HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815


Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 bed/1 bath is for families and fido to enjoy!

This cottage is perfect for families and friends to retreat at the beach. Pets and kids will enjoy the large yard and comforts of home. There are 3 bedrooms & sleeps 6 and a futon for 7. New tile and trim throughout main living and bath area. Located on the Indian River, just 1.25 miles from the Melbourne Causeway and 2.0 miles from the Eau Gallie Causeway. This is a paddle board, surfing, biking, active, artistic community. It's a short 5 min. drive to the beach. Pet friendly fenced in back yard. Local and international top surfing beach.

You will find the comforts of home while enjoying the relaxation and beauty in this tropical vacation home!

More Details

Bryon Secrest
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 April, 2017

About Bryon Secrest

This house is our favorite place to be! We thoroughly love unplugging our electronics and spending the days on the beach and the nights with friends dining out or walking around at festivals, markets and art district in downtown Melbourne or EauGallie..Vintage antique shops surround the area as well as a ton of amazing seafood dining spots and live music venues. Just a 15 mile drive to Cocoa Beach for nightly entertainment or dining. There are dozens of state parks to enjoy.

Bryon Secrest purchased this house in 2012

Why Bryon Secrest chose Melbourne

This property is in a quiet neighborhood on the Indian River. We can walk to Dunkin Donuts or ride bikes to Starbucks. It is a mile from the house to the bridge to fish or shrimp, put in the kayaks and paddle boards. Pier access 2.5 miles away is free to fish.

It is a must experience for every family!

What makes this house unique

We offer a fenced in backyard for dogs. We are just 5 minutes to the best surfing beach in Florida. Check out local surf contests, art shows, weekend running races or 50 miles away. Cape Canaveral is 30 minutes to tour our NASA station or Cocoa Beach 15 miles away for awesome surf and sun.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My friends and I had an awesome girls week in your home. We enjoyed the art district and downtown Melbourne. Riding bikes across the causeway was fun and paddleboarding with Paddleboard House was the best!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Tradewinds Homes in Melbourne

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Smoking is prohibited on the premises or inside the home. You will forfeit your security deposit if smoking takes place.
  • damage from pets will be deducted from the security deposit. The pet deposit is a fee per pet per stay for boarding the pet.
  • Please park your vehicles to the left of the driveway in front of the fence and on the driveway area. Additional vehicles must park on the street.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Outdoor shower located in back yard
    Bathroom 2 - Outdoor Shower
  • shower, jet tub and wash area
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 queen and 1 full size beds
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
For monthly renters housekeeping is available $100 per cleaning additional fee to come at your request to launder linens towels and clean floors and bathroom.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

average rating of 4.0 based on 22 reviews

Adorable beach House

  • 5 of 5

This is a super cozy and clean cottage type home. We almost bypassed it, when looking at the pictures of the outside (we have high standards). I am thankful we did not, because upon opening the front door, you walk into this sweet adorable very clean home and the decor is just enough, as well. My family and I definitely cook in the kitchens, as we eat local and fresh organic food. Having said this, the kitchen was well stocked, and accommodated big breakfast lunch and dinners, for our family. The living room offers two sofas, and even better a television with direct tv and Netflix, which was our favorite gathering space in the home, and theres barstools looking into the kitchen, and the open design allowed for us all to be together. The bathroom was spacious and very clean towels, for our use. The home offers two queen bedrooms one one end of the home, one with a tv and direct tv, as well. On the other end of the home offers the 3rd bedroom, with a futon ( our daughter and her 3 children, all slept in there and was super happy with the privacy). Outside this bedroom, is the laundry area with a very good working washer and dryer. The home offers a fenced in back yard, as well. The owners of the home, quickly responded to all my emails prior to our arrival, and was so very accommodating to us, as well. My family and I traveled down for a wedding and extended our trip to spend time in the sun. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe. There's a sweet little guest book, and I actually found myself reading through the past guest's comments ( I do read, as I am a doctor) but to take the time to sit and read the book, was special and I found one of my granddaughters made an entry. Truly, by reading my review, it's easy to see how much we enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Bryan and Melissa well done!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home misrepresented, owner unreasonable

  • 1 of 5

Property l​ist photo is of Cocoa Beach (45 minutes away), not Melbourne. Home is listed as "on the river;" river is across busy US-1 in a warehouse docking area. When told where I was staying, locals were surprised by a vacation home in this part of town. The area is industrial, run down, poorly lit, home not clearly marked, no amenities nearby (no groceries, drug stores, restaurants​,​ gas stations within miles). ​The decor is beachy, but home was musty and smelled of mildew– I suffered allergies my entire stay. Pretty wood tile flooring throughout. Kitchen is modern and cute, but no seating for kitchen table, only 3 bar stools.The leather couch is uncomfortable; second couch was blanket-covered to hide stains. TV is tiny with no ESPN available (important during bowl season). Front bedroom is large and bright, smelled strongly of pet odor and smoke. Second bedroom was very dark but cozy, rear bedroom is a remodeled garage. It was the coolest room in the house with a window A/C; the owner ​required ​home A/C not above 73 degrees (very warm for FL).​ Only 4 bath towels offered, although home states it accommodates 6. No beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, or any beach amenities for reported "beach cottage."​

Wear shoes at all times! The yard is covered in sand spurs; my dog was​ afraid to go outside, having multiple spurs in her feet on re-entry. Painful spurs through the house. Backyard is private, but an empty lot with a table and chairs, no trees or landscaping.

With fees & deposits, this home was over double the listed nightly rate. I ​was charged​ two non-refundable pet fees, a security deposit, and a cleaning fee - nearly the cost of a five night stay. On the rental agreement, I did not notice “no smoking,” as it was hidden underneath the pet rules. I did smoke a few times outside the home, but I cleaned all smoking debris. I forgot my lighter and​ reportedly​ missed a pile of pet waste (after paying the pet fee); ​​the owner refused to return my security deposit. At the price I was charged, I could have stayed in a much nicer hotel than this home

I ​​own vacation homes in FL & NC and have rented numerous homes worldwide ​(Central America, Europe, Caribbean, etc.) ​- this was the worst rental experience I have had. The home is not pet-friendly, is misrepresented, and the property manager is both unreasonable and unwilling to compromise. Look elsewhere for a "beach" home in Central Florida.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. Brendle It is our goal that every guest enjoy their time in our home and ensure comfort and cleanliness of the property inside and out. For 3 years we have enjoyed families , retired couples , and pet owners vacationing through VRBO and several other websites that we are hosts with. The 3 reviews that we have had scoring low are due to renters like you who smoked or let pets run rampant to destroy the property and consequently did not get their security deposit returned. I'm sorry you didn't communicate with us during your stay that you were unhappy or that you needed anything. It is so important to communicate ahead of time, during or after your stay. It's also important to read the signed rental agreement. Im sorry you did not read the no smoking policy when you booked the property and again when you signed your rental agreement. Because you allowed your pets to urinate on the carpet and futon, to lay on the furniture soiling the couch, left nearly a dozen piles of pet waste in the yard and discarded cigarette waste in the yard, your refund was forfeited by Vrbo and myself. Unfortunately you left a smoking odor that lingers long after you put it out that our guests do not want . In the future make sure your needs are provided for by booking a property that allows smoking. We take pride in the cleanliness and care of this property and want to maintain the relaxing environment for our future guests. Bryon Secrest
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very cozy clean home when we arrived.

  • 5 of 5

The location was just right for our experience in Melbourne. Just a short drive to town or the beach. Thank you for the opening you home to us.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Property was well maintained. No problems with the location or neighborhood. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a place that allows pets.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adam, thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a great week and hope you'll come back again. Bryon and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great little house in Melbourne FL

  • 4 of 5

We had a blast staying at the Byron Seacrest house in Melbourne, FL. The house was everything VRBO said it was. Clean, well Maintained. Though small it had the feeling of a summer cottage. The house is close to all the attractions in Melbourne and Not too far from Orlando. Some of the attractions close are the soft ice cream shop down the street (US 1) and Mustards Last Stand for lunch. While some of the family did the Orlando thing, some went fishing the house was a great place to kick off your shoes at the end of the day. We arrived early on our start and met both Bryon and Melissa. Both of you are good people and made us welcome. All of our family had a great vacation!! Thank You Thank You

Douglas Hungerford

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Doug It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thank you for staying and for your kind words. We hope you'll come back again. Bryon and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Creepy Owner... Lack of Privacy...Very Sketchy neighborhood

  • 1 of 5

I don't even know where to begin! I stayed at this place unfortunately for 2 months. I had too because the owners won't give me my refund! The place is cute, comfortable, and beachy looking, IF u are planning on staying for 3 nights.

(1) I wish that the owners would have mentioned about the neighborhood. It's in a dump spot of Melbourne! I got my car broken into and took everything in it, and left an empty purse sitting on top of the garbage can?! There are no sufficient lights in the area, so pls be VERY careful coming in late at night!!! It's 10 min away from the beach and close to downtown Melbourne, which is good.

(2) The backyard is big enough for the dogs to run around BUT it's not well maintained. There is hardly any grass and it's pretty dirty! There are not enough parking spaces, so IF you have company, just trust the neighborhood that they won't ran over your car!

(3) The WEIRDEST part about my stay was the OWNERS!!! First of all, They would let u know if they are going to be in the property to "mow the grass" and do "pest control!" which I did NOT quite understand it being twice a week?! The owners FAILED to tell me that they are also going INSIDE the house and does whatever supposedly they need to do!!! They questioned me about how many people are living inside the house, when the agreement clearly stated that it is an 8 occupancy 3 bedroom house!!! First of all, I was living there by MYSELF and have family and friends come over. Does it really matter???!!! They were questioning me if the other bedrooms were occupied! I just laughed cus I thought it was comical! So, I came to the conclusion that the HUSBAND Owner is creepy enough to into the house AND does what knows what! VERY CREEPY! I would not be surprised if he even opened my drawers! When I confronted them about it, they could not explain anything.

(4) I don't mind paying extra pet fees since my family would also bring their maltease dog sometimes... BUT to be rudely question about it??? it's absurd. How did they know that there was another dog in the house IF the CREEPY Husband is NOT trespassing in the house?

(5) The place is cute and beachy looking.... UNFORTUNATELY, I would NOT recommend this place to anyone due to very sketchy neighborhood and CREEPY OWNERS!!! Lastly, it's 100 degrees in FL right now, The owner has a BIG sign right next to the A.C. to make sure u keep the TEMP at 78 degrees at all time!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charity Thank you for your recent stay. I'm sorry that we could not refund your deposit due to smoking on the property and having multiple pets without informing prior to your stay. The carpets had 3 pee stains and curtains had urine stains to clean at check out. In an effort to maintain the property the rental policy is to inform guests 48 hrs prior to exterminators and yard maintenance on the premises which was done on the Vrbo portal. The house is equipped with 2 parking spaces in the driveway area which doesn't include the yard as your guests have repeatedly utilized. Thank you for your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Melbourne International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Squid Lips
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
1.2 Miles
dunkin donuts, starbucks,mustards last stand bagel
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Indialantic Beach
Car: recommended

Orlando and Disney 70 m away, Cape Canaveral 30 m distance, Sebastian Inlet 25m, Cocoa Beach 15 miles Melbourne Mall 8 m,


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Tradewinds Homes, Florida Central Atlantic Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
spring break
1 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £78.23
Refundable Damage Deposit £176.01
Cleaning Fee £97.78
Tax Rate 11.0%

Damage Deposit, Cleaning fee and Pet fee are due upon booking a reservation. The damage deposit will be refunded after check out within 7 days. All payments must be made through the Homeaway website. Rental agreement must be returned and signed by the owner to ensure reservation is valid.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals