HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ski-in, Ski-out, large open concept floorplan, floor to ceiling windows, hot tub

People13
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
13
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

3 bedroom + 2 dens, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 13. Prices in USD. E-mail to save 12%.

Contact me for mid-week discounts, last minute discounts, small party size discounts, long stay discounts, filling in a calendar gap discount - basically any if you want a reasonable discount, contact me.

This custom 3 bedroom + 2 den timber frame chalet sits at the top of the Purcell Woods Close loop. The sunken living room on the main floor features heavy exposed timbers, ceiling to floor windows, a wood burning insert fireplace and large flat screen TV with satellite. The open main floor contains a concept kitchen, dining and living rooms made for a social environment and a small patio off the kitchen with a BBQ. Also on the main floor is a bedroom (considered a den) with double with twin above bunk bed, as well as a half bathroom.

The upper floor has a master bedroom with queen bed and second room with queen with twin above bunk bed. There is one bathroom to share upstairs with a soaker tub and separate shower. Also on the upper level is a small loft area with a foosball table, overlooking the lower living room. The lower level has the fourth bedroom with a queen bed, and the den with another queen bed and futon bed. The second bathroom is shared and has a washer/dryer.

Off the kitchen is a back deck with a BBQ grill and looks down on the hot tub.

To the back of the home is an 8 person hot tub perfect for Apres Ski relaxation.

More Details

Property Manager
Gabriel Higham
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish, Mandarin
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 January, 2017

About Gabriel Higham

Glenn and Tim’s adventure on Race Place is a long story but it will suffice to say that at the end of a very long ski day on Christmas Eve, 2005 Glenn was trying to keep up with our daughter’s new boyfriend when he had a wipe out on Race Place. It was knee deep powder conditions, both of Glenn’s skis came off, he slid for several hundred meters, and ended up having to walk most of the way down Race Place with no skis. It took several hours but Tim stuck it out with Glenn and we always refer to it as Tim and Glenn’s first bonding experience. Tim married our daughter the following year. Tim and Glenn are ski buddies to this day and great friends. We never did find the lost skis but we all look for them every time we ski Race Place. To keep the memory alive (although some of us would rather forget it) we decided to name our home Race Place Lodge. We hope you will have an adventure at Race Place Lodge that you will be able to look back on with fond memories just as we do.

Gabriel Higham purchased this house in 2004

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

Ski-in, Ski-out, large open concept floorplan, floor to ceiling windows, hot tub
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
3

Nice Location, Not the best

  • 3 of 5

Great potential. This home is in a great location. The picturesque windows and wood burning fireplace were very lovely. The hot tub and the foosball table were lots of fun.

Unfortunately the only bathroom on the second floor is an en suite. This wouldn’t normally be a problem for us, but the bathroom is separated from the master bedroom by a partial wall – from the top of the door frame to the full height of the vaulted ceiling is completely open. This meant that sharing the bathroom with another couple, as we had planned, was definitely not ideal as you can hear EVERYTHING amplified thanks to the high ceilings.

The house itself was could have been cleaner on arrival, the floors and carpets weren’t very clean and the kitchen cabinets and surfaces could use a thorough wipe down. It was a little outdated and could use some sprucing up (dinged walls, worn appliances and fixtures).

Also of note, there are no locks on any of the doors. Even the main floor powder room sliding door, which is a little awkward in a full house but not too bad once everyone understands not to open closed doors.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jonathan, Thank you for your feedback. I am particularly sorry you did not feel the home was clean when you arrived. We do clean extensively between each renter, cleaning floors and all counter surfaces but will let the housekeepers know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary
5

Fantastic house a short walk away from the gondola!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house the week before Christmas and it was awesome. Lots of room for lots of people and we especially liked to sit around the fireplace after a long day out on the hill.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, Ian. The fireplace is a wonderful meeting point after a day on the slopes. Hope to have you back again next year. Gabriel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

The house is very well laid out and comfortable. The refund of the damage deposit was transferred in one day. The furnace quit shortly before our arrival. There were ample space heaters provided. I would recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ron. We are sorry the heater went out. We always have backup heaters just in case and glad that they made your stay comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

House was well stocked, great place to stay on licking horse.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason, Thanks so much for the review - although I don't think anyone's ever called it "licking Horse" :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin, which had everything we could have needed right there. Nine of us stayed and all had a blast. We really enjoyed the common areas, but also had plenty of room to retreat to our own spaces later in the evening.

We had two days of amazing trail riding, and loved being able to head back to the cabin for lunch and straight back to the hill. The hot tub was a welcome refuge after a long day out on the hill. It's a perfect place for anybody to stay.

Thanks for the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Brian. So glad you got to explore the mountain biking at Kicking Horse. The home is in a great location for experiencing it. Hope to have you back again. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great property, a beautiful setting and a very enjoyable experience

  • 4 of 5

We recently had the opportunity to rent this property and were completed happy with the property and our experience in renting through VRBO. The property owner was extremely accommodating and responsive to our requests and queries prior to our arrival. Everything about the property was exactly as advertised, it was well appointed and immaculate throughout. We would certainly recommend this property to others and would entertain renting it again in the future if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Paul. Appreciate it. Would love to have you back again. Thanks Gabriel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
294 Kilometres
Calgary International Airport
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Kicking Horse Saloon
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Golden Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Corks Restaurant
Nearest Ski
250 Metres
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Kicking Horse Resort - 10 minutes from Golden, British Columbia - 3 hours from Calgary, Alberta Airport. Ski-in/Ski-out home. Downhill skiing at your front door. Cross Country ski trails are only 100 ft away. Moutain bike right from home to mountain trails. 5 minute walk to base area, bars, restaurants, shops, horseback riding. Take a Gondola to the world famous Eagle's Eye Restaurant. Take a chairlift to see 'Boo' the grizzly in the Grizzly habitat area located on the mountain. Golf, hang glide, paraglide, raft, fish, hike, climb, canoe, kayak all within 30 minutes of the home. Lake Louis is 1 hour away, Banf is 1.5 hours, Lake Invermere is 1.5 hours, Revelstoke is 2 hours away. Easy drive to Lake Louis Ski Resort, Norquay Ski Resort, Sunshine Ski Resort and Revelstoke Resort. Take a 'wolf walk', hiking with wolves in their natural environment at the Northern Lights Wolf Center.

Other Activities: Boating, snowboarding, wildlife viewing, basketball, parasailing, snowmobiling, rock climbing, kayaking, health/beauty spa

Golf: The Golden Golf Club is just 7 km away from the home on the main road to the house. It offers one of the most enjoyable golfing experiences you will find in Canada. The natural beauty of the Columbia Valley, makes the golf course an instant classic. Architects Bill Newis and Les Furber have done some of their best work in sculpting this fun, but challenging layout. The stunning Rocky, and Purcell mountains are uniquely framed, and each hole tells a great story.

Ski: Kicking Horse Mountain - We love to ski and we love this mountain. The only mountain with better terrain (in our opinion) is Jackson Hole. The only mountain with better snow is Alta. The only place with a better view is Lake Louise. This mountain is the total package. It's huge and always has soft powder somewhere (even in spring). It has bumps, chutes, bowls, trees, glades, cornices, cliffs, terrain parks, back country and even bunny slopes, magic carpets, long meandering blues ('It's a 10' - 10 km long). Come try it (again) and we think you'll agree.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £154 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £617
Tax Rate 8.25%

Contact me for $100 off days above the minimum rental period
3% off for cash payments

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Golden, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Upstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Downstairs bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Main floor bathroom - Toilet
  • Upstairs bathroom has a large soaker tub and separate shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Upstairs 2nd bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Bunk with Queen below and single above
    Downstairs bedroom - 2 Large Double Bed , 2 queen beds
    Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Main floor den - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , Bunk with queen below and single above
    Downstairs den - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot