HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful Renovated Historic Home In Kinston Historic District.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Kinston - Harperville

Great Country Home Waiting For You. Close To Downtown Kinston.

Nostalgic home with large rooms and lots of wooden floors. Enjoy spending time in an American classic with updated heating and cooling system, recently painted interior and modern kitchen. This home offers a gentler way of life. This three bedroom house built in 1909 features three baths, a queen bed, two doubles with a king size bed. The property has all the necessary amenities, TV, DVD player, dishes and utensils, hairdryers, air conditioning, and laundry facilities.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Eleanor Harper
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2016

Why Eleanor Harper chose North Carolina

A notable frame example of the Colonial Revival style is that said to have been designed by Sidney Andrews of Norfolk, Virginia, for J.F. "Jack" Parrott.. Built prior to the opening of the second section of Mitchelltown, this house caused the extension of West Washington Avenue to be made two lots north of its eastern section.

What makes this house unique

This house is minutes away from The Chef and The Farmer. Most of the guests are avid viewers of the A Chef’s Life on PBS.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Renovated Historic Home In Kinston Historic District.
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
5

End of Semester

  • 5 of 5

As always this is a fabulous house to rent when staying in Kinston. My classmates and I were coming down for our last week of finals at LCC and was nervous that we wouldn't find a place to stay or stay hours away from campus. Fortunately the Harper House was up and running! It was such a blessing. Mrs. Harper got back to me like 20min after I asked of the status on the house due to the hurricane.

The owners of the Harper House are wonderful in the upkeep of the property and excellent in the check in/out process. I always this place when we had to stay, it definitely feels like home when you are away!

PS: The new showerhead in the upstairs bathroom was on point after a long day with hospital rotations. :)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tomika, we were happy to accommodate you and your classmates! It's a blessing that the house was spared from the flooding of the nearby Neuse River, even though we had some damage on the outside from Hurricane Matthew. We appreciate you coming back to the area and giving us the opportunity to host you and your classmates! Although, Debra and Joe from next door moved to Phoenix, Paul and Marie had nothing but wonderful compliments that you took good care of the house. Regards, Eleanor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A Spacious Home

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I visited Kinston, NC with two other couples in August in order to dine at The Chef and the Farmer and The Boiler Room. We had a great time. It is a marvelous place to visit with a bunch of friends for a weekend, especially if you are a fan of "A Chef's Life" -- a popular show on PBS about chef, Vivian Howard, who owns and operates The Chef and the Farmer and The Boiler Room with her husband Ben.

The home is spacious and comfortable. Built in the 1920's it has a wonderful charm about it. The home is in need of exterior repairs (the owner informed us of ongoing repairs in progress), but the interior has been remodeled. The home is very convenient to downtown Kinston. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants and to Mother Earth Brewery and the Farmer's Market. The neighborhood is an old one; many of the surrounding homes are in need of repair; but as a whole many homes are in the process of rehabilitation, which mirrors the city of Kinston. We felt completely safe in the home.

The home is well furnished. We cooked breakfast and one dinner in the home. There is no cable or satellite television, only a digital antenna. I would recommend to the owner a newer television in the living room area. Wifi is provided and we brought an Amazon Firestick with us which worked well with one of the newer bedroom televisions. There was a shortage of wine glasses, of which we informed the owner. I would have liked some pictures on the walls. We communicated all of this to the owner, who promised to address these concerns. The owner, Eleanor, was very pleasant, responsive and easy to work with.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anthony for the wonderful write up! The Chef and Farmer is hit with out of town foodies! We already got the wine glasses in the kitchen and will look at replacing the tv and pictures when we get to Kinston at the end of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved it!!!!

  • 4 of 5

This property is huge!!! While we know Kinston isn't a "resort" town, the neighborhood was fine.

Also:

-furnishings were great, love that it wasn't just bare minimum (dishes and utensils, W/D, ironing board nice bonus)

-clean when we arrived, clean linens that smelled FRESH!!!!

-books and games a nice plus

-love that we could control temperature

-love that we didn't feel watched, that the caretaker wasn't popping around all the time

-wall colors weren't jarring, nice on the eyes

My family and I will definitely be renting here again!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Joy, You and your family are already booked for next year! Really enjoyed having your at our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice old house

  • 4 of 5

Very nice old house. We had no real issues except none of the DVD players worked and the upstairs shower had no water pressure. The neighbors did play loud music early in the am but that's not the owners fault. But it was a big old house and a lot of fun to stay at. Downtown Kinston had some great restaurants also.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tommy appreciate your candid feedback. Over time, hard-water minerals in tap water build up and clog the spray holes in shower-heads-hence the low water pressure. For both DVD players not playing is a mystery to me, especially the blue ray since it's not even a year old. I know that you were busy and probably didn't have the time to reach out me or Paul on these items. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. We are working on correcting them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I DIG this house!!!

  • 5 of 5

I always enjoy staying at this house. It is very convenient and the neighbors are nice.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome stay once again!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This home is so homey that my classmates and I always enjoy staying here. A nice big yard to have a bar-b-cue and huge kitchen to cook. Staying at this home is always a great time!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
http://chefandthefarmer.com
Car: recommended

Come stay close to downtown Kinston, North Carolina: a town in the midst of a 21st century renaissance. Let Kinston captivate you with its Southern charm. Civil War buffs can find plenty to explore in Kinston and Lenoir County as you visit the First Battle of Kinston and Battle of Wyse Fork battlefields. For nature lovers, Kinston is an ideal location with plenty of parks, waterways and recreational spaces. Kinston is close to other cities such as New Bern, Greenville, Rocky Mount and Raleigh.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Kinston, Coastal North Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£376
for 2 nights
From
£116
£888
£2,622
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £47
Cleaning Fee £99
Tax Rate 4.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Kinston, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3006 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties