HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Canyon Hill Cabin- set in the hollers of Dougherty between Sulphur & Davis, OK.

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Come snuggle near a fire miles from the Arbuckle Mountains and Lake. Our cabin has 3 brms, 2 baths, 2 queens/ 3 twins, furnished kitchen/ dining room, dishwasher, W/D, WiFi, and phone.

Come stay for a weekend or a month. Our property is perfect for a romantic getaway or family vacation!

Local Attractions include the Chickasaw National Recreational Area, Cultural/ Expo Center, Turner Falls Park, Arbuckle Lake and Mountains, AirDonkey ZipLine, Cross Bar ATV Ranch, Rusty Nail Winery, Arbuckle Wilderness and much, much more!!! Please visit for details & pictures.


Owner
Aelisha Binderim
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2017

Why Aelisha Binderim chose Oklahoma

Many stories have filtered down through the ages of how the town of Dougherty received its name. Our favorite and the best one by far is that of a railroad man, by the name of Dougherty. Said man jumped off the train and fell in the mud. A fellow Santé Fe Railway worker shouted out “There lies Dougherty” and voila...

More plausible, is the story that the town was named for early day Texas settler, Bill Dougherty. Perhaps the town was named after the prosperous and prestigious banker from Gainesville Texas, William Dougherty. Regardless of the true version, the common trend is that all stories lead back to the given name Dougherty in 1887.

Canyon Hill Cabin was originally built in the 1930’s and has preserved its little dirt road, also known as Canyon Hill Lane, named by my grandparents Danny and Betty Stephens.

We welcome you to enjoy our little paradise, while exploring local attractions and the waters of the Arbuckles!

Location

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
Will Rogers Airport
Nearest Beach
121 Miles
DFW Airport
Car: necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Dougherty in Murray County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One bathroom is located on the main floor and one bathroom is located in the downstairs bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • The cabin includes 2 Queen and 3 Twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Canyon Hill Cabin- set in the hollers of Dougherty between Sulphur & Davis, OK.
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
5

A very enjoyable experience.

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable experience. The cabin was able to meet most of our needs. Only had a few issues, but nothing deal breaking. Was surprised with how much was available for us to use in the cabin. Best part was watching the herd of deer hanging out just outside the cabin. Will defiantly use it again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful home and secluded location!

  • 5 of 5

The home and property are beautiful and well maintained. It is quiet and secluded. If your looking for privacy, serenity, and nature, this is the place. 15 minutes to Turner Falls too!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Best Getaway in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

Great big place set in the middle of peace and quiet. If you're looking to getaway from noise, crowds and technology, this is the place for you! :) ... although there's wifi you can connect to. Worked better with T-mobile phones than any other carriers; spotty with laptop use. Big open family/tv room - perfect for those with kids. We enjoyed the fire pit a lot! 15-30 mins to Turner Falls and Little Niagara Falls!! Most of all, host Aelisha was very attentive to our needs. Responded so timely over text. Precious country home. If we're back in the area again in the future, we will surely rent this again :) It was perfect for our family reunion.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The overall impression of the place was beautiful. And roomy.

  • 5 of 5

It fit our entire family very comfortably. It was a beautiful back-road location that had plenty of privacy. The cabin was hard to find comma because the sign was not very visible comma but we were able to ask a few locals at the retirement home up the road for directions and they knew what cabin we were talking about. Thank goodness. When we first arrived the cabin was locked and we did not know the door key, so we were left stranded for a few hours. Once we got in we got settled and unpacked and it was very relaxing. The cabin was great. It was fully furnished we definitely over packed. We did not need to take half of the things that we brought. We will be looking into renting again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Good Property that Needs Some Attention

  • 3 of 5

The property itself, especially the upstairs of the main house is very cute. What it's missing are the amenities that should accompany any property that charges rates in this range. The kitchen dishwasher wasn't working, nor was the coffee pot or the gas oven. With 9 people staying, we planned to use the kitchen to avoid eating out for all meals. This was very inconvenient We did use the stack washer and dryer but had to use bleach to clean mold from the washer. The living room is spacious and offers a couch and love seat and a recliner The recliner couldn't be used because the back is broken and falls down. There is internet wi fi but No cell service. The one Tv had wi fi channels like Netflix but we were told after checking in that the Dish was not connected. No explanation given and we couldn't take our kids in to town to watch at a bar so missed the NBA finals. Beds are ok but pillows need replacing as they are flat as pan cakes. Beautiful porch but old dirty chair cushions no one would sit on. Bottom line: it's time to invest some rent money and bring the basics up to an acceptable level. Also provide solar lighting on rock pathway to bunkhouse for safety and maybe a couple of flash lights. Grills are charcoal so plan to buy and bring matches. Bunk house good for kids with ladder access to four singles with low ceiling. Cute decor. No bedding provided

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This rating is hard to read. Constructively, I have noted solar lights and have added those to the step areas. In regards to the broken items. The recliner was not broken upon check-in; however, it was broken in half after check-out. The dishwasher and W/D work fine but you are correct about the oven. Upon check out, we also found that something was spilled on the bottom of the oven to the point that it impacted the propane line. That too has been a cost to us. We were very accommodating to these guests to the point that they toured prior to ever reserving. I find it amusing that the bunk house is mentioned, especially since the fee was waived and the reservation only stated 2 guests. Sadly, we were taken advantage of in this situation but know that most guests are not this way. Other constructive feedback to note is that cell service is limited and that the cabin does not include cable. We provide wifi, netflix and a wall mounted phone. We open our home for people to get away and enjoy nature. The cabin sits on 30 acres of woods and is great for exploring....so I ask you to not watch tv for a weekend and go visit a 75 foot waterwall or swim in the Arbuckles.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Lots of space

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had a great time and had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy a weekend away from it all.

Even though we were off the beaten path, we were still really close to Turner Falls and the Chickasaw Cultural Center.

  • Review Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Dougherty, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£348
for 2 nights
From
£174
From
£193
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £151.64
Pet Fee £37.91
Tax Rate 2.0%

Upon your arrival, the door closest to the driveway will be unlocked for your convenience.
Check-in: 2PM
Check-out: 10AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals