3BR Downtown Home Near Old Market, Durham, Zoo, Ballpark

35 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Southeast Omaha - Lucia Plaza

Enjoy comfort & repose of my luxe 1780 sq. ft. home, just blocks from Old Market

You can’t beat this anywhere downtown. It’s the best of both worlds. Enjoy the fully-furnished comfort and repose of my quiet, comfortable, luxurious 1780 square foot home, but be right near all the major highlights of Omaha and Council Bluffs.

My lovely Little Italy home is fully outfitted with high-speed cable and wireless, DVR, full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, range, refrigerator and freezer, dining room, living room with high-end sofa, tall ceilings, three full bedrooms (five rooms in total), three full bathrooms (one with bath, all three with shower), a sweet porch with two outdoor chairs, your own attached one-car garage (plus plenty of additional free parking right nearby), washer and dryer, maple hard wood floors, maple cabinet, stainless steel appliances, granite counters, central heat and air, towels, linens, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, a full supply of cooking and eating utensils, coffee-maker, tea kettle, toaster, telephone, all in an open, clean and refreshing space, with absolutely amazing neighbors.

My home is only a seven-minute walk (2 minutes by car) from the impressive galleries, bars, restaurants, boutique shops, architecture and cobbled streets of the Old Market National Historic District (whose highlights include The Boiler Room, Le Boullion, La Buvette, V. Mertz, Blue Sushi, M’s Pub, Jackson Street Booksellers, and the the famed Blue Barn Theatre, relocating soon to a few blocks from my door).

Moreover, within a few short blocks of my home, you not only have the Con Agra campus and the Heartland of America Park, but you also have the sundry landmarks of Little Italy (Orsi’s Italian Bakery, St. Francis Cabrini Church, Santa Lucia Hall, Marino’s Italian Grocery, and the Sons of Italy Hall). Also nearby is the Omaha Rail and Commerce Historic District, Dahlman Park, the Bohemian Café, a local Cross Fit, yoga studios, massage, several groovy cafes, plus incredible views high above the mighty Missouri River.

Within a 10-15minute stroll north you are at 'The Link,' a.k.a. the Century Link Center (home of great concerts, the annual Berkshire Hathaway Shareholders Meeting, and the Creighton Bluejays college basketball team), Ameritrade Stadium (home of the annual College World Series), Slowdown (a club co-owned by Omaha’s own Conor Oberst of the band Bright Eyes and Saddle Creek Records), Film Streams (which shows excellent retrospectivies, plus indie works), the Holland Performing Arts Center, Kaneko, the Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts, bike trails, parks, and more. And within a 3-minute drive to the south, you are at Sokol Hall (where all manner of cutting edge rock bands perform) and the famed Omaha Botanical Gardens.

Within a five-minute drive south you are at Interstate I-80, which will take you quickly to all other parts of Omaha plus nearby Council Bluffs (including casinos, Lake Manawa and more). Within a seven-minute drive to the south, you are at the world-renowned Henry Doorly Zoo. Within a 7-minute drive to the north, you are at Creighton University. Within a 12-minute drive to the west, you are the University of Nebraska Medical Center and UNO.

And to top it all, you are only a 12-minute car, cab or Uber ride from the Airport.

This pet-free, nonsmoking, drug-free oasis is also near all manner of easy public transportation (there’s a bus line a few blocks away on Dodge; and there are plans to build a trolley right up nearby 10th St.). Parking is free all around the neighborhood, which is safe, evocative, and beyond cool.

If you or someone you know is clean, quiet, and highly responsible, and looking for a pristine place to stay in the heart of Omaha, please send name, phone number, the precise number of people in your party (no matter how young), plus two references. And please make sure to fill out your profile before booking. This will speed acceptance of your reservation.

You will love it here.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

James Crotty
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 October, 2016
Call Owner

About James Crotty

I prefer to keep this private. I will reveal all once a reservation is booked. For now, I will say that I am a writer for several American publications.

I look forward to hosting you in my cozy, clean centrally located, Omaha town home.

Warm Regards,


James Crotty purchased this house in 2014

Why James Crotty chose Omaha

I bought this property because of its close proximity to the Old Market and all major transportation, yet it has a warm, secure, and quiet neighborhood feel. It's the best of both worlds in the hippest part of Omaha that is adding new attractions almost every month, including fabulous cafes, restaurants, a year-round farmers market, and the new location for the Blue Barn Theater.

What makes this house unique

Clean, new, near Old Market, in wonderfully hip, quiet, creative, yet old world ethnic neighborhood.


based on 35 holidaymaker reviews

Gorgeous, Quiet, Clean 3BR Downtown Home Near Old Market, Durham, Zoo, Ballpark
average rating of 4.9142857 based on 35 reviews

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

The owner's instructions are delightfully explicit which make them super easy to follow. He also offers a daily cleaning service for a fee which we took advantage of since we stayed for a week and didn't want to worry about 'keeping up' every day.

I loved the beautiful finishes: flooring, countertops, lighting, etc. We could tell he has spent extra care in redecorating the home and the effect is luxurious.

The warning about trains is spot-on: if you love trains like I do, you will appreciate and enjoy hearing them, otherwise (like my daughter), you will notice their passing for the few minutes it takes for that to occur--and it was a relatively rare distraction even for her.

We had fun walking to the train museum and the pizza place; everything else we needed was a 5-minute drive away in Old Town.

There were four adults-my three adult children and myself-and my four-year-old grandson. There is so much room that we never felt on top of one another. The kitchen/dining and the separated downstairs living room/tv areas were quite roomy and allowed us to congregate as a group in either place without feeling crowded. Otherwise, each adult had a separate room to retire to (my eldest took advantage of the 'cave'-a large storage area off the basement bedroom that had a fouton on the floor). My grandson stayed with me in the master suite. The home could easily have slept three more adults.

The price point for this home is truly a bargain. You will never find similar accommodations through any hotel that are as affordable--even with the daily maid service. (And she was an unexpected gem with a sweet personality and plenty of suggestions for places to go!)

I highly recommend this home. If and when I return to Omaha, I hope I'll be able to book it again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Slayton, Minnesota

Perfect location! Walk to The Old Market! 10 minutes to Zoo!

  • 5 of 5

Property was perfect. 6 people in town for a trip to the zoo (which is 10 minutes away). Well stocked with anything that you would possibly need to cook. Extremely easy to get to, we came off I-29. Modern appliances. Wireless internet access. Owner very responsive. Walking distance to The Old Market with tons of eating, drinking, and shopping opportunities. My mother in law is already planning a girls weekend to stay at this property and shop Old Market :) We had our 6 month old daughter along and this was so much better than a hotel for her. Bedrooms are big. Each has their own bathroom. One car allowed in garage but that's no big deal because there is tons of on-street parking that is very close to the property. This wouldn't be the place for a bunch of young folks looking to party, which is good! It's a very quiet, well maintained neighborhood! I have nothing bad to say about this property and would say there is a very good chance we will be staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our visit to Omaha. Three bedrooms each with a shower and large kitchen and living room perfect for our family of 6 to relax. Garage for our rental car was very convenient but parking for second car was not. It sure beat staying in two or three expensive motel rooms with no place for us all to get together. Will use it again if I need to visit granddaughter in Omaha.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our time at this townhome! The location was good...very near shopping, dining, the zoo and easy access to major highways. Also good was the neighborhood. People were very friendly. The local Italian bakery was wonderful! The townhome itself had a lot of space. It was fairly clean, but not quite up to my standards. There was quite a bit of leftover food in the refrigerator and dog hair on the furniture. Broken glass was on the floor because the maid broke a wine glass and didn't clean it up very well.

The basement bedroom was very quiet, but it smelled like sewage. There is an air freshener you can turn on to help with the odor. The bathroom down there was dark with only one bulb working, so it was difficult to see to put on makeup, shower, etc.

The main level had the kitchen, dining room and cozy family room. This was our favorite area of the house. The upstairs had 2 nice-sized bedrooms, but the trains are VERY loud, as well as the neighbors who stayed up well past 2 a.m., so bring earplugs! One of the bedrooms has a mattress that sags in the middle too, so hope you like your spouse because you'll be sleeping very close to each other! The most disappointing part of this house for us was the fact that there are really only 3 bedrooms. There is a storage room with a 4 ft ceiling that has a futon mattress in it. However, there are no windows in there and you cannot stand up...completely against fire code to have anyone sleep in there! We had our son sleep on the couch instead. Wifi was spotty. It worked best upstairs.

Overall, our stay was ok. It served our purpose but was a bit disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a very weird and atypical response. I think, if I am not mistaken, it has something to do with this guest not getting their deposit back from the credit card company. Guest changed her card. I asked her to check with the credit card company or VRBO to resolve, since I returned deposit in full on time. She punished me with this grossly inaccurate and mean-spirited review. Obviously, I would recommend never renting to this person, lest you get the same treatment. I bent over backwards to make the visit splendid for this guest, to no avail. Now let's go through lies point by point. 1. As for leftover food, I am not sure what guest means. I do live in home when there are no guests, so I keep condiments in a special place. Also, if food is not spoiled, I deliberately instruct cleaners to leave it, so next guest has food at arrival (e.g., eggs, milk). I don't think guest has a handle on home sharing. It's a home, not a hotel. 2. I never heard about the broken glass. I always ask guests upfront to let me know if ANYTHING is not to their satisfaction. I am very proactive and deal with things immediately. For some reason, this guest decided to write a nasty review instead of getting in touch with me right away to solve anything that was not absolutely perfect. I am super anal about everything. So, the response is just passive-aggressive. 3. I have never heard about the sewage smell. I sleep in the basement and have never had this smell. I should have been alerted to this, but wasn't by guest. 4. I have never heard any complaints about the neighbors. This is a very quiet development. I need to know who these mystery neighbors are. 5. Yes, the fourth bedroom is for CHILDREN. I make that very clear. It is not an official fourth bedroom, as I make clear, but one can use it for kids. 6. There are TWO beds in the downstairs bedroom. So, plenty of beds, plenty of places to sleep. I am starting to wonder if this guest violated the guest limit protocol. 7. I've never heard anything bad about the WiFi. I pay for the highest possible WiFi service. Overall, this seems like an act of revenge because I was powerless to resolve the deposit, which I returned on time. It was to a defunct card, which guest needed to resolve. So, this seems like a guest who really had it in for me for this or some perverse reason. Also, this is a person who does not understand the nature of home sharing. I would strongly recommend to my fellow home-sharers to never, ever rent to this person.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week in the home and couldn't have asked for a better place. It was in a quiet neighborhood, within minutes of Old Market. Very clean home, room for 8 of us comfortably and very kid friendly. It felt like home. We would highly recommend this house to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great. Getting ready for my sons wedding it was a perfect place. Loved having 3 bathrooms. The kitchen is well equipped beds were comfortable, plenty of room. Thank you for such a lovely place to spent our weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Eppley Airfield
Nearest Barpub
The Burlington League
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Field Club of Omaha
Nearest Train
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Orsi's Italian Bakery and Pizzeria
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Mt. Crescent Ski Area
Nearest Beach
28.5 Miles
Linoma Beach
Car: not necessary

Little Italy is an amazing, hip and historic neighborhood right next to Omaha's Old Market. See description above.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Southeast Omaha, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
22 Sep 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
Berkshire Week 2017
25 Apr 2017 - 7 May 2017
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Spring 2017
8 May 2017 - 14 Jun 2017
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
CWS 2017
15 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Berkshire Week 2018
1 May 2018 - 7 May 2018
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
CWS 2018
15 Jun 2018 - 27 Jun 2018
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £62
Cleaning Fee £123
Pet Fee £41

You will love it here.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Southeast Omaha in Nebraska

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1780 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Master Bathroom Upstairs - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , gorgeous bathroom
    Guest Bathroom Upstairs - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • I have three great bathrooms. The Master Bedroom bathroom is immediately adjacent to the bedroom. It has an elegant shower. The bath for the Upstairs Guest Bedroom is just outside the door in the hallway. It includes a bathtub and a shower. The Basement bathroom is immediately adjacent to the bedroom. It also has a nice shower. All bathrooms come with linens and are super clean.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Upstairs Guest Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Upstairs Guest Bedroom has view of downtown skyline.
    Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Upstairs Master Bedroom has attached modern bathroom.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Not technically a BR, but nice bed & better than it looks.
    Basement Guest Bedroom - 2 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Basement BR has a very nice regular bed & futon couch.
  • All the bedrooms are super clean, comfortable and exquisitely furnished. I have a fourth bedroom of sorts in the storage room, which has a futon, table and is workable, especially for young children, since the ceiling height is a bit less than five feet. Also, I have two beds in the downstairs bedroom: a nice elegant standard bed, plus a futon couch that is already folded out into a nice comfortable bed. So, if there are two people per bed, one can fit 10 people on these five beds. And, of course, you can bring an air mattress too, which would bring the guest total to 12 max.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties