Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5 Bedroom family home in gated community, near Disney.

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Separate WCs1
Space 2,424 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 further half bathrooms, sleeps 12

Large 5 double bedroom house - sleeps 10. In gated community of The Sanctuary at West Haven. 2 minutes from the Greg Norman Champions Gate Golf Club and 12 minutes from Disney. House backs on to conservation area and small lake and is very private. Balcony off master bedroom (King bed) allows sunbathing even in winter! Private pool and spa tub. High speed wireless Internet, Full 51 inch HD Digital TV including Live UK Premiership football matches! Free telephone calls anywhere in USA, Low cost calls to UK, Tennis courts nearby. Located in the up market area of West Haven, near to Champions Gate, between I-4, US 27 and CR 54. South of Orlando, but 12 minutes drive from Disney (next exit on I-4)


Owner
Hazel Hughes
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2018

About Hazel Hughes

We live and work in Hertfordshire.

Hazel Hughes purchased this villa in 2003

Why Hazel Hughes chose West Haven

We had many enjoyable holidays to Florida and wanted something more permanent, we continue to visit as often as we can.

What makes this villa unique

We love the quiet position with the view over the grassed area at the back and the balcony from the master bedroom is the perfect place for a relaxing glass of wine or beer whilst watching the sunset. Close enough to escape from the parks for a few hours before returning in the evening - if you want to!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa around the West Haven around the Davenport

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2424 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Free Local Calls
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Ensuite from Master
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , between beds 4 & 5
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , between beds 2 & 3
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , opposite beds 2 & 3
    Bathroom 5 - Outdoor Shower , In pool area
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King Bed.
  • Master Bedroom has a huge ensuite bathroom, two wash basins, large walk in shower, and toilet and two walk in dressing rooms. It also has its own private balcony with views across the protected lake. Each double bedroom and each twin room share a bathroom. Upstairs this includes a toilet, wash basin and bath. Downstairs the bathroom includes a toilet, wash basin and walk in shower (ideal for elderly or those with limited movement)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
A peaceful holiday in your 'Home Away from Home'. The location of this family house is such that you will experience a quiet holiday if you plan to stay around the property. There is an extended pool deck, leisure pool and spa which overlook the conservation area and lake immediately behind the property. Amazing wildlife viewed from the balcony off the master suite includes our local alligator. There are also cranes, raccoons, geckos and tree frogs which like to climb up the walls at nightfall. To supplement your days out at the local attractions the in house entertainment includes 3 Tvs, Digital TV system including UK Premiership Football matches live, Wireless broadband and free calls anywhere in USA, low cost calls to UK (10p per minute), Wireless music speaker, CD & DVD player's with selection of movies, There is a good selection of books and board games.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
5 Bedroom family home in gated community, near Disney.
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
4

Great villa, Geat location Fantastic!

  • 4 of 5

Just returned from a 2 week stay, reading previous comments we found the villa very clean in fact spotless would be the best way to describe it. The pool was cleaned early in our stay and was cleaned again during our stay. Very spaceous and comfortable all the facility's are as described - we stayed in a few villas in florida over the recent years and this is one of the better ones. I would recommend this villa to any one looking for a large quality place to stay while on holiday vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely villa but needs more attention on cleanliness

  • 4 of 5

Lovely big villa with nice comfortable beds in a nice neighbourhood and in good distance to disney parks. I was slightly disappointmented with the cleanliness, pool could do with a good clean and it looked as if the villa had not been recently cleaned prior to our arrival, surface dust and in drawers, there was a dead frog in the shower. Also cutlery and crockery needed a rewash.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Impeccable Property... Comfortable and Convenient

  • 5 of 5

We've been coming to Florida for four years to watch our son play college baseball each spring. This property by far was the best one we have ever rented through VRBO. It was spacious, comfortable and had every convenience you could want. The backyard view with the Sandhill Cranes were beautiful to watch. It was very easy to get to the ballfields in both Auburndale and Winter Haven and anywhere else in the Rte 4 / Rte 27 corridor. When you think Orlando, thoughts typically go to theme parks and chain restaurants. We were also able to find lots of fun venues like Showcase of Citrus, Boggy Creek Airboat Rides, Tanners Lakeside Restaurant, Nothing Fancy Cafe as well as Taps and Corks and Lucky's Corner Pocket for karaoke.... Loved it all... Thank you so much!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beware the Hidden Charges

  • 2 of 5

We are frequent travellers to Orlando and usually stay at Champions Gate as we like the area and location is good for the Disney Parks. We have stayed numerous times at West Haven.

This villa is well located and is big enough for a large family with room to spare; it has comfortable beds, has all the necessary amenities and a good quality TV (although the UK football channel could not be found easily). Internet is good when working but our experience was intermittent service and we had to reboot it four times during out three week stay.

Overall, the villa has the feeling of a rental property rather than a family home: cleaning at the start was only adequate (used tissues around the bed, internal baskets not cleared), there were bare wires in the bathroom where a light should be, there are water marks and cracks on the ceilings probably where there had been some previous problem with the air conditioning. We paid for pool heating but, if it was working, it did not heat the pool very much or the level was set too low. The insect screen around the pool was damaged (probably during bad storms prior to our holiday) with, seemingly, no attempt to fix it. Also, during our stay we had to deal with a leaking toilet.

Beware that when we returned home our security deposit was reduced by over 30% when returned to us. This was not because we had done anything wrong but because the credit cards fees for the full cost of the rental was taken at the end and not as incurred. This was only explained at the end, website saying the parameters set by the owners and owners blaming the website. This left a bad feeling as it was not clear in the documentation without you reading all the fine print in the blurb. In addition we had already paid for a "processing fee" in addition to the rental cost that we are still not sure what it covers.

Overall, a great holiday, great location, a well stocked average villa but poorly maintained with a price level above average. Confusing charging structure with too much competition locally so I would not recommend or return.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, as I explained, we did suffer from some hurricane damage which necessitated the decommissioning of a small number of ceiling light fittings, due to water damage. This was for safety reasons. I understand your frustration about the charges. Anyone using the website will, unfortunately, pay them. For clarity the 'service fee' is charged by HomeAway at the beginning of the booking process. The 'processing fee' is charged by Yapstone for paying through the website. The charges were introduced in 2016. Neither of these charges are made by me. Anyone who books direct avoids all of these.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

disappointed

  • 3 of 5

Although the house is listed a superior property it is in need of renovation. the property is about 15yrs old and so are most of the fittings.We had to contact the maintenence firm on a few occasions. These included asking them to reclean the toilets , which they did but not very well, light fittings not working , the pool not heating up, this was resolved by putting more water in the pool. There were a number if issues we didn't bother to mention as we wanted to enjoy our holiday not be in the phone to he maintenence people constantly. The owner was helpful in sorting out the above problems. That said the maintenence company should be doing a better job.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you did not like our choice of furnishings for the property as I have tried to provide everything that anyone could need. Clearly my choice is not to everyone's liking. As I explained to you, we did have some hurricane damage which necessitated the decommissioning of a small number of light fitments for safety reasons. Additional lighting was available. Water levels in the pool can drop which affects the efficacy of the heating - this was resolved as soon as it was reported. It is only if guests report problems that they can be rectified, which helps the next guests too. If you could let me know what the other issues were, that you didn't want to bother with while you were on holiday, I would be very grateful so I can ensure they have been dealt with.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5

This was the third villa we've stayed in and has been the best so far. Great location for all the parks and shopping. Villa is bright, spacious and well equipped and had everything needed for a family holiday.

South-facing pool was fantastic and the villa is in a quiet neighbourhood.

We had no problems during our stay but met a guy from the management company who was very friendly.

We had an amazing holiday and would definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Champions Gate
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Chilis
Car: necessary

Perfect for one or two families, Extremely spacious - 2,500 sq ft - 3 TVs, DVD and Video players, Wireless Broadband (just bring your laptop and you are connected) Exceptionally high standard of finish throughout. South facing swimming pool with large patio area - for sun and shade - with spa tub. Overlooking protected wetlands, good degree of privacy in an uncrowded area yet excellent location within 10-15 minutes of Disney and three minutes from shops and restaurants, including a large Supermarket.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa around the West Haven,

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Peak Rate
30 Jun 2018 - 28 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£780
for 7 nights
£780
£2,980
 
 
Mid Season
29 Sep 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
£2,680
 
 
Low Season
3 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
£2,380
 
 
Festive Season
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£880
for 7 nights
£880
 
 
Low Season
5 Jan 2019 - 22 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
£2,380
 
 
Mid Season
23 Mar 2019 - 28 Jun 2019
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
£2,680
 
 
Peak Rate
29 Jun 2019 - 30 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£780
for 7 nights
£780
£2,980
 
 
Mid Season
31 Aug 2019 - 1 Nov 2019
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
£2,680
 
 
Low Season
2 Nov 2019 - 20 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
£2,380
 
 
Festive
21 Dec 2019 - 3 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
£880
for 7 nights
£880
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200
Stay tax 12.0% per night. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival.

Pool heating extra £75 per week. Essential in winter months. 12% state & county tax included in charge. £88 cleaning charge at end of stay if less than one week. Long terms stays - negotiable. £200 damage deposit payable with final balance - refunded within 2 weeks of return following satisfactory 'exit' report. Any credit card/transaction charges (levied by HomeAway platform), pay per view movies, gas barbecue rental, late request pool heat will be debited from the damage deposit. Initial deposit of £300 payable at time of booking. Final balance due 8 weeks before travel.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals