Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Romantic ocean front apartment in a charming fishermen village

Bedrooms 2
Space 775 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Rooms, sleeps 4 in a charming fishing village - waterfront !

The self catering apartment Casa do Cais is located in one of the last remaining fishing villages, Paul do Mar. It comprises: a luxury two bedroom apartment of 120sq m, one double bed (queen size bed) and two singles, cot available; one shower room with toilet and vanity unit; one fully fitted kitchen with equipment and utilities; a fully furnished lounge area with TV and a view overlooking the ocean; magnificent roof terrace BBQ, hammock, table and chairs. The Atlantic Ocean is literally two metres from the front door. The local harbour and beach is only one hundred yards walk along the sea wall. For the budget traveller is the perfect hideaway location for the surfing, body boarding, fishing, walking, and photography or sea side enthusiast. In this house, on the magnificent roof terrace, overlooking the ocean and the harbour you forget about the world . You do not see or hear anyone or anything except the sound of the sea.

For the budget traveller is the perfect ' hideaway ' location for the surfing, body boarding, writing, fishing, walking, golfing, and photography or sea side enthusiast. It is located in a very quiet portion of Paúl do Mar.

In the summer months windsurfing, surfing, swimming and snorkelling are perfectly safe in the ocean, right outside the front gate. In the winter months the sea is more suitable for surfing and body boarding. Snorkeling and diving is still available but a wet suit would be recommended.

The sun always shines in Paul do Mar and so sunbathing is always an option!

Golf: Palheiro Golf Course - 50 km - near Funchal.

New golf course being built at aprox. 15 km (ready 2008).

More Details
Registration Number : 54738/AL

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, French, German, Portuguese, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment on Paul Do Mar on Municipality of Calheta

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 775 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Sunbed
  • Towels Provided
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • One shower room with toilet and vanity unit.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
  • A luxury two bedroom apartment of 120sq m: one double bed (queen size bed) and two singles, cot available.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
35% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Romantic ocean front apartment in a charming fishermen village
average rating of 4.25 based on 20 reviews

Beautiful ocean front house

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 loved staying at this beautiful little house. You literally open your window and have the ocean right in front of you with no obstructive views. Every night we enjoyed the sound of the waves to put us to sleep and during the day the ocean breeze felt great. An extra bonus was having your own private outdoor patio on the 3rd floor with plenty of seating to relax and enjoy the amazing views.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

On paper this apartment seemed an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Metres from the sea, rooftop terrace with wonderful views looking out to sea and the surrounding area. On entering the property in the early hours of a Saturday morning we were met with cockroaches scuttling around the floors, kitchen walls and in the cupboard. We immediately wanted to turn around and leave. We were very tired after the flight and needed sleep. The following morning we gave the accommadation a good clean. The place did look clean but if these things had been crawling all over the place it obviously wasn't. We purchased some insecticide and gave the place a good spraying. All the windows and doors were shut at night. The following morning, more cockroaches!

We reluctantly perservered as the location of the apartment was so good. What really broke the camel's back was finding one of them crawling on me in bed in the early hours. We contacted the owner who apologised but thought the only solution was to send a maid with a tin of insecticide to spray the accommodation. This we had already done! The following morning several more cockroaches were found in the living area floor, cupboards etc. I thought the owner of the property would have enquired how things were, but nothing. We sent a further email advising that we were vacating the premisises and booking into a hotel and we were now pretty disgusted with the accommodation. Still no further reply from the owner.

Pretty disgusting customer service if you ask me. We originally tried to book the accommodation through a booking agent but after several problems with dates the owner contacted us and we sorted everything directly. We have since wondered if this has been very convenient for the owner as there would conceivably be no comeback.

Before you book this place I would strongly advise unless you have good stomach for these dirty little creatures scrambling all over the place i would look for alternative holiday accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As we have written previously in our response to our guest we apologize for the happening and we stress the excepcional hot weather that we were experiencing in the last week , ( cockroaches fly through open windows). The maid was sent immediately and did the best she could with a spray, but with no avail. Cleanines and good housekeping is extremely important for us and our record of client's satisfactory reviews is there to prove it.We apologize again for the inconvenience and the reaction caused. When we returned to the house with a professional insect control the guest had already left.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Relax Enjoy

  • 4 of 5

Young man who I beleive is Georgios Son met us at Airport no problem Madiera car hire rep at same time, all went smoothly directions good didnt take us long to find property ( locals helped us) Basic but everything you need, comfortable bed even ! Terrace fantastic as in the description, at high tide you could cast a fishing line to the sea from the terrace ! no need though we had the freshest Tuna from the sea first day from a man who comes arround in his Van Toots his horn to attract youre attension, (same with Fruit and Veg and Bread) 4/5 Bars all selling food and One small MiniMarket/bar (locals)

I nodded off on this terrace on many occasions with a bottle of Mateus Rose to the sound of the waves crashing against the Rocks below. Wow, my wife needed to relax and she got it.

There is a big Super Market at Pol Do Mar Just a few miles away thru Tunnel if you wish but you dont realy need to. Bananas every where.

Madiera @ Bananas are Us !

See you again sometime

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Chris Taylor Thanks for your comment , give us the motivation to offer to our guest a good product in a unique environement, Paul do Mar - Madeira .( and we are happy to see that the house did its magic again ! ). Best regards and hoping to see you in the future, Giorgio Martin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location. Great sunset roof terrace. Quiet village. A number of good cafe/bars.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time in this apartment and in the village of Paul do Mar. Anyone who stays here must enjoy the sound of the sea as it is right outside the window. The sun terrace is great and we spent most of our time on it. My only complaint and it is a pet hate of mine - the shower was not so good and it leaked all over the floor.

  • Review Submitted: 18-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cottage. Exceeded our expectations. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The cottage was very clean and well maintained with lots of character. It is perfect for relaxing, romantic, fishing, trekking etc holidays.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: February 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Devon, UK

Lovely cottage beside the sea

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and our two friends stayed at this lovely cottage for a week and despite my being unwell during the whole week, we still managed to enjoy ourselves. They went out exploring whilst I stayed sunbathing on the roof terrace for most of the time. The sound of the waves at night was very soothing and I would love to return one day now that my health has improved! Paul do Mar is a lovely place and the weather was fabulous.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: June 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
65 Kilometres
Madeira International airport
Car: recommended

The Atlantic Ocean is literally two metres from the front door. The local harbour and beach is only one hundred yards walk along the sea wall, where you can also buy freshly caught fish from the fishermen. Local traders also bring fresh bread, fruit and vegetables to the village in vehicles . There is a local supermarket, baker, a hairdresser and bank within 100 metres walk. Paul do Mar is really a traditional fishing village and life continues as it has done for many hundreds of years. This means that you could wake up to find a large pile of freshly caught, tuna fish lying outside your neighbour's front door! Well, he is one of the local fishermen after all. You will also see the boats moored in the harbour and the local ladies filleting their fish on the sea wall.

Until a few years ago, the only access to this village was by sea ! Recently, new tunnels have been constructed, connecting the village to the main highway and the capital.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment on Paul Do Mar, Portugal

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Low season 2 pax 45€ 4 pax 55€
Summer 2 pax 55€ 4 pax 65€
Christmas New Year 2pax 60€ 4pax 70€
pax = number of persons

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question