HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

House / Villa - Zaandam

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Zaanstad

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Pelle & Viktoria van Hall
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, German, Dutch
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
29 November, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

House / Villa - Zaandam
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
4

A great place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We've just come back from a week in Zaandam and Amsterdam, and Pelle's place was a great place to stay.

Six of us stayed (a family of 5 and a friend) and there was plenty of space in a stylishly decorated house that really fit our image of what it would be like in The Netherlands. The local area and the house are exactly as described by Pelle and the welcome from Pelle's friend Farah was warm and she was very informative for first-time visitors to The Netherlands.

Although we didn't get to meet Pelle himself, we did talk to him several times via the HomeAway messaging system, and he was friendly, efficient and helpful - a pleasure to deal with.

The house was well equipped for cooking so we cooked at home a few times.

The nearest supermarket was only a 5 minute walk and the town centre, with some Italian, Spanish Tapas, Greek restaurants, a delicious ice cream shop and a Chinese take away was a 10 minute walk.

Zaandam and the surrounding area north of Amsterdam has a lot of history, so do your homework before you go, and plan to look around. Zaanse Schans was only 10 minutes drive away and we spent a whole day there. Staying at Pelle's house and just heading south into Amsterdam every day would be a real shame. The train fare for an adult costs around 6.50 Euros return to the Central Amsterdam station which we think was a reasonable price to pay to come back to a nice, spacious, quiet house at the end of a busy day, rather than staying in Central Amsterdam.

If we go back to The Netherlands for another holiday (which is quite likely, given how interesting it is and how friendly Dutch people are!) we will definitely be in touch with Pelle again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

I bought a car using the European Delivery Program and wanted a location where I didn't have to worry about public parking. This is an amazing property that I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to use Zandaam as a base operations to explore Amsterdam and the Netherlands. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the house and its only a few stops away from Central Station.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
phoenix, az
5

Beautiful house, great location

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 (including 3 teens and a grandma) had the pleasure of staying in Pelle and Viktoria's beautiful home for 3 nights in early June. The house was exactly as pictured. Pelle was out of town when we arrived, but we were met by his friend, Farah, who showed us around and made sure we had all the information we needed for our stay.

We did not have a car, and were able to take the train from the airport to the Zandaam station. The house is a short walk from there. A quick ride (less than 15 minutes) on the Sprinter line got us into the city each day. Zandaam is a nice, quiet place to stay--good markets, shopping and restaurants near the train station. Once back to the house, the neighborhood was quiet and quaint. The house was clean, the kitchen was well-stocked (we didn't do much cooking, but it seemed to have everything one would need.) Exceptionally high marks for the espresso machine--the best coffee we've ever had in a rental!

I would caution readers that the stairs are very steep, especially the ones up to the attic bedroom. This is clearly stated, so I was not surprised, but my 71 year old mother would not even consider going up in the attic. Just something to be aware of. Overall, the house is lovely and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a spacious, comfortable, quiet place in Amsterdam.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome property near Amsterdam

  • 4 of 5

Location was perfect! Only 20 minute train ride to Schiphol - 5 minute walk to train station and super easy access to Amsterdam Central (12 minutes). Walking distance to 2 supermarkets and the city centre with wonderful pubs, shops and cafes. Quiet and beautiful residential street.

Property was extremely clean and had great amenities. Comfy beds, modern showers. There were 6 of us so two bathrooms with showers was awesome! 6 people lived very comfortably in this space for a week and the rate is very reasonable.

Everything you need to cook but BBQ was not in great shape and needed to be cleaned before use. Does not have a traditional oven - just a stove top cooker but microwave can be used as a convection oven.

TV and internet were advertised but we could only use one or the other at a time - when we did use the TV picture quality was terrible. Not usually something we'd care about but it was advertised and it was World Cup time.

Internet wifi quality was good.

Setting up things with Pelle before our arrival was great - he answered all of our questions promptly

But we were a bit disappointed about the check in on arrival as Pelle was on vacation (which he told us about), but calling to meet his back up person didn't work out well. We called from the airport several times but the contact didn't answer their phone. We left a message saying we had arrived and were on our way to the house but she never showed up to let us in. Without a phone this proved difficult. Luckily a very helpful neighbour and friend of Pelle's let us in and showed us how everything worked.

We contacted Pelle after we checked in and even though he was on vacation he returned our messages very quickly and provided us with follow ups and information. Even at a distance he was a great host.

We would definitely stay here again! Thank you Pelle!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Renée, Thank you for your review! The TV / internet issues have been resolved. They both work at the same time. TV picture quality issue has been solved by UPC and a new 125kb/sec WiFi modem has been installed. Unfortunately you never left a message when you called the lady that was supposed to check you in. She knew you called but had no idea at what time you wanted to check in. Maybe a good idea to have a working mobile phone with you when you the next time you travel. BBQ should of course have been cleaned before your arrival, my apologies for that. Hope to welcome you again soon, this time in person :) Best regards, Pelle
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Fairfax, VA
5

Excellent!!! More than expected!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay in this house! It is a very lovely house and the kitchen is nicely equipped. Parking was great, the neighborhood is beautiful and the host Pelle was wonderful! Everything was so convenient. The train station is right around the corner and everything you would want or need is in the neighborhood. Grocery stores, restaurants etc… We were 6 adults with a 6 year old and a 2 month old so convenience was very important but we needed for nothing. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We loved it!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

"We had a fantastic time ...

  • 5 of 5

"We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and in this lovely home. The owner welcomed us, showed us around the house and explained how things worked. The house is very big and the second bathroom is very nice because it saves a lot of time getting ready in the mornings. The trainstation is just a few minutes walk away and the trains take you to the city very quick! The owner has done a great job in modernising his old townhouse. Amsterdam has so much to see and we are quite sure that we will visit the city and this house again!"

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Ferry
17 Kilometres
IJmuiden
Nearest Train
800 Metres
Station Zaandam
Nearest Beach
17 Kilometres
Bloemendaal
Car: not necessary

(Text automatically translated) When arriving by car you can enter my address into your navigation system. Street: Boats Makers Street 105 Zip: 1506 TC City: Zaandam When arriving by plane you can take a direct train from Schiphol Airport to Zaandam. The train goes directly 2x per hour at: 16 and: 46. Directions from the station to my house can be found using this link: http://goo.gl/maps/yV7rl Also a taxi transfer can be arranged with Taxi Zaanland. For a regular taxi car the cost for pick up and return costs 80 euros total. A total minibus taxi for pick up and return costs 120 euros. Please Remember That four people easily fit into a normal taxi but not too much luggage will fit in the boot of the car. Let me know if you would like to use the taxi transfer service so I can make reservations for you.

(Text automatically translated) On arrival you will find a directory listing That the shops and restaurants are close to the house, many of the interesting sites and places to see and how everything works in and around the house.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Zaanstad, Amsterdam area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Year end 2016
17 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,114
for 5 nights
From
£189
From
£210
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£631
for 3 nights
From
£168
From
£189
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,219
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £210
Schoonmaak £126

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Zaanstad in North Holland

Property Type:
  • house
  • floor 0
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 165 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Vacuum Cleaner
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • American Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden Table & Chairs
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Parasol
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Disco club
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Water sports
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties