HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Your luxurious absolutely private getaway in the midst of everything

People6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

Stylish A-Frame Wood Chalet in secluded forest area on private road. HITS close

There is hardly anything you will miss when you are looking for the perfect place 'to get away from it all'. 10 min drive to the horse show (HITS) in Saugerties. Our stylish A-frame wood chalet located in a secluded forest area on a private road offers it all: absolute privacy and yet easy access to great dining, shopping and recreational activities such as skiing, hiking, swimming, golfing etc. Chill out in the oversize master bath tub or in front of the fireplace, watch the deer and birds on the property or try out new recipies in the fully equipped gourmet kitchen. Each bedroom has a different theme and finest bedding ( organic Coyuchi, DNY) for your utmost comfort. A fine selection of books, DVD's and CVD's adds to the in door entertainment experience.


Owner
Doris Hektor
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 December, 2016

About Doris Hektor

Full time working mother with a very demanding job. Happily married to a physician for more than 10 years. Originally from Germany. Moved to the US in 2006. After having worked in the Financial industry in Frankfurt, London and New York now moving to live and work in California. Lawyer by training, now working as a Chief Compliance Officer. Proud mother of a 3 year old girl.

Doris Hektor purchased this chalet in 2013

Why Doris Hektor chose Hudson Valley

Perfect Getaway in the midst of everything. a 1 hour and 45-minute drive from New York City. 10 min from New York Thruway. In between Woodstock and Saugerties, close to Hunter Mountain. 10 min drive to the horseshow (HITS) in Saugerties.

What makes this chalet unique

Elegant stylish chalet home in secluded forest area with easy accesss to fine dining, shopping, local attractions and sporting activities. Fully equipped gourmet kitchen, oversize soaking tub, elegant bedrooms with finest linen, state of the art entertainment equipment, fire place and much more. 10 min drive to the horse show (HITS in Saugerties.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Saugerties in Ulster County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , baby crib available upon request. Finest bedding included
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Finest bedding
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Bedroom in open studio with finest bedding and skylights.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Your luxurious absolutely private getaway in the midst of everything
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
1

WILL NOT RETURN MY DEPOSIT FOR NO REASON

  • 1 of 5

This house is advertised as being a "four bedroom" it is NOT four bedrooms, it's 3 with a loft space with a bed. That's just the beginning of my complaint. While we made the best of our stay, considering many downfalls i will try to touch upon all the reasons I would NOT rent this house.

First off, we left the house in immaculate condition almost exactly as it was found minus the beds not being made. The owner is refusing to return my deposit claiming I had more people than I divulged (which is not true) I gave ALL the names of my guests and that's all that came, I was only asked how many adults as we had 3 additional children ages 8-15.

The living space is TINY there is a dining table that's not usable bc it's too close to the couch and there are only 4 chairs with no additional in the house to allow more than that to sit play games or eat so we were standing up in the kitchen eating and we tried to use stools to play cards, but was extremely uncomfortable and did not work so we tried to watch tv but there is only room for 3-4 on the couch, a house with supposed 4 bedrooms should accommodate more people to eat and play games.

There is a stove in the basement needed for the heat in the basement otherwise it's freezing, but the stove is very dangerous to use and extremely difficult to get lit as there are these pellets that will not light. There's an enormous fire blazing from it which does not feel safe at all.

We left the house in pristine condition and are being told I cannot have my deposit back bc I had more people than I originally said--the house would not FIT any more people than I invited and told the owner that were coming bc it was very small.

The owner also told me the mountains to ski were only 5 minutes away that's a blatant LIE, I have the email to prove it, they are minimal 40 minutes away so if you don't mind traveling to ski, then have fun if it snows this 40 minutes turns into over an hour.

I inquired about my deposit several times which I finally (over a week later) received a response why I was not getting it back with lame, unreasonable FALSE excuses.

I would steer clear of this house at all costs the owner never plans on returning your deposit and is a scam artist planning on keeping it from the beginning with absolutely no intention of returning it.

Please feel free to reach out to me for more details if you wish so I can tell you other houses to rent as opposed to this one it's absolutely DESPICABLE

  • Review Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests like this make me want to not any longer list my house as a vacation rental. This guest had 3 more guests in the house than contractually agreed and thus not only violated a contractual agreement she had signed but also violated our house rules and the maximum occupancy rate for the house. She is claiming that she " only" brought three additional teenagers age 8-15 into the house behind my back who according to her would not qualify as "persons". It is clearly set out in the listing as well as the contract that each traveller ( including infants for example) have to be named and that there is an additional guest fee for every traveller for each day above 4 persons. Exceeding the max occupancy rate not only made her stay uncomfortable because the house is not designed for that many persons but also created a safety hazard and led to excessive garbage ( which cause extra costs to remove )and caused excessive cleaning costs. The guest also caused damage to a brand new carpet by lighting a pellet stove without having read the instructions in the house manual. The soot in the brand new carpet cannot be removed. In addition to that, the lighting of the stove without following instructions caused excessive smoke which caused a fire alarm. Thus not only the local fire department had to come to the house but my property manager ( who is paid by me by the hour) had to also go to the house multiple times and deal with ADT and the local police and fire department. I am sitting now on a damage of around USD 2000 and only have a security deposit of USD 500. In addition to the damage I am sitting on I am called a scam artist and in other correspondence have been called a liar and thief. In the light of the raving reviews I have always gotten on my property ( and will remain to receive) I am very disappointed and can only hope that I won't have any more travellers like this.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Retreat in the Catskills!

  • 5 of 5

Forest Peace is an extremely well located and cozy home that easily accommodates 3-4 adults all wanting separate bedrooms (or 3-4 couples). I would love to return!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Where do you live?
5

A wonderful well appointed chalet for chilling!

  • 5 of 5

What a well appointed chalet, with every thoughtful touch you could think of! You think those things don't matter, but they do. The stacked fresh towels, the fancy sheets on the already made beds, the condiments in the fridge, the stacks of CD"s, the Netflix account for movies, the waiting bottle of sparkling wine and the box of local, excellent chocolates. They matter.

There is no view to speak of at this site, but it doesn't matter. You have a private, wooded lot with hammock, central air, and a great TV. The beds are very comfortable.

On first impression, the house seems a bit chopped up and dark, but that impression quickly turns to a sense of coziness. There were small irritations, such as difficulty using the local TV stations, lack of lighting in living room, and a light in the bathroom that would mysteriously go on and then- not go on. The smoke detector went off in the middle of the night, scaring the bejesus out of us and the dog. I think there had been no tenants over the winter, thus explaining some of this system malfunction. The water pressure is not great, not unexpected for a property like this. So don't all take a shower at one time.

We appreciated the amenities for our dog, food and water bowl, and a wooded lot for nature calls. There is a lovely dog printed rug as you enter the house, would love to have one like this! We put on music, read, ate, and enjoyed the outdoors with our dog. And Saugerties, our intended destination, was very close, with some great restaurants. Red Onion was a great restaurant nearby, and do not miss Diamond Mill Inn overlooking the falls. Thank you Doris and Lynn for a great time!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Forest Peace NYE's Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Forest Peace. The photos don't do the house justice, its beautiful, comfortable, has all of the necessities, a wonderful fireplace to sit by and a fully equipped kitchen with everything you need. Lynn was super easy to communicate with and was waiting for us when we got there. It's a lovely area with lots to do. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place is a GEM!!!

  • 5 of 5

This place is a GEM!!!! We had THE PERFECT weekend staying in this beautiful, charming home. It was clean and cozy and the perfect backdrop for a weekend away. It was really reasonably priced and the rental rep was so nice and accommodating. We had zero complaints and nothing but amazing things to say about the entire experience overall. There are loads of cute shops and local restaurants nearby and we went canoeing on the lake--and even discovered a waterfall. Best weekend trip ever! We will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Wellington, Fl (winter); Upperville, Va (home)
5

Quiet and Relaxing. Leave your stress at home.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely home. Clean as a whistle. One problem only--No closets or chests for one's clothes. We loved the wrap around deck. Very relaxing after a day at the horse show. Close to horse show but very private. One bedroom (?) was actually an open room over the living room so it offered no privacy and there was no way to sleep there is people were using the living room. Still and all, it is a great house and I would highly recommend it. I will go back there happily.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Saugerties, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 30 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£918
for 2 nights
From
£346
£2,425
£6,497
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £45 per night, per additional guest
 
HITS horse show
1 Jun 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£861
for 2 nights
From
£318
£2,425
£9,184
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £45 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£918
for 2 nights
From
£346
£2,506
£7,148
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £45 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Holidays
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£918
for 2 nights
From
£346
£2,506
£7,962
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £45 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£796
for 2 nights
From
£285
From
£346
Sat
£1,936
£6,334
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £81 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £63
Refundable Damage Deposit £399
Pet Fee £80
Cleaning Fee £160 + Tax
Tax Rate 2.0%

Maximum occupancy is 6 persons ( includes infants and children). Well behaved and house trained Pets ( only dogs) allowed with owners prior approval. Pet fee will be charged. For stays longer than 2 weeks additional cleaning fees of USD 200 for every additional 2 weeks of stay will apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Location

Miss Lucy's Kitchen
The Tavern at Diamond Mills
"Great place to celebrate a special occasion!"
'Cue BBQ
"Excellent barbecue place. Great food. Low prices!"
The Red Onion
"Wonderful food!"
The Bear Cafe
"Great place for a special occasion. "
New World Home Cooking
"1 mile from the house. Graet food. Nice ambiente."
Shakespeare Stage
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Newburgh
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
New World Cooking
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Woodstock
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Rhinecliff
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
NY Thruway
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
New World Cooki
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Hunter Mountain
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Saugerties
Car: necessary

Conveniently located in between Saugerties and Woodstock with its great restaurants, art galleries, antique shops, one of a kind boutiques and Hunter Mountain for skiing, cross country and hiking. Great restaurants in Saugerties are Miss Lcy's kitchen, The Diamond Mills restaurant and Cue BBQ. A great place for breakfast and lunch is Mezza Luna which is only 1 mile away. On weekends local artists perform at the cafe ( live music, poem reading etc). 2 miles away is New World Cooking- a great place for dining. In Woodstock you will love the Bear's Inn restuarant, The Red Onion and Oriele 9. Woodstock has a year round open playhouse and in summer there are open air theatre performaces ( Shakespeare in the Park etc). In both Woodstock and Saugerties you will find great art galleries, antique shops and one of a kind boutoiques. On Saturdays from 2-4pm there is a Farmers Market in Saugerties and Woodstock has a great farmers and flea market on almost all weekends. Saugerties has a beach area, lighthouse, libray and other local ttractions. A close must see is the out door sculpure park Opus 40. The close Hudson river offers cruise. Not too far away one can do hot air balloing, winery tours, rafting etc.

Photos

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot