HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Hillcrest 1-bedroom On Quiet Canyon

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom , 2 Sleeps

Newly remodeled 1bedroom apartment

This is on a quiet canyon with cool breezes coming up from the bay, yet walking distance to clubs, restaurants, grocery stores of HIllcrest. Also to SD Zoo\Balboa Park.

The Space

Super quiet unit that looks onto a canyon yard. Nice cool breezes blow up the canyon from San Diego bay.

private entrance.

Easy street parking is always available.

Guest Access

Private complete unit with furnished kitchen and shared laundry (washer and dryer).

There is Wifi internet access.

The Neighborhood

Hillcrest is a very lively neighborhood that is 10min from the airport, 5 min from downtown, 15min from the beach.

There are many clubs, great restaurants and bars within walking distance of my place. Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo is about a 10-15 min walk or an easy drive.

Getting around

Most guest have a car but these days Uber or Lyft will work just fine.

More Details

Owner
JAMES MCDERMOTT
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 April, 2018

About JAMES MCDERMOTT

I have lived in San Diego since 1989 and love it.

I travel throughout Central and South America for work. I usually travel 50% of the time.

Luckily my (website hidden) rental home is pretty much plug-n-play and I have local friends who help with emergencies.

I enjoy travelling for vacation as well as scuba, biking, swimming, etc.

JAMES MCDERMOTT purchased this house in 1995

Why JAMES MCDERMOTT chose Hillcrest

Fantastic location. 10min to airport, downtown, convention center, zoo, Balboa Park. And a couple of blocks from all the restaurants, clubs, etc of University Ave in Hillcrest.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hillcrest in San Diego

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - Full-sized bed
  • Large bedroom with full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

59% Complete
31% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Hillcrest 1-bedroom On Quiet Canyon
average rating of 4.4375 based on 32 reviews
5

Cute little space in great neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Clean and James was wonderful

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and convenient!

  • 5 of 5

The location and price was just unbeatable! The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Needs a lot of maintainence work

  • 1 of 5

Host is very laissez faire about the property. There are termites evident on the deck support post as well as on boards to upper deck. Bathroom wood work needs painting. The box spring needs replacing its dirty. I have rented through VRBO many times and he is the only host to tell me to use the website for his secure information, I had to be persistent in order to obtain it.

It was spotless thanks to his cleaning lady.

I would not recommend this place nor use it again, definitely not accurately represented in the photos.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. As my welcome book says, if you are dissatisfied with anything please let me know. It's saddens me that on the multiple occasions when I came over to personally assist you, you didn't mention any of your concerns. In fact, when I asked if you were enjoying your stay you replied "yes." There is no box spring so I'm not sure what that comment is about. I suggest people use the website for Check-In so they always have it in case of emergency or they forget. I believe I told you that if you couldn't find it or use it, to let me know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another wonderful stay in Hillcrest!

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year staying here, with our two small dogs, and we're already planning to stay again next summer. Perfect quiet location, and just the right size for two people with two dogs. Thanks again for having us!

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice and quiet

  • 4 of 5

Owner was very responsive to requests. Location is great. We had a nice time.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful and charming

  • 5 of 5

This is a cute rental that feels like home. Situated in a safe, clean neighbourhood we fell in love with the access to public transit, major areas of attraction such as Balboa Park and the Zoo (all walking distances). There is a bus stop at the end of the street that takes you straight to downtown/gas lamp quarter/Petco Park and for those who love to walk, you are able to walk to lots of different amenities.

Another perk of this rental is the privacy. It felt very private and the deck is nestled right in the view of a canyon. Very cool!

We also appreciated added touched by the owner such as a wealth of information that was left behind for us to learn about and explore San Diego.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £35.76
Pet Fee £35.76
Damage Insurance £42.2

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable