Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

“The Beach Shack” Beachy chic!

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 247 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two bedroomed beach chalet in an immaculate condition. 5min stroll to the beach

The Beach Shack as we affectionately call it ( although the photos attached prove it bears no resemblance to any sort of shack! ) is a two bedroom property that comfortably sleeps 4 people. Unlike similar local properties and in response to visitor requests we now provide freshly laundered bed linen, and towels for your comfort.

Upstairs is one double bedroom and one bedroom with twin bunks.The separate bathroom has an electric shower, a toilet and washbasin with built in storage underneath.Downstairs is an open plan lounge dining and kitchen area, complete with fridge with small freezer section, combination microwave oven , electric oven and hob.

A 37 inch wall mounted TV, DVD player and freesat box are available with free Wi-Fi. A selection of Kids games and toys are also available including buckets spades etc.

The chalet is located on the flat so access is easy and it is set in a lovely position receiving the sun in the front all morning and then all afternoon in the back. There are french doors at the back of the chalet,and in the afternoon it is lovely to sit outside on the lawn, where there is nothing but the sound of cows quietly mooing in the distance far away in the fields to disturb your peace.

There is ample parking, although the chalet's own designated parking space is clearly signposted just outside and slightly to the left of the front door when facing it.

We have made the chalet child friendly by providing a travel cot, high chair and stair gate.The comfortable and practical cream leather sofas are also child friendly and easy to wipe if any spills should occur from little ones.

We provide bed linen and towels for use inside the chalet. Please pack some beach towels with you if you are intending to visit the beach. As it is literally a couple of minutes walk away, why wouldn't you?

Finally, although this is in a holiday park, in the 20 years we have owned it we are always impressed by how respectful holiday makers are of noise in the late evening and night.

Freshwater beach is a large expanse of golden sand backed by the sand dunes of Freshwater Nature Reserve, it also has many interesting rock pools at either end. The beach has level access and on site toilets. For the active beach visitors there is a stream which runs at its southern side, ideal for small children to play in, surfing is a popular activity here as well. However for those who just like to watch, the slipway on the beach with the boat traffic is always interesting.

The neighborhood is really delightful. The newly refurbished “Longhouse” is now open on site and provides food and entertainment for holidaymakers on site. There is a small shop, water sports rental company, amusement arcade and pool tables inside.

There is also the local Freshwater Inn at the top of a hill (a great cardio-vascular walk away!) with breathtakingly beautiful panoramic views of the bay, and outside seating areas to enjoy the views to their best advantage.

In Pembroke town centre there are many interesting craft shops and plenty of places to see including the renowned Pembroke castle, and restaurants/cafe's to eat in.

For us personally, it is the Coastal path and breathtaking scenery that are the main attractions of this area and some local walks include Swanlake Bay and the spectacular Barafundle beach. These are accessible on foot from the chalet without the need for a car journey. If you are very keen walkers, you will be happy to do these. However there are many maps of area walks in the chalet to assist walkers of all abilities.

More Details

Owner
Liz
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2018

About Liz

Dave and Liz live in Cardiff and enjoy many memorable holidays in Freshwater every year.

We are particularly fond of the local walks including The Bosherston lily ponds which have to be seen to be believed for their size. Also we also love Stackpole quay, uber chic place!

We are a professional couple both retirees and love to travel. We are fairly new to the rental market so very interested in how our guests will enjoy their Holiday at our "Beach shack"

Liz purchased this chalet in 1995

Why Liz chose Freshwater East

Freshwater east holds very special memories for us. Wonderful holidays from our childhood give it a very special significance to us. We want to share our place with you and give you some equally super holiday memories. In particular the beach, only a few minutes walk from the chalet is spectacular. Locals organise beach clean ups to maintain its lovely clean environment. A sandy beach, with many rock pools, lovely clear blue sea and great waves for surfing or just having fun splashing around in.

What makes this chalet unique

Our chalet is decorated very tastefully, comfortable beds and furniture are a key priority for us. We take pride knowing our visitors are comfortable and in an environment that is like home from home to them.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Freshwater East in Lamphey

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 247 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The bathroom is separate and has an electric shower toilet and washbasin with built in storage underneath.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , The travel cot if needed will fit down the side of the bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Bunk Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
Notes:
As well as Freshwater beach which is only a couple of minutes walk away, there are other equally lovely beaches nearby, Barafundle bay is a personal favourite. Other local places of interest include Oakwood , Bluestone and Heatherton activity centre. Manor Wildlife Park is always a great trip for the family, a personally recommended day out.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

63% Complete
36% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
“The Beach Shack” Beachy chic!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Great base for a family holiday

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Beach Shack for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. We found it very comfortable and Liz kindly made herself available in the event of any questions and emailed soon after our arrival to check everything was okay. The holiday park is only a few minutes walk from Freshwater East beach, which is ideal for kids. Our son loved the little stream which ran down the beach to the sea and is ideal for building sandcastle moats and dams! Its only a short drive into Tenby or Pembroke, as well as being close to the beautiful beaches at Manorbier and Barafundle, both of which are well worth a look. I would definitely recommend the Beach Shack and we're already talking about going back next year!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review Mark and family, very much appreciated, you were lovely visitors and we would love to see you again sometime. All the families who visit "The Beach Shack" with children comment so positively about the stream on the beach as being a haven for children to play in, I am so pleased your little ones enjoyed it. You have also highlighted my favourite beach in Pembroke, Barafundle is a real gem, golden sand, blue seas with a natural sea grass backdrop. The short walk across the magnificent Pembrokeshire Coastal path from Stackpole quay to Barafundle only enhances the trip in visitors experience . Tenby is always popular with our visitors and a trip to Caldey Island on a boat from the harbour to see the wildlife (and to say Hi to the resident monks of course!) is a great and memorable experience. Thanks again Mark and family we are glad "The Beach Shack" and Freshwater area impressed you all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great base for beach!

  • 5 of 5

Good accommodation- clean, good facilities, shower works well, very quiet, 200yds from beach, loads of places to visit nearby, beach is great, sheltered, good comms from owner. Recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great base in a quiet location

  • 4 of 5

A very quiet location and less than a five minute walk to the beach. The Beach Shack was ideal for our needs and the owner was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review, you were super visitors and I would love to see you return sometime soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect location for the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Ideal for families with little ones and lots to carry to the beach! Lovely beach for kids too.

We had a fabulous week - highly recommend Pembroke castle and lots of lovely coastal walks to do.

Chalet was very clean and very well equipped. We were also amazed how quiet the holiday village was - lovely to sleep with the windows open.

Very useful WiFi - free too, which was a big help as there was no phone signal in the area.

Owners were extremely helpful and informative; very accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sally, so very pleased you all enjoyed your holiday. You were the perfect visitors and we would love to welcome you back at any time. Best wishes Liz Jenkins
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice little chalet

  • 4 of 5

Clean and comfortable accommodation and close to a nice beach. Very quiet on site when we stayed in mid September which suited us.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Muriel, I'm pleased you found "The Beach Shack" to be suitable for your needs. Other guests have also commented positively on the peace and quiet of the area, particularly important at night for visitors, to get a good nights sleep. And the beach as you say is very close and always well reviewed by our visitors. I know the weather was mixed for you when you stayed, which is unusual, although it can also be variable in September, but if you return we will try really hard to produce the sun for a week! Finally despite extensive searching we have not found your lost spectacles, I do hope they turn up for you eventually. Thanks again for your review and very best wishes to both you and your husband.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sheffield
5

The 'Beach Shack' is a home from home, very clean and comfortable with lovely seaside themed decor

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we had booked our holiday Liz made herself available to us with any questions we may have. All the information we needed prior to travelling was sent well in advance. The directions for travel and instructions regarding the key safe and necessary utilities on arrival were clear and concise. The kids loved the site and when we weren't at the beach or out exploring they were playing on the grassed area at the rear if the property.

Liz has thought of everything and the shack is well stocked with all household essentials, board games and dvds plus lots of information about nearby attractions.

Freshwater East beach is a 5 minute walk away which was fab as it meant we didn't need to carry everything for all day as nipping back to the Chalet wasn't a chore. The beach isn't commercialised and is very family friendly. There is an ice cream van in a nearby car park or the LongHouse cafe/bar is in the site entrance. The kids loved the rock pools at the far end of the beach. Another thing that Liz had thought of as there were buckets/spades and nets in the outside storage for us to use. There are also outside chairs and windbreaker available too.

We were lucky with the weather and only had 1 day of rain, a couple of days were overcast in the morning but it was still warm enough to wear shorts and the sun broke through by lunchtime.

The shop on site doesn't stock a great deal but there is a Tesco in Pembroke Dock which is a 20 min drive away. There is also an Asda, Aldi and Lidl in the vicinity.

Our 7 year old son Alfie is a dinosaur fanatic and my brother had recommended Dinosaur Land in Tenby. It was a 19 minute drive from Freshwater East. The kids loved it and we loved that it was pay once and all the rides inside are free. The kids particularly loved the tube slide and of course the dinosaur walk.

We have had such a lovely week at the Beach Shack, the only down side is the mobile reception was non existent on site but was ok once out and about, the shack having Wi-Fi was a big plus especially for keeping in touch via WhatsApp or messenger.

I cannot recommend the shack enough....the reasonable price and Liz being available if needed make this more than 5 ☆ . We will hopefully be back again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Train
3 Miles
Lamphey
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Freshwater East
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Freshwater East, Pembrokeshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High 2018
14 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£510
for 7 nights
£510
 
 
Late 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 6 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£349
for 7 nights
£349
 
 
2019 high
21 Jul 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£499
for 7 nights
£499
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£349
for 7 nights
£349
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals