HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Tropical Waterfront Sanctuary

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,440 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

This unique, healing location is like stepping into the tropical garden of Eden

Enjoy the sunrise AND the sunsets over gorgeous Cedar Lake. Yes, we have an small island directly offshore that's a protected rookery - often teeming with exotic and endangered birds. The sounds created are mesmerizing, and deeply therapeutic. You will return year after year for the birds alone. Among the endangered species you will see are Everglade Snail Kite, Audubon's Crested Caracara, Piping Plover, Florida Scrub-jay, Wood Stork, Red-cockaded Woodpecker, and if you get lucky, the occasional otter has been known to visit. Take the kayaks out to the island... but please try not to disturb any of the area's many species.

Friends, this is a modest, two bedroom home - but we feel the location is hard to beat. The master bedroom has a king, the guest bedroom has a full, and the Florida room has a pull-out couch bed. Minutes from the gulf, you are at end of a cul de sac and on the point of Cedar Point Drive. Water views from the east, south, and west. Prime fishing off of our private dock (the "sweet spot" of Cedar Lake), or grab a rod and hop in one of our kayaks to explore one of the lake's many channels. If you kayak into the gulf, be sure and use the clear-bottomed kayak. It's taken us years of searching, but we've discovered where the wild dolphins frolic. Secret map available upon request. In ground kidney-shaped pool (with lanai).

52' and 48' HDTVs w/DVD & 1000s of Movies and Channels via Roku, and a spectacular nature show out on the lanai. Basic kitchen. Linens and towels provided. We are pet-friendly. Secure, 1/4 acre fenced in lakefront yard - perfect for your well-behaved dog, with pet-doors installed to the lanai, Florida room, and garage area. Pool and lawn service included. Premium cable/high-speed internet included. Hop on one of the many bikes or kayaks and discover the Nature Coast. They are included without any extra charges - we only ask that you use them with great care and return them clean and in repair. Please check us out on a satellite map - the location and setting will speak for itself. Try zooming in on the island... imagine the sounds. Better still, view our current video tour at https://youtu.be/1q_2cyO_lg4

Oh, and did we mention the birds?

More Details

Property Manager
Raynard Dean Packard
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 November, 2017

About Raynard Dean Packard

I am a therapist and Clinical Director of a nonprofit counseling agency for young adults and families. This location was purchased specifically for it's ambient, healing, and therapeutic qualities. Each season has it's own, unique qualities, and we schedule retreats here year-round.

Raynard Dean Packard purchased this house in 2009

Why Raynard Dean Packard chose Lakewood Villas

While the major theme parks and world-reknown gulf beaches are close, you might consider exploring the extraordinary resources of our Nature Coast.

Green Key Beach on the gulf is a bike ride away, whether you're alone or with your honey, this hidden gem offers a multitude of possibilities for relaxation, solitude and fun. The most obvious choice, of course, is soaking up some rays, taking a swim or walking hand-in-hand along the shore. But keep the stroll going and a 650 feet boardwalk that snakes through the mangroves will lead you to a two-story observation deck overlooking the water. This is perhaps the most serene spot of all because it's far enough away to escape what can be a busy beach.

Explore the Jay B. Starkey Wilderness Park on our included bikes. The park's multi-purpose trail consists of 7.3 miles of paved surface for bike riding, roller blading, jogging or walking and it connects to the Suncoast Trail (42 miles). There is a 10 mile equestrian trail and 13 miles of hiking trails.

Right down the road is New Port Richey's best kept secret: the James E. Grey Preserve. These 80 acres boast over 140 species of birds, and some of the best kayaking in Florida. The park is the end of a Florida Canoe Trail that runs from Frances Park 4.5 mile down the river. The river runs slow but has many hairpin turns that will be challenging for the beginner but navigable. This section is very scenic with practically no development along the shores of the river. Visitors can also kayak through the canals of the preserve, which has natural Florida ecosystems, hardwood hammock uplands and swamps.

We have an on-site Electric Scooter available for lease. Great for local trips. Simply plug in, charge overnight, and go. No motorcycle endorsement required. We also have a standard shift four-door wagon available to transport kayaks to launch on our rivers - or into the mangrove forests along our coast. We regularly have up close and personal encounters with manatee & dolphin.

What makes this house unique

Did we mention the birds?!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Home was adequate but not fancy. Owner was very responsive to a couple of issues that came up during the stay. The pool area was very spacious, but it could use some more furniture, such as a chase lounge or two to relax around the pool. Was accomodating for our pets, which was great. Overall, a good experience.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 3

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Tampa OR St. Pete/Clearwater
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Green Key Beach
Car: recommended

Green Key Beach on the gulf is a bike ride away, whether you're alone or with your honey, this hidden gem offers a multitude of possibilities for relaxation, solitude and fun. The most obvious choice, of course, is soaking up some rays, taking a swim or walking hand-in-hand along the shore. But keep the stroll going and a 650 feet boardwalk that snakes through the mangroves will lead you to a two-story observation deck overlooking the water. This is perhaps the most serene spot of all because it's far enough away to escape what can be a busy beach.

Explore the Jay B. Starkey Wilderness Park on our six (6) included bikes. The park's multi-purpose trail consists of 7.3 miles of paved surface for bike riding, roller blading, jogging or walking and it connects to the Suncoast Trail (42 miles). There is a 10 mile equestrian trail and 13 miles of hiking trails.

Right down the road is New Port Richey's best kept secret: the James E. Grey Preserve. These 80 acres boast over 140 species of birds, and some of the best kayaking in Florida. The park is the end of a Florida Canoe Trail that runs from Frances Park 4.5 mile down the river. The river runs slow but has many hairpin turns that will be challenging for the beginner but navigable. This section is very scenic with practically no development along the shores of the river. Visitors can also kayak through the canals of the preserve, which has natural Florida ecosystems, hardwood hammock uplands and swamps.

Oh, and did we mention the birds?

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lakewood Villas in New Port Richey East

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1440 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • 5 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
By prearrangement with owner, we now offer an on-site TaoTao Electric Scooter. No Florida motorcycle endorsement required. Simply charge overnight, and GO. For local use only.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
44% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
Tropical Waterfront Sanctuary
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 12 reviews
4

Family, pet friendly home on beautiful lot in quiet neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

My family and I enjoyed our stay. We all live locally so it was a great place to celebrate the 4th, which was my husband's 70th birthday, but feel like we were on vacation. We enjoyed the pool and all had a great time on lake in the kayaks too. However, the housekeeping needs better attention to detail, and the stove needs to be grounded, it zapped quite a few of us.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Holy smokes thank you for letting us know Sandra. We're "shocked," ha-ha, and addressed these things immediately. We're so pleased you got the kayaks out. Cedar Lake is so alive. Please consider us for future bookings - our returning guests enjoy substantial discounts.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Missing a few ingredients....

  • 4 of 5

This home was clean on the inside, but as other reviewers have noted, is needing some updates. We found light switches that did not work, others that worked in combination with separate switches, and some that did not work anything at all. Most rooms do not have any overhead lighting which makes for dark rooms. There were at least 2 doors that would not shut due to swelling or paint. (Bathroom and bedroom). The master bedroom has a large screen in the rear window that goes to the Florida room. However, there is no window at all in the opening, and the couch sleeper in the Florida room is of no use as you would invade the privacy of the master bedroom due to the missing window. The 2nd bedroom has a double bed that needs to be updated with a better mattress and at least a box spring setup. The master bath shower has been upgraded to tile and was very nice. We came just after Irma and the exterior had some issues with screens torn on the pool enclosure and the grass needed to be mowed(and was mowed while we were there), but I understand and have no issues on the exterior items. The yard would be huge if some of the shrubs were trimmed back a touch. Overall, the location was good, and the house was acceptable, but with some general maintenance done, it could be so much more. There were multiple birds every day, and the view of the lake is good.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to say our post-Irma updates are in progress, and we strive to make this location a premium experience. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the birds.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

TRULY Unique

  • 2 of 5

Could of been so much better! Arrived to find inside and outside dirty and smelly. The amenities listed were greatly exaggerated, house needs an entire update. We had to do a lot to make it livable, even go out and buy and assemble a workable grill!! Way too much $ for too little, owner really needs to invest some dough in this sanctuary.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. Major updates and changes are in process. Please view our video here for a recent walk-through. We replaced the grill and refunded our family their cleaning fee. We work very hard to resolve any issues in real time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

shabby

  • 2 of 5

It was a lovely view of the pool and water area. There are many different birds to see and it is very peaceful. However, the house itself really isn't ready for visitors. It is shabby, with very old furnishings, torn and taped together furniture and a depressing atmosphere. They did have plenty of towels, and the water pressure was good. With some work this home could be ready for visitors, but not as it stands now.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Connie, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're continually replacing and upgrading furnishings, and we will address this directly. We are pleased you appreciate the unique beauty and natural splendor of the location.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grand Ledge, MI
4

New Port Richey Getaway

  • 4 of 5

The backyard setting of this house is truly beautiful and relaxing. We really enjoyed watching and listening to the many varieties of birds that make this area their home. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood and is close to shopping, restaurants, and many tourist attractions. There are many nice parks with good trails also close by. The house itself is a little tired looking and could use some TLC. The owner was very quick to respond to any concerns we had during our 5 week stay.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Benton Tennessee
5

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

Very pleased.

I enjoyed watching the sun rise over the lake creating a beautiful reflection in the water as me and my fiance sat poolside and watched

Nice quiet neighborhood, but close enough to the forest trails for a good bike ride to start the day

If I had to pick one word to describe this particular rental, I would have to say "relaxing"

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Lakewood Villas, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£457
for 3 nights
£917
£2,546
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £68.09
Property Damage Protection £44.64
Tax Rate 9.0%

Contact us for our seasonal, multi-week and returning guest discounts. The property is U.S. military veteran owned and operated. Ask about our veterans discount.

The electric scooter and/or 4-door compact wagon (appropriate for transporting kayaks) may be leased for the duration of your stay.

We do not charge extra for use of the bicycles or kayaks, but ask that you use them safely and return them clean and in repair. Inquire within.

We do not require extra fees or deposits for pets, but we need them to be well behaved, kept off of the furniture, and crated when left alone. The home has 1/4 acre fenced in lakefront yard and pet doors throughout. Our lawn maintenance staff would greatly appreciate your picking up after your dog as well.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable