HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Family Kicking Horse Home/Chalet

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8+

6 Bedroom (3 queen beds, 2 king and 1 full size) 4 Bathroom Ski Vacation Home with many amenities including hot tub, ski/mud room. Full Kitchen with all appliances you would have in your regular home, and two cozy gas fireplaces. Perfect getaway perfect for families.

The home also comes equipped with satellite TV, a ping pong table to determine who gets the Full Size bed in the group, snow shoes, and too many other amenities to mention.

Main Gondola is only a short walk away providing serenity and privacy from the Resort Village while skiing off the mountain to the back door is achievable for lunch time! The Dawn Nordic Centre is also within a few minutes ski and nordic track is available at the rear doorstep of the home.

Perfect location for your ski vacation Getaway!

More Details

Owner
Robert Slavich
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 March, 2017

About Robert Slavich

We are a family from Southern Alberta who have long dreamed of owning a recreational ski property in the majestic BC Rockies.

Robert Slavich purchased this chalet in 2014

Why Robert Slavich chose British Columbia

We always enjoyed the skiing offered at KHMR, as the snow is world class. Some time ago we attended a wedding at the summit of the mountain (Eagle Eye) and quite simply fell in love with Kicking Horse. We decided then and there this would be the place we'd call our 'Home away from home'. The home will be complete in early December 2014 and we can't wait to begin making memories. We hope others can enjoy in what we have created and can make some memories of their own!

What makes this chalet unique

The home is a collection of ideas we have been gathering for years as part of our dream of owning a mountain home. The home is brand new as of December 2014 and we could not be happier with our decision to build our very own mountain home in beautiful Golden, British Columbia

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Columbia-Shuswap A in British Columbia

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Ensuite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 5 piece Master Ensuite with Dual Shower Heads
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Family Kicking Horse Home/Chalet
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
5

Great Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with 3 other couples and were more than comfortable. The house is spacious and very well decorated. Walking distance to both the ski hill and to the Nordic centre. It had everything we needed and more!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the stay. Your group is welcome anytime! Enjoy the rest of the ski season and hope to see you in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

incredible luxury mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had an amazing weekend stay at TaraVista with a group of 4 couples. Slav was very timely with communication and clear instructions. This house is better than the pictures - tons of space, well stocked and the 4 sizeable bedrooms offer privacy for either families or friends wanting to share. Beds were super comfy! Kitchen was well equipped to make gourmet meals. 360 view of the rockies and a quick walk to Kicking Horse base. The house has amazing storage and thoughtful spaces for apres ski. Thanks for a great stay! Would definitely recommend and come again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, very homely, friendly and responsive owners.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay, everything we needed was accommodated for.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate you staying with us! See you again in the near future enjoy the end of the season
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

We liked that the cabin had everything. Toys for the kids, pot and pans, crock pot. We found the bottom 2 rooms were a bit chilly. And the fire place glass got really hot, if you have little ones your better off keeping the fire place turned off in case they fall and touch the glass.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the stay. For future stays the thermostat on the main level operates the main level and basement level for heat. We often encourage calls to sort out issues of this kind to ensure the best stay possible!! We are usually available 24 hours a day to help as best we can. Additionally there are two electric heaters in the basement that typically keep things toasty warm!! The home also has several super comfy and soft blankets for those extra cold nights in the mountains. Glad you enjoyed the homes amenities! We try to have everything that a normal home would have and more! We hope to see you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything about the house was good. I look forward to renting it again.

  • 5 of 5

Very good! I was concerned about the walking a distance to the lift but not an issue because I could ski most of the way down to the lift and returning I could ski right to the house. The ping pong table was a lot fun.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very happy we could accommodate you and thanks for choosing us. All the best in 2017 and beyond!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay in Kicking Horse!

  • 4 of 5

We booked this property for a weekend cousins getaway and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The property was as presented on this listing with no surprises. It was well-maintained, clean, spacious and comfortable. The deck is especially nice to sit out on with amazing views of the Rockies! Also, the property has a very convenient built in sound system to which you can hook up your streaming device (phone, computer etc) and play music through the house, on the deck and even when soaking in the hot tub. It made for a great atmosphere! In addition, the kitchen is quite well stocked with everything you might need in terms of cookware and spices.

Prior to arrival, the owner provided us with ample opportunity to ask questions and responded quickly with answers. During our stay we ran into an issue with the ice maker not making ice (or rather as fast as we needed it) and he graciously offered to compensate us for ice that we had to purchase. Aside from that it does take some time to receive your deposit back as the owner relies on the auto-refund option that is set to refund 1 week after departure. I have stayed at other VRBO properties and I would say that this could be improved.

All in all, this is a great place to stay when in the Golden/Kicking Horse area!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks and appreciate the feedback. We really endeavor to achieve 5-star reviews on all our stays and always aim to please. I believe the refund was issued within our stated refund policy and rental agreement but will endeavor to improve on this on future stays. Thanks again and all the best to you and your group. We appreciate the positive feedback received as well!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Location

Nearest Airport
182 Miles
Calgary International Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Golden Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
TransCanada Highway #1
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Columbia-Shuswap A, Canada

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring~Fall
1 May 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,025
for 3 nights
From
£282
From
£371
Fri,Sat
£1,960
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£814
for 2 nights
From
£318
From
£674
Fri,Sat
£2,792
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £848.55
Cleaning Fee £169.71 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

The property is in a sensitive strata with regards to noise bylaws - Note that any noise complaints may be subject to a forfeit of Damage Deposit and repeat noise offences may result in eviction and/or contact from the local authorities

Cancellation Policy
Bookings prior to 60 days of check in - 80% Refund
Bookings between 30-60 days of check in - 60% Refund
Bookings within 30 days of check in - 0% Refund


NOTE
***If a reservation is cancelled after a non-refund date if the owner is successful in renting the home a refund of 80% of amounts paid to date will be applied***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable