Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Modern Tropical Luxury in the Bejuco Hills - Whales Tail, OSA, White Water!

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

PRISTINE 2 BR 2.5 Bath Modern Home with Infinity Pool and Lots of Ameneties

Expansive Views of Whales Tail, Pacific Ocean with Infinity Pool -- Atrévete is a custom built home with luxurious indoor/outdoor living and the amenities and comforts of a 5 star hotel. There is only one Casa Atrevete in the world which makes it so special. 2 MASTER Suites will accommodate 2 couples, 4 Adults or a family of 4 in a custom bedding configuration for your needs. A/C in bedrooms, salt water infinity pool, gas Weber BBQ grill, outdoor hot shower, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, high speed secure free WiFi, 2 security safes, custom made super comfy mattresses, imported bedding. Decks and patios with spectacular 180 degree view of The Whales Tail and on the property viewing of the Toucans and Aracaris that frequent our trees. There is a UV water filtration system providing fresh clean water as well.

The house is overseen by our local English speaking concierge, Trina, who will welcome you to Atrévete by meeting you in the village and escorting you to the home via Calle Bejuco. She will provide you with the keys to the house and be able to answer any questions you have during your stay.

Casa Atrévete enjoys the benefits of nearly constant cool breezes that flow through the home. The mountain location benefits from a much cooler climate than down by the beach and town. The road up is adventurous and exciting and requires a 4x4 vehicle. We can connect you with a car rental company if you need assistance.

Our 40-plus 5* reviews speak volumes. Be sure to read a few.

More Details

Property Manager
Linda and Richard Robbins
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2018

What makes this villa unique

The perfect 'dead-on' view of The Whales Tail along with Cano Island, The 3 Sisters and all the way to the OSA is what we call our Million Dollar View. Our guests agree and they tell our concierge each time that it takes their breath away the first time they see it. Atrévete is tucked into a private plantel that has easy access to the road with a feeling of not being alone, but also being very private.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Uvita in Bahía Ballena

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 28
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No Refunds due to Guest leaving early.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural
  • village ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 4 - Outdoor Shower , Outdoor Hot and Cold Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bathroom has separate private toilet and rain-shower.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bathroom has separate private toilet and rain-shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Each master suite can be configured as either 1 king or 2 twin XL beds, THE HOUSE WILL COMFORTABLY ACCOMMODATE 2 COUPLES OR 1 COUPLE WITH 2 CHILDREN OR 4 SINGLE ADULTS. Both master bedrooms have a private en-suite bathroom. The second floor master has a private balcony. Both bedrooms face the Pacific Ocean and Whales Tail. Each suite has A/C along with a ceiling fan and is entirely screened in so that the A/C is rarely needed but available.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
If you need a hairdryer, iron or coffee grinder, please ask the property manager upon check-in.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

97% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Modern Tropical Luxury in the Bejuco Hills - Whales Tail, OSA, White Water!
average rating of 4.9512196 based on 41 reviews

A dream come true

  • 5 of 5

We arrived in Uvita and were being welcomed by Trina who showed us the way to Casa Altrévete. The house was all we wanted it to be; modern and luxurious. It was a real joy to wake up every morning with the sound of nature all around you. Tukans flying over the infinity pool and landing in a tree to take a better look at us. The comfy beds make you want to sleep in but nature drew us out on the balcony most of the mornings. The teak wooden furniture gives the house a warm feeling and we LOVED the wooden stairs leading to the first floor with sundeck where we spend some late nights looking at the stars with a glass of wine.

But the best of all was taking a swim in the infinity pool with it's beautiful green tiles and enjoy the view over the whales tail. We couldn't get enough of that. One day when I was in the pool and my husband was enjoying the hammock a family of howler monkeys paid us a visit. We were so thrilled! When we didn't cook ourselves we would drive down to Uvita and try some of the restaurants. We loved Mozaic, with their sushi and great wine selection. This week has been a week to never forget. Thank you Linda for making that happen.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome view but too much housework

  • 3 of 5

The view is Awesome!

The villa is nice, nothing spectacular. The long dirt/rocky road up to the villa made us limit our outings. Going out for dinner then bouncing in the ride back up made it difficult on the stomach. I didn't like the lack of normal items found in a villa or hotel like soap, tissues, beach towels, and mainly a dishwasher. I was constantly washing dishes. Three days a week were intruded by pool cleaner, landscaper and housekeeper.

I loved the infinity pool and was pleasantly surprised we could use it at night perhaps being higher in the mountains kept the insects, lizards and critters to a minimum.

This visit was not as relaxing as I have been used to in other villas here, plus spending money on items I feel should be included left me irritated. I never had to furnish those items plus I am used to receiving fresh fruit, coffee, etc

Sorry but I am being honest and thought you should know. Wish I did before booking.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, some of which is constructive advise for future improvements. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and the lack of bugs due to our height in the mountain. You are right - the mountain road does take some getting used to but as many of our previous guests commented, it’s all part of the adventure of renting a home in the mountains. As for the amenities, we don’t indicate in the description that the home has a dishwasher. We used to provide coffee and soap and found that guests preferred their own brands so we stopped since it was mostly wasted. We do have liquid hand soap by each sink and we provide dishwashing liquid as well. When you discovered that you needed more pool and beach towels, you texted the property manager and she came immediately and got more for you. We have plenty to provide. Since you stayed for 2 weeks, there are maintenance schedules which need to be followed as we tell all of our guests prior to their arrival and in the guest book. The pool needs to be cleaned once a week, the landscapers come once a week and as our policy states, if you stay for more than one week, we require a mid-stay cleaning. Most of our guests are out doing excursions during the day so I’m really sorry you felt this was an intrusion. We hope that you enjoy your future stays at private homes where owners sincerely try their best to provide the comforts of home for their guests as we did.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

A magical paradise

  • 5 of 5

Lovely place. The view is fantastic. One week was too short a stay. Make sure to get a 4 wheel drive with a low range from the rental car company if you want to get up the hill. The birds were very entertaining except for the Masked yellow bellied loud mouth that would start sounding off just about the time you started to dose of on the patio. The toucans visited in the mornings and afternoons. The pool was fabulous and much needed in the afternoons.

The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped.

There was some magic on the mountain; we slept really well and our aches and pains were reduced.

The view and the jungle sounds were all the entertainment we needed.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Frankfurt/M. - Germany

Fantastic view! and very clean!

  • 5 of 5

Dear Linda and Rich,

we write our review in German, because you have so many good ratings in English.

Die Anfahrt zur Casa Atrévete ist etwas anstrengend, aber man wird dafür durch eine atemberaubende Aussicht belohnt, wie die Bilder auch wiedergeben. Alles ist sehr sauber,

die Betten bequem und wir konnten Ende Januar sogar auf die Klimaanlage verzichten. Das Aufwachen im oberen Schlafzimmer mit Blick auf den Pazifik war jeden Morgen ein absoluter Genuss. Auch konnten wir tolle Bilder von Tukanen machen, die uns täglich besucht haben.

Die Supermärkte in Uvita sind gut ausgestattet, so dass man nicht Essen gehen muss. Besonders

beim Bäcker waren wir täglich Kunde, denn es gab hervorragende Zimt-Rosinenschnecken! Ein großartiges Urlaubserlebnis waren zahlreiche rote Aras im Wald am Whale Tail.

Wir haben in diesem Jahr zum zweiten Mal die Nauyaca Fälle besucht. Wenn man die längere Anfahrt über Tinemaste wählt, hat man eine wesentlich kürzere Wanderung! Auch eine sechs Kilometer Wanderung auf den gut angelegten Wegen der Hacienda Baru kann man empfehlen.

Wir haben unseren 3. Costa Rica Aufenthalt in Casa Atrévete sehr genossen und bedanken uns herzlich für die perfekte Buchungsabwicklung durch Linda.

Judith und Otto L., Rodgau

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Greatest vacation ever!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our vacation so much. The house and grounds were incredible, but the view was insane. We were at the home at the end of the rainy season but the weather was great. The days were sunny and in the 80's but did rain at in the evenings and night.

We enjoyed the outdoor shower and the pool a couple days. The town of Uvita was nice and the people were very friendly. There were very good restaurants , our favorites were is Osa Thyme, and The Dome. There is also a BM market for any groceries you could want.

Trina is the house manager and was very nice and helpful with any questions and suggestions of things to do near the house.

I would highly recommend this home, I'm sure this will not be our last visit.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything You need to relax

  • 5 of 5

The listing description was very accurate. The property was very well taken care of with a small lawn and lots of plants.

Inside is clean with all the modern amenities needed to enjoy your stay. Most of our time was spent laying by the pool in the early morning hours watching the toucans in the nearby trees. The view of the Whales tail was breathtaking, something I will never forget.

Supermarkets and various restaurants are only a short drive to the town of Uvita.

Linda, the owner or Trina, the caretaker, were only an email away and always responded promptly. I felt very secure there and would not hesitate in renting this property again.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Manuel Antonio National Park
Manuel Antonio National Park is only 45 minutes away from Uvita. It's a wonderful day trip ...
Playa Ventanas
Playa Ventanas is a beautiful relaxing beach in a cove. The cove is surrounded by many rock...
Nauyaca Waterfalls
Whether you would like to take the hike or join a group on horses, this is a must see while ...
Playa Manuel Antonio
After you spend time in the national park, it's great to unwind at the beach at Manuel Anton...
¿Por Que No?
Beautiful Restaurant, just 20 minutes from Casa Atrevete. Great at lunchtime to sit and wat...
Bar Jolly Roger - Costa Rica
Need a taste of home? Nothing better than the wings and beers at Jolly Roger. Missing your...
Exotica in Ojochal is one of the oldest restaurants in the area. Its fantastic food in a ro...
Pineapple Tours
Pineapple is our favorite outfitter for kayaking, SUP - Stand Up Paddle Board, and surfing l...
Jungle ATV Quad Tours
This is a MUST DO when in Uvita. There is no better way to explore the mountains, valleys an...
Corcovado National Park
Corcovado is only accessible via a day long journey from Sierpe on a boat. If you are in the...
Uvita Information Center
Sonya and her team are at the ready to help you book all your activities and give you genera...
Nearest Airport
34 Miles
Quepos Aeropuerto
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
La Catarata Waterfall Bar
Nearest Motorway
2.3 Miles
Costaneras Route 34
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
La Catarata Waterfall Bar
Nearest Beach
3.6 Miles
Bahia Ballena
Car: necessary

Uvita is a dynamic centrally located village and an amazing jumping off point to the north and south of the pacific coast. Known as the Gateway to the Osa, it's a gateway to adventure and excitement for how ever many days you stay at Casa Atrevete. You can do everything or nothing at all and have one of the best vacations of your life! Everything: Ziplining, Kayaking, Stand-Up Paddle Board, Surfing, Hiking, Quad Tours, ATV Tours, Beachcombing, Bird Watching, Sloth Spotting, Nighttime Hikes, Horseback Riding, Spelunking, Canyoning, Swimming in Waterfalls, exhausting - huh? Nothing: Sit on the Beach watching the waves, Relax by the saltwater infinity pool at Casa Atrevete staring at the 180 degree view of the Whales Tail, Lounging in the pool having a cold drink while the constant light mountain breeze keeps you so comfortable, you will never want to leave.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Uvita, Costa Rica

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Green Season
1 Apr 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
High Season 2 2018
15 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
Holiday Season
22 Dec 2018 - 1 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
Premium High Season 2019
2 Jan 2019 - 31 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
High Season 1 2019
1 Feb 2019 - 30 Apr 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
Green Season
1 May 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £384.15
Cleaning Fee £96.04

Current posted rate for 2 people INCLUDES a couple discount. For stays longer than 7 days, there is a mid-stay cleaning charge of $50 for each 7 day period. (Excludes laundry).

Ask about our partnership with car rental companies that provide discounts to our guests.

For stays of multiple weeks, a weekly cleaning is required at $50/week, this does not include laundry.

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. A full refund is available if canceled 60 days prior to arrival. If less than 60 days, we will refund your money if we rent the house less a $100 administration fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals