HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Quiet, Secure and Peaceful, Yet Close to Everything

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Come and enjoy the Asheville area and stay at Rocky Ridge Retreat:

* Master bedroom suite, king bed, bath with jacuzzi tub

* 2nd bedroom, queen bed

* Comfortable queen sleeper sofa in living room

* Hall bath with oversized shower

* Fully furnished kitchen; Washer and Dryer

* Hi-Speed Cable Internet; WI-FI; TV/DVD/VCR/Cable

* Comfy seating for 6 in living room and dining room;

* New gas grill; Outdoor fire pit with fire wood

* Situated on five private acres, safe and secure location

* Kid friendly with ample room to run and play

* Downtown Asheville 10 minutes

* Biltmore Estate entrance 10 minutes

* Restaurants and shopping, NEW Asheville Outlet Mall 2 minutes (Opening May 1, 2015)

This property has been in our family for over 130 years. On October 30, 1999, we (Katherine, Gary and Roberta - your hosts) began remodeling our childhood home. A lot of time and love has gone into making our house a “home away from home” for visitors. We hope you enjoy your time with us as much as we have enjoyed the life experiences we have shared here. We also hope that you will be able to know the same peace and tranquility that we feel when you come to “Rocky Ridge.”

The majority of our past guests have commented on the close proximity we are to everything in the Asheville area as well as the cleanliness we strive to maintain for our guests.

Rocky Ridge Retreat is perfect for newlyweds, retirees, or the small family on a budget. Spend your vacation enjoying all that Asheville and the surrounding areas have to offer. No matter whether you are coming for the cool summer breeze, the brilliant colors in the fall, to enjoy one of the arts and music festival, skiing, or just to get away for a relaxing weekend, you will find Rocky Ridge Retreat close (or within a short driving distance) to wherever you want to be.

Keywords: House, cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 December, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

A most enjoyable stay. The tranquil surroundings and nature made me feel at home. Thank you for a good nights sleep.
May 2005
  • 1 of 3

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
NC Arboretum
Nearest Point of Interest
Blue Ridge Parkway entrance
Nearest Point of Interest
Asheville Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
WNC Ag Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Major Shopping Centers
Nearest Point of Interest
Biltmore Square Mall
Nearest Point of Interest
Major Highway Interchange
Nearest Point of Interest
Downtown Asheville
Nearest Point of Interest
Entrance to Biltmore Estate
Nearest Point of Interest
Asheville Mall
Nearest Point of Interest
Asheville Civic Center

Biltmore House, North Carolina Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Fun Depot, Harrah's Cherokee Casino

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Asheville in Buncombe County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Child Beds (1) Available upon request, Baby Cribs (1) Port-a-crib available upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sleeper sofa in living room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Iron and ironing board, hair dryer in each bathroom

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet, Secure and Peaceful, Yet Close to Everything
average rating of 4.6744184 based on 46 reviews
5

Weekend gathering for grand parents, children and grand kids.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed three nights, six of us. The weather was cold and we even had snow, but the house was warm, cosy and well equipped. The children investigated the big yard; we had lunch picnic on the porch. We baked cookies and cooked meals, and the house had everything we needed.

The location is great, just off interstate 40 , then 26. There are stores close by, but the house is hidden and feels private. Everything is very clean: great showers and jacuzzi, lots of warm bedding.

We like to return and recommend it warmly.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am always so glad to know that we played a small part in a family being able to spend quality time together. We will be looking forward to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in many homes and condos on our travels and this one is at the top of the list. What a nice stay. The house was cozy, warm, clean and extremely well furnished. We were surprised at all that was provided. Thanks for a nice Christmas.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Dec-2006
  • Date of Stay: November 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Homey place to stay in pricey Asheville NC

  • 4 of 5

No fireplace for cold nights, but everything else you could want. Well appointed house with good kitchen for dining in and 3 TV's to catch all the football games on a fall afternoon. Very comfortable beds and super shower in main bath. (No one tried the jacuzzi.) Getting there is a bit of an adventure as you drive through complex of new hotels and the nearest neighbors live in rustic conditions and were not very friendly. But the location is very convenient to the Outlet Mall, River Arts District, The Biltmore and Asheville itself. Home exceptionally clean and well-maintained.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found our home and location suitable for your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice home, close to everything

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this home. There was only 1 issue. The home right before the driveway is an eyesore. I know the property owners cannot do anything about this but it is awful.

The floors are a little creaky but the beds were nice and comfy!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I can only offer my apologies for the neighbors. I appreciate your review of our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We really enjoyed staying here! So clean and SO convenient to the things we wanted to do.

  • 4 of 5

A lot of thought had been put into the amenities in the house. We were comfortable there right away. The only drawback was the house on the left before entering the property, but that is not the owner’s fault and didn’t hinder our experience. We would stay here again! Thanks, Roberta!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. We try to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible. We look forward to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

House was okay. But.

  • 4 of 5

To get to the property you have to get past a property that can only be described as a horrific dump. Piled high with trash that practically buries the dilapidated house that sits there along with numerous broken down vehicles and a nasty looking camper. A generator runs 24/7 making it very noisy when sitting outside. Wasn’t what we expected.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry for the neighbors. We have tried everything we can think of from offering to help clean the mess up to calling every agency that may be able to help. We try very hard to keep our property neat and clean for our guests. Our hands are tied to say the least. I really wish the reviews could be based upon our property and not some uncaring neighbors.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Asheville, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£417
for 3 nights
From
£120
£777
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56.29

Ratesare subject to change until reservations confirmed.

One-half of the total is due at time of booking to confirm reservations; balance due two weeks prior to arrival. If arrival date is within the next 30 days, the full amount will be due to confirm your reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable