HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Peaceful Hideaway on Santa Rosa Sound

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Private 2 bed/1 bath cottage on waterfront property w/dock (sleeps 4-6)

Come spend a magical vacation with us and enjoy our comfortable cottage on Santa Rosa Sound. Close enough to town, shopping, and beaches, but off the beaten track away from the heavy tourist traffic. Our nest is a private home with a soundfront beach and dock where you can enjoy playing with your pooch, swimming, boating, kayaking, fishing, and watching beautiful sunsets along Santa Rosa Sound. The cottage provides a complete kitchen, with large coffee maker, coffee grinder, full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, blender, and cooking utensils, etc. Entertainment includes a digital TV and high speed internet via Wifi. Each bedroom has a queen bed, and we can provide extra mattresses for adults or children. We recently added an outdoor patio and grill, and guests are welcome to use the deck and patio on the waterfront as well. See the photos for more perspective. We have a range of water toys for your use, from sit-on-top kayaks to a paddleboard.

Enjoy the good life at the ShipAhoy Nest right on the edge of the Sound, and leave your worries behind.

Keywords: Cottage, Waterfront, Santa Rosa Sound

More Details

Steve Shippee
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 December, 2017

About Steve Shippee

Meet Steve and Tara: he is a marine biologist involved in marine wildlife response, and studies the dolphins in Choctwahatchee Bay and Santa Rosa Sound. She is a child development counselor and therapist. Our goal is to make our quaint cottage on the Sound into a special place where our guests can enjoy a relaxing time viewing wildlife and appreciating the natural beauty of this waterfront hideaway. We are happy to show visitors around by kayak, canoe, and boat!

Steve Shippee purchased this cottage in 2002

Why Steve Shippee chose Fort Walton Beach

The ShipAhoy Nest is a very quaint cottage situated along the unspoiled stretch of Santa Rosa Sound just between Fort Walton Beach and Navarre. The property is naturally landscaped and well maintained. The dock is accessible by boat, making this an ideal location for vacationers desiring to bring their own watercraft. Trailer parking is available, and a very good public boat ramp is less than three miles away. We have a small fleet of kayaks, a paddleboard, and canoe that you are free to enjoy. We provide departure housekeeping, cable TV, Blue-ray DVD, high speed internet, and a Bluetooth stereo.

What makes this cottage unique

Our cottage has room to cook and relax, a private setting with ample parking, overhanging oak and hickory trees, and easy access to the waterfront at an affordable price. This is the perfect little getaway nest for a couple or small family that doesn't want a large house for a short stay. We can share our smaller bungalow house for any overflow guests, that is right on the water, with really great views. We treat our guests as family - just one stay and you will always remember the good life on Santa Rosa Sound. We cherish developing lasting friendships and hope that our guests come back time and again to enjoy our natural oasis of old-time Florida Panhandle. We are off the beaten track, but close enough to the attractions that you get the best of both worlds.


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
VPS - Northwest Florida Regional (Niceville/Eglin)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Yummies Hibachi Steakhouse
Nearest Motorway
Highway 98
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Arby's; MacDonalds; Subway; Yummies Hibachi
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Navarre Beach
Car: necessary

The Shipahoy nest is a private setting along Santa Rosa Sound with ample waterfront and grassy lawns for your relaxation. A quaint cottage is located 1 mile from Hurlburt AFB, and 11 miles from the sparkling beaches of Navarre. The bustling town of Fort Walton Beach lies 4 miles east, followed by the sugar white sands of Okaloosa Island, and then Destin just 15 miles further away. If you seek a peaceful hideaway, you will find it at the ShipAhoy Nest.

Ask to borrow our kayaks or canoe, or bring your own! There are numerous types of fish to catch off the docks, or from a kayak. The opposite side of the sound is undeveloped preservation lands belonging to Eglin AFB, and is mostly closed to the public except for the shoreline. Natural fringing marsh and submerged vegetation lines the shoreline, and wildlife is abundant. If you enjoy birdwatching, this is great place to fill some of your life list. We regularly see ospreys, herons, brown pelicans, blue jays, cardinals, purple martins, and hummingbirds. Part of the year, we also enjoy spotting kingfishers, bald eagles, and white pelicans. Bottlenose dolphins are regular visitors in Santa Rosa Sound, and are more common during late summer and fall just off our dock.

There's no better place to enjoy a beautiful Northwest Florida sunset than from our waterfront. We have a great view of the night skies and full moons; watching watercraft and barges passing quietly by on the sound; and hearing the roar of thunderboats as they zoom down the Intracoastal. With advance notice, we are happy to plan a boating excursion on one of our own vessels.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Fort Walton Beach in Okaloosa County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Peaceful Hideaway on Santa Rosa Sound
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews

Thanksgiving Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed a peaceful getaway at this charming cottage. A past review mentions the highway being close by. The highway is close but there is a carport and side yard fence and trees between the cottage and the road, it really didn't feel intrusive to us. The bay is a short walk from the cottage. The dock had been washed away from the last hurricane, but we really didn't miss it because there are plenty of areas to sit and relax near the water. I think my daughter greeted every sunrise and sunset along the water our whole week. If we had any questions Steve was just a text away. The cottage was exactly as the pictures online portray. The cottage is clean, and modern, and roomy. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed another week. D. Cox and Family, from Southern Indiana

  • Review Submitted: 29-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great experience

  • 5 of 5

Definitely would return. 3 adults and big boxer dog had wonderful time. Very accommodating owners and well maintained and stocked facility .

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was not anything like what was described online or written about. The photo was very mi

  • 2 of 5

We arrived at 2:15 and the house was locked up and nobody was around. The owner had asked me what time I would arrive by email and I told him 2:00 and he emailed that he would be home. I never heard anything else from him. When I finally got in touch with him he informed me that he was 1 1/2 hours away and if his mother did not have a key " we would just have to go find something to do". His mother did have a key, we were able to get in. The owner did not show up until dark. He could have told me he would not be there.

The next disappointment was the yard and surrounding area. There was no grass, only leaves, bare ground and pushed up piles of dirt. Directly behind the house is an abandoned house you had to go around to even see the water. The house had no deck and we couldn't even see the sky, much less see a sunset. The deck referred to in the write-up is attached to his house which is on the other side of a shed and a garage. Yes, you see, out the front window was a view of a yellow house, a shed, and a garage. Not my idea of a cozy nest. Also, this house is on a very busy highway and never free of traffic.

When I went to grill my steak all that was there was a gas grill with no gas. So I had to try and use charcoal and starter without anything falling through the big holes on the bottom because it was sitting on a wood pallet. Some of the starter went through and it actually caught on fire. Luckily I was standing there.

I had not been on a vacation in years and had scraped together the money for this trip. To say I left hugely disappointed is a major understatement. Don't ask me why all of the reviews are amazing.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very saddened by our recent guests' disappointing visit. Several things contributed, primarily that Hurricane Nate passed through just 10 days prior, which left our waterfront and lawns in poor condition; also the guest failed to reply. With all due respect, this review deserves a longer response, but we offer these comments: The guest was advised immediately after the hurricane that our waterfront docks and lawns had been damaged, although the cottage and driveways were not affected. She did not respond to the advisory although she had sufficient time to cancel for a full refund. We always explain to inquiries that our property is located along Highway 98, yet she booked the property anyway. The guest also was informed in an early email that we might not be home before late day but would have a key available for her. She called on the date of arrival at 2pm, and was delayed by 5 mins while we arranged for her to get a key from our family right next door, an unobstructed walk away of 100 ft. After we returned home later, the guests were personally greeted and welcomed to enjoy our 1.5 acre property. There are several buildings on our property, which is well explained in the welcome email sent the week prior to arrival: "please feel free to wander the yards and go to the waterfront. You will pass our old white cabin house that is unoccupied, so no worry that you will disturb anybody. We live in the blue gray house next door and you may meet our 90 yr old mom on the patio or around the yard..." etc. We explain the cottage is nestled under mature oak, hickory and magnolia trees, and there is no direct view of the water from the windows. We provide a charcoal grill and a gas grill at the cottage - the gas bottle is left unattached for safety but will be readily installed on request. Instead, this guest poured charcoal into the gas grill, a definite no-no to anybody that knows how to grill a steak. A simple text message or call would have solved this problem. We expect our guests likely read our welcome emails and other notices sent between booking and arrival, and we always encourage questions.These ladies did not ask anything of us, nor desired to interact with us during their stay. We respect guests' privacy and let them enjoy a peaceful visit however they like; it is unfortunate to learn a week later of their disappointments. It's sad to post this reply but we believe the review deserves correction and appreciate your fair judgement.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great place, as advertised

  • 5 of 5

It was great to find a place that is NOT part of the condo universe. The hosts are really great people. Having the kayaks/ canoes available is fantastic. I would stay here again next time we're in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

we loved our stay at the cottage

  • 5 of 5

we had a great experience with Steve the owner while booking, staying, and leaving the property. he was very fast to reply and gave very detailed explanations to our questions. the Home is very cute, just like staying at a camp near the water. the Santa Rosa Sound is literally 10-20 steps from the front porch with beautiful views and clear water! they seem to be pet lovers, we got to meet their dog Cooper and our dog loved meeting him and playing. He checked in on us during our stay to make sure everything was going well, we thought that a great gesture as Hosts. It is right off of the highway but you cannot hear a thing going on except the wind in the trees and the birds. The Cottage was fully stocked with appliances and necessities. We love Destin and The Destin Inlet and Harbor Walk it only look us about 10-15 minutes to get there, which was ideal for us. We plan to go back to the cottage many more times, it really is a hidden gem! not to mention the price was great as well for what you get. It seemed to be a very safe area as well with a great dog park right down the road, we felt safe and at home our entire stay ! we cannot say enough great things about this location and its owners

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cottage with easy access to all the major destinations

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our week at the cottage and meeting with Steve. Charming interior with all the necessities of home. Definitely returning for future stays and would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £26.28
Cleaning £33.79 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £150.16
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals