HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Hollywood Hills Villa with pool and views

Bedrooms 4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Private, Contemporary, Hacienda Style, 4 Bd, 3 Bth, Villa in the Hollywood Hills

Tranquil and private, this gated, contemporary, hacienda style, 4 bedroom Villa nestled in the Hollywood Hills is 1 minute from the Sunset Strip. The home is completely renovated and has fabulous city and canyon views. With walls of glass and an open-plan living room/dining room/kitchen, which opens to a 4,000 square foot deck with a pool and spa, this fully remodeled home has an indoor-outdoor flow perfect for the California lifestyle and weather. It is perfect for both casual and sophisticated entertaining, intimate stays and family vacations.

The south and west facing yard is flooded with sunlight all day. The outdoor area includes a large free form pool with connected hot tub. There is also a covered outdoor kitchen with ample counter space, BBQ, stove top burner, refrigerator, sink, comfortable sitting area and 55" TV and ambient lighting.

Adjacent to the outdoor kitchen is a Moroccan themed dining pavilion/pergola with seating for up to 16. Trimmed with flowing white linen drapes and several hanging, brass, Moroccan candle sconces which create a soft orange glow, it overlooks the city and hills and valleys of Laurel Canyon and is the perfect spot for al fresco dining day and night.

On the far end of the deck, and featuring the best views of the canyon and city lights, is the zen terrace, featuring a large buddha head sculpture, fire fixtures and an assortment of exotic succulents and flowers. It is highlighted by a gazebo with comfortable dark wicker and white linen sectional couches and comfortable chairs seating 10.

The great room has vaulted double height, beamed ceilings, walls of glass looking out to the yard and canyon, a working gas fireplace, and ample seating. The entertainment center in the great room features a 55" TV, DVD, Apple TV, Satellite TV featuring most premium channels and NFL Sunday Ticket.

The media room is adjacent to the pool and features comfortable seating for eight and a 75" TV, and top of the line home theatre system (Denon, Klipsch, JBL).

The spacious kitchen features all new cabinetry and appliances and has ample counter space and a center island.

Three of the four bedrooms each have their own bathroom en-suite. The large master suite has a fireplace, 60" TV, separate sitting area, walk-in closet and a luxurious bathroom with a double vanity, large jacuzzi tub and separate 7 head spa shower and a make-up table.

This home is located in the prestigious Mt. Olympus community, less than a minute from the heart of the Sunset Strip (above Fairfax).

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
10 January, 2017

Why Gary chose Los Angeles area

This gated property has all the essential elements for a great vacation visit... pool, spa, outdoor kitchen and covered dining pavilion with large TV, gazebo with sectional couches and chairs, sweeping views, privacy, proximity to Sunset Strip and a spacious and special ambiance. The home features extensive specimen plantings and landscaping; the yard and pool face south and west and receive full sun throughout the day. The home also has several outdoor shaded areas around the pool. With contemporary furnishings and sculpture, the home has a very serene and zen ambiance. Having recently undergone a complete renovation, all bathrooms and the kitchen are brand new. The home and features marble floors , architectural fixtures and new furnishings throughout. The home also has a home theatre/media room with sliding glass doors just off the pool.

What makes this villa unique

Enormous outdoor entertaining space, great views and complete privacy 1 minute from the Sunset Strip.


3.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Hollywood Hills Villa with pool and views
average rating of 3.4 based on 5 reviews

Bad experience in a dirty property

  • 1 of 5

We planned to stay at this property for 2 separate weeks. The location is good and at first the owner was easy to work with, as we had to reschedule one of the weeks due to a death in the family of one of the group. But when we arrived things turned quickly. Housekeeping was still busy cleaning late in the afternoon, despite our agreed check in time. The pooldeck had been repaired, very badly unfortunately: lots of loose stones and glue everywhere, which made for a sticky mess all over the place. The owner was aware but didn’t fixed it over a period of a month. After some time we would realise that the whole place was dirty. We had to clean every single thing we wanted to use from the kitchen, the oven started smoking when we turned it on, the BBQ was incredibly gross, and even after a (alleged) second cleaning by the owner, we still had to clean it ourselves for it to be usable. There was dog hair everywhere as the owner lives in the house himself occasionally with his 2 dogs. Although it wasn’t that hot outside, the AC could barely keep up/was broken and it was hot in the house during the day. I can only imagine how it is during summer.

Overall communication with the owner was poorly. He showed up late when we checked out and he would bring in guests to see the house without notice and while we were present. For the second week, he put us in another property down the same street where it was supposed to be better. The ac was fine this time but the house and utensils were just as dirty.

To top it all off he kept behind a part of the deposit (which he only refunded weeks after, after I asked) for pool heating, while we didn’t use this and it was never communicated he would take this from the deposit. Unfortunately, HomeAway is in no way able to interfere in such situations. To think of he lured me to this site, because I originally saw this place on the famous house rental site . So although the location is good, stay away from this property and this owner, as it is very bad value for money and he is not to be trusted.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that sometimes when Guests make a demand... and don't get what they want, they resort to extortion and threats to harm the other person's business by writing a bad review. This is the case here. This guest stayed at 2 of our homes on 2 separate occasions, 4 weeks apart. We held their security deposit (at the guest's request) following the first booking since they were returning to our other home a few weeks later. What is interesting here is that the bad review is for the first rental home they stayed in... If it was so bad why did they come back and rent a 2nd time from us? The answer is that this review is retaliatory because of a $200 pool heating fee dispute. Our homes are always clean and we have only had one bad review previously. We offer free pool heating to full price bookings and optional pool heating -- in some instances to discounted bookings. This guest chose the optional pool heating upon arrival to have the pool heated. The cost is $50 per day. When we deducted the $200 pool heating fee from their security deposit they said they only used it one day, despite our meter showing they kept the heater on the whole visit. The guest is responsible for turning the heater on and off. They then threatened a bad review if we did not give them the $200 back...which is what you are reading here in their specious review. Our homes are always clean, we are very attentive to our guests, professional in our management of our homes and maintain them in top condition. What is most distressing here to us is that when this guest needed to cancel their second stay last minute-- we could have kept their entire payment, as we have a no refund policy on last minute cancellations but instead-- at no cost to the guest, we allowed them to reschedule for a few weeks later. Sometimes no good deed goes unpunished.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
miami fl

horrible experience

  • 1 of 5

We would rather not write this review but we hope to save a fellow vacationer the same grief we had. While the pictures in this ad appear beautiful, our experience was horrible. Our main complaint was that the air conditioning was broken. It was broken when we arrived and we immediately informed Gary that the house was too hot. He claimed it wasnt broken but when he finally sent a repair man, it was confirmed that the condensor was in fact broken. He then said it was too expensive to fix and would have to go through his insurance. Given the intense heat, we had no choice but to leave. We would have been happy to return with working AC but it was never fixed. To top it all off, he absolutely refuses to return any of our money. We are grateful that he sent over his friend Ashton, who validated our complaints and tried to help us. Smaller complaints include that the house was dirty, there was food in the fridge and pantry, there was dog poo in the yard, dog hair all over the couches and floor, and there were cigarette butts around. In short, the house didnt look like it had been cleaned.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing open floor plan home, with spectacular views.

  • 5 of 5

On the weekend of September 18-21, 2015, we rented Joy and Gary’s beautiful home in the Hollywood Hills. Even before we moved in for the weekend, we found them easy to deal with and very accommodating to special requests (including an earlier check in). They took extra time to show us around the house when we moved in on Friday, and made sure we knew how to use all the equipment – which was plentiful. The purpose of the weekend was an graduations family BBQ on Saturday. Three bedrooms and three baths gave everyone privacy, while there were many places for us to all gather and relax, and eat – both inside and out. Guests joined us for the BBQ Saturday and then to watch football a good part of Sunday. Their deck is huge and well laid out and decorated for entertaining or just relaxing – especially the pool. Their kitchen has everything you need if you want to prepare most of the food (which we did), as well as a large outside grill. There are plenty of tvs and the NFL package allowed our guests on Sunday to watch whatever game was of interest to them. The home is beautifully decorated, has a great deal of natural light, and comfortable furniture and beds. We are all unanimous in recommending Joy and Gary’s home for a quiet retreat and/or a small family get-together. If I could give the house 6-7 stars I would it was so beautiful!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location, view and layout!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Would return!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kevin and his family were wonderful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Views, decks, and family fun!

  • 5 of 5

This house has it all. Space, a great room, views, and is perfect for family gatherings. We would recommend this house to anyone who needs 3 or 4 bedrooms and wants to have a amazing retreat. The decks are huge and perfect for yoga and the Sonos, BBQ, and outdoor TV make it perfect for a daytime bbq.

Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
LAX and Burbank are both close
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sunset Strip and Hollywood Blvd are 2 minutes
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Hollywood Station is 10 minutes away
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
101 Fwy is 10 minutes away
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sunset Strip and Hollywood Blvd are 2 minutes away
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Venice and Santa Monica
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £2,403
Property Damage Protection £79
Cleaning fee £400
Tax Rate 14.0%

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is made. Please see our rental agreement for House rules.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Hollywood Hills in California

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 bathrooms - one in each bedroom and one accessed directly from the living room.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , room also has a convertible queen couch
  • The home has 4 bedrooms, 3 with their own en-suite marble bathroom and comfortable sitting area. The fourth bedroom is poolside and has a double bed and a queen size convertible couch that sleeps two comfortably.
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • tennis
Call us if you have any special requests

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties