HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Jim Thorpe Weekender

44 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Jim Thorpe - Jim Thorpe Weekender

1 bedroom apartment close to downtown Jim Thorpe

The town of Jim Thorpe is an awesome place to visit - it has it all! Beautiful Historic downtown surrounded by picturesque mountains with the fast moving Lehigh River cutting through at the edge of town. The downtown has several very nice restaurants, a couple of great pubs, about 40 shops of all kinds, plus historic and cultural attractions such as Asa Packer mansion, the old Mauch Chunk jailhouse, train rides through the Lehigh Gorge, the Opera House with live music every weekend, plus the historic Eckleys Miners' Village close by. There are hiking and biking trails nearby, a lake just a few miles above town, and great skiing at Blue Mountain, Big Boulder and Jack Frost.

This is a weekend getaway apartment located just one block from the Lehigh River and fifteen minute walk into historic downtown Jim Thorpe. The apartment is equipped with a queen size bed, a sleeper sofa, gas fireplace (cold months only), basic cable TV, a DVD player, WIFI, new kitchen, rustic living room and new bathroom. There is a shaded brick courtyard in the back to relax outside. The apartment also has original artwork hanging on the walls painted by the owner. Painting reproductions are for sale downtown at the Bear Appetite Cafe and the owners original tee shirts designs for sale at the Mauch Chunk 5 &10 located on Broadway and Horizon Gifts located where Race street and Broadway meet.

Check in - after 2:00pm and Check out - by 11:00am

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Steve Allen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2016


based on 44 holidaymaker reviews

Jim Thorpe Weekender
average rating of 4.818182 based on 44 reviews


  • 5 of 5

This has become our secret getaway, we have stayed here twice and we will be back. Apartment is always clean and feels like home Steve and his family do a great job!

Jim & Kathy M.

Date of stay 9/22 - 9/24

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Space

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent three nights in this apartment while on a road trip through Penn and NY. The apartment is very nice. It is ample size with a separate living area, a separate bedroom and a full kitchen. The bed is comfortable and we slept well. Furniture in the living area is large and comfy and the kitchen has a table and a snack bar where we ate breakfast each morning. The location is decent, up the hill from a grocery store and close to several restaurants. It is about a 15 minute walk to downtown Jim Thorpe. You need to cross the bridge and then walk along the main highway to get to downtown. There is a sidewalk/bike path the entire way so it is a safe walk. We were here in September so there was not a lot of activity going on. Location is quiet, clean and we felt very safe in the area.

We went to Mauck Chuck Lake which is nice but almost no one on the beach while we were there. Walked along the LeHigh Gorge for a few miles. Hiked to the top of the waterfall at Glen Onoko Park which was somewhat strenuous but well worth the effort. And make sure you go to Hickory Run Park and see the boulder field.

We were disappointed in downtown. There are several buildings there that are showing their wear and tear. This is such a nice, quaint historic village that if the city would invest some funds into improving properties, this could really be nice. Just my opinion. We ate at Molly MacGuires one night which was very good. Broadway Pub and Grill was a major disappointment. I had a T Bone steak and my wife had blackened haddock. Both meals were overly salty and my steak was a poor cut of meat. Definitely not worth the cost. Pizza at Gaetaners was also poor. The crust was soggy and chewy. We should have taken advantage of the kitchen in the apartment and dined in each night but how do you know? The food certainly was not a reflection on the apartment. We would definitely stay here again if we get back to this area.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The place was excellent! It was clean, well-kept amd a cozy weekend gateaway.

  • 5 of 5

We will rent the place again if ever we go back to Jim Thorpe. It was well-kept, nicely decorated, and a cozy weekender place to stay. The linens and towels were fresh smelling and clean. We had a small prob with the satellite and plumbing in the toilet but Steve, the owner took care of it immediately. And, he is a very nice guy!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great apartment!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, daughter and I went up for a weekend in August to go whitewater rafting on the Lehigh River. We stayed here and it was perfect. Steve could not have been nicer and was quick to respond to any questions I had. The apartment was great - clean and had all of the amenities we needed. Nicely decorated and a really comfortable bed. Plenty of extras like blankets, coffee and information on area attractions. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming in to the area. Thanks Steve!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lambertville, NJ

Nice place to visit, but apartment wasn't as comfortable as we expected

  • 3 of 5

We met the owner upon arrival, and he was very friendly. We were disappointed that the AC didn't cool down the apartment sufficiently...it was difficult to sleep because it was so warm. Constantly being warm and having difficulty sleeping put a damper on the trip. I like to stay in VRBOs because I can cook some meals at home. Unfortunately, I didn't do much cooking there because of the heat. There were very limited cooking supplies...two pots, no vegetable peeler, no cutting board, nothing to use to cook things in the oven, no sponge and only one piece of tin foil. The last issue was the lack of ventilation. The windows didn't open so the bathroom started to smell moldy with our bathing suits hanging up to dry. The location was fine and parking was easy. It was nice to see the owner's paintings on the wall. With some changes, it would be much more comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I will try and correct any of the issues you had during your stay. It was extremely hot this summer which made it difficult to keep the place as cool as we would like. I will try and add more cooling and ventilation to make it more comfortable during the heat of the summer. Adding more pots and pans is an easy one and we will do that right away. Thanks, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

we were very happy with the overall looks and commodities available to us while in Jim Thorpe Pa

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean, neat in appearance and it had a homey feel providing all the necessary things to have an enjoyable time while on vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Jim Thorpe, Poconos

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £21

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Jim Thorpe in Pennsylvania

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with stand up shower. Towels and linens are provided
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen Size bed + one sleeper sofa
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties