HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Secluded Retreat with Hot Tub, and Pond ideal for Fisherman or Family Get Away

People6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Large Mouth Bass and Brim Stocked 14 acre Pond located on 175 wooded acres.

800 square foot newly remodeled retreat with 400 square foot screened in porch overlooking the pond. Solid Heart Pine Walls and hand made aspen log beds offer a rustic feel in the heart of the comfort. 6 person Hot Tub, rocking Chairs, love seat and a picnic table all on the screened in porch offer a relaxing, comfortable area to enjoy the sunset over the pond. The private 14 acre pond is fully stocked with large mouth bass and brim and is offered for the use of guests only. There are two aluminum jon boats supplied with the property for the use of the guests. Renters are more than welcome to bring paddle boats or kayaks to explore the ponds three coves. The wood dock is ideal for fishing or for use as swim platform or deck, or for viewing the wild ducks and geese that frequent the property. The 175 acre property offers plenty of room to take leisurely strolls and is home to an abundance of turkey, and deer. During the winter weather, the house is ideal for families that want a quiet escape. The house is supplied with linens, towels, coffee pot, pots, pans and a charcoal grill. Located 35 miles of east of Columbia South Carolina, 8 miles west of Orangeburg, the house is easy to reach but still an idyllic spot for fishermen.


Owner
Tris Waystack
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 August, 2017

Why Tris Waystack chose Lake Marion

My wife, children and I throughaly enjoy the outdoors. Between 4 wheeling, hunting and fishing we have spent much family time together in this area. Born and raised in Orangeburg, i fell in love with the charm of the cabin and want to make it available to others that might not have the same access to outdoors as I have been granted.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Orangeburg in Orangeburg County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Bunk Bed , Hand made aspen log beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • Kayaking
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Retreat with Hot Tub, and Pond ideal for Fisherman or Family Get Away
average rating of 4.864865 based on 37 reviews
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

It was relaxing and a great break from my busy life. I loved the cabin and would stay again soon.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
milwaukie, OR
2

Opposite of "peace and queit"

  • 2 of 5

My personnel experience was not a good one. I came from Oregon to stay at a peaceful, away from it all vacation destination and fish the pond among other lakes in the Carolinas and was highly disappointed. I guess you can't always go by reviews even if there are many that are good. Here are some pros and cons.

a/c

hot tub

big yard

reclining chair

couch/love seat

shower pressure

cooking supplies

Cons

A gun firing range within got to be a 1/2 mile with tournaments all day, after day. 8am to 8:30 pm. every 5 seconds very loud. Tris will tell you that it's unusual. It should be in the ad that it happens. After leaving messages on his home and cell mid afternoon 2 days before my rental time was up I informed that I couldn't take any more gun fire and that I would be there departing the next day, one day early and thought that I should have partial reimbursement. After no return call he came and woke me up by knocking on the front door at 8 a.m the next morning, when I had to get good sleep for a long drive day to ask if I was leaving that day. Thanks a lot. At 11 a.m. sharp he was there again to rush me out. I got 1/2 day reimbursement.

Cons

Columbia airport is 30 miles north get ready for low incoming and outgoing aircraft noise all day.

no paper towels, few napkins

2 trash bags, ok

2 local tv channels the other 8 are 50s channels

dvd player no dvd's

2 shower towels

feel spring on bed, worn

terrible pillows

broken hammock

plugged bathroom sink

Didn't catch a fish, 1 bite 18 different lures, worms. Gunfire...

Misled again.

Some of us go through a lot of effort to seek out and risk going to these places and really count on review input, please list all good and bad.

Good luck

Good luck

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My wife and I do everything possible to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. I'm sorry that you did not have the same experience as all the previous guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Serene and Secluded

  • 5 of 5

This is truly a great place to stay if you are looking to get away from it all. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. We were able to use one of the boats to paddle around the private lake. The owners went above and beyond to ensure that we were able to enjoy our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Quiet and relaxing

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place is outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough good things about this property. You will not be disappointed if you book a stay here. There were 3 of us guys on a fishing trip. This beautiful rustic cabin suited us perfectly. It was very neat and clean. There is a nice lake in the back yard with a dock. The cabin has boats that you can use on the lake, and an awesome hot tub sits on the back porch. This was one of the most peaceful places I've ever traveled to. It is secluded yet conveniently located and only 30+ miles to Columbia. I highly recommend this place for a getaway just to regroup and refresh. I will definitely be back. Thank you, Tris! We were so glad to meet you and your wife. You were so helpful and able to answer every question we had. I'll be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and private

  • 5 of 5

I absolutely loved it here and plan on a return visit if Tris & Susan will allow! Fishing was fun, the hot tub was heaven and I got my much needed quiet and solitude from my fast paced life. I did not want to leave! Tris and his wife are so nice and accommodating. Thank you for sharing your wonderful little gem in the middle of peace & quiet!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Columbia
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Interstate 26
Nearest Beach
90 Miles
Charleston
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Orangeburg, South Carolina Lakes & Blackwater Rivers

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£233
for 2 nights
From
£97
From
£117
Fri,Sat
£738
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £38.84
Damage Deposit £155.36

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals