HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Gorgeous 3 Bedroom Lakefront Cottage in Deep Creek Lake MD

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Lovely 3 bedroom cottage across from the ski slopes with a dock, gazebo, hot tub

The cottage is centrally located close to restaurants and shops and has an incredible view of the lake. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a sitting room with a cathedral ceiling and fireplace, and a large sun room which has breathtaking views of the lake. The master bedroom is on the ground floor and has a king bed. It also opens out to the sunroom. There is a jetted tub and bidet in the bathroom. Upstairs there are two bedrooms and a bathroom. One bedroom has a queen bed and the other has two twin beds. There is also a laundry room with a washer and dryer. There are steps leading down to the dock, gazebo and hot tub. It has everything you need to make your stay memorable.

Kam Gillespie
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
7 June, 2017

About Kam Gillespie

We moved to the Deep Creek Lake area in 1993 when we purchased Haley Farm. We bought the lake cottage in 2000. Its a wonderful area to live and vacation.

Kam Gillespie purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Kam Gillespie chose Deep Creek Lake

This is the perfect place if you want to be on the lake and close to the ski slopes.

What makes this cottage unique

You have the convenience of being right on the lake and minutes from the ski slopes and even white water rafting (the only mountain top top white water rafting course is 10 minutes from the cottage)


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in McHenry in Garrett County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
  • The first bathroom is attached to the Master bedroom. It has a jetted tub and a bidet. The second bathroom serves the other two bedrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Master bedroom has a king bed, ensuite bathroom with a jetted tub and bidet. It also has a fireplace and overlooks the lake. The other two bedrooms are upstairs. One has a queen bed and the other has two twin beds.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
The sunroom is an incredible place to have breakfast and wake up to the lake whether its in the winter when its frozen over, or in the fall when the leaves color everything. Just so relaxing to sit and read a book or simply enjoy the view.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Gorgeous 3 Bedroom Lakefront Cottage in Deep Creek Lake MD
average rating of 4.181818 based on 11 reviews

Older home with a gorgeous view and great manager...

  • 4 of 5

We had a great vacation staying in this home. We are a family of four with twin 10 year old boys. The kids had plenty to do, whether playing by the lake or skiing at Wisp. The view of the lake with this home is amazing! You are right on the lake's edge and windows are abundant. Kam was extremely prompt in replies, accommodating, and helpful answering questions. The house was also very clean.

The only reason it doesn't get five stars is due to the dated nature of the bathrooms and fixtures. And based on the updated kitchen, I would imagine the bathrooms are soon to be taken care of.

Overall, a great house with a great view!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great, private get away !

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay here. The cottage was beautiful and well maintained. We really enjoyed how much space we had and it was the perfect amount of privacy. The kitchen was well equipped and the dock was a great place for us to hang out all day Saturday! I wish we could have stayed longer, we would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House with a Great View

  • 4 of 5

This house is small but has everything you need. Three nice bedrooms, a good kitchen, a great family room and a nice porch. The family room and the porch have wonderful lake views. My kids loved the hot tub. We would certainly go back again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Nice Stay

  • 3 of 5

We had a great stay at the cottage. The kitchen was a nice size, updated and well equipped. We liked that there were two separate bathrooms even though it was a little inconvenient to have the only ground floor bathroom in the master bedroom. Access to the lake was great and the stairs are really not a big deal at all. We were able to rent 3 double kayaks for the week and keep them easily on the private dock. The hot tub was also great and the cover was replaced during our stay. We really liked the location and proximity to WISP and the marina as well as shopping. The reason we can't give it a better rating is for a few reasons. The back porch, although it provided a great view was all glassed in and the windows could not be opened. I'm not sure why, but we assumed that it would be screened. The towels and the linens were clean and the beds were comfortable, but the upstairs bathroom wasn't cleaned very well and there were many areas around the inside of the cabin that were very dusty. We had to put artificial flowers outside the room because they were caked with dust. The loft area only had one chair that you might want to sit in but it was a little lopsided and the TV didn't work, which made it a completely wasted space. This was especially disappointing with two teenagers. When we went to grill the first time we had difficulty getting the grill clean.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing a review. I met you when we came to replace the hot tub cover. I asked you at the time if everything was fine. That was a Monday and you didn't leave till Friday. You said everything was good. So I was a little surprised when you commented on the sun room screens. Because of course there are screens in the sun room. If you had only asked me then or later about the windows we could have made sure you could open them. Similarly about the TV upstairs. I pay extra for a cable maintenance package and if you had informed me I would have had the maintenance people out there and fixed it for you. I'm sorry that this in any way made your stay less fun, but if you don't tell me (especially when I ask you face to face) I cannot fix the problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice rental, just missing "something"

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely vacation at the cottage. The property has some very nice features like the sun room, dock, hot tub, washer/dryer and outdoor dining area near the gazebo. The house is very roomy and beds are very comfy, but lacks some details and some of the creature comforts you always hope to find in a home away from home.

While there were linens and bath towels provided (owner, Kam, has a linen service) there were no lake/beach towels at the house. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes/pots/pans but was missing some small spoons and steak knives. And while I always find an adventure in what is or is not in the kitchen pantry/fridge, this was definitely the barest of them all with only a pepper shaker, some coffee and sugar. We encountered a couple issues during our stay like the sunroom screens being off track (we were thankfully able to fix ourselves) though Kam said a handyman would make it out in a couple of days. The hot water was in need of repair, but the ordered part/repair shop was ready to service the next morning. A prior review mentioned the sometimes arduous task of loading/unloading with the high number of stairs/lack of handrails, so we packed smaller, lighter bags and did just fine.

We've been fortunate in previous rental experiences where the property was not only a rental, but also used heavily by the owner. In these situations, you find that there is a finer attention to detail because the owner is always cognizant of what may be lacking and is not only looking out for the guests, but themselves as well. Typically, we find a guest book where the owner is eager to find our comments about how we enjoyed our stay. This may not be important to some, but makes a place special and personal.

Overall, this is a very nice property, and ideal for those seeking some of the highlights listed at the top of the post.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank your review. I'm so sorry about the lack of steak knives. I have replenished them. House keepers are supposed to check things but sometimes when there are back to back rentals it's hard to do a complete inventory. As for the guest books we do have a couple of books that have been filled by the guests in the past but in these days of online reviews most guests don't bother. But I can certainly make sure they are available in the future. Thank you for sorting out the screens. I was not aware they were on backwards. Best wishes, Kam
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Homer city, PA

Nice, cozy and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and two step kids rented this house the week of July 4th. The house was really cute with lots of windows and a view of the lake. The windows slide open so you can have a cool breeze in the evenings. The sun porch is where I spent a lot of time reading and just relaxing. The kids and hubbie loved the hot tub that was below the house. The dock was large and we had fun swimming off of it and doing some boating during our week. Note, if you have little kids, there is no wading here - the lake is very deep right off the dock. The house is in a great location, very close to the hub of McHenry with all the restaurants/grocery store, etc, but far enough that it was quiet. The neighbors were very close, but we never heard them. It feels quiet private here. Kam was very accommodating with our questions about our visit and I feel that for the area the price was very reasonable. She even mailed back our kids souvenirs that were left behind which was greatly appreciated. Deep Creek is not the most economical place to vacation, but it was a break from the stereotypical trip to Ocean City. There is a lot to do in the area and our kids actually chose this over the beach - so that says a good bit of the fun factor!

House was very clean, had a washer and dryer, two bathrooms and three bedrooms. Lots of hanging out space, games (my husband taught us all to play Texas Hold "em) and about 90 steps for those who may have a physical limitation. We were fine with the steps - a little extra cardio to burn off the vacation burgers! There is no fire pit area, but it would probably be dangerous because there is a lot of trees.

Great little cottage!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Round House
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.01 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Dutch's at Silvertree
Nearest Ski
2.5 Miles
Car: necessary

The Deep Creek Lake area is a four season resort area with something for everyone. From lake activities in the summer, fall colors in autumn, and skiing in the winter.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in McHenry, Western Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Labor Day weekend
1 Sep 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £347.86
Cleaning Fee £57.98
Tax Rate 12.0%

Cottage may be rented out for 2 nights or more, except in the summer months when there is a minimum of one week. The rates during holidays weekends are $100 higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now