HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Home on Stream Surrounded by National Forest, Hunters Paradise, Family Retreat

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

At the foot of 50 miles of groomed snowmobile & cross country ski trail

Beautiful home next to stream on 55 acres surrounded by national forest. Snowmobile and ATV from your front door to the high country lakes and falls or sit on the deck and relax to the sound of the stream.

This uniquely designed secluded custom home nestled on a stream sleeps six, two bedrooms each with queen beds and a loft with two full beds. The TV den has a queen sleeper sofa. Two bathrooms one with shower and one with large deep bath. Direct TV, DVD player, internet and Wifi, built in stereo throughout. Hydronic heating, full washer and dryer. Plenty of parking for trucks and trailers.

Snowmobile and cross country ski out your front door directly onto fifty miles of groomed trail, day and night all winter.

Summer fun includes hiking to nearby lakes and waterfalls, huckleberry picking, biking on hundreds of miles of Cabinet Mountain roads and trails. Lake Pend Orielle is just four miles down the road where Trestle Creek Landing offers boat launch, park and beach with protected children's swim area.The lovely lakeside town of Hope with it's marinas and restaurants is only seven miles away while the delightful city of Sandpoint is just fourteen miles away.

More Details

John McCurdy
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Hope on Bonner County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , On loft above and open to living room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Home on Stream Surrounded by National Forest, Hunters Paradise, Family Retreat
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Where do you live?

Paradise lost

  • 1 of 5

We stayed here for 5 nights. At first we were impressed. The location is absolutely beautiful, but then we started noticing some issues, specifically mice. The first indication was the shredded paper towels and toilet paper under the kitchen and bathroom sinks. This caused us to really start being observant. We noticed mouse poop on the couches, floor, kitchen counters and even on our sheets in the master bedroom. One evening, we were relaxing when a mouse ran across the floor.....twice.

I contacted the owner who apologized and had the property manager drop a trap by. I bought some more traps and by the time we left, we'd killed six mice. There were still new droppings showing up on the day we left. The poop on the sheets and counters bothered us so much we discussed leaving early and staying at a hotel. In the end, we decided to grit our teeth and deal with it.

Other observations were that the kitchen is in need of updating and there were stains on the couch pillows. Also, the stairwell leading to the fridge and laundry room (yes, the fridge is in the laundry room) smelled of mold.

After sharing our experience (and pictures of the dead mice) with the owner, he did refund a portion of our payment to be fair. He also offered a discounted rate on future stays.

The home has a lot of character and potential, but it has not been maintained very well. We will not rent this property again and I cannot recommend it based on our experience.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the first negative review of our property since we started using VRBO over three years ago. We are sorry this guest had a bad experience and did everything we could to address his daily complaints to the point of offering a refund and discounted future stays.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This was a beautiful home in an amazing location.

  • 5 of 5

The house is very unique and nicely furnished. We were very comfortable and loved the sound of the creek. We will definitely be back!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about this cabin. Beautiful remote setting, with all the amenities of home and more. The area is truly great for hiking, snowmobiling, hunting or just getting some R&R. We will be back again!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Trestle creek

  • 4 of 5

This was a unique home! It has a lot of stairs but they are manageable if you are able. If you are looking for peace and quiet it is for you! We enjoyed talking to the property management Terry and Dawn and meeting the owner John. We had a relaxing and wonderful time!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

ATV trip

  • 4 of 5

This was truly a unique house. Had everything we needed and convenient to ride our ATVs right from the house. The master bedroom is like being in a tree house-very cool! The owners were very receptive to our feedback and truly want people to enjoy their stay. The managers were very friendly and had the cutest Pyrenees dog that visited us. Must not mind stairs if you stay here. Very quiet and relaxing. The WIFI and satellite TV were great to have for our teen son.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hope Id USA

snowmobil haven

  • 5 of 5

If your into sleding and being comfortable in the mountains,you must check this place out. It does'nt get any better. I will be back!!!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Trestle Creek Recreation Area
"Fifty miles of groomed snow trail leading to thousands of square miles of back country snowm..."
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Sandpoint, I'd
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Sweet Lou's
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Hidden Lakes
Nearest Train
17 Miles
Sandpoint, I'd
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Ski
23 Miles
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Trestle Creak Landing
Car: necessary

Secluded home at the trailhead of the Trestle Creek Snow Park. Fifty miles of groomed trail out your front door leading to thousands of square miles of back country snowmobiling and cross country skiing for wintertime fun. During the summer enjoy being surrounded by the national forest and all it has to offer, hiking, biking, wildlife and tranquility yet only four miles from Lake Pend Orielle for access to boat launch and beach park.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Hope, Northern Idaho

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £373.6
Cleaning £56.04
Tax Rate 8.0%

Note. Three, four and five night rates are available at decreasing amounts from the two night minimum.
Please contact owner for these rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals