HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Fabulous Lakeside Views

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Clear Lake - Fabulous Lakeside Views

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Lakefront Property With Private Dock And Breathtaking View

This cozy, yet spacious, cottage features comfortable bedrooms and living spaces for your vacation needs. The first thing you will see when you walk into the cottage is the fabulous lake view that spans the back of the house. This is why you came to the lake!


There are 3 spacious bedrooms in the house. The 'master' bedroom is on the main floor and features a brand new king size bed. This bedroom has an attached full bathroom, with walk-in shower.

The second bedroom is upstairs on the lake side with 2 double beds. The 3rd bedroom is upstairs on the street side and contains one queen size bed.

All of the bedrooms have ample closet space and dressers.


The master bath is attached to the master bedroom on the main floor. It has a walk-in shower.

The second full bathroom is located upstairs. It features a tub with shower.

We provide bath and hand towels, and one back up roll of toilet paper per bathroom.


The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to prepare meals and entertain. It includes a microwave oven, coffee maker, toaster, blender, dishes, cookware, etc. You can choose to eat at the breakfast bar or the dining table that seats 8. We also provide a roll of paper towels and garbage bags.

Living space:

The cottage has one main great room that looks out on the lake. It includes a gas fireplace for chilly nights, a large sectional, and a large-screen TV. Just outside the main living area is a vast deck that spans the width of the house. This is a great place to eat al fresco and enjoy the views.


We have a private, brand new wood dock for your use while you are visiting. Many public access ramps exist to pull your boat in and out.


The street side of the house has a large driveway and can accommodate a car w/trailer, as well as 3-4 additional vehicles. The grill is available to be used on this side of the house.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Kelly Fricker
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2016

About Kelly Fricker

I grew up in the neighboring town of Mason City, Iowa. I graduated from Mason City High School and went to college at the University of Iowa. My California-raised husband and I currently live in Kansas City, Missouri, with our two sons. We have always visited some close friends each summer in Clear Lake and talked about getting a place of our own. Well, in 2013, that happened! All of us love being on the lake in the summer and the small-town atmosphere that Clear Lake has to offer. This is a home that we hope to keep in our family for a long, long time!

Kelly Fricker purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Kelly Fricker chose Iowa

Clear Lake is so charming and family-friendly. My best friend growing up had a summer home in Clear Lake that I was lucky enough to become familiar with. As an adult, I have traveled here every summer with my husband and then with my sons to visit. We all fell in love with Clear Lake.

What makes this cottage unique

What really sold us on this house, in particular, is the beautiful view of the lake. That is the first think we see when we walk in the house, and we really count ourselves lucky. Also, the "cottage charm" of the house is a plus. We wanted our lakeside getaway to feel different than the home we live in the rest of the year.


based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Fabulous Lakeside Views
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews

Very nice and clean property. The beds were nice. Kitchen is small but very workable. Would stay t

  • 5 of 5

Very nice property. Master bathroom awesome. Clean. Presentation for guests very impressive. Nice white bathroom towels. Kitchen small but very workable. Grill outside great. Close to downtown. Property owner very accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying here. The house was the perfect size for our family of 6. It had plenty of room for everyone and we especially enjoyed the view from the large deck and the access to water from the nice dock. The house was clean and very comfortable. There is a nice TV in the living room to watch DVD's and stream movies at night. There is a large driveway that easily fit our three vehicles. One of the best aspects is its close proximity to downtown and the public beach. We would highly recommend for a great stay at beautiful Clear Lake!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The house is charming and lovely. Our daughter and her friends used it for her wedding weekend. It worked out just great. The realtor host was very flexible and easy to work with. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for a Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of parking, house was very clean. Stocked kitchen met all of our needs. Laundry was very handy, as there was not quite enough towels for 8 people. Plenty of space on the deck for everyone, we did supply 4 of our own lawn chairs for seating. These also came in handy around the dining table. Bedding was comfortable and clean. Access to Netflix, games and puzzles was appreciated as it was VERY windy when we were there. Loved the free WIFI. Would definitely stay again!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

It was clear from the beginning that the people who own the property are new to renting. They did not have sturdy furniture for renters, and when the pilot on the fireplace went out at 3 pm, no one showed up until 9 pm. The man had been drinking heavily and would not stop talking loudly while my kids were sleeping. We were staying at their property in the off season so they should have been happy to have someone there in March.

Finally, my 5 year old daughter was sitting on a dining room chair and it broke right from underneath her. Warped wood was the issue, obviously not my daughter. They charged me for the chair! I would never stay at this property again and would not recommend it even wit the nice view and location.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for chosing our property for your vacation. We're sorry that you had a negative experience. However, our rental contract clearly states the refundable damage deposit policy. The contract also recommends traveller insurance against damages. The damage deposit is in place to protect our home and our belongings. The chair has to be replaced, hence the $40 charge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Average but OK home

  • 3 of 5

We shared this home for two nights with five adults. Overall, we were pleased -- great view from the main living areas and one bedroom, and five comfortable beds. However, there is only one comfortable shower (the upstairs bathroom is quite small -- we all showered downstairs) and the large windows upstairs allow an awful lot of light into the loft room (with the two beds).

Other notes:


Lovely views, great location in Clear Lake -- wonderful to jog from the home to the downtown area with peek-a-boo views of the lake throughout the neighborhood; great master suite (king bed, spacious, en suite modern bathroom); reasonable checkout instructions; plenty of parking in the large driveway; clean and tidy; flexible checkout time


No cable and Netflix was a little tricky to access (did not realize this & contacted owners around 10 p.m that first night and they didn't respond until mid-morning the following day); no "special extras" like a binder of instructions, which would have helped with the Netflix issue; no dishwasher (not a big deal to us since we went out for each meal, but if you're cooking a lot, I might suggest a different place as the galley kitchen is also quite small). Very little toilet paper and hand soap provided -- we were told by the property manager that guests are expected to provide their own toilet paper, information that was not shared prior to our visit.

Overall, an average but pleasant home, but in a town with few rentals so it might be the best bet. If other options are available, I'd probably suggest considering how many people are staying at this home and whether you'll be using the kitchen. This home would probably be ideal for a family who doesn't plan on needing the kitchen and whose children use the upstairs rooms/bath.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate any feedback we receive, as it helps us to make modifications (when necessary). To address your concerns: The description listed in vrbo notes that there is no dishwasher. We are not a hotel and, therefore, do not replenish toiletries, paper towels, soap, etc. during a stay. We offer a "starter kit", which includes a roll of toilet paper and one backup in each bathroom, garbage bags, and paper towels. This is VERY standard in the rental home business. In this instance, we inadvertently did not have the toilet paper backup and our property manager replenished upon request. I have since updated our check-in information to cover this topic. We DO provide all towels and bedding, along with washer and dryer. We don't take non-emergency calls in the late evening. No, our house does not have cable TV. It is, however, equipped with free, open WIFI, a DVD player, movies, games, puzzles, etc. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Surf Ballroom
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Veterans Memorial
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
City Beach

Our cottage is located within close proximity to everything that Clear Lake has to offer. Each weekend, there is something going on downtown. You can walk or bike downtown to enjoy the unique shopping and restaurants. Take in a concert or outdoor church service at the bandshell. City Beach is also right downtown and offers safe swimming and a splash park for the kids. The Clear Lake Art Center also has lots to do for your kids.

If you are into fitness, then this is the perfect spot for you. Head right out of the driveway on your bikes for a 13.5 mile spin around the lake. The loop includes a beautiful trail through forest and prairie lands. We recommend stopping for a libation at the Tiki Bar or the Landing to refuel! If you prefer exercising on the water, you can go across the lake to the Tiki Bar and rent a stand-up paddle board for some water fitness and exploring. Most Saturday mornings in the summer are host to yoga on the beach in the lawn behind City Beach. Of course, you can always take in a walk or jog to town, too!

Our cottage is within walking distance to the historic Surf Ballroom. Be sure to see a show when you are in town and check out the museum during the day.

Other restaurants and bars within one mile of the house include: Sips, The Anchor Inn, The Other Place, The Half Moon Inn, and The Barrel.

The All Veterans Golf Course is just a mile from the house. They offer reasonable rates. On Friday mornings in the summer, they offer $5 golf for kids. Another great golf option for beginners or for kids (you can just drop them off and pick them up later) is Oak Hills. Very affordable golf and the owners are great with the kids. It is about 5 miles from the house.

There are lots of restaurant options by boat or by land. If you have boat, you can scoot across the lake to PM Park and the Tiki Bar. This is a great family spot with outdoor picnic tables set up near the beach. They have a large offering of food and drinks. The Landing is also a great spot on the North Shore (just south of city of beach) to have a cozy lunch or dinner. They have a more limited menu and seating. Both are great options. The Musky is also situated on the small lake in Ventura and has lots of options.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Clear Lake, Iowa

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £82
Refundable Damage Deposit £410

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Clear Lake, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Upstairs family bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , convenient main floor 1/2 bath off living room
  • Both full bathrooms have a shower. The upstairs bathroom also features a bathtub. All towels are provided. We provide one backup roll of toilet paper per bathroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • All bedrooms have a closet, dresser and linens.
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties