HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Historic Northport Inn

People9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,787 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Relax in this restored 1910 Craftsman Style in Village of Northport home.

Cottage Name: Indigo House

TIP: Click the [Availability] button to see available dates. The calendar is always up to date.

TIP: Select available dates from the calendar to get a quote or book online.

NOTE: We will not take less than 7 night reservations in the summer, with turnover on Friday.

NOTE: This cottage does not allow pets.

NOTE: Contact the property manager, Cygnus Real Estate at 231.994.3225 for all questions or special requests.

Located in the Village of Northport, this beautifully Landscaped and Restored Indigo Blue Craftsman Style Home is a short walk from the center of town. It is just 2 block from Willowbrook!

With the charm of a Cottage, this eye-catching home also has that roomy uncluttered feel and a generous supply of well placed windows to let the sun in. A nice combination of the new (such as appliances) mixed with days gone by cabinets and wood beams.

The 1st floor bedroom contains a Queen bed. The 1st floor bathroom has a walk-in shower.

The three 2nd floor bedrooms contain the following. First bedroom has One double bed, One twin bed and a connecting full walk-in shower bathroom. 2nd bedroom has 1 double bed. 3rd bedroom has 1 double bed).

The landscaping is beautifully designed with perennials and an enclosed private backyard.

More Details

Property Manager
Greg and Carole Higgins
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
12 November, 2017

About Greg and Carole Higgins

Managed By Cygnus Real Estate

Greg and Carole Higgins purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Greg and Carole Higgins chose Northport

A botanical wonder with different flowers blooming all season long. The home is at the fringe of the village for easy walks to everything yet a tranquil place to relax and enjoy nature.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Northport in Leelanau

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1787 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
16% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
A Historic Northport Inn
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews
1

Disappointing...

  • 1 of 5

As long-time summer residents of Northport we were excited to see the recent opening of the Indigo House with its colorful exterior and beautiful gardens. With our family reunion this summer and the need for more room, we quickly reserved a week, looking forward to a stay in downtown Northport. Sad to say, the Indigo House did not measure up to our expectations.

It all started with just trying to get an accurate invoice from the property management firm. Their website never could produce a detailed invoice that matched the one from VRBO. It was only after several conversations with the management firm that their invoice was explained to our understanding - we paid according to the VRBO invoice.

When we arrived it was apparent that the garden had not been recently cared for and the back yard was overgrown. In going up the steps to the deck, one had to be careful not to brush the thistle bush on the left side or the rose bush on the right. As we settled in, we discovered the following: (1) the outside side door light was burned out (we swapped it with the front door light) , (2) the were no working lights for the stairway - one bulb was burned out and the other was missing (bought those at the ACE hardware store), (3) the lamps with two sockets had only one low voltage bulb, (4) the front porch furniture was covered in a layer of dust, (5) dust bunnies were rampant under several of the beds, (6) the hand soap dispenser in the downstairs bathroom was basically dry, (7) TP was in short supply, (8) cobwebs were evident in the dining area, and (9) the "Welcome Guide" had not be updated since the opening of Indigo House (2014?) and contained only a map with no helpful information regarding local restaurants, events, or places of interest, or any of the coupons promised in the guide.

The kitchen was clean and well equipped. Gift bottle of wine was appreciated.

No one made any contact with us to see how we were doing.

Granted, each of these might be considered a minor issue individually, but they all added up to an unprofessional, don't-care attitude of property management...and they say the rates are going up next year!

If you're coming to Northport for a visit, you can do better - check around.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful cottage - excellent location- clean - not great service

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is beautiful inside & out. It was clean & it is at an excellent location- close to the beach & town.

On the negative side it isn't great for families with small kids. The backyard is unkempt so there isn't any place for the kids to play with a very small yard on a busy street.

We were also a little disappointed in the service. We had sent a request to stay a Saturday to Saturday which was approved & confirmed via email. However, on our way to the cottage I looked up the address in homeaway & found out they had us Friday to Friday. Luckily they said they didn't have another renter until Sunday so we were able to stay our full time.

The wifi didn't work for us & after texting the owner two times we never got a response 🙁�

Just a note- there is no AC. Most of the rooms had a fan and most nights this was suffice. It was in the low 70's while we were there so it worked ok. One or two nights it got pretty warm.

A few small things- It's not really a cook's paradise (i.e. No Casserole dishes- the grill ran out of gas while we were there after using it only 1 night) so if you plan on cooking you might bring some of the necessities. 😃�

Overall a nice place to stay for a long weekend.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry about the wifi problem. We have experienced problems with the internet provider throughout the summer. We had an employee out on emergency family leave so we unaware of the current problems but they will be addressed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not as nice as home friends rented, price was high , Needs basic things done prior to renting

  • 3 of 5

Great location, cute place, needs some TLC. We had several issues when we first arrived which gotten taken care of by the owners friends and by us. Many of the lights don't work inside and out. Outside light leading from the driveway didn't work which was concerning with my elderly uncles making it safely in and out of the house at night. Some of the bedding is very thin and worn, if coming in cooler weather you may want to bring extra blankets. I would recommend bringing extra paper products and trash bags as not enough are left for three days. Northport is a great little town and very friendly people.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

If you enjoy quaint and quiet vacations with local stores and water activities, this is a good location. House was lovely-nice location and welcoming environment. Be nice if the side porch had a covered area.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable house - charming town.

  • 5 of 5

Walk to breakfast each morning and sip your coffee on the lovely front porch!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property over the 4th of July and could not be more pleased. The house is very well kept. The fireworks were visible from the patio area. Kitchen was fully equipped with everything any home chef would need. The property managers were very responsive and a pleasure to do business with. I would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Northport.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: recommended

Located at 4th and Mill street near center of town. Within walking distance of the Beach, Park, Harbor, Boat Launch, Barb's Bakery, Village Shops and Restaurants and a very well kept Tennis and Basketball Complex at Braman Hill Park. A new 9 hole Golf Coarse up 8th st. and a new Bowling Boutique Restaurant right in town. Within 10 miles we have Wineries, Fishtown, Golf, Sunsets at Peterson Park, the Lighthouse, Leelanau State Park, Beautiful wooded trails, Art Galleries and Leelanau Sands Casino.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Northport, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2018
15 Jun 2018 - 23 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,834
for 7 nights
£1,834
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£592
for 3 nights
From
£119
From
£160
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £44.64
Cleaning Fee £189.15
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
There is a $250 fee for pets, two dog maximum with written consent.
Non-smoking is strictly prohibited. A full rental agreement will be sent to you upon booking with full terms and conditions.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals