HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hot-Tub, Fire-Pit, 3 fireplaces, Fenced yard, Dogs allowed, Pool Table, Canoes

37 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Huddleston - Lakefront Log Cabin Retreat

Lakefront Log Cabin offers hot-tub, privacy, 3 fireplaces, pool table, fenced yd

Lakefront Log Cabin with Long Range Views From nearly Every Room & over 280 feet of lakefront on Smith Mountain Lake. Deep Water dock, allows use of boat slip and jump off the party deck to deep green water. Steps into the lake - both natural and man- made for those pups or people. 2 canoes on site for those paddling moments. Plenty of lounge chairs- 6 loungers, plus a ton of outdoor furniture on every deck for sunning or slip under the umbrella. ,

Lots of decks cascading down to the lake , with lots of seating everywhere.

This home offers a pool table, ping pong, canoes, wifi- unlimited-( so you are not charged extra. ) Home also is the only full solar established home on Smith Mountain Lake, offering you a green solution vacation if this is important to you. Also endless hot-water with a propane tankless system.

The owner has made the Log Cabin on the inside, in the living spaces yet still bright on the interior with lots of glass and doors to the outside. The outside of the home reflects a camp style lakefront home, with all the luxury.

Stone fireplaces, 1 wood ( wood provided ) and 2 propane fireplaces,make this home warm and fun anytime of year. The kitchen with bear Paw Prints inside ( hep the bear got in during renovation) make the renovated kitchen charming and fun. Propane stovetop and oven for excellent cooking .

Outdoor cooking area is located in the screened in porch overlooking the lake and large fenced in yard. The fence goes into the woods and around the home - which allows all your pups to place chase around the house - as well as the kids and adults. There are wooden steps off the dock into the water to enter and for some older dogs- we have natural stone steps into the water, so they do not slide as much.. Either way, lots of ways to enter the water and get back out without difficulty. We do allow multiple dogs ( since we own several ourselves).. .. so just let us know. We also offer a large dog bed, so you do not have to bring those in- we only have one currently- if you need another please let us know, so we can try to obtain what you need.

The entire home has been renovated with wood floors, tiled baths, stone counters in the kitchen, kitchen with custom cabinetry, plentiful porches & decks with unobstructed mountain and lake scenery, hot-tub under the screened porch, fenced landscaped yard area offers relaxing atmosphere for outdoor living, cathedral ceilings with beams. The attention to rustic detail is reflected in cedar ceilings and more. This fabulously furnished home with deep pillow mattresses, antiques, handmade furniture also includes bath soaps, dishwasher and laundry soap.

Paved roads in this small, wildlife refuge community, offers trails, and spectacular views. Generous approx 2 acre tract provides ultimate privacy for mountain retreat....very well established rental - perfect for much needed getaway or for a corporate retreat!!

Pontoon boats for rent - delivered to your dock and picked up

www.SmithMountainLakeProperties.org - for all your real estate needs while on vacation

Please note: Owner is VA realtor/ Broker at Smith Mountain Lake Properties inc, VA

also min age is 25 years.

Please call owner for any reservation or questions, do not call the 888 (homeaway /vrbo) number - they do not know my home. Our number is 540-797-0477

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 October, 2016
Call Owner

Why Leslie chose Smith Mountain Lake Area

The Privacy- and the spectacular views! beautiful area

What makes this house unique

Private, no one across from you- but the Mountain and wildlife

Guestbook comments from the owner

House was better than the on line pictures, bedrooms are spacious, grounds are gorgeous, setting is picture perfect, house has a very comfortable feel to it; furnishings and items provided by the host were more than expected, and much better than you would find in a competing hotel or motel setting. For our family this house was five stars ... Thank you !
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 2


based on 37 holidaymaker reviews

Hot-Tub, Fire-Pit, 3 fireplaces, Fenced yard, Dogs allowed, Pool Table, Canoes
average rating of 4.918919 based on 39 reviews

Beautiful Piece of Property

  • 3 of 5

We arrived at the property on the day of Hurricane Matthew before check in time. The staff was still there cleaning but they were nice enough let us sit in the basement while they finished. At this point in time, no one made us aware that arriving early would cancel some of the perks that the cabin provided, such as a working fire place. This had to be cancelled due to our early arrival. We would have easily gone to a restaurant to wait had we'd known.

The cabin and scenery were beautiful. Everything was well maintained and clean. We had a wonderful time using the outside fire pit, the numerous porches and enjoyment of the cabin retreat feel.

Our only complaint, being new to the area and never having used the cabin before, was working with the cabin owner. The information we were sent and the book inside the house had many discrepancies along with fees we were unsure of, for example - the use of the hot tub - which we didn't use due to those fees and not wanting to make anymore phone calls. Simple questions such as, are the twin beds long or regular, were returned with answers that made us feel like we were complaining. We also called out of respect to the owner and property about what appeared to be a slight leak in the pipes below the sink. Our call was not "welcomed" as it states they are in the book. Our final call, again out of respect and not wanting to do anything that would damage the property, was about the use of the fire places in the home. Being unaware at the time that this had been cancelled due to our early arrival - again - our call was not welcomed but more of an annoyance. We made no more phone calls.

Thank you to HomeAway for providing such a nice cabin but it is very doubtful we will stay here again due to the owner (our reasoning for the 3 stars). However, we'd still recommend this cabin to others in hopes customer service would be more welcome to the next guests.

We wish the owner and her family well wishes and prayers during what may have been a difficult time.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying.. Several notes on this guest- so anyone desiring to rent to them feel free to call me ! 1) There are no extra fees at all to anyone - I supply the firewood and everything down to the dish soap and more. 2) In 20 years of renting this home - this is the first 3 star I ever received- everything else 5 and beyond- from everyone. 3) We did answer promptly the question on the twin beds- it is a long twin bed and they are very easy to accommodate 4) the extra fee you are complaining about is the vrbo fee- which I Have nothing to do with- they charge it on every reservation and I never see it - nor does any home owner . 5) The hot-tub is there for everyone to use - and you did use it according to my neighbors that live there - and it is free - so not sure why you are lying ? 6) You called and the wonderful thing is we have recorded calls - you said the sink plumbing was "stripped " and there was a "huge leak" we recorded our conversation back to you - you did not answer the phone at 9pm ( 15 minutes after you called this in - but you had been there since 1:30 in the afternoon - early check in - way early since check in is 4pm - _ the poor other guests felt like they were pushed out the door as they put it ) .. we sent someone over - you had them locked out - did not respond , they did get in - and they found nothing wrong .. we are glad you called, however - you were wrong- nothing wrong- they checked all new plumbing in the home and nothing wrong anywhere 7) Our guests are always welcome, hence the 15 year repeats 8) The propane company had to cancel the maintenance - since you checked in early and you understood that at the time of early check in - not sure why you are concerned after - this is their company rule - not mine. 9) I have no idea why you are saying there are extra fees - when there are none- and none were charged- however I sincerely do hope you can vacation somewhere else in the future and not have all this fabrication and direct lies which cleaning companies and propane companies can testify to . 10) Thank you vrbo - for sending this along - I even went out before they arrived and purchased a "slow cooker" at their request .. so I am really unsure of what else anyone can do for them .. I dropped everything to go do this along with everything else they wanted.. guess any owner with concerns needs to call me asap - to screen this family in reality .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eldersburg, Maryland

Peace and Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

This is our 4th stay at Log Cabin Retreat. If you are looking for peace and relaxation than look no further. The view is breath taking and the dogs love the big fenced in yard. The home is equipped with everything you could possibly need. We will be back next Fall.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We just returned from spending 10 glorious days at SML with our dear friends and our 2 daschunds. We were looking for a quiet place to meet our dear friends and just spend a fun time together. Leslie was always very prompt and helpful with responses to all of our questions! If you are looking for a beautiful and quiet spot the little red cottage is perfect! It has a wonderful rustic feel while having all the comforts of home. There are so many lovely unique items in this home. It is obviously loved by the owners. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are many different outside seating areas to take advantage of the many wonderful views in any type of weather. It was a perfect size for the 4 of us and great memories were made! There are too many wonderful things about this place to name them all. The owners are also animal lovers and the property is perfect for any size dog. Our 2 small daschunds had the time of their lives in the huge fenced yard. It was our first vacation with our fur babies and the first time we were totally relaxed and not anxious to rush home. The owners really have thought of everything, including the name of their local vet which was very much appreciated when one of our dogs became very sick and had to spend 2 days there (she is older and has some health issues from awful abuse in her early years). The doctors and staff were incredible and saved her life. Not only did WE have a wonderful stay, but we will always treasure watching how much fun our dogs had as well! Thank you for everything, Leslie, most of all for sharing your beautiful property!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying ! I agree it is beautiful to watch the joy in our pups eyes and face when they are running thru the yard and chasing those squirrels. I am so glad the vet ( who has saved even my dog's life ) was able to save your dog. However, I regret you had to go thru the stress of this event, even with a good outcome. We would love to have you back when you can make it again and your friends , as well as those fabulous dachshunds !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An Amazing Peaceful Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year in the cove and our second year at the Log Cabin Retreat. We absolutely adore it here! It is so peaceful! We love being amongst the woods, mountains, wildlife and of course the beautiful lake! We love our boating trips and simply relaxing by the water on the docks. My husband fishes day and night and our beagles Jax and Bella always enjoy their stay! This year Bella injured her hind leg a week prior to our vacation and was on resting orders from our Vet so they did not get to run and play on the hill which they so enjoyed last year. Hopefully next visit the pups will have no restrictions! We look forward to another amazing trip next year! Thanks so much for sharing your amazing home with us and our pups! Emily, Todd, Jax and Bella McAllister Crozet, Va

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Everyone again ! I am so sorry to hear that one of the pups was injured before arrival, but tell Jax and Bella - that Buddy, Striper and Lucky look forward to having them next year back in that yard... we do look forward to seeing you soon.. I was here, showing property every day - I am sorry I missed seeing you guys also... Let me know when you are coming..... look forward to having you back soon. Leslie, Buddy, Striper and Lucky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful peaceful SML cabin

  • 5 of 5

A easy peaceful family vacation. The cabin has everything you need. The owner thought of everything to make your stay feel like home. We cooked amazing meals every night and loved eating in the screened in porch. The cabin has plenty of indoor and outdoor living space for 6 people. Loved, loved, loved this cabin and week vacation. Wish it was longer!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susie Sorry I just saw this review, thank you for staying... please come back soon, we look forward to having you again !..the fall is wonderful as well as other times of year... you can always make it a 10 day stay - as well since the nightly min has changed..thanks again Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baltimore, Maryland

Charming and well maintained home

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautiful and has all the comforts you need. The hot tub was great, all the decks had nice views and the beds were very comfortable. The cove is quiet and offered a great place for fishing and swimming. Our teens really liked jumping from the top deck to the water, playing pool and making smores at the fire pit. Everyone had a wonderful time, especially our dogs! It was nice to have the large fenced yard so they could explore safely. It was a fun and relaxing vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for coming ! Thank you for taking such good care of the home as well. We would love to have you back anytime - fall is beautiful also This year we have a great team on board for cleaning and lawns. I know the fence worries some dog owners- but my escape artists have never gotten out - so it is fun for everyone, dogs and small children. Thanks again- I look forward to having you again soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Roanoke or Lynchburg
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Mitchells Marina
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mariners Landing
Nearest Train
30 Miles
LYnchburg - Bullet train to DC
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Heaths Waterfront Grill, Kings Pub
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake State Park
Car: necessary

Smith Mountain Lake, State Park, D Day Memorial, Book T Washington Site, Thomas Jefferson Homestead, Blue Ridge Parkway


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Huddleston, Smith Mountain Lake Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
6 Sep 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Nov 2016 - 18 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter Holidays
19 Nov 2016 - 9 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
10 Jan 2017 - 9 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
10 Mar 2017 - 11 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Early Summer
12 May 2017 - 8 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
9 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
July 4th week
30 Jun 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Summer Pricing
7 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Fall 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £65
Cleaning/Hot-Tub £135
Pet Fee £102
Tax Rate 12.5%

Notes all payments due 90 days before. No refunds within 90 days.
Cancellation fee at any time is $250.00 fee

Tenants responsibility to purchase travel insurance. Owner has nor owns any interest in any insurance companies.
Each dog is $125 per dog. Please email us correct total. Multiple dogs - are 100 each
Home is for 6 occupants total over the age of 2, in accordance with the county laws. You can be evicted , by the county, if exceeded.
Sheets and towels are $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Huddleston in Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , On lower level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Deep Pillow Mattress, Great Serta Pillows
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , On Main Level, Deep Pillow
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Long Mattresses, New Mattresses
  • Master Bedroom -King Deep Pillow with Serta Pillows, overlooking the lake - on main level Second Bedroom- King Bed- Deep Pillow, with Serta Pillows,on main level Downstairs- 2 long twins -new matresses
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Love to have you, fire pit , and just a great spot to be any time of year.... we live and play here and work here, Owner / Broker ...for all your real estate needs.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot