HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag


12 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in River District - Huge House in Downtown

4,300 sq ft home of 3/4 of acre backyard, 1 ml away from center of FM

The house is located in the Downtown Riverside District and only a block away from the Historic District of Fort Myers. The house offers a very large space of over 4,300 sq. ft. and the ¾ of an acre backyard, with the tropical and Mango trees. The home is positioned at the end of the secluded street, yet only less then two miles from the center of busy Downtown of Fort Myers. There you can go to a nice dinner and enjoying the South Western cuisine or a simple have a drink at the local bar. The river is located less then one mile away, where you can take advantage of the Ferry cruise and go as far as Key West enjoying the calm and beautiful waters of Caloosahatchee River. There is the total of 5 beds (4 queen & a futon) The house has total of 9 rooms, out of which 4 bedrooms. It comfortably fits 10 people. It is offered at $140 per day, which comes down to $14 per a person per day. It beats near by motels where you can get one small room for $70 per day (off season) and over $200 per day (in season). The place is perfect for a single business traveller, due to the proximity to the Downtown Fort Myers. The place is perfect for a big family reunion. It is a very large house. It will fit you all. The place is perfect for the event or a party, since the living room is about 900 sq ft with an open window / bar counter that leads directly to the kitchen. The dining room is connected to the living room and the kitchen, which adds another 300 sq ft to entertain the guests. The place is perfect for couple’s romantic get away. The Master bedroom has built in bathroom where the oversized bathtub is located near by the bed. It is a large bedroom. It is perfect because of the pantry in the kitchen that is stocked with the cooking essentials, like teas, coffee, creamer, cooking oil and many other little essentials that can add a good number to your bill. There is a free high speed internet! The extra towels, soaps, shampoo, pain killers are also there. Lastly, I would like to mention that the home went under the complete renovations and everything inside is new, including the furniture. My moto in life is: “sanitary clean and organized” Speaking of cleaning, I charge a little cleaning fee, so please when you depart from your stay, do not bother to wash the dishes. Just pack and go! I am looking forward to see you again.

I try to respond to all inquiries and questions within the same day (and often within the same hour!). Check-in is generally self-service using a lockbox, which allows for late arrivals when necessary. The location of the house and the key location will be e-mailed to you closer to the date of your stay. I'm always available for questions.

I offer discounts to the loyal customers. I want you to return!

Welcome to the hospitality of South Western Florida!



More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Russian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 October, 2016
Call Manager

About Ella

Hi, Welcome to Florida!

I am Russian born and travelled the world. I lived in 7 and visited 40 plus countries & 30% of the world. Often, private accommodations was my choice to stay. Thus, I know how important to find the right accommodation during the travel. My goal is to not only renting a place ... I would love YOU to feel at home when you are visiting Fort Myers. Personally, I love tropical weather, hot sun, white sand beaches, turquoise, calm waves of the ocean, as well as oysters and a chilled bottle of beer. I am respectful of YOUR privacy. However, you get the best insider advice from me, if needed, just ask!

And I am quite sure that you'll come back again.

What makes this house unique

large private secluded property that is only about 1 mile away from the busy downtown of Fort Myers. The boat rental is right across the street


based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
Los Angeles, CA

Excellent accomodations close to downtown!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing experience in Florida. Ella, our host, took "accommodation" and "care" to a whole new level. Upon the completion of the reservation, she directed us to her personal website, which was more like Travel Guide. There we learned more about our host and felt so much more comfortable arriving at the home. She made us welcomed! The site had plenty of info about the local area and recommendations for all types of restaurants and bars. The most amazing part is that there was a page of how to join her VIP club, which automatically gave us a discount on our stay. We have told all our friends about Ella's Vacation Rentals -- we can’t wait to return!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Everything was as they said and more! We loved the house, the area, it was central to everywhere we wanted to go. Ella was very kind and understanding, great customer service. God willing in the future, I would definitely want to stay there again.


  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lily, Thank you so much for your kind review. Thank you for leaving the home clean, even washed all the towels. It is always an honor to host respectful guest. It is always a pleasure to host people who still have gratitude in their character. Thank you Lily and may karma be with you, Kind Regards, Ella
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Roomy and homey

  • 5 of 5

This stay was a getaway weekend with friends and family. It was everything we expected and more. The house has everything we needed and we were 10 people in total. We will definitely be back to stay in this beautiful clean house that made us feel like we were home. Thank you Ella.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Norivette, Thank you for booking the last minute my home. I am glad to pick up the phone and give you the reservation acceptance! Please come back and please ask for the loyalty discount for you and all your friends. Thank you for your compliment on the home being clean. I would love to thank YOU for leaving my home spotless. Respectfully, Ella.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great value and location

  • 4 of 5

This house is very centrally located and was a great value for our vacation. We were able to get to the beach and the spring training baseball facilities within 20 minutes. It could use a little bit of landscaping which would get it another star in my book. Otherwise, we were very happy with the house.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeremy, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you that enjoy the convenient location of the home. As per the landscaping, I am glad that you mentioned it. We are coming out of "winter" and it is hard (expensive) to make a garden on 3/4 of an acre of land. However your note about landscaping triggered me, for I love gardening and it was always my dream to have one. Thus, after reading your review, in addition to my old 4 mango trees and kumquat tree, I planted: 2 more mangos, passion fruit, dragon fruit, star fruit tree, an avocado, an orange, a fig, a banana, a papaya, a mulberry, a guava, 6 coconut trees and some yucca, aloe and herbs, like rosemary, basil, mint, parsley, lavender, etc. All is 100% organic. I am planing to plant more! There are no fruits now, but in about 3 to 5 years, all the trees will be producing the tropical fruits. The herbs are ready now! I will encourage all my guests to take the fruits, and herbs from the garden and enjoy. I will make a little book with each fruit or herb, so you know what to eat and what not to eat just to be sure! Thank you Jeremy for your inspiration and allowing me living my dream! Please enjoy the fruits of my labor. Thank you! Ella
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and value

  • 4 of 5

Thank you Ella ,

We were in Fort Myers for a family reunion . The location was very close to downtown and all the places we needed to be . Not a " fancy " neighborhood but we were also not paying a big price . We had 8 people and were very comfortable plenty of room to gather together or get out of each others hair. ..haha . Everything we needed ,clean ,comfortable beds . We were very happy to stay a Huge house .

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cathy, I admire people who have the qualities of graduate and appreciation. Thank you for your kind words. I would love to host guests like you. Please contact me again and I can offer you loyalty discounts. I also manage beach properties and I would love to offer those to you as well if you to come back to Florida. Thank you - Ella
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Before booking this property, I would suggest you go to Google Maps and take a walk around the neighborhood. This property is misrepresented. It's close to the River District and historical district, but it is in a run down area. The property is not well kept, and needs lots of yard work. The only television is very small, there are no chests or dresser drawers to hold clothes, and the mattresses are very thin and uncomfortable. There were plenty of towels, however. The photos look much better than the house, especially since they don't show the five window air conditioning units. The central heat was turned off. The house was dirty when we arrived, with cigarette butts on the front porch and lanai, and the tile floor in the living room was very dirty. The kitchen counter tops are made of small tiles that are supposed to be used as a backsplash, and several light fixtures did not work. There are a lot of small up and down steps from room to room.

The worst part of our stay occurred when the house was burglarized when we were out to dinner, and we could not get in touch with the owner. We called the police when we discovered a window had been broken, and the house had been ransacked, and several of our valuable possessions had been taken. The police officer wanted us to get I touch with the owner, but her phone was disconnected, and she didn't answer email. We heard from her two days later.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This property is at the River District and less then 1 mile from the historical district. The property is very well kept, and I have service comes twice per months to do the yard work. The house was not dirty and all theater numerous accusations are not true. The worst part of our stay occurred when the house was burglarized when we were out to dinner, and we could not get in touch with the owner. I was not be able on the phone or the e-mail because you contacted me in the middle of the night, when I was sleeping. The following day, you have informed me that the place was burglarized and presented me with the bill asking me to pay for your supposedly stolen item “We are asking that Ella Paulsen file a claim with her insurance company to repay us for the loss. We are not asking her to pay for the loss out of her pocket, merely that she file a claim with her insurance, and send the settlement to us. If VRBO has insurance for theft of renters, we would also like to have them file a claim and send settlement to us” Ipad 3 $600 Iphone 5c $550 Sony Cybershot Camera $298.00 Kindle Fire HD 7 $225.00 Diamond Necklace $12,500 Doro Flip phone $52.00 Men's Jacket (Ralph Lauren) $125.00 These items total $14,350. Looking at the bill that you presented to me it looks like that you left watches, a diamond necklace, phones, jackets (the item you are normally take with you when yo are going out) and taking into the consideration that none of my electronic were stole, I have a hart time to believe that what you say is true. Many people try to defraud hotels and now they are trying to do the same thing with private accommodations. You have accepted the policy that states that “I am not responsible for lost and stolen items” On that note, I will be contacting my attorney to take this case into a legal hands. It is unlawful for any person, with intent to cheat or defraud, to obtain credit at a hotel, motel, campground, boardinghouse, restaurant, eating house or amusement park for food, entertainment or accommodation through any misrepresentation or false statement.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in River District, Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £106 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in River District in Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , huge bathtub built in into master bedroom, it has spa look
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , newly built & sanitary, plenty of soaps, shampoos
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , there 9 rooms in house. The futon can be relocated anywhere
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , large bathtub is built in /connected to master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , very large bedroom with table and sitting area
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , a good size bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , smallest bedroom
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
It is a very private, large home on 3/4 of an acer and only less then 2 miles away from the center of downtown.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties