HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Have You Ever Wondered What It Would Be Like To Stay In A Dome? This Is It.

17 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Laveen Village - No Place Like Dome

Three Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths 2700 Square Feet, Sleeps 6 plus

We are in a secluded area just two blocks west of Phoenix. Hike in the Estrella Mountains, Ride horses on the trails, go to Spring Training. the Super Bowl, NASCAR , ride ATV’s or just relax. The evenings feature the sparkling lights of downtown Phoenix and surrounding areas.

There is a nearby small plane airstrip and we will check for access if you need that.

This dome is about 2700 square feet with two stories and has views of downtown with two decks and two patios.

Three bedrooms and two full baths.

The master bath features a jetted tub, separate two headed shower, toilet , and double sinks

The loft bedroom has a queen sized bed plus a twin and can hold several inflatable beds

The downstairs bedroom has a queen bed and full closet.

There is a 55 inch TV in the livings room along with stereo , DVD player and wi-fi.

Snuggle up to the cozy fireplace in the living room too or play on the pool table.

The sofa, loveseat chair and ottoman are exceedingly comfortable and can provide additional sleeping spots.

The dining room seats 8.

Pots and pans , dishes, glasses and silverware plus coffeemaker, toaster and slow cooker make cooking at home easy.

Towels plus bedding for all of the beds is included.

Two car garage plus garage storage is a plus.

Full in-house Laundry Room

Pets, even horses Ok

You do need to have a car here as public transportation is not viable from here. This is a secluded area and the property sits on almost 2 acres of desert land at the end of a dirt road neighborhood. Plenty of outside parking could hold several RV's boats or trailers.

Rabbits, quail and road runners play in the yard and the coyotes sing at night.

This is not a fancy place, but somewhere to relax and enjoy.

From our house you are just minutes to :

- Downtown Phoenix (NBA and MLB games, museums):

- Tempe (ASU, Mill Ave):

- Westgate (Cardinals Stadium, Coyotes hockey arena, mall shopping):

- Old Town Scottsdale (bars, restaurants, shopping):

-Superbowl February 1, 2015 at University of Phoenix Stadium

-NASCAR= Phoenix Raceway

-Spring Training



And so much more

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Sue Vaterlaus
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Sue Vaterlaus

I have been a REALTOR for the past 25 years and 2 of my kids live in Arizona ( plus my Grandchild born December 2014. This is the perfect second home for us and we decided to share it with others. We hope that you will enjoy your stay.

Sue Vaterlaus purchased this house in 2014

Why Sue Vaterlaus chose Arizona

This is probably the most unique property you will find. Private yet close to all activities.

What makes this house unique

Hear the coyotes at night and watch the sparking city lights and see the beautiful mountains.


based on 17 holidaymaker reviews

Have You Ever Wondered What It Would Be Like To Stay In A Dome? This Is It.
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews

Awesome area

  • 4 of 5

I had a good experience staying at this house. Kitchen was super nice, and I loved the views from the backyard. The upstairs bathroom was very nice and spacious, large shower with 2 shower heads, 2 sinks, jacuzzi tub, and it even had that toilet thing that cleans you off afterwards lol!! It was also way bigger in general than I thought it would be. The only thing I was not a fan of were the really high ceilings, it made me a little uneasy because there was some structural damage on the base of the dome. But my only true complaint, is that there was coffee, sugar, but no creamer :( kind of a morning buzzkill. Also be prepared that you have to take a dirt/gravel road for about half a mile. It kind of gives it more of that secluded in the desert feeling that I wanted. I overall enjoyed my stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is some sheet rock tape coming off at the top of the dome. It is due to moisture but not a structural issue. It should be repaired soon. I will have some creamer there from now on but never thought of it because I hate non dairy creamer myself.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique property but some problems

  • 3 of 5

We rented this property while visiting Phoenix for my sister's April 2016 wedding. While our overall experience was positive, there were a few hiccups with our stay that caused us some stress and made the experience less enjoyable. The first was simply finding an address for the VRBO property. This property DOES in fact have an actual street address, but I had THE most difficult time finding it on the VRBO info pages. I probably spent 2 hours trying to figure out directions from the airport, because the "HomeAway" invitation email went to my spam. I had to call VRBO and plead with them to resend it, and when they did the directions were STILL wrong! This was quite frustrating and did not get the trip off on the right foot. The property was pretty much has we expected it -- spacious, though dated -- and it appeared fairly clean, although there was a pervasive smell that I believed was smoke throughout the property, although maybe it was something else, but it was not pleasant. The property has excellent views of the desert landscape and Phoenix skyline, and we found the '70s-80s era decorations and architecture hilariously campy and fun. The master bed was comfortable, and the huge master bathroom was great for sharing with additional guests upstairs. My teenage cousin had the downstairs bed and bathroom all to herself, and that worked very well. The main problem once we found the place was the woodpecker. Every morning around 5am we were awoken by a loud rattling/drilling sound that shook the entire house for about 20 seconds every 10 minutes. We thought it was construction crews outside, or the septic system, or some other mechanical issue, but in fact, it was a woodpecker pecking at the geodome's chimney every morning! We contacted Sue about this on the third day once we figured out the source of the sound, and she was helpful and offered to send someone out to cover up the chimney to keep the bird out, but we still had the same issue the next morning. Sue was helpful throughout the process, and these hiccups (other than the incorrect driving directions) were not her fault, it just happened to be a comedy of errors.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you had some issues. I thought I sent directions myself. We had a handy man go over the day you left ( he couldn't go on Saturday as he was booked) and he covered the chimney with wire. I hope that works. I really don't know what the smell is, I will ask the cleaner to see what she thinks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun Time

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here. A little off the path but that's what made it special

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

A great experience!

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect stay in Laveen. We booked the Dome to attend some spring training games in Tempe and Glendale, and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. The grill was a nice bonus along with the ample space and ping pong / pool table. Everything was in order when we arrived and the cleanliness of the property was ideal. We loved spotting wildlife in the evenings and the remote location of the Dome. Having access to a washer and dryer was great, the kitchen was well appointed and the quiet desert evenings were a true bonus after spending busy days in the cities.

Lastly, staying in a geodesic dome is always fun and despite the size of the unit, the AC works incredibly well. Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bozeman Montana

Great value

  • 4 of 5

It's a little dated (80's-ish), but who cares when everything works and the price is good! We enjoyed using the BBQ and the ping pong table. It's fairly close to downtown yet still out in the desert.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spring training and NASCAR race trip

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, and clean. Great place to enjoy our vacation. Owner was excellent to work with.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Phoenix International
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Highway 10
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
T-Bone Steakhouse
Car: necessary

Located near South Mountain, just blocks from Phoenix


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Laveen Village, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £82
Cleaning £82
Property Damage Protection £49
Tax Rate 8.28%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Laveen Village, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master/Upstairs - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom /Downstairs - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    First Floor Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties