HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Mtn Cabin. Near Parks, Fishing, Skiing, Rivers, Lakes, Hunting, Biking

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3Br/3Ba with Large Deck. Great Mountain Views, Brand new, Great Location

Great wilderness retreat in a beautiful vacation neighborhood in Pocahontas county, WV. Home to Snowshoe Mtn, Greenbrier River, Highland Scenic Highway, Pocahontas Opera House, Watoga State Park, Monongahela National Forest, Williams River, Elk River and more. Hunting, Fishing, Kayaking, Hiking, Biking at your steps. 3BR/3BA new log cabin home. Upper & lower living room with walkout basement. Features great views, spacious floor plan, large deck, secluded yet open views from lot. Stay a weekend or stay a month. Short drive to the Greenbrier, Snowshoe & Homestead resorts.


Owner
Zach Chittum
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2017

About Zach Chittum

Loves the WV Mtns & Pocahontas county. Tons of outdoor activities, scenery, friendly people, get all 4 seasons, wildlife, rivers, lakes, skiing, etc.

Zach Chittum purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Zach Chittum chose West Virginia

Great lot, great views, privacy, & good location.

What makes this cabin unique

Great location and proximity to everything outdoors. Skiing, Biking, Fishing, Hiking, Kayaking/Canoeing, Hunting, you name it. Its there.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a blast at Chateau Woodrow. Thanks for letting us stay there. Great accomodations. Loved the yard, Direct TV, the deck, and location to everything in the area was perfect too. Hope to come back soon.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Marlinton in Huntersville

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Loft Bedroom
  • Loft bedroom. Great view
Entertainment:
  • Table Football
  • Games
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Awesome place for a great price

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
25% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Beautiful Mtn Cabin. Near Parks, Fishing, Skiing, Rivers, Lakes, Hunting, Biking
average rating of 4.35 based on 21 reviews
5

Breathtaking home and views!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed here last weekend. We enjoyed a lovely stay. We loved watching the sun set over the horizon on the deck. The views are absolutely breathtaking. And the cabin is very nice with modern ammentities and it's super clean, spacious. We felt completely at home and relaxed. During our stay we hiked some local trails by the rivers. This cabin had everything we neeeded and we are excited to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying with us. We aim to please. Safe travels & come back soon! Z
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5

Chateau Woodrow was fully equipped with everything needed

Very clean

I would definitely recommend

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you guys enjoyed our cabin. Come back soon. Safe travels
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful place, misleading listing

  • 4 of 5

This house is quite lovely and sits on a beautiful piece of property. The beds, couches and chairs were comfortable. The view from the porch can not be beat.

However, the listing is inaccurate. The house DOES NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING. The weather stayed cool during our stay and open windows and fans sufficed. There are three dots (... or an elipse) after the words air conditioning in the listing. Apparently these are meant to let you know that the information is false.

These elipses also appear after the words wheelchair accessible. The basement level is wheelchair accessible. There is access to a bedroom, full bath and small sitting area with a TV. Someone wheelchair bound would not be able to access the kitchen or main level of the house at all. This is of particular concern to my family as my sister is wheelchair bound and we would not have been able to stay in the house had she joined us on this trip as initially planned.

There is also no pool table or foosball table. These are also listed as features of the house.

Once again, my mother and I had a lovely time. We enjoyed the cool breezes and excellent views from the proch. Pocahontas County is a wonderful place to visit. My only concern is the misrepresentation of the houses features.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying. You don't need ac up there except maybe for one day a year. You just open the windows and let the cool Mountain Air come rushing in... it worked for you guys didn't it? There we a mini pool table & foosball table in the basement coffee table. Safe travels
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Crestwood ky
4

beautiful view and peaceful setting

  • 4 of 5

House is as pictured, on 5 acres with weekend neighbors only. After driving 7 hours, we were unable to enter the home because we were given the incorrect key box number. Had to turn around and drive back into Marlinton to find Zach and obtain the correct number. His only response was "my bad". There is NO verizon cell/voice service for 60 miles. You can text thru Wifi at the house only, and only one person at time on the service.

Bedrooms and bath clean but copious amount of dead flies littered around floor and window sils. Realtor states he was there 2 days ago. I hate to think that was only 2 days worth. If i am paying a cleaning fee, I expect clean on arrival. I left the house cleaner than I found it other than our dirty linen. I have a lake house I am used to bugs etc.

Kitchen adequately stocked OK for 2 but not for 6 people. you would need to bring your own pans for anything bigger than 8x8 square pan.

Dogs loved the stock basin/water trough in the yard. They had their own drinking water and swimming pool. It also makes a handy golf green apparently too.

Several special requests given after booking. Please do Not wear shoes in the house due to laminate flooring(not hardwood as stated). Please wipe down shower walls after every use.

There is a bleach spray provided. Please conserve use on gas logs, low only. Ours are remote at home so I did not bother with trying to light them.

This home is for sale. Thankfully not shown while we were there.

I had screen shots of directions and contact info before starting out. Do not depend on your phone for directions or calling after leaving Lewisburg.

Hope this helps any future vacationers.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying. Sorry about the lock code & dead flies. Not sure what else you needed to hear other than I'm sorry & my bad for not correcting the code on the check in sheet? You sound like a very difficult person to please. I'll let the cleaning crew know. Not sure what your talking about but we definitely want people to remove their shoes if possible when in our home after being outdoors, this is not a not a dog house but a high end cabin. Safe travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Burtonsville, MD
1

Horrible

  • 1 of 5

The landlord didn't leave the key for us, house was left dirty, and linens were dirty!!! I asked for a refund and he CONFIRMED it in writing then went back on his word. Not only did I clean up the mess but had to tell my group he went back on his word. It was only 30 dollars extra....

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well there's always two sides to the Story. Our cleaning people came after you arrived & apologized for the error. They weren't aware somebody stayed before you. They brought u clean towels & sheets. They came back the next day on YOUR time schedule to finish. We did refund you one night for your inconvenience. Please do not make up lies.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
Concord, VA
5

Very nice and fulfilled our needs!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in January! It snowed most of the weekend making for a beautiful winter wonderland. We also went skiing at snowshoe which is an easy drive but be mindful that ~20 miles equates to about a 50 minute drive through the mountains. Overall a very nice experience and cabin!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Lewisburg, Roanoke, Clarksburg, Lynchburg, CRW RIC
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
the Raven Golf Club, Pocahontas CC, Elkins CC
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Cass, Durbin, Elkins
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Marlinton Motor Inn,Fiddlehead,Dairy Queen,Subway
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Snowshoe Mountain

Great mountain getaway. Away from it all but not too far from civilization. 10 minutes to Marlinton, 25 minutes to Snowshoe. Wildlife, Hunting, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Kayaking nearby.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Marlinton, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£395
for 2 nights
From
£136
From
£170
Fri,Sat
£763
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £61.66
Damage Insurance £60.89

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Maximum Guests is 6
Small pet may be considered with prior approval and additional fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable