HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful Family Kicking Horse Home/Chalet

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday chalet in Columbia-Shuswap A - TaraVista

6 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8+

6 Bedroom (3 queen beds, 2 king and 1 full size) 4 Bathroom Ski Vacation Home with many amenities including hot tub, ski/mud room. Full Kitchen with all appliances you would have in your regular home, and two cozy gas fireplaces. Perfect getaway perfect for families.

The home also comes equipped with satellite TV, a ping pong table to determine who gets the Full Size bed in the group, snow shoes, and too many other amenities to mention.

Main Gondola is only a short walk away providing serenity and privacy from the Resort Village while skiing off the mountain to the back door is achievable for lunch time! The Dawn Nordic Centre is also within a few minutes ski and nordic track is available at the rear doorstep of the home.

Perfect location for your ski vacation Getaway!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Robert Slavich
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Robert Slavich

We are a family from Southern Alberta who have long dreamed of owning a recreational ski property in the majestic BC Rockies.

Robert Slavich purchased this chalet in 2014

Why Robert Slavich chose British Columbia

We always enjoyed the skiing offered at KHMR, as the snow is world class. Some time ago we attended a wedding at the summit of the mountain (Eagle Eye) and quite simply fell in love with Kicking Horse. We decided then and there this would be the place we'd call our 'Home away from home'. The home will be complete in early December 2014 and we can't wait to begin making memories. We hope others can enjoy in what we have created and can make some memories of their own!

What makes this chalet unique

The home is a collection of ideas we have been gathering for years as part of our dream of owning a mountain home. The home is brand new as of December 2014 and we could not be happier with our decision to build our very own mountain home in beautiful Golden, British Columbia

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Family Kicking Horse Home/Chalet
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
4

Great place to stay in Kicking Horse!

  • 4 of 5

We booked this property for a weekend cousins getaway and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The property was as presented on this listing with no surprises. It was well-maintained, clean, spacious and comfortable. The deck is especially nice to sit out on with amazing views of the Rockies! Also, the property has a very convenient built in sound system to which you can hook up your streaming device (phone, computer etc) and play music through the house, on the deck and even when soaking in the hot tub. It made for a great atmosphere! In addition, the kitchen is quite well stocked with everything you might need in terms of cookware and spices.

Prior to arrival, the owner provided us with ample opportunity to ask questions and responded quickly with answers. During our stay we ran into an issue with the ice maker not making ice (or rather as fast as we needed it) and he graciously offered to compensate us for ice that we had to purchase. Aside from that it does take some time to receive your deposit back as the owner relies on the auto-refund option that is set to refund 1 week after departure. I have stayed at other VRBO properties and I would say that this could be improved.

All in all, this is a great place to stay when in the Golden/Kicking Horse area!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks and appreciate the feedback. We really endeavor to achieve 5-star reviews on all our stays and always aim to please. I believe the refund was issued within our stated refund policy and rental agreement but will endeavor to improve on this on future stays. Thanks again and all the best to you and your group. We appreciate the positive feedback received as well!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

5 stars all through

  • 5 of 5

We rented this place for a family get together in Aug 2016 and found it to be a great place at an excellent location and owned by a true gentleman and his family. The house is well stocked with a great layout for larger groups to spend some quality time together with the option to retreat to one of the bedrooms for some quiet time :)

We loved the stay and would recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the stay! Glad you had a great experience and hope we can serve you in the future
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

This property is just as nice as the pictures. It is clean, well maintained and has loads of extra features that made our four nights here very comfortable. The hot tub is clean and beautifully maintained...same for the gas grill. The beds were comfortable, the towels fluffy, and the large laundry room/locker room right by the hot tub very handy. The view of the mountains from the front deck and the back hot tub are lovely.

it was really the "extras" that made this the most pleasurable place we've rented. The kitchen was truly stocked for cooking. We've rented places where there is 1 pan and 1 pot....not Tara Vista! There was even a selection of Tupperware so we could store our leftovers and not waste food. The owners left all their spices, condiments, and things aluminum foil so you don't have to buy a whole bottle of ketchup or salad dressing to use one time. The same with the laundry detergent - so nice not to have to buy a whole container in order to do two loads! The owners have a solid DVD collection and after all our hiking and white water rafting during the day it was lovely to soak in the hot tub, cook dinner, and relax with the Oceans 11 trilogy :)

Rob was very responsive to my emails and phone calls when I was considering the property and signing up to rent the property. We only had one question during our visit and Tara answered the phone and the question quickly.

The only disadvantage of this property was mentioned in a previous review - a high damage deposit ($1,500 CAD) which is due along with the rent at time of booking. The damage deposit credit showed up on our credit card nine days after we checked out.

This property is quite beautiful and we highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Golden area. Thank you to Rob and Tara for sharing your home with us!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments and stay. We really try hard to provide a great home with all the amenities (and more) of your regular home. We recognize people are choosing to spend their hard earned dollars and time "with us" so we are truly aiming to please. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house and views

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 nights. The house had plenty of room for each of us to have our own bedroom. The beds were really comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed except food of course. The dining room table is huge and we had wonderful meals at it. I loved cooking on the grill and enjoying the view. The owner was very helpful. Overall a great house and stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you stay! Please come and stay with us again in the future
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Great Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a wedding on Kicking Horse, not only was the house amazing and had everything we needed the owner Slav touched in with me to make sure our stay was going well. It is exactly as advertised and i have no hesitation recommending it to others.

David

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy we could be part of your wedding weekend! Please come and see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

Overall an amazing property and the property owner was more than accommodating. We will definitely be back!

Ryan

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! Your group was equally great to deal with. Would be happy to have you back anytime! Enjoy the rest of the summer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
182 Miles
Calgary International Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Golden Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
TransCanada Highway #1
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Columbia-Shuswap A, British Columbia Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas 2016
23 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£4,150
for 5 nights
From
£792
£4,783
 
 
New Years '17
31 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,281
for 2 nights
From
£1,045
£5,892
 
 
Family Day
17 Feb 2017 - 20 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,946
for 3 nights
From
£919
£5,259
 
 
Family Week
21 Feb 2017 - 26 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,471
for 3 nights
From
£760
£4,942
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£868
for 2 nights
From
£339
From
£719
Fri,Sat
£2,978
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £181 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £905
Tax Rate 5.0%

The property is in a sensitive strata with regards to noise bylaws - Note that any noise complaints may be subject to a forfeit of Damage Deposit and repeat noise offences may result in eviction and/or contact from the local authorities

Cancellation Policy
Bookings prior to 60 days of check in - 80% Refund
Bookings between 30-60 days of check in - 60% Refund
Bookings within 30 days of check in - 0% Refund


NOTE
***If a reservation is cancelled after a non-refund date if the owner is successful in renting the home a refund of 80% of amounts paid to date will be applied***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Columbia-Shuswap A in Canada

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Ensuite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 5 piece Master Ensuite with Dual Shower Heads
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot