HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Cozy Cabin near Branson, MO

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday home in Forsyth - Cozy Cabin near Branson, MO

Charming cottage escape just minutes from the Branson action.

This charming home is all yours for a romantic getaway in the Ozarks or a fun-filled stay in the entertainment capital - Branson, MO! Just 15 minutes from all the shows and shopping, and 5 minutes from Lake Taneycomo. Perfect for up to 4 guests!

Newly renovated, guests will enjoy the new wood floors, bright interior, and modern furnishings.

This cozy cottage is nestled right in the heart of town, on Highway 160. McDonald's and the local grocers is just a few doors down. It's a country setting with city access, so you can be one the road to your vacation adventures in no time!

The upstairs loft features a comfortable queen bed. The downstairs sofa pulls out into a sleeper for two. The wide front verandah lets you watch the world go by, or enjoy a private cup of coffee on the back porch nestled inside a privacy fence. The media room has a flat screen TV with several local channels and a DVD player. There are kitchen and laundry facilities on site, and a bathroom with shower (no tub).

The special keypad entry means no worrying about keys. Just contact us for the code and arrive whenever it is convenient for you!

This is country living in a cabin, with all the amenities. For you city folks, we get the occasional critters - everything from ants to 10 point bucks - so don't be alarmed if you rub elbows with nature just a little. That is life in the Ozarks. (And what staying in a cabin is all about!) But our clean and comfortable home will be the restful spot you need to reconnect with the things that matter.

We do not accept pets, but welcome well-behaved children and spouses. :)

Come see what Branson and the Ozarks are all about!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Karen Nelson
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2016

About Karen Nelson

My family has lived in the Branson area since 1993. I have enjoyed working in the travel industry for the Convention & Visitors Bureau, and for local tour companies. I love sharing all that the Ozarks has to offer, from the beautiful lakes and spectacular scenery, to the toe-tapping music and finger-licking food!

There's always something to do in Branson, but one of my favorite summer time activities is helping out on my parents' berry farm, Blackberry Lane - just 10 minutes from the vacation cottage! I invite you to check it out in the weeks surrounding the Fourth of July. I promise we'll treat you like family!

Karen Nelson purchased this house in 1998

Why Karen Nelson chose Missouri

My mother and I purchased this house as a joint project. In the beginning, it housed an art studio for my porcelain art students. When my own children came along and demanded more of my time, it was converted into a residence. Those babies I used to carry along to class now assist me in yardwork and housekeeping. We're keeping it all in the family!

What makes this house unique

I can't imagine a better location to sample the Ozarks. Away from the big lights and bustle of Branson, you can relax and connect with the real lakes area. Stores and restaurants are minutes away (some even within walking distance!), but a 15-minute drive can have you strolling the Landing shops, tucking into a steak and lobster feast, or being ushered to your theater seat.

Fisherman and water-lovers can sample all three of the area lakes from the house, and several parks and state recreational areas are sprinkled throughout.

Thrill-seekers get their kicks at Silver Dollar City and White Water, approximately 30 minutes away.

As my folks used to say, "If you get bored around here, it's your own fault!"

I fell in love with the cozy comfort of this house, and know you will, too!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your lovely little cottage. We had such an enjoyable time. Very relaxing! We enjoyed the use of your BBQ grill and relaxing on the porch. We hope to come back again!

Thank you -

Diane & Robert
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 4


based on 10 holidaymaker reviews

Cozy Cabin near Branson, MO
average rating of 3.8 based on 14 reviews

The cottage was cute. It was tiny, but very efficient.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was lovely. I enjoyed my stay. It provided a central location while I explored the area.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay! So peaceful and quiet even though it's right off the main road in town, which by the way makes it very conveniently located to all there is to do. Loved the layout of the house with the loft bedroom and all the space downstairs. Very cozy but spacious. I like to do a lot of my own cooking when away so always travel with my favorite knife, a cookie sheet and my own spices and this time my ice cream freezer and wine glasses. Everything else I needed for fixing full meals was there. Enjoyed the outdoor grill a couple of evenings. Everything was neat and clean. Had brought DVDs to watch but enjoyed several from the selection in the house.

I would highly recommend a stay at the gingerbread cabin. Totally relaxing and rejuvenating. If you're there anytime from June -Aug. be sure and ask about the amazing Blackberry patch Karen's parents own, thornless, organic, so much fun to pick and delicious! Oh we will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review! We're always pleased when someone fully enjoys our vacation home and all the area has to offer. If we had known you had an ice cream freezer we would have invited ourselves over for a treat! :) We especially appreciate how much care you took with the home and keeping it clean and tidy. Be sure to visit next year for blackberry season (or any time!) Happy Travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wish We Could Stay Longer

  • 5 of 5

We wanted to move in forever. This place was super clean, comfy, and close to everything we wanted to do. I got to go fishing, the wife went shopping, and our son thought the whole house was "cool".

Karen checked in on us during our stay through messaging, and it was great to know she was close by if we needed anything. (We didn't. Everything is here but a toothbrush!) I was amazed at how cool and quiet it was, even though there was a heat wave of 112 degrees.

Wife says the hidden gem next door made her day - "Memories of Mom" vintage store. Must be good because the car was loaded.

Will definitely stay again when we come back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying in our vacation home! I'm so glad you took advantage of all that the area has to offer. That little shop is a favorite of mine, too! We really appreciate your kind words and hope you come back soon. You were definitely 5-star guests, and we'd love you to stay anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My two teenage kids and I loved this lodge-style house! It was amazingly quiet, even though it fronts the main road. Everything was as described in the pictures and listing. Really clean, with fresh linens and towels. It doesn't have wi-fi, but there were board games and DVDs, which really made us do more things together as a family.

There's an occasional ant or beetle, but I've lived in log cabins in the south, and that is totally expected. I don't know what other reviewers are talking about because the place is spotless, the bed is like a cloud, and the sleeper sofa ... is a sleeper sofa. That's why kids get to sleep there.

The best part of staying here is the peace and quiet right in the middle of all the stuff to do. We went to the lake, walked the trails, fished off the dock, and headed into Branson for shopping and a nice dinner out. Overall, a great time and good value for the price.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin and in the Branson area. There is so much to do, and it's a perfect place for families. Thank you for leaving the house tidy. We have located your charger cable and put it in the mail to you. Please let us know when it arrives safely. We hope you will return soon, as you and your family are welcome anytime. We especially appreciate your communication and the kind card you left for us. Many thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Looks are deceiving!!

  • 1 of 5

This property appears to be clean but upon further review there were mice, along with mouse poop on shelves. Several mice came running from the pullout couch when opened. Lots of spiders as well!! The couch bed is very worn and not even sleepable. The upstairs bed is fine as long as you like sleeping in a sink hole. The owner accused me of just wanting a refund and tried bullying me with accusations of why I didn't let her come "verify" the mice and spiders. She did respond to my emails of concern, but never really offered any feasable solutions. I mean setting mice traps is great and all but we had to sleep on a couch that several mice ran out from. It made us all very uncomfortable!! And all Karen kept doing was accusing me of making stuff up and wanting a refund when in fact I NEVER asked for a refund. She also said she didnt find any spiders or mice when cleaning....well of course not we smashed the spiders we seen and the mice were prob hiding. But in Karens words we were exaggerating and looking for a refund. If there were a way to copy and paste her emails to me on here so everyone could read them I would...our advice is to look elsewhere for lodging. I was told to beware of her response to this review. Can't wait to see it. In the future Karen, you should be more accommodating to your guests instead of thinking everyone is out for a refund. Yes this place was less than expected, but as I stated in my email to you....our accommodations sucked but we had a good time, so it was money well spent. Get an exterminator!! And maybe take some classes on customer relations. DO NOT STAY HERE....there are definately much better, nicer places for the money...and they prob come with alot nicer person to deal with as well.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We regret that in spite of our best efforts we were unable to satisfy this guest. Upon their departure, we were unable to find any support for their claims. We did, however, discover evidence of their violation of owner policies, which may account for their refusal of all offers to come and assist them. They also declined multiple proposals for alternate arrangements, including a partial refund for them to depart early. It is true that they never requested a refund. We offered one to them, but they elected to stay the full term with no changes. Reminders about VRBO and home owner policies were met with profanity and threats. While Ms. Ragan initially remarked on how "cute and clean" the home was, her dissatisfaction with some elements of the home seems to have upset her even though we offered to come multiple times with an airbed, inspect the cleanliness of the home, etc. We are truly at a loss as to what more we might have done, as all attempts to help were rejected. We have taken precautionary measures against their complaints, but to date have found nothing that supports their claim. The home has been inspected daily by several different persons, and our current guests have expressed their complete satisfaction with the property. Our previous guests have also remarked on the clean and pleasant stay they experienced, and we can only hope that Ms. Ragan and her party are able to find accommodation in future that better suits their needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Branson Stay

  • 1 of 5

Overall the cottage was beautiful but the cottage had so many spiders and the water smelled and tasted like sewer. We were unable to take a shower and we had to leave a day early. I was told my money will be refunded back to my credit card so I'm waiting for that to happen but it's only been a day or two. I think I should have been compensated a little more but I wasn't. I wouldn't recommend this cottage to my family. We did have a great time on the strip which we spent the entire day there because we were to nervous to go back to the cottage with all the spiders. 2 spiders were even in the bed which of course freaked me out. The property was clean to some degree but there were webb's everywhere with spiders in them and had to use bottled water to bruch teeth.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate you did not feel able to stay. Regretfully, we did not hear of your dissatisfaction until after you had returned home. We cleaned the cottage the day before your arrival and inspected it upon your departure, but did not find the spider problem you described. However, it is a country setting and it is always possible to find elements of nature at some time - particularly the hot summertime! We will continue to monitor "unscheduled guests". We are on County water, which has a measure of sulphur odor when run hot for long periods. We took the time to check with local authorities and confirmed that all water levels are up to code. We realize this may be unfamiliar to someone from the city, but that is outside our control. Your refund was immediately credited for the night you did not stay, as well as a partial refund for a second night. These funds are disbursed through VRBO and should be visible in a day or two. We wish you all the best in future, and safe travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Forsyth, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Forsyth, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • village ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full-size shower, sink, and toilet, with towels provided.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Upstairs loft has a queen-size bed with pillow-top mattress, sitting chair, storage bench, night stand with lamp, ceiling fan, clothes rod, luggage rack, and separate air conditioner unit.
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • Rock Climbing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties