HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ski-in, Ski-out, large open concept floorplan, floor to ceiling windows, hot tub

People13
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
13
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Golden - Race Place Lodge

3 bedroom + 2 dens, 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 13. Prices in USD. E-mail to save 12%.

Contact me for mid-week discounts, last minute discounts, small party size discounts, long stay discounts, filling in a calendar gap discount - basically any if you want a reasonable discount, contact me.

This custom 3 bedroom + 2 den timber frame chalet sits at the top of the Purcell Woods Close loop. The sunken living room on the main floor features heavy exposed timbers, ceiling to floor windows, a wood burning insert fireplace and large flat screen TV with satellite. The open main floor contains a concept kitchen, dining and living rooms made for a social environment and a small patio off the kitchen with a BBQ. Also on the main floor is a bedroom (considered a den) with double with twin above bunk bed, as well as a half bathroom.

The upper floor has a master bedroom with queen bed and second room with queen with twin above bunk bed. There is one bathroom to share upstairs with a soaker tub and separate shower. Also on the upper level is a small loft area with a foosball table, overlooking the lower living room. The lower level has the fourth bedroom with a queen bed, and the den with another queen bed and futon bed. The second bathroom is shared and has a washer/dryer.

Off the kitchen is a back deck with a BBQ grill and looks down on the hot tub.

To the back of the home is an 8 person hot tub perfect for Apres Ski relaxation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Gabriel Higham
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish, Mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016
Call Manager

About Gabriel Higham

Glenn and Tim’s adventure on Race Place is a long story but it will suffice to say that at the end of a very long ski day on Christmas Eve, 2005 Glenn was trying to keep up with our daughter’s new boyfriend when he had a wipe out on Race Place. It was knee deep powder conditions, both of Glenn’s skis came off, he slid for several hundred meters, and ended up having to walk most of the way down Race Place with no skis. It took several hours but Tim stuck it out with Glenn and we always refer to it as Tim and Glenn’s first bonding experience. Tim married our daughter the following year. Tim and Glenn are ski buddies to this day and great friends. We never did find the lost skis but we all look for them every time we ski Race Place. To keep the memory alive (although some of us would rather forget it) we decided to name our home Race Place Lodge. We hope you will have an adventure at Race Place Lodge that you will be able to look back on with fond memories just as we do.

Gabriel Higham purchased this house in 2004

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

Ski-in, Ski-out, large open concept floorplan, floor to ceiling windows, hot tub
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5

The house is very well laid out and comfortable. The refund of the damage deposit was transferred in one day. The furnace quit shortly before our arrival. There were ample space heaters provided. I would recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ron. We are sorry the heater went out. We always have backup heaters just in case and glad that they made your stay comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

House was well stocked, great place to stay on licking horse.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason, Thanks so much for the review - although I don't think anyone's ever called it "licking Horse" :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the cabin, which had everything we could have needed right there. Nine of us stayed and all had a blast. We really enjoyed the common areas, but also had plenty of room to retreat to our own spaces later in the evening.

We had two days of amazing trail riding, and loved being able to head back to the cabin for lunch and straight back to the hill. The hot tub was a welcome refuge after a long day out on the hill. It's a perfect place for anybody to stay.

Thanks for the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Brian. So glad you got to explore the mountain biking at Kicking Horse. The home is in a great location for experiencing it. Hope to have you back again. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great property, a beautiful setting and a very enjoyable experience

  • 4 of 5

We recently had the opportunity to rent this property and were completed happy with the property and our experience in renting through VRBO. The property owner was extremely accommodating and responsive to our requests and queries prior to our arrival. Everything about the property was exactly as advertised, it was well appointed and immaculate throughout. We would certainly recommend this property to others and would entertain renting it again in the future if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Paul. Appreciate it. Would love to have you back again. Thanks Gabriel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious property. Perfect for our our group of 10

  • 4 of 5

Great location. Everything our two families needed for a great few days away. Easy access to hill and great ski-in. Hot tub was delightful after a hard day of skiing.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Grant, The hot tub is a wonderful thing after a hard day of skiing. The open main floor is great for large groups as kitchen, dining and living areas can all be used but everyone can still see, hear and interact with everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house and Location

  • 5 of 5

The house is fully stocked with everything you would need. Literally just the food you will eat is all you need!!! Also the location is great for skiing in and out. We had young children and we skied right up to the house. Loved it and will definitely be back. Worth the drive past Lake Loiuse and Sunshine!! Thanks for the great home!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Cheryl, Appreciate you highlighting that we should have everything you need. We try to keep the house well stocked for our guests so they have everything they need to cook on their own and don't have to bring their own stuff. Hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
294 Kilometres
Calgary International Airport
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Kicking Horse Saloon
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Golden Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Corks Restaurant
Nearest Ski
250 Metres
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Kicking Horse Resort - 10 minutes from Golden, British Columbia - 3 hours from Calgary, Alberta Airport. Ski-in/Ski-out home. Downhill skiing at your front door. Cross Country ski trails are only 100 ft away. Moutain bike right from home to mountain trails. 5 minute walk to base area, bars, restaurants, shops, horseback riding. Take a Gondola to the world famous Eagle's Eye Restaurant. Take a chairlift to see 'Boo' the grizzly in the Grizzly habitat area located on the mountain. Golf, hang glide, paraglide, raft, fish, hike, climb, canoe, kayak all within 30 minutes of the home. Lake Louis is 1 hour away, Banf is 1.5 hours, Lake Invermere is 1.5 hours, Revelstoke is 2 hours away. Easy drive to Lake Louis Ski Resort, Norquay Ski Resort, Sunshine Ski Resort and Revelstoke Resort. Take a 'wolf walk', hiking with wolves in their natural environment at the Northern Lights Wolf Center.

Other Activities: Boating, snowboarding, wildlife viewing, basketball, parasailing, snowmobiling, rock climbing, kayaking, health/beauty spa

Golf: The Golden Golf Club is just 7 km away from the home on the main road to the house. It offers one of the most enjoyable golfing experiences you will find in Canada. The natural beauty of the Columbia Valley, makes the golf course an instant classic. Architects Bill Newis and Les Furber have done some of their best work in sculpting this fun, but challenging layout. The stunning Rocky, and Purcell mountains are uniquely framed, and each hole tells a great story.

Ski: Kicking Horse Mountain - We love to ski and we love this mountain. The only mountain with better terrain (in our opinion) is Jackson Hole. The only mountain with better snow is Alta. The only place with a better view is Lake Louise. This mountain is the total package. It's huge and always has soft powder somewhere (even in spring). It has bumps, chutes, bowls, trees, glades, cornices, cliffs, terrain parks, back country and even bunny slopes, magic carpets, long meandering blues ('It's a 10' - 10 km long). Come try it (again) and we think you'll agree.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Golden, British Columbia Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Season
2 Dec 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£802
for 2 nights
From
£321
£2,086
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£2,984
for 4 nights
From
£706
 
 
New Years
27 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£4,011
for 5 nights
From
£770
 
 
Powder Season
1 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,315
for 3 nights
From
£385
£2,599
 
 
Peak Season
10 Feb 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,727
for 4 nights
From
£642
£4,524
 
 
Family Day
17 Feb 2017 - 21 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,984
for 4 nights
From
£706
 
 
Peak Season
22 Feb 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,727
for 4 nights
From
£642
 
 
Regular Season
26 Feb 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,700
for 3 nights
From
£513
£3,497
 
 
Spring Skiing
26 Mar 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,219
for 3 nights
From
£353
£2,374
 
 
Victoria Day
19 May 2017 - 21 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,123
for 3 nights
From
£321
 
 
Early Summer
22 May 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£738
for 2 nights
From
£289
£1,861
 
 
Summer
30 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£802
for 2 nights
From
£321
£2,086
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,219
for 3 nights
From
£353
 
 
Late Summer
4 Sep 2017 - 23 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£674
for 2 nights
From
£257
£1,636
 
 
Thanksgiving
6 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,123
for 3 nights
From
£321
 
 
Early Season
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£866
for 2 nights
From
£353
£2,374
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£610
for 2 nights
From
£225
£1,412
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £148 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £593
Tax Rate 8.25%

Contact me for $100 off days above the minimum rental period
3% off for cash payments

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Golden, British Columbia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Upstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Downstairs bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Main floor bathroom - Toilet
  • Upstairs bathroom has a large soaker tub and separate shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Upstairs 2nd bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Bunk with Queen below and single above
    Main floor den - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Bunk with double below and single above
    Downstairs den - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Downstairs bedroom - 2 Large Double Bed , 2 queen beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot